User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 8 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This game is so similar to the last one it might as well be the last one. but that is not a bad thing. Last year they did everything right and this year they have just gone and make this one even better by updating the graphics, making everything better, the cars the drivers even the main menu, they all look amazing. The safety car is amazing, the KRS and DRS are so good the crashes the damage the pit stops, everything is just so good, the AI is so much more human, they make mistakes, everything is just so perfect. I don't this Codemaster could have made a better game. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Coming from a huge F1 fan since my childhood, i have to admit i was skeptical after the short lived experience i had with 2010. There was an adjustment period, which i loved, because nothing carried over as a player except your knowledge of the tracks, which still needed some fine tuning personally, because the dynamics were different. Overall, a great improvement, and a great step forward, towards future F1 games, which are going to get better from here on in. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Code masters is one of the best companies to ever bring us racing on consoles that don't just give us a dumb down pc port but surpass pc racers and that is a fact.After racing for 30+ hours before even touching the online,I have to say that this is my 2nd favorite racer, right behind Forza 4.This game is freaking amazing in every sense of the word.I was truthfully scared because of the difficulty that other review companies were claiming that this game had but that's what real racing brings to the table.After my first hour of playing this game,I realized that not only is this one of the most real racing games I have ever played but it is one of the most fun experiences I have had.This game is screaming brilliance from the second you pop it in till your gaming session has ended.I can't get enough and I am ready and waiting to see how they improve on this series.The only thing that this game is lacking,and just in the slightest way, is the graphics.While it's raining and or wet it looks stunning but while the rest could use some work, It's not enough to knock a full point from so I am still giving this game a ten rounding it out.I'm really amazed and I urge anyone to get this game over the 2010 game cause while that game is excellent this corrects everything that that game was lacking.Get this game,play this game,live this game!Great job Codemasters!9.7 Collapse
  4. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    If like me you love true to life driving/racing sims, then this could quite easily be the very one for you. F1 2010 was a briiliant foundation for F1 2011 to build on and Codemasters have done exactly that.
    The obvious changes and extras being, updated driver rosters, driver stats, car sponsership and livery changes, circut additions and changes to the 2011 calender. Also an online CO'OP
    in which you and a friend or indeed stranger take part in the 2011 season competing in the same team against AI drivers. Larger online servers with more players taking part in races ( sprint modes, custom modes etc), which unfortunately means more idiots in which to avoid who could potentially ruin your race. Also included are the usual time trial modes + online leaderboards. Time attack scenarios + online leaderboards which pit you in a specific car on a specific track in pre-determined weather without the luxuary of being able to adjust your setups, so basically make do with what your given. (which is more fun and harder than it sounds).
    But the gem personally for me is how accurately reproduced the car, track, weather and tyre physics are, plus the addition to the cars this year of KERS (Kinetic energy recovery system) energy lost throught braking is harvested to a battery and stored to be used as a quick boost of speed to the engine and DRS (Drag reduction system) the rear wing on each car can be opened in certain cirumstances to reduce drag and downforce to the car, hence increasing the acceleration, speed and overtaking chances. The car setup adjustments that can be made are near endless and will play a major outcome on how the car handling physics change reletive to each individual track and weather. Tyre and track evolution is frighteningly realistic and can and WILL change over the course of the race weekend let alone lap by lap, whoever thinks that tyres are just round lumps of rubber, needs a checkup from the neck up. Random mechanical failures are also a major fear factor, blowing engines, losing KERS, punctures etc.
    In short a vast improvement in every aspect to 2010. 2011 is potentially the greatest racing game ever. Indeed not everyones cup of tea. But if your looking for a driving game that leaves you wanting and thinking after you walk away about how you can change this, try that, etc.... then this may the one for you. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!!!
    CODEMASTERS, I SALUTE YOU AGAIN!
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. F1 2011 is a very good game infact codemaster improved all the elements of f1 2010 . For example the graphic looks better , the car without the aids it's very tricky to drive , and the multyplayer online is full of option and modes.Also in this game there are 2011 formula one rules with the KERS and Drs , and also there is the safety car . Racing games lovers must buy this game ! Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    If you love cars then F1 is the best thing you can imagine. It's top-notch technologies, brilliant drivers and glamourous places from around the globe. If you pack it into this awesome Codemasters game, then you get what's best out there for racing. If you want to drift, take corner at 240 mph or jump bridges this game is not for you. If you are looking for something fun but sim-oriented, then F1 2011 is the game you should get. DRS (drag reduction system), KERS (Kinectic energy recovery system) and short life Pirelli tires! Everything is there.
    There another little goody you want to get; a wireless force feedback racing wheel. Otherwise you won't be able to get anything out of this game. F1 is about precision and finesse not power and brutality. Therefore, a standard controller or pad is definitely not appropriate or recommended.
    Good job Cody. Now I hope you guys will come out with DLC to maintain the fun and excitement.
    There are some unfortunate flaws that none of the reviews (Gamespot, IGN,...) have mentioned. If you want to know more, read my review http://rytonreview.blogspot.com/2011/09/f1-2011-90s-review-by-ryton-1st-ever.html. Lastly, for those who complain about the lack of update I don't know if this game was meant for them in the first place. Come on! EA is known for releasing yearly edition of their games (Madden, Fifa, NHL...) with sometimes no real updates. Just having the 2011 cars, Kers and DRS makes this game worthwhile. But you'll get much more. If you love F1, do not hesitate. If you don't then this game is not for you.
    Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    I am a massive F1 fan and had F1 2009 for PSP, F1 2010 for Xbox 360 and bought F1 2011 the day it was released. The multiplayer in F1 2010 was a complete shambles and was a glitch and mod haven. I was expecting F1 2011s to be similar if not slightly better, by heck I was wrong. The single player was as good as I expected it to be with fantastic new features KERS, DRS, Pirelli tyres and the Safety Car and cleverer AIs. One of the only bad things I would say about F1 2011 is the fact that even on the hardest difficulty, if you have mastered a track then the AIs aren't even going to be close to you in the race which is dissapointing. Strategy is a key in this game which represents how it was in real F1 in 2011. One of the things I love about this game is how the cars actually feel different unlike past F1 games. I can feel the great downforce in a Red Bull and can see why Ferrari struggled in 2011. The multiplayer I thought was an add-on feature to the game when I bought it but I have played the multiplayer more than single player now. I would have bought this game if multiplayer was the only thing in this game. I love how fair some of the people are online and also the atmosphere there is when someone is on fresher tyres than you and you know they will be much faster than you. If you are an F1 fan, this will be one of the best games you have ever played, if you haven't then you will still love it. I really hope that Codemasters recognises that fans want some DLC (maybe classic F1 moments to relive, or classic F1 cars or seasons from past years), but who knows. I really do not know how F1 2012 can be made any better. Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    Code masters is one of the best companies to ever bring us racing on consoles that don't just give us a dumb down pc port but surpass pc racers and that is a fact.After racing for 30+ hours before even touching the online,I have to say that this is my 2nd favorite racer, right behind Forza 4.This game is freaking amazing in every sense of the word.I was truthfully scared because of the difficulty that other review companies were claiming that this game had but that's what real racing brings to the table.After my first hour of playing this game,I realized that not only is this one of the most real racing games I have ever played but it is one of the most fun experiences I have had.This game is screaming brilliance from the second you pop it in till your gaming session has ended.I can't get enough and I am ready and waiting to see how they improve on this series.The only thing that this game is lacking,and just in the slightest way, is the graphics.While it's raining and or wet it looks stunning but while the rest could use some work, It's not enough to knock a full point from so I am still giving this game a ten rounding it out.I'm really amazed and I urge anyone to get this game over the 2010 game cause while that game is excellent this corrects everything that that game was lacking.Get this game,play this game,live this game!Great job Codemasters!9.7 Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Codemasters returns to the Formula 1 market with some updates and improvements to keep you on track.
  2. Gruelling but rewarding. [Dec 2011, p.101]
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    84
    Codemasters Birmingham has excelled in improving upon F1 2010, resolving some of the issues that held back its first effort, with a game that offers the definitive Formula One experience.