Enchanted Arms Xbox 360

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 59
  2. Negative: 13 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    8
    Geat title, is really cool, have much elements of a great RPG, obviusly have mistakes, but all the good things on Enchanted Arms do to this title an incredible sorprise. Enchanted Arms is amazing.
  2. RosieL.
    Nov 12, 2006
    4
    This game would be cool, if it didn't compare itself to final fantasy! it is so patronisingly simple and over-explained, that i couldn't bare to sit through it! a 30 second explanation on 'how to use a switch'?! it hurts... it's mjor redeaming feature, and the only reason I struggled on through the repetitive and pointless (a retry function??) was the dialogue - This game would be cool, if it didn't compare itself to final fantasy! it is so patronisingly simple and over-explained, that i couldn't bare to sit through it! a 30 second explanation on 'how to use a switch'?! it hurts... it's mjor redeaming feature, and the only reason I struggled on through the repetitive and pointless (a retry function??) was the dialogue - surprisingly snappy and amusing. I would say to only play this if you can't go and get yourself an old copy of FFX instead! Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    My friend let me borrow this game, and boy it is cheesy. The acting is annoying, the characters are so weird and not funny. I wasted my time. So disappointed. I wonder if the people who made this game knew that this game was absolute crap? I do not recommend this game.
  4. StormF.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    An excellent JRPG. For those reviewers that dislike it; as another critic has said, they seem to down rate it based on criticisms of the genre rather than the game it self. It's rather like giving the latest version of Tiger Woods or PES a bad rating because you don't like golf games or football games. This of course maybe the "fault" perhaps of Oblivion. This was many "new" An excellent JRPG. For those reviewers that dislike it; as another critic has said, they seem to down rate it based on criticisms of the genre rather than the game it self. It's rather like giving the latest version of Tiger Woods or PES a bad rating because you don't like golf games or football games. This of course maybe the "fault" perhaps of Oblivion. This was many "new" gamers first introduction to RPGs and perhaps they think that it is representative of all RPGs, rather than being part of a sub genre of a greater genre. It is also, as far as I can remember, the first JRPG that you can actually switch the soundtrack to the Japanese - which oddly i find far better than the English one - like the difference between a subbed and English soundtrack Anime. Expand
  5. Johneric
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    I loved the game. Battles are not annoying until the very end, when the probability of battles increases, but the storyline and characters are great. Some of the dialog can be really cheesy, but the characters develope, grow on you and you end up loving them all in the end. Great game! Loved it :)
  6. Matthew
    Sep 1, 2006
    8
    Good for what it is, a Japanes turn based RPG. All the good elements are there, and the only annoying thing is the English speaking track, but that's easily fixed by switching to Japanese and reading Subtitles. Fun and interesting battle system, with a fast forward option to get through those lengthy special attack animations that make every FF game 10 hours longer than it needs to Good for what it is, a Japanes turn based RPG. All the good elements are there, and the only annoying thing is the English speaking track, but that's easily fixed by switching to Japanese and reading Subtitles. Fun and interesting battle system, with a fast forward option to get through those lengthy special attack animations that make every FF game 10 hours longer than it needs to be. Not groundbreaking, but solid fun and a pleasure to look at. Xbox and Xbox 360 lacked JRPG's until now. Hopefully this, Blue Dragon and Lost Odssey sell well so that more developers release this genre on the 360, not just the PSBleed you dry. Expand
  7. GregJ.
    Nov 7, 2007
    9
    Great battle system, intruiging story, interesting and humourous characters/dialogue and excellent graphics. Definitely one of the best gaming experiences I've ever had!
  8. MatteoG.
    Sep 8, 2008
    8
    despite poor graphics decent turn based combat and very good character deepness make this title very enjoyable
  9. [Anonymous]
    Oct 21, 2006
    9
    Great game! Turn based battle system was great and I loved the happy ending.
