Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    78
    It’s great at combat and exploration, but the quests are often boring, the fiction is turgid and its technical problems are unignorable. But it’s a very good game, and it’s so interesting that I’m inclined to forgive most of its problems because it succeeds in such important ways.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    Dark Arisen adds some great new content to the excellent Dragon's Dogma, though the new dungeon's unbalanced difficulty turns fun into frustration.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    85
    If you’ve beaten the game and moved on, there’s enough new stuff to explore that it warrants another playthrough. And for those who are looking for a quirky RPG with epic moments (and pig-throwing hijinks), here it is in one neat bundle.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Dark Arisen is indisputably in Dark Souls' thrall. But this tribute is both thoughtful and creative, building upon Miyazaki's work with some individuality rather than merely mimicking its - arguably unrepeatable - wonders.
  5. May 30, 2013
    72
    Brutal difficulty spikes. [July 2013, p.82]
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    86
    A great RPG revisited, with a challenging expansion and lots of enhancements to main campaign. Capcom dit a great job on refinement, but some technical issues remains.
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    84
    This is the original game plus the expansion reasonably priced, so if you missed them when they were released, you've got now a great opportunity to enjoy this open-world RPG.
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    75
    The bittersweet reality is that Dark Arisen is an incredible package for the price tag, just know what you are getting into. The new area is only for the hardest of the hardcore, so be prepared to die.
  9. Apr 22, 2013
    77
    Capcom adds new hours of interesting gameplay to one of their best new IPs of this generation.
  10. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    One of the best gdr of the last year became even better. New weapons, new enemies and more than 10 hours of pure fights await you on the Bitterblack Island.
  11. Jul 18, 2013
    80
    There's no getting around it: Dark Arisen is difficult. There are moments when playing it that it may even feel like it's impossible and completely unfair, but the feeling of beating this title makes the incredibly tough adventure well worth it.
  12. May 3, 2013
    93
    Still, original owners clearly weren’t the primary target of Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen, hence it being released as a stand-alone title. The real target, for better or for worse, are brand new players who haven’t been introduced to Capcom’s newest fantasy property.
  13. Apr 29, 2013
    75
    While I can't wholly recommend Dark Arisen to anyone but the most hardcore of Dragon's Dogma fans, if you haven't touched the franchise yet, this is a perfect opportunity to do so. Despite the issues, the series is an intriguing prospect that does many things right, and shouldn't be missed by action or RPG fans alike.
  14. Apr 30, 2013
    91
    The original game was good, not great. Dark Arisen adds content, fixes existing problems and offers a massive world to play in for a bargain basement price.
  15. Sep 16, 2013
    79
    Dragon`s Dogma is a surprise. The new content and graphics are nice, but not more. The game scores with its good price and with all additional content.
  16. May 8, 2013
    85
    It's not good to fans to release Dark Arisen without having the option to download it as downloadable content. But it must be said that this game is such a great role playing game. A must have.
  17. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    A great value bundle that includes the original game, the new expansion, and some of the best action role-playing since Dark Souls.
  18. Apr 25, 2013
    88
    It will take a capable character about a dozen hours to make it to the bottom of this mega-dungeon, and once you do, the dungeon locks up its doors once more and fortifies its defenses with even more fearsome guardians to match your inflated level and newly-acquired loot.
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen offers more challenge, monsters and secrets to the original Dragon's Dogma experience. With the same great combat system, but it has some important graphical issues.
  20. Jun 9, 2013
    90
    Aside from that though, the original Dragon's Dogma was one of the better role-playing games to come along in quite some time when it originally debuted last year. Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is the very same game, only better, stuffed with even more content, and cheaper to boot. Now's a perfect time to dive in for new players, and those who've beaten it already will find a nice new challenge in Bitterblack Isle alongside some additional goodies for carrying over their save as a loyalty bonus. It's a game that keeps on giving, only with a bit less Dangan.
  21. 80
    Transferable save games, unlimited fast travel access and 100,000 rift crystals to spend might help swing the deal. For those on the fence however, the full game with hours of new content should be all you need to hop off. We wouldn't be surprised if this is the best budget release all year.
  22. May 1, 2013
    70
    If you’re a newcomer to Dragon’s Dogma, then this is the edition to get; otherwise, you’ll have to be an incredibly dedicated fan as there isn’t enough here to justify an upgrade.
  23. May 5, 2013
    86
    Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is a solid pick for anyone that has yet to try Capcom's open world RPG.
  24. May 6, 2013
    70
    Dragon’s Dogma itself is a fantastic title with some innovative ideas for the genre. If you never played it, then I strongly suggest buying the Dark Arisen release, especially if you love western-esque RPGs; and for the budget price, you are getting one quality video game.
  25. Apr 26, 2013
    56
    While it features the same basic mechanics as its parent title, Dark Arisen plays away from its strengths by locking the player in something of a one-note environment to wage war on mostly reskinned enemies.
  26. Apr 27, 2013
    80
    Easily recommendable for everyone who is even slightly interested in this franchise. Aside from the full game and the expansion, this edition also contains previously released downloadable content and other extra's. The price might be a little too high for fans though, considering what the additions are. Unfortunately Capcom isn't offering an alternative for their loyal fans.
  27. May 13, 2013
    80
    If you haven't played the original version, here's a chance to enjoy one of the best RPGs of this generation in its fullest form.
  28. Apr 26, 2013
    90
    Dark Arisen adds devilish new content that will challenge you in new and lethal ways. Coupled with some welcome improvements to the main game, the game is even better than before.
  29. 70
    Clears up some (but not all) of the original game’s odd missteps and adds a bunch of challenging and engrossing content. Might feel a bit like a rip-off for players who already own the original, though.
  30. Jul 14, 2013
    70
    Bitterblack Island is a truly solid challenge bringing fun and atmosphere that is, however, suffering from the game's monotonous setting, limited space manoeuvring, and the game's linearity. Still, if you've never played Dragon's Dogma, you'll get the original heavy title along with this expansion pack.
  31. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A welcome addition to the original Dragon's Dogma story, with tougher and more satisfying challenges and several improvements over the original game.
  32. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    The content added to Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen over the original Dragon’s Dogma might not be enough for previous players to be able to justify buying the game for a second time. For those who missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, however, this is a great way to finally give the game a shot.
  33. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    Poor balance and careless design limit its appeal to a tiny group of the most hardcore. The original Dragon's Dogma didn't completely succeed in its attempt to emulate Western, open-world RPGs. Dark Arisen makes a much greater mistake: It fails to recognize or capitalize on its own strengths.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    If you have not chained your controller to your arms yet please do so before playing. A game deserves a 10 if it meets three of my categories.

