Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enemy Front is the realistic tale of a hardened soldier dropped behind Nazi lines to engage in dynamic, diversified missions ranging from quick skirmishes, espionage assignments, and sabotage activities. The epic scope of Enemy Front spans several years and key battles as it progresses fromEnemy Front is the realistic tale of a hardened soldier dropped behind Nazi lines to engage in dynamic, diversified missions ranging from quick skirmishes, espionage assignments, and sabotage activities. The epic scope of Enemy Front spans several years and key battles as it progresses from the trenches of a desolate France right on through to Berlin and a secret weapons base. Once there, the player must thwart the plans for a terrifying weapon that will all but assure a global Nazis victory. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. Aug 18, 2014
    50
    A disappointing shooter that has a few good ideas but can't implement them well enough to make it stand out from a very large crowd. [Issue#114, p.79]
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    50
    While the modest selection of maps are sufficiently large and multileveled, the uninspired deathmatch and conquest modes offer nothing that you can't find in other shooters.
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    50
    Enemy Front is a disappointing shooter that has a few good ideas but can’t implement them well enough to make it stand out from a very large crowd.
  4. 30
    A completely unremarkable WWII shooter with more bugs than Pixar's second feature film. There's nothing offensive about it, it's just subpar in every possible way, from AI to controls to visuals to voice acting. Feels like a launch window 360 game.
  5. Aug 20, 2014
    30
    To judge Enemy Front as a sum of its parts reveals it to be an FPS fraud - a pretender. [Sept 2014, p.104]
  6. Jun 18, 2014
    20
    Enemy Front is a bad game on almost every level, but it gives me no pleasure to report that. It's not a lazy game, as you can see the developer trying as hard as it can to mimic the juggernauts that dominate the genre, but nor does it show enough personality or ambition to break out of the tired old paradigms.
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    20
    A tragic step back from the above-average Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2, Enemy Front is a turgid, listless affair with far too many problems to recommend. Terrible AI, truly awful graphics and a dull plot add up to make this a World War II shooter that you’ll want to avoid like a Nazi death squad. Disappointing and derivative.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Some people say this game is a crap. But it isn't. CI Games made a progress in game developing. Game brings us to oldschool World War 2 gamesSome people say this game is a crap. But it isn't. CI Games made a progress in game developing. Game brings us to oldschool World War 2 games where you can find nice old weapons, excelent music, good graphics, maybe not most advanced AI ... For this price - you should try it! Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    Ive just finished this game and I loved every minute of it.. People say its very buggy well I found one level where I had to start againIve just finished this game and I loved every minute of it.. People say its very buggy well I found one level where I had to start again because of this, but that was it. This game was action all the way and a good story line to go with it. Anyone who is thinking about buying it should get it straight away. The graphics wernt the best ive seen but they were good and the sound affects were cool. This game is a 10 for me and nothing would change my mind. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2014
    8
    As a fan of the WWII FPS games I must say that at first I was kinda disappointed to this one. But after the first two hours this game turnedAs a fan of the WWII FPS games I must say that at first I was kinda disappointed to this one. But after the first two hours this game turned into a great WWII experience. My favourite WWII game is COD: World at War and Enemy Front cannot reach these standards. But, nevertheless, EF is a good game with lots of .... bullets thrown. And it also lasts some time. Additionally, the Polish Resistance was a breath of fresh air to the WWII scripts (since we were all fed up with the US fighting JAPAN and the USSR fighting NAZI GERMANY). For my taste, this game was very satisfactory and I played it without any technical issues (or bugs). Recommended to all WWII FPS fans. Expand
  4. Jun 22, 2014
    6
    The games CI makes, are pretty mediocre. But, they are advancing little by little, and Enemy Front is one such example. Even though full ofThe games CI makes, are pretty mediocre. But, they are advancing little by little, and Enemy Front is one such example. Even though full of bugs, glitches and an AI that seems to have some serious disease, I managed to enjoy it. It's a game for old school gamers. If you enjoyed MoH: AA, COD 1 and 2, if you are passionate about history, well, this is for you! It offers. Offering some nice landscapes (the countryside ones are superb), a good variety of weapons + the soundtrack composed by Cris Velasco (which makes a better background), some good shooting, plus the fact that you can chose to play Rambo style, stealthy or mixed, Enemy Front had big ambitions. The story is interesting too, you're a "newspaper man" caught in war, suddenly transformed into a soldier/savior. The way we are introduced to the story, by flashes, memories, and then going on with the main fight, is certainly well done.