  10. SteveT
    Aug 31, 2006
    8
    I have noticed this trend with JRPGs over the years where the male characters appear to be extremely feminine. With Enchanted Arms they go one step futher and go straight to flaming gay. (well at least with Makoto, the rest are questionable) That being said the game is actually pretty fun to play and for as quick as it was put together I am impressed. Granted I am sick of the whole youngI have noticed this trend with JRPGs over the years where the male characters appear to be extremely feminine. With Enchanted Arms they go one step futher and go straight to flaming gay. (well at least with Makoto, the rest are questionable) That being said the game is actually pretty fun to play and for as quick as it was put together I am impressed. Granted I am sick of the whole young kid and his pals set out to save the world cliche, but what else can we expect? Hopefully someone will break the mold one day. (like give us male leads that are older, a little less fey and tons less whiney) Lastly I would say I would recomend this game to any of the Final Fantasy crowd or turn based RPG lovers. I think it is a good begining effort to bring JRPGs to the Xbox community. So if you don't mind a little diversity in your PCs then check out Enchanted Arms. Its kind of like a Final Fantasy meets Pokemon thing that is fun to play. Expand
  11. FD
    Jan 27, 2007
    1
    This game ..for a Next Gen Game...TOTALLy Sucks...its a waste of money...if your a Rpg lover..u MIGHT..like it ..but im an rpg lover too..and this game is just so incredibly Boring..the fighting is bring..storyline is boring..conversations are Boring...you get a broken finger of having to press A every time someone says something instead of just showing it as a movie ..or ingameThis game ..for a Next Gen Game...TOTALLy Sucks...its a waste of money...if your a Rpg lover..u MIGHT..like it ..but im an rpg lover too..and this game is just so incredibly Boring..the fighting is bring..storyline is boring..conversations are Boring...you get a broken finger of having to press A every time someone says something instead of just showing it as a movie ..or ingame movie..they choose too put a static pic in the background and 2 chars in the front..that sucks ass..this game sucks ass..i only play it because i payed money for it Expand
  12. AlexK.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The game is everything that an rpg should be and then some humor thrown in the mix.
  13. DanielT
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    This is my first rpg for the xbox 360. The game starts off super slow, but once you put enough time and effort into this game, things really begin to pick up. The addition of "Golems" add a lot of interesting aspects to the game. Overall, I pretty good game.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Ignore the reviews, if you like JRPG's then give this game a shot, i personally really enjoyed it, the story was different, the graphics were stunning and the dialog was interesting. The only flaw i found was that the random battles can get a bit tedious, but thats a flaw of having random battles altogehter, and is a flaw in any game that uses the random battle system. Overall, if youIgnore the reviews, if you like JRPG's then give this game a shot, i personally really enjoyed it, the story was different, the graphics were stunning and the dialog was interesting. The only flaw i found was that the random battles can get a bit tedious, but thats a flaw of having random battles altogehter, and is a flaw in any game that uses the random battle system. Overall, if you love JRPG's then you'll probably really enjoy this, if you don't enjoy JRPG's then chances are you won't enjoy it. Expand
  15. TonyG.
    Sep 25, 2006
    6
    Basic Japanese turn-based RPG. Good marks in all categories, but this title breaks no new ground. Rental-worthy, but probably not purchase-worthy.
  16. CarlB.
    Jun 16, 2007
    5
    The battles got real old after about five minutes and the long explanations were really annoying. The only good things i have to say is the scenery and the dialogue were excellent which brought up the vote substantially.
  17. QianX.
    Dec 26, 2007
    9
    The game has very good graphic and brings the old RPG in to the 360 systerm, and it has a great story.
