EA Sports MMA Xbox 360

EA Sports MMA Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EA SPORTS MMA promises to feature the most authentic, intense and broad mixed martial arts experience to date - complete with a vast array of top fighters and fighting styles from around the world. [Electronic Arts]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    It's great to see some real competition for THQ in this genre and MMA fans shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    86
    EA Sports MMA is a great title that every Mixed Martial Arts aficionado should have. The attention to detail is top notch, with fighters that behave mostly like their real counterparts in a fight and a well-crafted career mode. Despite frequent and long loading times and a somewhat unbalanced difficulty curve EA devs definitely know their stuff when making sports games, and this is further proof of their ability.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    84
    There's plenty of room for growth and improvement, but EA has a solid, well varied and quite fun first title. If you are not loyal to the UFC brand, or maybe just sick of how saturated the market is with the premiere mixed-martial arts league, EA Sports MMA is a viable alternative to THQ's dominate franchise.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA wrestles away the belt from the reigning champ with its stellar combat that feels much closer to the genuine article than what we've seen elsewhere.
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    With a disappointing career mode and less-than-stellar presentation, it's a less complete package than Undisputed. I should probably drop in a fighting metaphor here, I suppose: with MMA, it seems like EA is finding its range with the jab in the first round, before swinging for the fences in the second.
  6. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    The career mode is excellent, and the overall presentation is well done. The fighting engine is solid, though there are a few odd mechanical choices in play, and the career mode is very deep and time-consuming in a good way.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    EA Sports MMA isn't as intricate as the sport it represents; it never presents itself as an arcade-like representation, so it's hard to not notice that it is a lackluster effort within the simulation genre.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    The only negative reviews from users is that "There aren't UFC fighters". First of all there are FIVE former champions and more than a handfulThe only negative reviews from users is that "There aren't UFC fighters". First of all there are FIVE former champions and more than a handful of former fighters. Secondly, take the opportunity to learn about these amazing fighters. Joachim, Alvarez, JZ, Aoki, Mach Sakurai, Werdum, Fedor, Miller, Kawajiri... the list goes on. If you're a UFC nuthugger, do yourself a favor, watch Joachim v Alvarez or Aoki v anyone and tell me what you think of Jon Snuggie Fitch and Gray Snoozefest Maynard. The game is top quality and even the small annoyances are being patched. Plus you can add all your overhyped UFC favorites with fightershare anyway. Expand
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    i have been a fan of mma for the last ten years and have bought all the mma games i could back to the 1st ufc game on the dreamcast and ontoi have been a fan of mma for the last ten years and have bought all the mma games i could back to the 1st ufc game on the dreamcast and onto the pride game on ps2 aswell as the imports from japan like k-1 dynamite, im fan of ufc undisputed 2009/2010 of this generation there great fun but pretty much every match would end in KO this is where EA sports MMA surpases THQ efforts the matchs flow much better and the submission system is much nicer than shining an anolg stick, the carrer mode is great traviling the world is a great touch and fighting with diffrent rule sets is awsome especially fans of pride or k-1, the lack of ufc fighters is annoying but you can always put your favorite fighter in using the game face feature, overall EA sports MMA is a solid entry into this sport and i cant wait to see what thay will do next until then im going to continue to enjoy EA sports MMA 10/10 Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    First off I am a huge mma fan. Have been since the introduction of this sport back in the nineties. I owned both UFC Undisputed 2009 andFirst off I am a huge mma fan. Have been since the introduction of this sport back in the nineties. I owned both UFC Undisputed 2009 and 2010(and any other mma title). Loved them as a fan of the sport. As a gamer not so much. In short, I traded both in at Gamestop for this game. I was repaid 10x over. EA Sports MMA is the best mma game to date. The depth all around is amazing. You really get to explore the sport of mma and not just a company. Career mode takes you deep in as you start out fighting in lesser known leagues and venues fighting your way to the big time. With different rule sets for each league as in real life mma. Gameplay is off the charts. Gamers really have to play smart and use different strategies for different fighters. Controls are easy for anyone to learn. Yet still must be used in a strategic fashion in gameplay. No button mashing. No rotating the controller till your thumbs give in. And as for the roster of fighters, not as big as Undisputed. Some may be lesser known to casual fans but are just as tough or skillful as any in UFC. That's why this game is great it gives new fans a look into the world of mma with fighters from all across the globe. Not in an organization. A must buy for mma fans. Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    LOL, at the negative reviews from people to dumb to read anything about EA SPORTS MMA or even check it's wiki page 3-4 months b4 release, ifLOL, at the negative reviews from people to dumb to read anything about EA SPORTS MMA or even check it's wiki page 3-4 months b4 release, if you didn't have your head buried in the sand, you would have realised from day one, that ufc wasn't going to be participating in this game, apart from randy because he didn't sign his lifetime likeness royalty rights away to zuffa like most other fighters. how can you get mad at a game for your own stupidity in not reading up about it? there were countless previews stating there were no current ufc fighters except randy, they said it in nearly every demo video they did of the game, it's like me getting angry there are no Star Wars characters in Battlestar Galactica, ufc isn't the be all and end all of MMA, but apart from the dumb people on here, the game is actually pretty good, i do enjoy UFC 2010 alot more, but this game beats it in alot of areas, especially training, i played about 80+ hours offline on 2010 and the mundane training exercises drove me up the wall, Submissions are also set out better, and save your controller from unwarranted abuse, the character creation is alot better as well, the blood is very realistic and smears on the fighters body very well, career mode is a bit meh, i like what they have done with it, and it's not as tacky as ufc 2010, but when 90% of your fights are against cpu created fighters, the whole wonderlust associated with beating a big name star is completely taken away, any animation outside the ring is horrific, and not any better than ufc's terrible attempt, but the fighter visuals look great, except they tend to distort and look unnatural when shown in cut scenes like intro's and whatnot, the way their shoulders pop out when they raise their arm, it is just very last gen, but overall the game seems great, and is a welcome to the very very small niche market of mma, hopefully this will force THQ to pick their game up on ufc 2011 and maybe add The Ultimate Fighter as a feature, as there isn't really much ufc can do except make the career mode more immersive and interesting, add TUF, and maybe revamp the menu's again, but hopefully these 2 titles can grown side by side and force each other to improve, so that we the consumer get the best deal. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2010
    0
    Bad game all around. Unknown roster, only two UFC fighters. Bad controls with the buttons. Fight stick is okay though but not enough toBad game all around. Unknown roster, only two UFC fighters. Bad controls with the buttons. Fight stick is okay though but not enough to save the game. Boring single player mode, very little replay value. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews