Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Jul 7, 2011
    85
    I love EDF to death. It delivers a metric ton of stupid fun.
  2. Jul 13, 2011
    81
    Thrilling, non-stop action for those who can overlook a few technical woes.
  3. Jul 11, 2011
    81
    If you love those old 50's and 60's movies with aliens or giant insects then Earth Defense Force: Alien Armageddon has an endless supply of both, mixed with exciting gameplay, and even a bit of thoughtful strategy when it comes to choosing your class, customizing their weapons, and prioritizing your targets. Play it alone or play it with friends…just make sure you play it.
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    While it may be different from what series fans are used to, it is absolutely a game worthy of the Earth Defense Force title and lineage.
  5. Jul 16, 2011
    80
    There are some slight issues here that weigh the game down, and, let's face it, D3 Publisher wasn't looking to dethrone any kings. Now, that said, it's a romp and a half, a bug-killing fest that has plenty of destructive flair to spare.
  6. Jul 13, 2011
    80
    All cake and no icing. As long you're prepared to handle that, this could be the best $40 you'll ever spend.
  7. Jul 13, 2011
    80
    It's a refreshing and fun experience throughout that offers significant challenge with a ton of heart.
  8. Tweaks and changes have successfully fixed most of EDF 2017's problems without damaging any of the dodgy aspects that made it so wonderfully wonky. If you're in the market for some mindless co-op nonsense, Insect Armageddon's comes highly recommended.
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    It's basic stuff, its frame-rate can stutter, and it's got a handful of minor - ha! - bugs, but if you're looking for a source of guilt-free insect murder over the next few weeks, this is the best show in town. Just ask the ants.
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    Insect Armageddon lacks the clueless earnestness of the last entry and carries over some dated concepts, but it fully captures the same breed of unapologetic run-and-gun action. Ultimately, that's what kept me playing EDF 2017 for dozens of hours, and that's why I've got dozens more in front of me with Insect Armageddon.
  11. Aug 11, 2011
    75
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a fun game, especially with the armor system they implemented.
  12. Aug 5, 2011
    75
    Despite lacking the scripted set-pieces of a so-called 'AAA' game, Insect Armageddon does a remarkable job of showing what a focused team can produce on a minimal budget.
  13. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    Even though, at it's core, the game is just about killing bugs, saying so doesn't quite do it justice.
  14. Jul 13, 2011
    75
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon isn't some fancy-ass, top-of-the-line flea bomb, but an inexpensive can of Raid that gets the job done.
  15. Jul 11, 2011
    75
    It isn't the best at anything, but it's got a flair for the ridiculous that makes it unique in a genre that often takes itself a little too seriously.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    At a retail price of $39, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a TREMENDOUS value. My friend and I are having an absolute blast playingAt a retail price of $39, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a TREMENDOUS value. My friend and I are having an absolute blast playing the co-op campaign (on the hard setting) online, literally blasting our way through everything we see. Unlocking the literally hundreds of weapons and leveling up my soldier class (Trooper) is extremely addicting and rewarding. Once I got my hands on that missile launcher that locks on, and that grenade launcher that fires six at a time, well things got very interesting. There's so much replay value after you've beaten the campaign, tons of weapons to unlock, plenty of soldier classes to level up, and a variety of game modes and difficulties including...INFERNO!!. When you see an online buddy fire a weapon that turns your entire TV screen into a blinding light, all the surrounding bugs go up in flames, and all the surrounding skyscrapers slowly collapse, you'll go, "Wow, this game is awesome". Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    I never played EDF: 2017. In fact, I hadn't even heard much about it until I started seeing previews for Insect Armageddon. I now wish I hadI never played EDF: 2017. In fact, I hadn't even heard much about it until I started seeing previews for Insect Armageddon. I now wish I had picked up 2017. Even without the expectations as an EDF fan, I'm still having a blast with this game. I love the B-movie look and feel of the game, and the constant on-screen action is absolutely insane. If you're looking for an old-school arcade shooter that delivers the goods via insect guts, then this is your game. Consider me a fan. Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    First, if you're looking at this, you might have played EDF: 2017. If this is the case, you need to know that vehicles are fixed, spider websFirst, if you're looking at this, you might have played EDF: 2017. If this is the case, you need to know that vehicles are fixed, spider webs can't hit you through walls, the mechs are worthwhile, you can revive your primary squadmates (and they can revive you), and there is online co-op. That should address all your complaints about EDF: 2017. Go buy EDF: Insect Armageddon now.

    If you didn't play EDF: 2017, and you want a deep game with serious business and artful stylings of a world yet unrealized, move along, nothing to see here.

    This game is the definition of stupid fun. 'STUPID' - There is no deep storyline, no emo characters wearing uniforms with a thousand zippers and buckles, no quirky sidekicks, none of that. There's just you, a few hundred guns, giant insects and robots, and cheesy one-liners just like a B-Movie. 'FUN' - You make stuff go boom. There's very little between you and the carnage. The only downside is that the game is a bit short, and to me one of the armor types is fairly useless. Within a few days it will probably get a bit repetitive, but the online co-op, difficulty modes, campaign remix, and survival mode with a total of 6 players make it still worthwhile.
    Full Review »