Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. 69
    It doesn't hold a candle to some of the more technically savvy games on Xbox 360 and that may be more than ample reason to give this one a pass depending upon your tastes. For good mindless shooting, this game delivers.
  2. As archaic and clumsy as it can be, Earth Defense Force 2017 succeeds because of what a ridiculous bit of dumb fun it is.
  3. Players will be able to tell that this game had a low budget, because almost every area of the game needs improvement. Even though this is the case, this is an extremely fun game to play with your friends just because you want to kill everything in sight and protect humanity from extenuation.
  4. For balls to the wall, mindless shooting this game will satisfy, if you can focus on the destruction you cause and not the technical short comings.
  5. Earth Defense Force may not have the serious tones of today’s triple-A juggernauts, but its quality gameplay and refreshing premise shows that a B-game can be every bit as entertaining.
  6. 80
    It's a unique, well-realized action game that's like nothing else on the 360. If "EDF2" didn't exist, we'd like it even more.
  7. It gives you well over a hundred weapons to try out, masses of difficulty levels, and explosions so big that you'll worry they may crack the front of your television. Earth Defence Force 2017 isn't a complex cocktail. It's a Molotov cocktail.
  8. 75
    As fun as hurling dozens of rockets at a time into a swarm of giant alien ants is, it will get boring after a few hours. If you're up for a shallow yet addictive and gratuitously violent shooter, you can't go wrong with Earth Defense Force. Just take a break every few hours and read a book to rebuild some of the higher brain function you just lost.
  9. Objectively, it's not hard to tell that Earth Defense Force 2017 is poorly made compared to the vast majority of 360 titles, although the localization is quality work on D3's part. What makes it so compelling to play, despite its many obvious flaws, is that the gameplay formula is by itself amazingly addictive and satisfying regardless of the graphics.
  10. Whether or not you dig the Ed Wood production values, it's hard to deny the massive amounts of action, adventure, and mind-boggling fun that can be had in the fulfilling campaign.
  11. It’s not particularly innovative, it doesn’t have ground breaking graphics, but it does what it’s meant to do and is a fun way to spend a little time.
  12. 80
    If there's a heaven, I think it's full of giant spiders and rocket launchers. It's a place where skyscrapers collapse if you breathe on them too hard and you never run out of ammunition. When I die, I want to go to Earth Defense Force 2017.
  13. Unashamedly quirky retro fare that's putting the fun (and ants) back into gaming. [June 2007, p.73]
  14. If Earth Defense Force 2017 were a movie, Ed Wood would have directed it. It would star Bruce Campbell. The folly artists would be hard at work with the pots and pans of your average kitchen. The special effects would come courtesy of the cheap toys and props of your garden-variety dollar store. This is a “B” movie from start to finish, it’s about as cheesy, hokey and ridiculous as they come and it’s totally awesome!
  15. A corny, geeky dream come true that's destined to be an underground classic.
  16. Having hopes of a grandiose, multifaceted sci-fi adventure will leave you extremely disappointed in Earth Defense Force 2017. If you embrace its narrowly-focused action gameplay you’ll have a blast saving the planet one dead alien at a time.
  17. The illusion of epic-scale warfare remains a powerful and entertaining one, broken most significantly by the player’s need to avoid overexposing themselves to its fundamentally tedious nature. [Feb 2007, p.85]
  18. Sadly, while mowing through thousands of baddies and flattening entire skylines does hold a certain appeal, your $40 is better put toward other 360 action games. [May 2007, p.78]
  19. 70
    Recommending this game isn’t hard, in fact I can’t think of a reason not to buy this game. With a nice price, fast-paced action, and tons of giant bugs to demolish this is one of the most satisfying experiences on the Xbox 360 to date.
  20. As a 3D take on the old-school run-and-gun genre, the mixture of giant enemy hordes and fully destructible environments is often both exhilarating and deeply satisfying, albeit in a very tongue-in-cheek way. [May 2007, p.114]
  21. Speaking of destruction, every building in the game can be destroyed - something which was quite a surprise at first, after a stray missile missed its target and downed a building a few hundred metres in the distance. This combined with the complete bombardment of enemies makes for a game that constantly brings a smile to the face of players.
  22. The game aims for a classic War of the Worlds/Them/Godzilla vibe that no game has attempted to capture in years, and it does an excellent job of it. [JPN Import; Feb 2007, p.81]
  23. This is what gaming is all about: simple controls, nonstop action, and buckets of fun. [May 2007, p.84]
  24. Earth Defense Force 2017 overcomes its weaknesses by being brainless and ridiculous fun. It’s as simple as that. Play, have fun.
  25. Go ahead and say that EDF is repetitive, but we had more fun trying out the 150 weapons than in almost any other recent shooter. Every level is packed with pure, nerdy fun, and the five difficulty levels prodded us into taking new weapons back into early levels to see how we'd fare. Weak-kneed animations and silly dialogue made it that much better, just this once.
  26. The bottom line with this game is that you get what you pay for, and even at $39.99, Earth Defense Force 2017 is simply overpriced. The physics and audio are so last gen, that even after blowing stuff up for some limited enjoyment, you just want to put the game away and play an Xbox Live Arcade title instead.
  27. Don’t dismiss this game just because it is a budget title, it’s definitely got some hook to it. If these guys had a bigger budget, this would be a hit.
  28. An outrageously corny and a massively extravagant shooter that delivers plenty of short-lived fun, but the severe repetition and absurd length of the game eat away at the spirit of the fast-paced shooter. [Jan 2008]
  29. 75
    Earth Defence Force 2017 might be a little rough around the edges, but it offers non-stop action on a breathtaking scale.
  30. A bit similar to "Crackdown." The sum of its parts doesn’t really equal anything outstanding. In fact, it’s downright crap in some ways. But when you actually play it, you’ll find yourself coming back for more…even if you’re not totally sure why.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    I picked this up for 15 bucks on the premise that it had co-op, and the wife and I couldn't put it down. Two years later we still have EDFI picked this up for 15 bucks on the premise that it had co-op, and the wife and I couldn't put it down. Two years later we still have EDF night once a month, and we are chomping at the bit to get our hands on EDF IA.

    If you want cheesy retro arcade fun in split screen, get this. You won't regret it. Add Alcohol (if you are of legal age) to increase comical value.
    Full Review »
  2. AdamB.
    May 7, 2007
    10
    The most fun I've had on the 360 to date. Great music and graphics, laughable yet fitting voice acting and story, easy to pick up and The most fun I've had on the 360 to date. Great music and graphics, laughable yet fitting voice acting and story, easy to pick up and play, lots of collectables and great 2-player co-op. It reminds me of Sega's Alien Front Online for Dreamcast; imagine Halo if it were a hack-and-slash b-movie arcade game. It starts out a bit generic and slow, but it quickly gets frantic and unique. This will surely end up being a cult classic. Put on a custom epic soundtrack like something from E.S. Posthumus or even the song O Fortuna for an even crazier feel. Full Review »
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An early 360 game, it looks more like a dreamcast game and some of the control choices make me wonder if it was originally intended for thatAn early 360 game, it looks more like a dreamcast game and some of the control choices make me wonder if it was originally intended for that platform. The voice acting is catastrophically bad and the story makes little sense. The controls are a baffling when it comes to the vehicles and the weapons and unlocks are just on this side of random.

    And the amount of belief you need to suspend? Let's just say that there are points where your single guy in body armor is being hit by a hail of shots from a dozen 50 foot robots with plasma cannons while you are shooting at them with a shotgun.

    The maps are bland and reused repeatedly, the creatures and enemies have an AI that belongs in Galaga...

    ....And the game is entirely more fun than it deserves to be. There is a reason why this game can be found used for $60 in some areas. It is seriously fun, in every way. Some of the best moments are having to sprint backwards while you are throwing nuclear hand grenades that will kill you if you weren't sprinting backwards.
    Full Review »