  18. Dec 2, 2011
    0
    I rented this game when that was a thing that people still did. Having payed good money for the time I had with this game, i forced myself to be subjected to fighting alongside characters like this man who thinks that he is a beautiful girl...That just doesn't say "awesome" to me. The gameplay is poor quality and I ended up boxing it and returning it several days early after getting maybeI rented this game when that was a thing that people still did. Having payed good money for the time I had with this game, i forced myself to be subjected to fighting alongside characters like this man who thinks that he is a beautiful girl...That just doesn't say "awesome" to me. The gameplay is poor quality and I ended up boxing it and returning it several days early after getting maybe 10 hours in. This "game" would only be attractive to someone obsessed with JRPGs to the point that they do not mind poor quality. Expand
  19. May 6, 2011
    8
    Enchanted arms. What can i say, it shouldnt work but does. Graphically its mediocre the cuts scenes are terrible but for some strange reason i still like it. On the positive side great storyline, good leveling up system and great fun. The reason this gets an 8 and not a 7 is due to its unique combat system, very different from anything ive seen before. Definetly worth buying. Word ofEnchanted arms. What can i say, it shouldnt work but does. Graphically its mediocre the cuts scenes are terrible but for some strange reason i still like it. On the positive side great storyline, good leveling up system and great fun. The reason this gets an 8 and not a 7 is due to its unique combat system, very different from anything ive seen before. Definetly worth buying. Word of warning though, you will either love it or hate it. Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    It has a good combat system but also the ability to autobattle which is great for grinding. The characters are good for a JRPG but most of the dialogue is incredibly campy and the voice acting just randomly stops for no reason during some of it. It's not like they voiced main scenes and you have to read side quests, it just randomly cuts out, its weird. The story is decent and makes youIt has a good combat system but also the ability to autobattle which is great for grinding. The characters are good for a JRPG but most of the dialogue is incredibly campy and the voice acting just randomly stops for no reason during some of it. It's not like they voiced main scenes and you have to read side quests, it just randomly cuts out, its weird. The story is decent and makes you want to keep going but you have to stop and grind before moving on every time. There is an insane amount of grinding throughout the game and a very boring and laborious exploit to increase your skills which is almost compulsory to succeed. To reduce the grinding though there is a very broken, completely overpowered optional character you can get to effortlessly kill the last boss. Expand
  21. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    It's certainly a good game with a decent set of characters and enjoyable storyline, even if it's not deep and gripping. I honestly found the combat frustrating with the encounter rate at times, but I managed to get past that to finish the game and I'm glad I did. Just don't expect it to be anything other than an enjoyable game with some flaws..
  22. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    A decent JRPG that really doesn't add anything new to the genre. But it isn't bad either. Actually, I rather enjoyed it for what it was: A generic JRPG. Some decent voice acting (as far as JRPGs are concerned.) Some good visuals and animations. The combat mechanic is fun but still feels dated and stale. Generic, but lovable, characters that are rather well designed. A predictable, butA decent JRPG that really doesn't add anything new to the genre. But it isn't bad either. Actually, I rather enjoyed it for what it was: A generic JRPG. Some decent voice acting (as far as JRPGs are concerned.) Some good visuals and animations. The combat mechanic is fun but still feels dated and stale. Generic, but lovable, characters that are rather well designed. A predictable, but enjoyable, plot. Overall: A pretty good JRPG that seems too scared to do anything new, relying on tried and tested methods of the past. Relying primarily on nostalgic fans to be interested. As I am a big JRPG fan, I will say that I liked it and didn't mind its approach style, just, I found it was a shame since clearly the game could have been much, much more. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Enchanted Arms is a great RPG game that actually has some strategy to it. Huge team customization, wonderful detail, a large variety of golems to choose from, strategic battles that require you to think more than you probably should, wonderful and actually emotional story, great bosses, and overall a great game.
  24. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    I wonder that this title was rated so badly. It's a great RPG if you understand how to play it. I liked the tactical combat system. Also it has quite a good story; only the Golem hunt is a bit unnecessary. So I rate this game with 9 Points.
  25. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    Enchanted arms is an RPG, set protagonist being Atsuma along with his friends Toya, and Makota. at Enchant University. After they skipped school and go to a Golem battle tent, the city guards machines begin to malfunction, attacking innocents and turning on the any of the cities inhabitants. Later the protagonists separate, Toya turned against Atsuma, and Makota presumed dead. Its up toEnchanted arms is an RPG, set protagonist being Atsuma along with his friends Toya, and Makota. at Enchant University. After they skipped school and go to a Golem battle tent, the city guards machines begin to malfunction, attacking innocents and turning on the any of the cities inhabitants. Later the protagonists separate, Toya turned against Atsuma, and Makota presumed dead. Its up to Atsuma to become stronger and take on the three devl golems, Queen of Ice, Emperor of Fire, and Lord of Earth. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. [EM]-eNCHANT aRM- has a predictable, yet entertaining, plot featuring a small cast of likeable characters, a moderate sized world that will take about 40 hours to explore, and a good battle system. Sure the graphics are a mixed bag, music is strangely absent, and the encounter rate is high, yet it's still a nice start for next-gen rpgs. [JPN Import]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    [eM] is most impressive when placed in its proper context: From Software managed to craft a sprawling, 60-hour-long, traditional J-RPG on a next-generation platform in an incredibly short ammount of time....and it's actually pretty darn good. [Mar 2006, p.61]
  3. Edge Magazine
    60
    It’s a unique offering for 360 owners – as it would have been for Xbox – certainly, but one who’s highlights can’t match those of the RPGs currently burning brightly on PS2. [Apr 2006, p.87]