Fallout 3 - Operation: Anchorage Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Xbox Live Downloadable Content] Enter the simulation pod and embark on one of the greatest military campaigns of the Fallout universe – the liberation of Anchorage, Alaska from its Chinese Communist invaders. Experience harrowing winter combat using Fallout 3’s patented V.A.T.S. targeting system, and employ powerful new equipment like the Gauss Rifle, Chinese Stealth Armor, Winterized T-51b Power Armor, and more. Enlist today, soldier! [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. The way the missions unfold within the VR exercise really gives you a sense that you're playing a game that isn't Fallout, yet it's using the exact same engine.
  2. The best Role Playing Game this year gets its first dose of downloadable content to extend the game to the radioactive stratosphere. If you own Fallout 3 this is a must buy.
  3. Depending on how much you like Fallout 3, I think you should look into Operation Anchorage. For me it was worth the 800MS Points.
  4. Swaps out top questing for dumb blasting. [Apr 2009, p.61]
  5. Operation Anchorage is the virtual representation of one of the most important conflicts in the history of Fallout, the battle between China and USA for Alaska. But where Fallout 3 is an experience of free wandering in a fascinating scenario, this expansion is a surprisingly linear and limited experience that misses many of the finest points of the original game.
  6. For obsessive kit hoarders only. [Apr 2009, p.86]
  7. Swag aside, there's nothing in this reductionist hotchpotch for fans of what Fallout 3 does so well. [Apr 2009, p.103]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    Fallout 3's DLC Operation Anchorage is a great DLC it has a great story, that gives you a look back at the beginning of the war that started the apocalypse, it adds new weapons, characters, achievements, and a slightly different gameplay style, the only problem I can find with it is that it has glitches and it is extremely short, this is definitely worth the $10 asking price, and I highly recommend it to any fan of the game. Expand
  2. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Its coming to my attention that I'm like the only person who likes this. But a quick side note. You will most likely find great experiences with this if you like sneaking through, but if your guns ablazing then welcome to a nice open can of whoop ass. The game never really feels like its in fallout 3 and for some reason i didn't like that. But the whole simulation thing and the awesome swag you get after is WELL worth the price of admission. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    i liked this. i liked the video game within a video gameesque theme going on here. enjoyed playing through it. i liked the goodies you got after finishing it. plus the photo being taken of a few soldiers which was then made into a landmark in the fallout 3 world. Collapse
  4. Oct 16, 2010
    7
    I thought that this DLC was pretty good. Operation Anchorage was different compared to the regular Fallout 3, the gameplay was lot more action based.The plot was nothing special,defeating the chinese in a simulation about operation anchorage.This DLC is pretty short, compleating it will take 3-4 hours.But in the end of the Operation Anchorage you will get the Best armor, and one of the best weapons in Fallout 3.So overall this DLC was pretty good. Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    I love Fallout 3, it's easily one of my favourite games of all time. Operation: Anchorage was decent for me; it kept me interested long enough for better DLC to come out, and it provided some interesting back story. The items included were a good addition. But overall it was just a bit clumsy. It didn't really feel like Fallout as presented in the core game. Still, being a fallout fanatic, I played this to it's extreme and if you are like me you will enjoy it, if only the one time. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2010
    6
    Fallout 3 is all about exploring and character customization, so if there is going to be DLC for it, that download should give us more of those two primary things. But Operation Anchorage is just a lot of shooting mindless enemies. It's worth playing for the items you get at the end, but only that. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. what do you get when you put a pretty decent remake of a popular isometric shooter and make a dlc that is completely linear and unchallenging? THIS DLC. The appearance of the Outcast Brotherhood had raised my eye, hoping that this DLC would have a lot packed in for me to assist the brotherhood. But no, all I do for them is to open an armory for their materialistic pleasures with this "simulation" that sends me to what I would think EA or Activision would've done to Fallout if they owned the rights to it: Linear Shooter it the up, make it incredibly easy, not to mention sucking america's patriotic with all of the whole "america yeah and communism can go to hell" monotomy. Still, I can forgive that fortunately this is just a DLC And that the simulation IS a simulation of a completely fictional war. Still, it doesn't make it any more of a bore. Yes, it is somewhat difficult in the start, as you are left with little ammo and a pea shooter and only like 2 stealthboys to try to push your way through parts of chinese-controlled Anchorage. The biggest issue with this game, however, is it's difficulty. NO matter what level you are, you will have a breeze through this game, as there is auto-health and auto-ammo stations plentiful throughout the game, which will replenish your ammo and health an unlimited amount of times, not to mention there is an actual ammo cap in this DLC and intel just like any COD fanboy will wet their pants for. The DLC is short, and to some who complained it, I'm actually glad for it, as I didn't really wanted to be pandered any farther with the patriotic or how I was pushed down a corridor going rambo on a bunch of chinese soldiers because "they aren't american". Admittedly, there was some highlights on this DLC, the Gauss Rifle is a fun weapon to use short and or long range, and you get to fight big ****ing transformer's as well. still, what infuriated me the most was that the Outcast really only had depth in this simulation, as you complete it, there is an argument going on that automatically eliminates them. I never got a idea where they came from or how they were made, and that it seemed they were just organized chaos hoping to grab some guns. This was not the way for bethesda to go with a DLC like this, especially when I was looking forward not to have a Modern Military Shooter in my FPS RPG. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews