User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    i have been a fan of mma for the last ten years and have bought all the mma games i could back to the 1st ufc game on the dreamcast and onto the pride game on ps2 aswell as the imports from japan like k-1 dynamite, im fan of ufc undisputed 2009/2010 of this generation there great fun but pretty much every match would end in KO this is where EA sports MMA surpases THQ efforts the matchs flow much better and the submission system is much nicer than shining an anolg stick, the carrer mode is great traviling the world is a great touch and fighting with diffrent rule sets is awsome especially fans of pride or k-1, the lack of ufc fighters is annoying but you can always put your favorite fighter in using the game face feature, overall EA sports MMA is a solid entry into this sport and i cant wait to see what thay will do next until then im going to continue to enjoy EA sports MMA 10/10 Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I was skepticle at first and have been a fan of the UFC by THQ since it first came out. I played the demo for EA SPORTS MMA and wasn't all to impressed, espicially with the a i of the computer. However after playing the full version of the game I'm really impressed. This game definitely runs smoother and is alot more balanced than UFC. Infact I wold recommend this game to just about anybody. Excellent Game. Collapse
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA!
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    First off I am a huge mma fan. Have been since the introduction of this sport back in the nineties. I owned both UFC Undisputed 2009 and 2010(and any other mma title). Loved them as a fan of the sport. As a gamer not so much. In short, I traded both in at Gamestop for this game. I was repaid 10x over. EA Sports MMA is the best mma game to date. The depth all around is amazing. You really get to explore the sport of mma and not just a company. Career mode takes you deep in as you start out fighting in lesser known leagues and venues fighting your way to the big time. With different rule sets for each league as in real life mma. Gameplay is off the charts. Gamers really have to play smart and use different strategies for different fighters. Controls are easy for anyone to learn. Yet still must be used in a strategic fashion in gameplay. No button mashing. No rotating the controller till your thumbs give in. And as for the roster of fighters, not as big as Undisputed. Some may be lesser known to casual fans but are just as tough or skillful as any in UFC. That's why this game is great it gives new fans a look into the world of mma with fighters from all across the globe. Not in an organization. A must buy for mma fans. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Best MMA game ever! The gameplay is so much better than Undisputed series, the host may be not know to everybody, but it is still a great game. Career mode is just brilliant!
  8. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    UFC Undisputed has a lot of things going in its favor. Great license, great fighters, great commentary great presentation. Unfortunately none of these things can make up for the fact that it is a terrible experience to play it. EA may not have all of the best fighters (just the very best - Fedor? Rutten? Jacare? Couture? Miller?) but the game has it where it counts. Every facet of the gameplay is superior to the Undisputed series. Better striking, better grappling, better submissions, better career mode, better AI, better online. If the roster is a sticking point for you - they have a create-a-fighter feature. Last Saturday I was playing Brock Lesnar vs Cain Velasquez in EA Sports MMA with hundreds of other people online. Bottom line: Don't get suckered by the UFC license - if you want the best MMA game on the market, buy this game. If, however, you want the best UFC game on the market... Yeah, still buy EA Sports MMA - and then go download or create all your favorite UFC fighters. This game actually does the sport and it's athletes justice.

    Anyway, I'm off to add a beard to my Lesnar.

    P.S. -It's probably a 9/10, but I'm giving it a 10 to fight the troll on this thread giving it zeroes.
    Expand
  9. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The only negative reviews from users is that "There aren't UFC fighters". First of all there are FIVE former champions and more than a handful of former fighters. Secondly, take the opportunity to learn about these amazing fighters. Joachim, Alvarez, JZ, Aoki, Mach Sakurai, Werdum, Fedor, Miller, Kawajiri... the list goes on. If you're a UFC nuthugger, do yourself a favor, watch Joachim v Alvarez or Aoki v anyone and tell me what you think of Jon Snuggie Fitch and Gray Snoozefest Maynard. The game is top quality and even the small annoyances are being patched. Plus you can add all your overhyped UFC favorites with fightershare anyway. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    ok, I got this game because I wanted something better than the UFC game. I was disappointed, the competition is better. EA just fell short on this one. Game play is a substantial step below the competition and other EA games - did they go cheap on development and spend everything on marketing this thing? Stick with the real thing and get the UFC game.
  11. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    THE PEOPLE LEAVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS HERE ARE A BUNCH OF RETARDS, HOW CAN YOU COMPLAIN THAT IT DOES NOT HAVE UFC FIGHTERS IN IT??? ITS NOT A UFC GAME IDIOTS, ITS NOT STREETFIGHTER!! OH AND WHERE IS BROCK LESNER ?? THAT WOULD BE FROM THE FAKE WRESTLING FANS WOULD IT?? I love ufc also but this game is far superior, no lag online fluent transitions and good striking Head stomps + soccer kicks anyone??

    take the time to learn the game before hating on it

    AWESOME
    Expand
  12. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Best fighting game ever made. I also find it funny that the negative reviews are all 0 and all back to back, and all by members who have never reviewed any other game... suspect? Sorry UFC/THQ.. this is a much better game than yours even if you spam the metacritic wall with fake reviews.
  13. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    If you actually know MMA , you'll enjoy the roster EA has given all of us.
    The game mechanics is done very well imo.
    Also, I prefer not breaking my controller when I'm trying to get out of a submission (aka UFC)

    EA is moving 2 steps forward, while THQ/UFC is moving 3 steps back.
    UFC in general is lacking in most aspects.
  14. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Awesome game, online works, almost completely balanced and probably will be after the first patch. The stand up is exciting, realistic and the knockouts are devastating. While the ground game is deep and strategic. The submission system is fun as hell and results in amazing submission battles. The presentation could use a little cleaning up but the graphics make up for it. Although it doesn't have as big of a roster, this game destroys UFC Undisputed 2010 by a long shot. Expand
  15. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Good game. Its only going to get better. There trying out a new game and I was really surprised how they took barely anything for the other big contender in this catagory, the UFC Undisputed series. Being a avid MMA fan myself a love that a game has come out that will open up ufc fans to the other great fighters from around the world. The roster is strong with the head fighters being MMA Legend Randy Couture and the widely considered best MMA fighter of all time Fedor Emelianenko. I see alot of UFC fans and a few reviewers here stating its an unknown roster, far from the truth if you truely know MMA. The UFC has 50% of the worlds top fighters, this game has the other half. The controls at first are very ton to get the hang of especially if you have been pay the undisputed games alot, but it is very gratifying to learn them and be able to counter and knock an opponant out with a perfectly timed counter punch or kick. The submission game is also gives you an extreme adrenaline boost and is not just all about mashing but using timing and finding that sweet spot to finish your opponent. The graphics are also a step in the right direction, the blood is very realistic and knockouts seem to be different each time not just a re-running cycle of five or so set KO's. I would highly recommend this game to any MMA fan that wants to learn more about MMA in general and the fighters that fight not just in the UFC but all around the world. Expand
  16. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    I was skepticle at first and have been a fan of the UFC by THQ since it first came out. I played the demo for EA SPORTS MMA and wasn't all to impressed, espicially with the a i of the computer. However after playing the full version of the game I'm really impressed. This game definitely runs smoother and is alot more balanced than UFC. Infact I wold recommend this game to just about anybody. Excellent Game. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    70
    This is a very well realised first attempt by EA and one that won't require much tweaking should there be any subsequent additions to the series.
  2. Jan 20, 2011
    90
    A veritable knock-out. [Issue#102, p.100]
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    85
    EA Sports MMA brings a nice package to the ring.