    But, the game has many flaws. As I mentioned before, lots of bugs, and some being really frustrating. Like at times, my main weapon would be replaced with another (without me even changing it!). I'd find myself needing a sniper rifle (which I had), but then I find myself with an MP 40 or other gun. Also, times that I wasn't allowed to pick weapons or have other than the pistol. Had to restart from the checkpoint in some awkward situations, like falling inside a wall or a closed chamber and not being able to get out. The AI is quite drunk, our allies are useless + the nazi having bad aim from afar but killing you in a blink of an eye at short range. A funny moment was when a nazi soldier just stopped and crawled in front of me waiting a little, then decided to shoot me.

    You can be spotted really easy, from places that you should've been invisible to the eye. Shooting isn't precise at all, plus some animations being unfinished or poorly designed. Movement seems hard, you feel that your character has a ton of medieval armor and carries ten bags of groceries at almost all the time. The stealth system is ok, plus the fact that your gun shots can be muted by the sound of an engine or a train is good too. To conclude, Enemy Front is a mediocre game that had big hopes, even so, old school gamers should give it a try, for the sake of old times.
    Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    4
    I'm editing my first review in which I gave the game a "3" and changing it to a "4". Gameplay through the first seven chapters was prettyI'm editing my first review in which I gave the game a "3" and changing it to a "4". Gameplay through the first seven chapters was pretty dull, and to me the game feels and looks like a FPS from 10 or more years ago. I must say though that the gameplay gets favorably more engaging in chapters 8 - 12. All in all it's a playable game that in my opinion probably should be a $15 digital download instead of a full retail release. Compared to Wolfenstein: The New Order, which is still freshly out in the marketplace, Enemy Front doesn't have much to offer. My comments pertain only to the single player game. There is a multiplayer offering with Enemy Front. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    4
    Editing my review to 4 to keep some balance with the appearance of 10 reviews. I bought in US on release date 10th June - no trolling here,Editing my review to 4 to keep some balance with the appearance of 10 reviews. I bought in US on release date 10th June - no trolling here, just disappointment at the quality. While the positive reviews will boost the ratings, anybody who is genuinely happy with a game that looks and plays more than 10 years old is welcome to it. It isn't worth the full amount I paid. I'll bump up to 4 simply for the inclusion of the De Lisle Carbine in multiplayer as this deserves recognition in itself. Hopefully the European launch will bolster the multiplayer forum and maybe some patch releases will fix the lag. But I'm still sad this wasn't more and pushed Cry Engine. But no way is this a 10 game… seriously?! Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    1
    This game is literally the worst game i have ever played. The graphics are out dated, the game play is **** and the game is soooo buggy. TheThis game is literally the worst game i have ever played. The graphics are out dated, the game play is **** and the game is soooo buggy. The devs for this game must be stupid or just blind. This game looks like they just rushed it out to please there investors since it has been delayed for years. The devs at ci games should be fired for this horrible release. Just disappointing. Please don't buy this game what ever you do. It is very buggy and unplayable to be honest. The frame rate drops a lot on Xbox. Sometimes it even freezes the game and even your whole system. The single player is bland with the same old slow scenes that we all know. I see why they released this game during E3. They didn't want this game to be seen by big websites like ign or gamespot. I was looking forward to a new WW2 shooter as everyone else was and all i got was a piece of **** game that is broken as hell. Sorry if you bought this game. Demanding a refund for sure! Expand

See all 17 User Reviews