Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EA SPORTS MMA promises to feature the most authentic, intense and broad mixed martial arts experience to date - complete with a vast array of top fighters and fighting styles from around the world. [Electronic Arts]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    It's great to see some real competition for THQ in this genre and MMA fans shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    86
    EA Sports MMA is a great title that every Mixed Martial Arts aficionado should have. The attention to detail is top notch, with fighters that behave mostly like their real counterparts in a fight and a well-crafted career mode. Despite frequent and long loading times and a somewhat unbalanced difficulty curve EA devs definitely know their stuff when making sports games, and this is further proof of their ability.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    84
    There's plenty of room for growth and improvement, but EA has a solid, well varied and quite fun first title. If you are not loyal to the UFC brand, or maybe just sick of how saturated the market is with the premiere mixed-martial arts league, EA Sports MMA is a viable alternative to THQ's dominate franchise.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA wrestles away the belt from the reigning champ with its stellar combat that feels much closer to the genuine article than what we've seen elsewhere.
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    With a disappointing career mode and less-than-stellar presentation, it's a less complete package than Undisputed. I should probably drop in a fighting metaphor here, I suppose: with MMA, it seems like EA is finding its range with the jab in the first round, before swinging for the fences in the second.
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    The career mode is excellent, and the overall presentation is well done. The fighting engine is solid, though there are a few odd mechanical choices in play, and the career mode is very deep and time-consuming in a good way.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    EA Sports MMA isn't as intricate as the sport it represents; it never presents itself as an arcade-like representation, so it's hard to not notice that it is a lackluster effort within the simulation genre.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The only negative reviews from users is that "There aren't UFC fighters". First of all there are FIVE former champions and more than a handful of former fighters. Secondly, take the opportunity to learn about these amazing fighters. Joachim, Alvarez, JZ, Aoki, Mach Sakurai, Werdum, Fedor, Miller, Kawajiri... the list goes on. If you're a UFC nuthugger, do yourself a favor, watch Joachim v Alvarez or Aoki v anyone and tell me what you think of Jon Snuggie Fitch and Gray Snoozefest Maynard. The game is top quality and even the small annoyances are being patched. Plus you can add all your overhyped UFC favorites with fightershare anyway. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Awesome game, online works, almost completely balanced and probably will be after the first patch. The stand up is exciting, realistic and the knockouts are devastating. While the ground game is deep and strategic. The submission system is fun as hell and results in amazing submission battles. The presentation could use a little cleaning up but the graphics make up for it. Although it doesn't have as big of a roster, this game destroys UFC Undisputed 2010 by a long shot. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    i have been a fan of mma for the last ten years and have bought all the mma games i could back to the 1st ufc game on the dreamcast and onto the pride game on ps2 aswell as the imports from japan like k-1 dynamite, im fan of ufc undisputed 2009/2010 of this generation there great fun but pretty much every match would end in KO this is where EA sports MMA surpases THQ efforts the matchs flow much better and the submission system is much nicer than shining an anolg stick, the carrer mode is great traviling the world is a great touch and fighting with diffrent rule sets is awsome especially fans of pride or k-1, the lack of ufc fighters is annoying but you can always put your favorite fighter in using the game face feature, overall EA sports MMA is a solid entry into this sport and i cant wait to see what thay will do next until then im going to continue to enjoy EA sports MMA 10/10 Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Good game. Its only going to get better. There trying out a new game and I was really surprised how they took barely anything for the other big contender in this catagory, the UFC Undisputed series. Being a avid MMA fan myself a love that a game has come out that will open up ufc fans to the other great fighters from around the world. The roster is strong with the head fighters being MMA Legend Randy Couture and the widely considered best MMA fighter of all time Fedor Emelianenko. I see alot of UFC fans and a few reviewers here stating its an unknown roster, far from the truth if you truely know MMA. The UFC has 50% of the worlds top fighters, this game has the other half. The controls at first are very ton to get the hang of especially if you have been pay the undisputed games alot, but it is very gratifying to learn them and be able to counter and knock an opponant out with a perfectly timed counter punch or kick. The submission game is also gives you an extreme adrenaline boost and is not just all about mashing but using timing and finding that sweet spot to finish your opponent. The graphics are also a step in the right direction, the blood is very realistic and knockouts seem to be different each time not just a re-running cycle of five or so set KO's. I would highly recommend this game to any MMA fan that wants to learn more about MMA in general and the fighters that fight not just in the UFC but all around the world. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    Best MMA game ever! The gameplay is so much better than Undisputed series, the host may be not know to everybody, but it is still a great game. Career mode is just brilliant! Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    0
    Bad game all around. Unknown roster, only two UFC fighters. Bad controls with the buttons. Fight stick is okay though but not enough to save the game. Boring single player mode, very little replay value. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews