User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 307
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    6
    Enslaved is a vibrant, colourful game with characters you'll come to love along the journey. The story and colourful world are definitely the highlights, with an intriguing sci-fi twist towards the end, but unfortunately the gameplay isn't exceptionally exciting. Nonetheless, it is fun to put combos together to destroy robotic enemies and there are enough types of them to keep youEnslaved is a vibrant, colourful game with characters you'll come to love along the journey. The story and colourful world are definitely the highlights, with an intriguing sci-fi twist towards the end, but unfortunately the gameplay isn't exceptionally exciting. Nonetheless, it is fun to put combos together to destroy robotic enemies and there are enough types of them to keep you guessing; the boss sections are good and the hover-craft is easy to control and fun to use when you're allowed. Unfortunately, there isn't much to go back and do in a second play through. Overall, Enslaved is a game built on its story and setting, with gameplay apparently tagged in; it's a very good game if you like a good story in a game, but for others you may find the uninspired mechanics tedious. I enjoyed it, 3/5. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    This game was pretty fun overall. I found the storyline to be quite engaging and it definitely kept me interested in playing until the end. The characters are fun and expressive. The only real hinderance is the amount of invisible walls in this game make it a bit linear even for me, a person that prefers having a linear path versus a huge world with the question of "What the hell am IThis game was pretty fun overall. I found the storyline to be quite engaging and it definitely kept me interested in playing until the end. The characters are fun and expressive. The only real hinderance is the amount of invisible walls in this game make it a bit linear even for me, a person that prefers having a linear path versus a huge world with the question of "What the hell am I supposed to do?!". Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2011
    5
    OK story, OK graphics, OK combat. Basically an OK game. Enslaved does nothing new or particularly well or anything so bad that you want to throw it in the bin. My main problem with the game is that it is so linear. You can only jump when the game wants you to jump. You can only jump in the direction the game wants you to. You can never miss a jump. Combat is also crap.

    If you have
    OK story, OK graphics, OK combat. Basically an OK game. Enslaved does nothing new or particularly well or anything so bad that you want to throw it in the bin. My main problem with the game is that it is so linear. You can only jump when the game wants you to jump. You can only jump in the direction the game wants you to. You can never miss a jump. Combat is also crap.

    If you have nothing else to play and fancy some mindless button bashing then buy this.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    I certainly don't have anything bad to say about this game, but don't expect to have your mind blown. Great retelling of a story that I wish more people were familiar with. The storytelling is great and the story is engaging, but for some reason it doesn't lock me in. I suppose the best way to explain this game is that it's a lot of fun, but it's not hard to walk away from. Worth playingI certainly don't have anything bad to say about this game, but don't expect to have your mind blown. Great retelling of a story that I wish more people were familiar with. The storytelling is great and the story is engaging, but for some reason it doesn't lock me in. I suppose the best way to explain this game is that it's a lot of fun, but it's not hard to walk away from. Worth playing for sure, pick this game up! Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2012
    6
    I was so excited when I finally got round to playing this game and I have to say it was a huge disappointment from start to finish. This game may be a year and a half old now, but it fails in so many ways. The biggest issue is that of the camera which is shockingly bad. I felt like I was constantly wrestling with the camera to try and make this game functional! Sometimes the cameraI was so excited when I finally got round to playing this game and I have to say it was a huge disappointment from start to finish. This game may be a year and a half old now, but it fails in so many ways. The biggest issue is that of the camera which is shockingly bad. I felt like I was constantly wrestling with the camera to try and make this game functional! Sometimes the camera constantly conflicts between a fixed cinematic angle and the loose combat angle, which is totally confusing and incredibly frustrating, especially when you're playing on hard difficulty where being able to see all your enemies at all times in combat is so important! It just reeks of thoughtless game design! Next bad thing is the combat itself which is both dull and frustrating. There's very little variety to the combat situations and it quickly becomes boring. Add to this the insane camera angles during combat and you've got yourself a seriously unappealing mess. Next, is the general movement of Monkey. The controls feel so loose at times that getting Monkey to simply hide behind a small wall while a turret blows the crap out of him is a real chore. There are also numerous clipping issues that occur throughout which often cause totally unnecessary deaths in certain times - again, these all occur mostly when the camera is going insane. Although artistically this game is beautiful with some of the most interesting visual designs I've ever seen, the quality of the environments is diminished greatly but muddy textures and noticeable pop-in as textures load. Next, the platforming sections, which are uninspired and clunky and lack the finesse of the Uncharted series. Next, the invisible walls that plague this game are infuriating! It's a sign of bad game design when invisible walls are needed so often in what is a generally very linear game! I don't mind there being invisible walls around the areas of gameplay but when they are interspersed with platforming sections it's just irritating. Lastly, the bugs. As well as clipping issues and delayed input during combat, I fell through the game map 3 times during my play through! Generally this game just feels like it's lacking finish and a significant amount of optimisation. Maybe this game was rushed out for a pre-Christmas release, but it really could have done with a few extra months of streamlining! HOWEVER, despite the horrible gameplay - the story, characters, art design, locations and cut scenes are fantastic! I genuinely felt concerned for Trip and actually enjoyed the parts where you work collaboratively with her to stealth past enemies. They should have just removed the combat and kept it stealth and QTEs for taking down foes. I would have much preferred that and the narrative would have benefitted much from it. It's a shame this game was so massively overlooked as it does have some unique story and artistic design. But it's so difficult to ignore how technically awful this game is. I was tempted to give it a 4 or a 5, but the artistic design completely saves it from the depths of Oblivion....just! Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    7
    I had a great time with Enslaved, the world was interesting and the characters were moving, especially in the middle of the game.

    The game is not hard per say, though I did get stuck a few times. The gameplay is largely thematic. Graphically the sets are nice, but there appear to be issues with the engine's performance as sometimes texture pop and frame split. Not much to say without
    I had a great time with Enslaved, the world was interesting and the characters were moving, especially in the middle of the game.

    The game is not hard per say, though I did get stuck a few times. The gameplay is largely thematic.
    Graphically the sets are nice, but there appear to be issues with the engine's performance as sometimes texture pop and frame split.

    Not much to say without spoiling anything, but I will say it is Best on the PS3, the controls feel a bit smoother better than when I played on the 360.
    Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2012
    5
    There are a number of positive things to say about Enslaved. The art direction is well executed, with it's own unique take of a post-apocalyptic world, taken over by junkyard mechs and reclaimed by jungle plants. It's bright and colourful and stands out out from a lot of other games. The characters also stand out from the crowd

    Some people have complain about the platforming is to easy.
    There are a number of positive things to say about Enslaved. The art direction is well executed, with it's own unique take of a post-apocalyptic world, taken over by junkyard mechs and reclaimed by jungle plants. It's bright and colourful and stands out out from a lot of other games. The characters also stand out from the crowd

    Some people have complain about the platforming is to easy. It is true that it is so on rails you cant really fall off, but I didn't find that a problem. I still found it fun swing around leaping from great heights. It kept gameplay fluid and Monkey looked great whist doing it: there is a lot of personality in the way he swings around. The negatives - Its just never really that fun. The gameplay elements feels like an after thought, and each element never really fit together to make a unified experience. There is the combat which is repetitive and gets old quickly. as the game progresses they introduce different enemies to help with variety but it doesn't help much. At times it looks cool, and watching Monkey clobber a mech in slo motion is satisfying, but it won't hold your attention for long. There are also times you'll have to use 'team work' with your AI companion. This amounts to telling her to distracting enemies for a few seconds or pulling leavers. it's an unconvincing way of making her seem usefull.

    To upgrade your abilities you'll need to collect orbs that pepper the environments like rings in sonic the hedgehog. Its not fun and only serves to cheapen the experience. Its old hat and a laborious and it never adds any entertainment value. Lastly gameplay is constantly stopped to explain in needless detail what you have to do next. You're never given anything to figure out for yourself. It dumbs everything down so much all the fun is sucked from the experience and it just becomes tedious. The game play is also often interrupted with cut scenes to move the narrative along, but most of the time you can't help feel this couldn't have played out whilst your playing.

    it's a mixed bag of ideas that don't add up to a fun experience.
    Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    I Enjoyed this game a lot more than i thought it would, starting off i thought it was just another action-adventure game with platforming elements mixed in but as the game went on i grew to love this game.
    The environments look amazing, even on the 360's outdated tech and the characters were also well designed. The story seems a bit disjointed from the ending of the game, but it
    I Enjoyed this game a lot more than i thought it would, starting off i thought it was just another action-adventure game with platforming elements mixed in but as the game went on i grew to love this game.
    The environments look amazing, even on the 360's outdated tech and the characters were also well designed. The story seems a bit disjointed from the ending of the game, but it definitely makes you think. and any game that makes you stop and think for a while after completing it is a good one in my books
    Expand
  9. May 7, 2013
    7
    A underrated game, more people should play this game. the platforming is well designed as well as the combat. the game has humors. but, the game ending is weird and crap, so that is the downside.
  10. Jun 24, 2017
    5
    Enslaved Odyssey To The West is an average action-adventure game.

    The gameplay is mediocre,with poor combat and a handful of bugs forcing me to restart at a checkpoint many times while playing the game.The platforming controls do work very well though.My main issue with the game is the fact that the entire game feels like an escort mission.If your partner dies,it's game over and she
    Enslaved Odyssey To The West is an average action-adventure game.

    The gameplay is mediocre,with poor combat and a handful of bugs forcing me to restart at a checkpoint many times while playing the game.The platforming controls do work very well though.My main issue with the game is the fact that the entire game feels like an escort mission.If your partner dies,it's game over and she can't fight in combat to save her life,making the game feel very tedious.

    The graphics are incredible,but the framerate does run into issues frequently.

    The story is great,right up until an absolutely insulting sequel-bait game ending.

    The sound design and soundtrack are both average.

    Overall,Enslaved Odyssey To The West is a merely average game that is extremely overrated.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    80
    The gameplay may not be completely new, then, but this kind of chemistry certainly is. There's no denying it - Enslaved: Odyssey to the West is the best escort 'game' ever made; a spritely little cracker with a lot of heart.
  2. games(TM)
    Jan 20, 2011
    80
    Enslaved's satisfying blend of narrative and gameplay is bang on the money. [Issue#102, p.111]
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    80
    Enslaved is scoring with its motivating story, the good graphics and the enjoyable, but not challenging climbing passages. Sadly, the fights are unvaried and there is no multiplayer.