    1. Does it keep you entertained? YES
    2. Are there moments to learn? YES
    3. Does the game have nostalgic qualities? YES

    Let me first start of by saying that I am level 75 and I am at NG++ (New Game Plus Plus) Average players may reach level 50 before completing the main story line. Skilled players will seem to be at this current time 150+ This likely able to be said since the original Dragons Dogma was released in 2012 giving players the opportunity to reach level 200 casually though you can reach that level in a month. However not the case for me since I like to spend my time exploring and figuring out what secrets I need to uncover. Sure enough there are so many that every new game I play I find something intriguing and have my "aha." moments.

    The addition of adding Black Bitter Isle will give you the creeps, just as night fall in the original dragon dogma did. I find myself sending out my pawns in first as some of the corridors are just plain eerie. The zombies when they talk will make your skin crawl especially when they rush towards you and you are screaming at your main character to hurry up and cast that spell before you become a snack.

    "Dark Arisen is not a DLC it is rather an overhaul of a game that rewards veteran players and tries to allure new gamers by adding several additions such as smoother options, Japanese VO and updated textures."

    NOTE* Xbox users you will see 2 discs and PS3 players one... The second disc is the texture back for Xbox players while the single disc for PS3 has it already implemented since bluray discs have a higher capacity than that of DVDs'.

    It is recommended for players to be level 60+ but I find myself using pawns that are level 30 that have the right inclinations and abyssinal gear. (http://dragonsdogma.wikia.com/wiki/Abyssinal_Armor_Set) I enjoy using personalities or rather inclinations such as Scather/Mediator for my pawns as well.

    The game has some extremely beautiful lighting effects, some that may even rival Skyrim... Actually I feel the fighting system outshines Skyrim in all aspectsn as well... but enough of that back to the game. You are introduced to a small story line and you meet an npc character that takes you to the island.

    After her introduction you are off to explore the under ground labyrinth... I have yet to find new armor but, such is a game with randomization that once you do find a piece it is a great feeling.

    There is only one problem I have with this game and it still plagues this one, the ability to find a snugg corner away from bosses while you safely pew pew them away as you pawns do the rest for you. However there are those occasional bosses that it is impossible to do so. This is rather more easily accomplished by range players than melee.

    The Boss AI are there to literally kill you, range characters that can not find a place to hide away to cast spells will literally be obliterated. The AI knows when you are about to cast a spell so be forewarned... The same can not be said for the pawn AI, since you have to really pay attention to what they are doing.

    "Trying to give the retreat comman is useless if your pawns are in the middle of casting a spell."

    Does this mean the Pawn AI is useless... no. In fact the Pawn AI will make you giggle, frustrate you and eventually want to make you grab them and throw them off a high cliff (which you can do) out of pure anger. The Pawn AI is smart, they know when to cast but it is your job to make sure you are distracting the boss and have a bit of faith in them as it took me a while to understand this. I wanted the easy way to win and depend on my pawns but in a sense lost what make dragon dogmas so great the ability to be able to grab on a monster for dear life and bash them away 300 feet in the air.

    The game is not with out it flaws but what game does not? The addition to this game was well worth the wait. Death stalks you, your pawns have calmed down their chit chat but still annoying sometimes...

    The game is addictive there is not way around it, and now that there are more armors to choose from you just want to get the best gear for you pawn.

    "A well geared and good looking pawn has a better chance of being hired by other players so you can get those delicious rift crystals."

    This game is a huge bargain for new players and somewhat of a mediocre addition to veterans but still keeps you coming for more. I still have to yet to achieve that golden idol and have yet to convince Madelene to open her shop to purchase the armor that I need.

    The game has unlimited replay value meaning when you beat the game REMEMBER to choose load game as you can go to New Game and start from the begining with all the gear you acqured from the previous play through.

    The year was well worth the wait...
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to sedoi, this game is absolutely nothing like Dark Souls other than being 1: a third person western style rpg, and 2: difficult for new players.

    For anyone who hasn't played dragon's dogma, this is a party based rpg with a strong and well fleshed out job class system; which allows you to switch your profession at will, where you can play whatever style you like without feeling like you are pushing yourself into a corner thanks to the well balanced difficulty. It is a /great/ rpg and if you've never played it for 40$ its a steal.

    For people who have played dragon's dogma, this expansion offers 10 hours of new content if you rush it and new random encounters from "corpse feeding" monsters on bitterblack isle. Without spoiling content, yesterday I was fighting one boss and another boss random spawned in and it turned into a boss vs boss vs my party mayhem battle. It was actually one of the most cool things i've had happen in the game and was totally unexpected, and just goes to show you the effort made by the developers to make the content a less linear and more fresh.

    I love this game and paying 40$ for me is not a problem, however I can understand most people's misgivings about paying that much for 10 hours of content. Well, i'll say this given that there are games out there which give you the same or less content for 60-70$, and given that dark arisen adds new audio, a lot of tweaks, better load times, lots of new content, and a full storyline, 40$ to me is worth it. I think 30$ wouldve been a far more attractive price for most people, but given that this includes the original full game a number of DLC packs, I feel i've been given my money's worth; especially since I traded in the original dragon's dogma for 10$ towards this iteration of it anyway :D
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This game is great, only held back by little problems and bugs, but trust me the combat in this game is amazing and much improved on the already marvelous system from the first! Totally not worth a zero. Full Review »