Dragon's Lair Xbox 360

Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 11 out of 18
  1. May 25, 2012
    40
    This new port of Dragon's Lair brings Kinect support and leaderboards to the classic game, but its gameplay is increasingly dated.
  2. May 22, 2012
    30
    Dragon's Lair is a lot like the chicken pox. It's probable that you'll experience it once in your lifetime, and that's more than enough.
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    40
    If only it had added some more content (for example, the second installment or Space Ace) it would have worth the 800 MS Points it costs, but adding Kinect compatibility doesn't justify its price. Its nostalgia value can compensate for it, but its gameplay is almost nonexistent.
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    33
    With its Don Bluth animations and movie-quality production values, Dragon's Lair is the best looking game of the 1980s. Unfortunately, in order to look so good the game had to make a few sacrifices. As a result we're left with a shallow "action" game that is little more than Simon Says. Not even the gimmicky Kinect support makes this game worth playing more than once!
  5. 35
    Unfortunately, the major addition for its XBLA debut - Kinect integration - is poorly implemented, leaving an otherwise shallow and dated experience.
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    30
    Dragon's Lair is not the game you're looking for on Xbox Live. The controls don't work well and you don't need a lot of time to beat the entire game. So leave your sword where it is, because Dragon's Lair doesn't ever make you feel like a knight.
  7. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Aug 12, 2012
    10
    Why punish yourself? [Sept 2012, p.105]
  8. May 31, 2012
    40
    Without the nostalgia factor, it's just a very short and dated experience with a glimmer of the wonder that once gripped the arcade world. That's really not enough to compete with what's out there now.
  9. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 26, 2012
    40
    Though you might think Kinect would be the perfect fit for its staccato gameplay, it ultimately makes things even more frustrating. [Issue#87, p.87]
  10. Jun 13, 2012
    25
    The gameplay has not aged well, and the Kinect integration is gimmicky at best.
  11. May 18, 2012
    30
    There is a lot of historical gravitas that Dragon's Lair carries, but with over five dozen ports since its 1983 arcade launch, the game lacks punch, especially on modern consoles. There may be a nostalgia factor here for some, and it might be a good history lesson for others, but the game really doesn't stand the test of time.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to controlDragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to control the protagonist, a knight named Dirk through various scenarios for the final attempt to rescue Princess Daphne. It was a great success at the time (83) and was known for its difficulty, which is transmitted to the Xbox 360 - the difference is that here, instead of getting lost countless arcade tokens, here you can play until the end. The graphics are the ones of an animation of the time (actually a former Disney animator made â Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a forever classic, i recomend for the new and old school gamers! The only bad point is the very short time to finish theDragon's Lair is a forever classic, i recomend for the new and old school gamers! The only bad point is the very short time to finish the history, but is great. Dirky is so nice on the Xbox 360, enjoy! Full Review »
  3. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    I just threw away $10. I know that is not a lot, but I usually don't just drop a tenner into the waste basket. There is not enough time toI just threw away $10. I know that is not a lot, but I usually don't just drop a tenner into the waste basket. There is not enough time to complete the desired actions, sometimes the arrows blend in the background, and sometimes even if I did do the action in time, it didn't matter. God I'm irritated. Full Review »