Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A mysterious island known as Bitterblack Isle appears off the coast of Gransys. Its depths have claimed the lives of many Arisen; their voices still haunt the labyrinth that lies deep beneath its surface--a labyrinth ripe with secrets waiting to be discovered. The time to take up arms has come once again. Delve into the isle's depths and uncover its dark secret. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 3, 2013
    93
    Still, original owners clearly weren’t the primary target of Dragon’s Dogma: Dark Arisen, hence it being released as a stand-alone title. The real target, for better or for worse, are brand new players who haven’t been introduced to Capcom’s newest fantasy property.
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    88
    It will take a capable character about a dozen hours to make it to the bottom of this mega-dungeon, and once you do, the dungeon locks up its doors once more and fortifies its defenses with even more fearsome guardians to match your inflated level and newly-acquired loot.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    85
    If you’ve beaten the game and moved on, there’s enough new stuff to explore that it warrants another playthrough. And for those who are looking for a quirky RPG with epic moments (and pig-throwing hijinks), here it is in one neat bundle.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    One of the best gdr of the last year became even better. New weapons, new enemies and more than 10 hours of pure fights await you on the Bitterblack Island.
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    77
    Capcom adds new hours of interesting gameplay to one of their best new IPs of this generation.
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    70
    Bitterblack Island is a truly solid challenge bringing fun and atmosphere that is, however, suffering from the game's monotonous setting, limited space manoeuvring, and the game's linearity. Still, if you've never played Dragon's Dogma, you'll get the original heavy title along with this expansion pack.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    Poor balance and careless design limit its appeal to a tiny group of the most hardcore. The original Dragon's Dogma didn't completely succeed in its attempt to emulate Western, open-world RPGs. Dark Arisen makes a much greater mistake: It fails to recognize or capitalize on its own strengths.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Dragon's Dogma is incredibly underrated. When I describe the game to my friends, I usually say "it's like squad-based Skyrim" because it would take hours to describe all the different areas that this game excels in. The exciting combat, addicting RPG elements, and the incredibly awesome pawn system are some of my favorite things about Dragon's Dogma.

    It's important to note that while the original release of Dragon's Dogma had some moderately irritating flaws; most notably the high cost of Liftstones, which were required to use the fast travel system. These flaws are fixed in the Dark Arisen version of the game, however.

    The only remaining criticism I have of the game has to do with the story. I thought the ending of the main game was wonderfully unexpected, and the final boss battle leading up to the ending was pretty great too. But until the ending, the plot of Dragon's Dogma doesn't do much to keep the player interested. Many of the characters are flat and boring, and the main story is a bit generic up until the final boss battle. I will say this though: the voice actor for the Dragon did an amazing job, and I would really like to see him return in Dragon's Dogma 2, or whatever they end up calling it.

    Buy this game, it's amazing. Also, feel free to add me on Xbox Live if you want to use my pawn. He's a healer mage named Christ, and he's badass.
    Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, I never played the first DD. (shame on me), now I am so glad I picked this up and I ended up with a Magnificent game that as much as I try to find a reason I can’t figure it out how can this be so under-rated by “our western gaming news companies” I will be straight up, I prefer this game to Skyrim and trust me guys I logged over 300 Hrs. lurking around the frozen lands of Skyrim. First things first, the combat mechanics in this game are exquisite and way superior to Skyrim (for comparison purposes only im picking on skyrim). The large scale bosses are epic and the ambience that surrounds them was well driven. The tech part it is not the best but is above average easily. The pawn system Capcom came up with its another example that developers should take note from something this innovative that can actually be introduced into an RPG, this is an perfect example of freshness just as the dark souls invasion/assistance was. This particular release it is for me so far into 2013 the most cost-effective gaming expense to day, 39.99 for a full game all the DLCs HD pack, all fixed so I’d say this is the real final product With no doubt this IP got here to stay and I am looking forward to a new installment of DD onto the next gen….. Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    If you have not chained your controller to your arms yet please do so before playing. A game deserves a 10 if it meets three of my categories.

    1. Does it keep you entertained? YES
    2. Are there moments to learn? YES
    3. Does the game have nostalgic qualities? YES

    Let me first start of by saying that I am level 75 and I am at NG++ (New Game Plus Plus) Average players may reach level 50 before completing the main story line. Skilled players will seem to be at this current time 150+ This likely able to be said since the original Dragons Dogma was released in 2012 giving players the opportunity to reach level 200 casually though you can reach that level in a month. However not the case for me since I like to spend my time exploring and figuring out what secrets I need to uncover. Sure enough there are so many that every new game I play I find something intriguing and have my "aha." moments.

    The addition of adding Black Bitter Isle will give you the creeps, just as night fall in the original dragon dogma did. I find myself sending out my pawns in first as some of the corridors are just plain eerie. The zombies when they talk will make your skin crawl especially when they rush towards you and you are screaming at your main character to hurry up and cast that spell before you become a snack.

    "Dark Arisen is not a DLC it is rather an overhaul of a game that rewards veteran players and tries to allure new gamers by adding several additions such as smoother options, Japanese VO and updated textures."

    NOTE* Xbox users you will see 2 discs and PS3 players one... The second disc is the texture back for Xbox players while the single disc for PS3 has it already implemented since bluray discs have a higher capacity than that of DVDs'.

    It is recommended for players to be level 60+ but I find myself using pawns that are level 30 that have the right inclinations and abyssinal gear. (http://dragonsdogma.wikia.com/wiki/Abyssinal_Armor_Set) I enjoy using personalities or rather inclinations such as Scather/Mediator for my pawns as well.

    The game has some extremely beautiful lighting effects, some that may even rival Skyrim... Actually I feel the fighting system outshines Skyrim in all aspectsn as well... but enough of that back to the game. You are introduced to a small story line and you meet an npc character that takes you to the island.

    After her introduction you are off to explore the under ground labyrinth... I have yet to find new armor but, such is a game with randomization that once you do find a piece it is a great feeling.

    There is only one problem I have with this game and it still plagues this one, the ability to find a snugg corner away from bosses while you safely pew pew them away as you pawns do the rest for you. However there are those occasional bosses that it is impossible to do so. This is rather more easily accomplished by range players than melee.

    The Boss AI are there to literally kill you, range characters that can not find a place to hide away to cast spells will literally be obliterated. The AI knows when you are about to cast a spell so be forewarned... The same can not be said for the pawn AI, since you have to really pay attention to what they are doing.

    "Trying to give the retreat comman is useless if your pawns are in the middle of casting a spell."

    Does this mean the Pawn AI is useless... no. In fact the Pawn AI will make you giggle, frustrate you and eventually want to make you grab them and throw them off a high cliff (which you can do) out of pure anger. The Pawn AI is smart, they know when to cast but it is your job to make sure you are distracting the boss and have a bit of faith in them as it took me a while to understand this. I wanted the easy way to win and depend on my pawns but in a sense lost what make dragon dogmas so great the ability to be able to grab on a monster for dear life and bash them away 300 feet in the air.

    The game is not with out it flaws but what game does not? The addition to this game was well worth the wait. Death stalks you, your pawns have calmed down their chit chat but still annoying sometimes...

    The game is addictive there is not way around it, and now that there are more armors to choose from you just want to get the best gear for you pawn.

    "A well geared and good looking pawn has a better chance of being hired by other players so you can get those delicious rift crystals."

    This game is a huge bargain for new players and somewhat of a mediocre addition to veterans but still keeps you coming for more. I still have to yet to achieve that golden idol and have yet to convince Madelene to open her shop to purchase the armor that I need.

    The game has unlimited replay value meaning when you beat the game REMEMBER to choose load game as you can go to New Game and start from the begining with all the gear you acqured from the previous play through.

    The year was well worth the wait...
    Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    I registered an account just to make a review of this great game! I give it 8.9 or 9 as it's easily one of my favorite games of ALL time. Which means a lot, because I've always loved fantasy RPG's and open world games, and played most of them on the market. It's sad to see some barbarians (gamers, reviewers and magazines alike) gave the game scores like 0, 4 and 5 probably because they weren't in the right mood at the time of playing or expected something from the game that shouldn't be expected, or that is not in the scope of the game.

    While everyone keep mentioning Skyrim and how amazing it was, I have to admit that I was disappointed in that game (I loved Morrowind and Oblivion), as it lacked soul, game world was not consistent, and was too casual for me. Comparing Skyrim to Dragon's Dogma is not that easy as it looks because they have some aspects that need different approach (not a hastily given 0 or 5 score, guys). Like combat and party management. I try to point out the strongest points of Dragon's Dogma below. (I have more than 80 hours in game).

    - Character customization: the BEST I've ever seen in a game. I've never made a character such lifelike before. There's room for every kind of character types, from a humble tubby peasant to a tall cliché knight, dwarf or a giant. Armors and clothes options are amazing, they give plenty of room to make a character of your taste. Also it's worth noting that ingame armors and basic clothes look very authentic (obviously not Griffin armor and such but chainmail, plate and the like).

    - World: maybe the most detailed and immersive fantasy worlds I've seen in a game. Lightning effects are amazing, fire has realistic looking lightning, nights are nearly pitch black, nearly every action has motion-capture animations, nature is very detailed and realistic looking (I have Dark Arisen and HD texture pack), music and background noises are fantastic.

    - Big monster battles: I must admit, I hate boss battles, I just find that whole thing outdated. Not in this game. Big monsters are actually not bosses (you can leave them if you want), and fighting against them is actually a big fun. It's possible to climb on them, every big monster has different body parts that can be attacked with elements like fire, lightning, frost and so on. As for the animation and graphical part, it's just amazing. It really is. I mean I've never encountered such epic and creepy monster battles like in this game.

    - Battles and loot: battles are halfway arcadey and tactical, but very rewarding. Finding new crispy armors or weapons are quite balanced and a little slow paced (not Diablo-like, similar to Destiny). Battle skills are surprisingly deep, class system has every kind of class-types.

    All in all this game is truly a labour of love, the dedication of the developers is evidently there, the painstakingly made world is filled with soul. There are so many things to discover in this game that it can't be described. It is possible to give gifts to anyone among NPC's, to combine items, to manage your party, to explore the world on your own pace, to customize your character. For me this is a much colorful experience than I had with Skyrim. The only thing I miss a bit is the bigger game world, but that would be too good to be true. A must have.
    Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This game is great, only held back by little problems and bugs, but trust me the combat in this game is amazing and much improved on the already marvelous system from the first! Totally not worth a zero. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    I prefer the original one over this one,i'm tired of having to restart all overt again it was a good game but should have been completely new not same based... Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    Well first of I really like skyrim and dark souls played those games combined like +300 hours, and then came dragons dogma dark FAIL I mean this game just blows, Like what year is it 2006 combat sucks and the game looks like all the detail was flushed down the toilet. And the character leveling system is way 2 confusing. I would not even recommend this game even if it was the last rpg on planet earth like worst rpg ever and someway remind me of the lord of the ring coop that came to xbox but even that was better Capcom next time I even consider buying anything again from you guys I always remember this epic fail. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews