Fallout 3 Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1695 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. robb
    Sep 1, 2009
    10
    I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side I'm not an rpg fan,however i have been blown away by fallout3.oblivion did nothing for me as much as i tried to love it but this had me from the moment i was born untill i completed the game.the gameplay and story are so brilliantly wound together even after i turned my 360 off i still found my mind heading back to the wasteland.there was just so many memorable misions and side quests i could play them all again and again.the graphics are for the most part great although some annimation and character models need some fine tunning but it does not detract from the game at all.2008 an amazing year for gameing between this gta4 and left 4 dead to name just three of the best games ever created. Expand
  2. JasonZimmerman
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    This is an epic game that plays well on moral decisions and the characters within it. The sounds (especially the old school songs), game play, side objectives, and visuals are excellent. On top of all that, the game is long. You get so much for your money in this game.
  3. AsianSensation
    Aug 23, 2009
    10
    This game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world ofThis game was simply amazing. I played Bioshock, Halo 3, REd Faction Guerilla, and Left 4 Dead, and Fallout 3 is by far the best game I have ever played. I only own 2 games, out of the 15 I have played and beaten. Left 4 Dead was my first purchased and kept game, and Fallout 3 was my second. Once I played Fallout 3, i could not put down the controller. The game sucked me into a world of chaos and wonder, and had me keep going to explore new places, events, and more. This game has to be the best game I have ever played. Expand
  4. MatthewMaltby
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin'Dude, I shed tears of joy and extreme happiness when I play this game! Aside from HALO It is my all time favorite. I can't even go into breaking it down and listing it's attributes. Everything in it is just completely awesome. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Just rest assured that once you start you will be completely hooked. Did i just say hooked? I mean flippin' ADDICTED!!!! Expand
  5. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the This game does what it works for so well when I left the Vault after the training quests I was filled with a sense of dread and hopelessness. All alone in a bleak wasteland devoid of colors not beige or taupe. Once I started finding some quests the sense of hopelessness left and I had a purpose which brought everything into focus and lead me on the crooked path to explore and beat the game. One thing about this game is even after beating it there is still so much to see. With all the unmarked side-quests and vast amount of areas you could wander for hours just exploring anything and everything, the game isn't well played if you don't experience these optional forays. I just maxed out the GS for the game and all add-ons and couldn't be happier with the game I played. Expand
  6. AnthonyP
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    The sheer scope of this game has kept me playing it for god knows how long and i still haven't finished the central storyline! the graphics are a bit rough in places but there is good variation in the environment and the characters you interact with. People have complained about the shooting side but this isn't intended to be call of duty 6! in any case, i cant see how this The sheer scope of this game has kept me playing it for god knows how long and i still haven't finished the central storyline! the graphics are a bit rough in places but there is good variation in the environment and the characters you interact with. People have complained about the shooting side but this isn't intended to be call of duty 6! in any case, i cant see how this aspect of the game is 'sloppy' - certain weapons are better than others for particular enemies, the guns aren't perfectly accurate which is completely realistic, u can make your own weapons with bits of junk and there is gd variation in the weaponry including plenty of special weapons to collect. i can understand criticisms about how the game saves cus that is a pain some of the time and requires work. the main storyline lacks drama and emotion but then 95% of the game is concerned with sub lines so no big loss there. For a bit more depth there needs to be more subtlety with the whole karma thing, your decisions should have a greater impact on your character/story. i haven't got much to compare fallout to in terms of rpgs, i've never played oblivion or mass effect etc, only fable 2, and this is certainly a step above fable! will be interesting to see what the multiplayer fallout will be like, sounds like another awesome project. Expand
  7. LukaszC
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    The game is great . In times where some games like Mass Effect (13 hours length first playthrough) are called Rpg this game shows what a real RPG is . With over 30 hours of lentgh its a decent long game . There is alot to explore , the battle system is great and there are some funny stuff to do like let Megaton explode and then betray tenpenny ? xD The only things i didnt like and why The game is great . In times where some games like Mass Effect (13 hours length first playthrough) are called Rpg this game shows what a real RPG is . With over 30 hours of lentgh its a decent long game . There is alot to explore , the battle system is great and there are some funny stuff to do like let Megaton explode and then betray tenpenny ? xD The only things i didnt like and why this game didnt get a 10 out of 10 are : There are some bugs which can make the experience suffer and also if you look at other Fallout games you will see that there is some stuff which you cant do , and also you can kill whole megaton with a bomb but you cant kill the children with a handgun ? Kinda stupid but thats only my opinion . Still this game is a MUST BUY for every RPG fan who wants to wander through the capital Wastelands . And the DLCs keep comming to continue the story of the Lone Wanderer ... Score 9/10. Expand
  8. DaveF
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    I find it interesting that many of the negative reviews that this game receives tend to come from people that obviously haven't spent too much time playing it before giving up. I also nearly gave up. It has (game endingly) glitched twice whilst I've played it, and also you need to save your game often to avoid mishaps with the lovely residents of the wasteland. Otherwise it is a I find it interesting that many of the negative reviews that this game receives tend to come from people that obviously haven't spent too much time playing it before giving up. I also nearly gave up. It has (game endingly) glitched twice whilst I've played it, and also you need to save your game often to avoid mishaps with the lovely residents of the wasteland. Otherwise it is a great game, and it will keep you engaged for hours. I'm really glad I stuck with it, glitches and all. The combat system is difficult at first, but very rewarding once mastered. It is not an FPS game, and the combat tends to be best played as a mixture of both RPG and FPS. A gamers game. Expand
  9. Connor
    Jul 9, 2009
    10
    Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, Some people are completely idiots about this game. THIS IS NOT A SHOOTER!!!. this is an RPG! people are giving it bad ratings because the fighting doesn't compare to COD. the fighting is only a quarter of what this game really is. there is so much in this game that people who hate this game don't see that because there stupid. trust me people, if you love rpgs and/or oblivion, BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  10. AndrewD
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games ever, hands down. The world is huge, the characters are all different and you can interact with most of them. I loved the VATS thing because it's a happy medium between turn-based fighting and FPS shooting. The main quest is nice and long, but you probably won't notice because you'll be too busy exploring the Capital Wasteland. Bottom line, buy it.
  11. EddieP
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    The last time I spent anywhere near to the amount of time I've spent playing Fallout 3 was when I first played Legend of Zelda OoT. The games are not comparable in anyway except in their level of greatness and absorption. This is the best X-Box 360 game I have ever played.
  12. SamR
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well In reality, the game comes close to ten. I'd give it a 9.7 at least. The story is inventive, all parts of it. The side quests are readily available, everything from Rigging and election in a small four bedroom republic to wiping an entire town off the map with a massive nuclear explosion. The Karma system, while a little basic, still applies a few interesting dialog options, as well as a few other options. Even if you get bored out of your skull, or manage to run through the twelve or so hours it takes you to get through the story, there's still a plethora of things to do. Feel like enslaving someone? or maybe you want to help rebuild the crumbling source of freedom in America? Or maybe revisit an old friend that you havent' seen. There's any number of things that can be accomplished. In all truth, anyone that criticizes the game is either trying to play it like a shooter, which it clearly is not, or they're carrying some grudge against Oblivion or Bethesda for some inclined reason. The bottom line is, if you've even remotely stepped near Oblivion, morrowind, or anything of the sort in the past ten years and found them remotely interesting, you'll like Fallout 3. and for one, I applaud Bethesda for preserving the post war culture of fallout, and it's familiar humor and style. Expand
  13. Frank
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    Variety of play and diverse characters need more games like this one. I've had enough of same old shoot'em up crap. Lets hope Bethesda ( or other ) creates another similar or Fallout game.
  14. ShaneC
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Fallout 3 is simply an outstanding game, for more reasons than one, with amazing graphics, new and inventive quests and incredible gameplay which is where the sequal to Bethesda's orginal Fallout really shines. One of my favourite aspects of the game is the vast amount of guns, from a laser pistol to a gatling laser, they all shine and are a real joy to use. However above the amazing Fallout 3 is simply an outstanding game, for more reasons than one, with amazing graphics, new and inventive quests and incredible gameplay which is where the sequal to Bethesda's orginal Fallout really shines. One of my favourite aspects of the game is the vast amount of guns, from a laser pistol to a gatling laser, they all shine and are a real joy to use. However above the amazing and exploring Washington, and the very inventive creatures, the V.A.T.S System has the be the greatest achivement in the game, simply because watching a Super Mutant get decapitated in slow motion is just a real treat. This would be my favourite game of all time, however i felt let down by the very limited level system, as you can only reach level 20, but thank goodness for Broken Steel, as you can advance to level 30. Expand
  15. KevinJ
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    This is one of the few game where you actually get your $60 worth. A huge map, great graphics and very interactive gameplay make it a great buy. While I can see how the many side quests and VATS combat system isn't everyone idea of fun, anyone who gives this game under a 4 is crazy.
  16. BrandonF
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    I wish I could reply to comments given by people, reply to opinions offered after only a few hours of gameplay into a game which is at least 30-40 hours long without downloadable content if you soak in the ride. The graphics are stunning, like another said, the load times are so short for a game of this size. People, you can't be looking for smooth walking or physics abiding I wish I could reply to comments given by people, reply to opinions offered after only a few hours of gameplay into a game which is at least 30-40 hours long without downloadable content if you soak in the ride. The graphics are stunning, like another said, the load times are so short for a game of this size. People, you can't be looking for smooth walking or physics abiding crouching, that's not what this game is about, if you want a stunning visual FPS play Bioshock (highly recommended), but Fallout 3 is by no means a bad game, it is easily one of the best games on the Xbox 360 and wasn't ported so should be just as great on the PC. If you haven't played the game in its entirety you are doing yourself a disservice and if you haven't played it and score it low you are doing others a disservice by spooning them your ignorant opinions. If you have played it and scored it low that's your call. I however; love this game. It has its flaws and you really have to immerse yourself in the game to get everything out of it. The first time I played i HATED it, couldn't stand the story and the difficulty, but give it time and it'll court you like a 16th century prince. Expand
  17. Jon
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Once you get past some of the more annoying glitches and game freezing, this is one of the best RPG's ever made. At first it can take a little bit to get used to the VATS system, but after an hour or so you'll be enjoying nearly every moment of the game.
  18. JamesW.
    Apr 11, 2009
    9
    This is a enormous game that will you wanting more. A lot more. The main quests are short but overall satisfying. The side quests are fun,too but makes the game feel like it's labored for some quests, ex. the wasteland survival guide. The story is a lot better than most people is this site say. The NPCs have personality and you feel a connection with some of the them. Most of the bad This is a enormous game that will you wanting more. A lot more. The main quests are short but overall satisfying. The side quests are fun,too but makes the game feel like it's labored for some quests, ex. the wasteland survival guide. The story is a lot better than most people is this site say. The NPCs have personality and you feel a connection with some of the them. Most of the bad reviews, I think, are fps fans who didn't know what they were getting into and Fallout 1 and 2 fans, I'm one myself, who can't except change and Bethesda style of games. Expand
  19. RowanF
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    I've never really been much of a fan of the RPG genre. However, when I played Fallout 3... It... To use a quote from the add that i'm occasionally glancing at whilst writing this: It put a smile on my face. In fact I would go so far to say that if... Yes, I'm going to say it: If you don't like Fallout 3 then you should be thrown into the bottomless pit of hellfire. The I've never really been much of a fan of the RPG genre. However, when I played Fallout 3... It... To use a quote from the add that i'm occasionally glancing at whilst writing this: It put a smile on my face. In fact I would go so far to say that if... Yes, I'm going to say it: If you don't like Fallout 3 then you should be thrown into the bottomless pit of hellfire. The graphics are stunning, the locations the biggest I've seen amongst games and the load times the shortest. The sheer ingenuity and imagination that has been put into the game is astounding. As opposed to games like far cry 2 where the mission variety ranged from 'go here and destroy this' to... well... 'go here and destroy this', fallout 3 has you recovering the declaration of independence from an android who thinks he's a president in between helping a village based on a half-collapsed freeway rid themselves of the local vampire cult. And, while you might think that in a game where everything is so incredibly imaginative and well thought out there might be many flaws and a very short playtime, the entire game feels solid and problem free, with the exception of a few harmless, and often hilarious, glitches. And in fact, I've colcked up ver 60 hours of gameplay so far and there's stil tonnes i ahvent done. In short, almost every single part of this game is perfect. It is, if you like, an ingenious angel sent from heaven in a time of four-hours-long dull monotonous games. Expand
  20. Gary
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the best games I have ever played, overall. There are a few little bugs but they are so slight compared to all the great things about this game. I think the best part about this game is the rich atmosphere, environment, and aesthetic. The gameplay and combat are good and the quests are fun and varied. The actual story part of the game probably only makes up 20% of all that Probably one of the best games I have ever played, overall. There are a few little bugs but they are so slight compared to all the great things about this game. I think the best part about this game is the rich atmosphere, environment, and aesthetic. The gameplay and combat are good and the quests are fun and varied. The actual story part of the game probably only makes up 20% of all that this game has to offer so you get your money's worth. I think everyone needs to at least try this game. Expand
  21. CassK
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    I personally loved the game. I read some other reviews from other people and I agree with most, but yet the ones who rate 0 and such and complain about traveling, well don't you think it would get rather boring just being able to go every where right away? Ever hear about a challenge? Or how the scenery was 'boring' well um its an apocalyptic WASTELAND after being fucking I personally loved the game. I read some other reviews from other people and I agree with most, but yet the ones who rate 0 and such and complain about traveling, well don't you think it would get rather boring just being able to go every where right away? Ever hear about a challenge? Or how the scenery was 'boring' well um its an apocalyptic WASTELAND after being fucking nuked. I'm sure the world would look similar to that so I applaud the scenery because its how it would really look. So but all in all, I enjoyed the graphics actually some glitches yes, not everything is perfect. I like VATS because I'm not much into shooters myself since I have slow reaction time so it helps me. and I love RPGs and this is one of the best I've ever played. Oh and I love the dog you find at the scrapyard dog meat. Expand
  22. NamelessUser
    Feb 5, 2009
    9
    What I like about Fallout 3, is the crude beauty of the wasteland. Everything looks so good, that it's hard to believe that it's made with the same engine as Oblivion. (Expect when using melee.) But nothing stays fresh forever, especially not games. So after the first time I completed the game, the only thing that forced me to continue, was Achievements.
  23. NicholasBlatsos
    Feb 4, 2009
    10
    One of the best games i have ever played. It is mostly true to the old games, sharing the same feel of the wasteland. It has trimmed some of the old features, and invented new ones. The V.A.T.S. aiming system is as entertaining to use the millionth time as the first. The variety, size and replayability of Fallout 3 will ensure entertainment for possibly hundreds of hours.

    -Nick B.
  24. ColinMosher
    Feb 3, 2009
    10
    I played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more soI played this game for a good five day rental and I got through quite a bit. I have to say, it is all I wanted in a version of Oblivion with guns. Of course, instead of just making a game from the past such as Oblivion with guns, they adjusted the setting to fit the Fallout series perfectly and executed the Oblivion engine accurately. I found the beginning to be very imaginative, more so than what was done with Oblivion; however, it was very lengthy and seemed to block me from getting much action. Overall, I say 9.5/10 for excellent game despite glitches and somewhat lengthy beginning. Expand
  25. richardl
    Jan 30, 2009
    8
    I personally love this game. The story line is great and the gun are fun to use, but my biggest problem is how unlike oblivion you are not able to continue the game after you beat the last mission. other then that the game is good, just don't skip through the story line like i did the first time or the game will get boring because of how fast you beat it.
  26. noahanderson
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    this is my favorite game for any platform i have put in over 100 hours and if you buy the guide it helps you through thick and thin while you shoot your way to where you need to go and the thing that throws it past a 10 is VATS it will blow your mind this is a must get game no matter who you are you will continuosly play it until you beat it
  27. AnonymousMC
    Jan 25, 2009
    9
    You don't need me to tell you this game is good. Just listen to the critics. They know what they are saying. Every aspect of this game is stunning. Its a visceral experience in which you can actually feel as if you are apart of the world you see around you. Buy this game. It is worth your money.
  28. StevenD
    Jan 23, 2009
    10
    Awesome game. I've put in around 30 hours so far, and haven't even really done that many quests. I've just enjoyed traveling the wasteland, building up my character, and exploring for new towns/cities. If you enjoyed Oblivion or Mass Effect, this is equally great!
  29. StevenP
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but Brilliant. Enjoyed every last bit of it. Best game in my opnion on the 360. Not terrific graphics but good and it captures the feeling of post nuclear war and isolation very well. Although I finally have the 1000 gamerpoints there remains much to see and do - the replay value is high. It is quite rough around the edges with respect to NPC's, scenery and storyline glitches but considering its such an epic and ambitious game it isnt so bad. It is a game best played slowly - if you rush through to the finish much of the game will be lost. Its not a Halo type boom-fest so some will lose patience after the slow start. Expand
  30. JimP
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    Fallout 3 was certainly a new twist on the classic series. Gone is the turn-based combat system and in comes the real-time, V.A.T.S. combat. It does a good job incorporating little things from previous titles that players of the originals would recognize. The wasteland atmosphere is done very well, but the black, brown, and gray atmosphere gets really repetitive after a while and you wish Fallout 3 was certainly a new twist on the classic series. Gone is the turn-based combat system and in comes the real-time, V.A.T.S. combat. It does a good job incorporating little things from previous titles that players of the originals would recognize. The wasteland atmosphere is done very well, but the black, brown, and gray atmosphere gets really repetitive after a while and you wish you were looking at the lush, green forests of Oblivion. But Bethesda did a great job in creating a "post-Apocalyptia" atmosphere. Overall, the game is a joy to play. It gives you plenty of options to try and there are tons of sidequests to tackle. If you don't believe me, go pick up the strategy guide, it's over an inch thick and the map included has dots all over the place which mark places to go and explore. While the old Fallout games ended after the story was completed, I was kind of hoping that Bethesda would drop that and allow for a more Oblivion-esque feel and allow you to play the sidequests you didn't complete and explore the Wasteland some more, but unfortunately, it didn't. That was my sole complaint with the game. Had there been a post-main storyline ability to play, I would have given the game a 10. Expand
  31. SteveK
    Jan 15, 2009
    8
    Don't get me wrong, this is a very good game. But it is a little short of greatness in my mind. Well first of all, it will not be everyone's cup of tea. People who are looking for a shooter and are used to that fast pacedness of FPS's, but not fond of the repetition of RPGs, then stay far far away. For the detail oriented, it is hell, because you will feel like you have to Don't get me wrong, this is a very good game. But it is a little short of greatness in my mind. Well first of all, it will not be everyone's cup of tea. People who are looking for a shooter and are used to that fast pacedness of FPS's, but not fond of the repetition of RPGs, then stay far far away. For the detail oriented, it is hell, because you will feel like you have to check every damn storage box and look at every item, even though 90% of the items in the world are worthless. Is it realistic? Yes? But it is mind-numbing after a while to explore every locale and rummage through storage closet after storage closet. And even though it borrows heavily from Oblivion and the graphics are amazing, they are also wretchedly putrid and beak.... because that is the world that Fallout inhabits. Which is fine, but it is crazy just how good the graphics are to make something look so ugly. And personally I don't like the bleak wasteland of Fallout. It's depressing and drab. Not really a pick-me-up kind of game, but that's just personal taste. That being said, the detail in this game is amazing. There is a LOT to like. But in the end, the abrupt ending and just the whole feel of the game left me feeling unsatisfied. It was still well worth my $60 and the kind of game I'm very glad I played, but not quite the classic that Oblivion was. Expand
  32. FrankP
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as This is one of the best or THE best game I have ever played. To any critics who gave this less than 100 or users who gave it a 0 or someother BS low score..."You must be INSANE". I guess it could just not be your cup of tea...but come on...this game has everything! And it's the most bang for your buck by a long shot...much more than Orange Box...and that game was a masterpiece as well. I have become addicted to this game, it is that good. I have easily played over a 100 hours on it and still am not even halfway done. It has action, great environments and level design, tons of interesting characters to interact with, multiple outcomes and rewards to each situation, the RPG leveling up dynamic, its simply brilliant. Expand
  33. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Best game ever. I haven't played any other previous Fallout games. But i have to say this is 1 of the best games I have ever played. Perfect 10 i'd say. It's realistic, the graphics are great, different variety of weapons and the list goes on. This game was worth every single cent of my money and i wouldn't have it any other way. A true masterpiece.
  34. choddo
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Outstanding, atmospheric. You have to buy in to the story (which I did and then some) in order to make the scavenging feel worthwhile and the morose scenery really resonates if you're prepared to suspend disbelief that you're wandering around a post-nuclear wasteland. I tired of Oblivion after an hour but this has me hooked.
  35. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    This game is the bigger i've ever played, i didn't try the first 2 games, but come on!! bethesda is a master on this area in videogames, yes you spend a lot of hours and may can be quite TEDIOUS, but BORING?? you can go and play something like viva pinata or lips, etc... this is a game for real gamers, is satisfying to finish the game and all the quests i can recommend this This game is the bigger i've ever played, i didn't try the first 2 games, but come on!! bethesda is a master on this area in videogames, yes you spend a lot of hours and may can be quite TEDIOUS, but BORING?? you can go and play something like viva pinata or lips, etc... this is a game for real gamers, is satisfying to finish the game and all the quests i can recommend this masterpiece to all the people who like action, adventures, blood... i say the same as Gary IS AN AMAZING GAME!! (also said by all the critics who gave it universal acclaim) YOU MUST HAVE IT! Expand
  36. ClaudeBaldwin
    Dec 23, 2008
    9
    This game is by far the greatest, single-most, awesomeness game to grace the genre of RPG in a LONG time. It is by far surpassing of Fable 2 or any other game that you think could live up to Fallout 3. Bethesda went ALL out on this game. 60+ hours of gameplay for 60 dollars. Definite buy for any RPG fan.
  37. NeilK.
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom This game is so engaging for such a long period of time. The vast wasteland gives the player an endless array of enemies and new terrains to discover. With one of the most in depth stories since Bethesda's last offer, Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, Fallout 3 brings you all the fun of Oblivion with guns. The game clearly will be lacking the magical element of Oblivion but the freedom given to the creators in building creatures is endless. With mutants and wild animals alike strolling around this 13 square mile wasteland is dangerous. With some of the highlights being, running through the deadly Deathclaw Sanctuary and making my way through the super mutant infested capitol, and of course who could forget the communist hating robot Liberty Prime. With brilliant voice acting from Liam Neeson and Malcolm McDowell and brilliant weapons like the Fat Man, Fallout 3's creative futuristic post-apocalyptic wasteland is vastly in depth with things to do and people to meet. Expand
  38. GaryR.
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    A true masterpiece. I've never played the previous Fallout games, so I can't say whether this game has stayed true to the series. For me, this game is rock solid. I have put in over 50 hours and continue to be amazed at the level of detail this game has. Anyone that gives it a low score probably just doesn't like games like this....or is an idiot. This is an amazing game!
  39. JakeL.
    Dec 13, 2008
    8
    It's fun, but I'm disappointed because Oblivion was so much better.Fallout3's story was much to short.Oblivion had loads of side quests,while F3 barely had enough to satisfy me. Bethesda focused to much on graphics than playability.
  40. AlexQ
    Dec 12, 2008
    9
    Ryencoke , spare us your vitriol. If you didn't like Oblivion or Morrowind, maybe you should have the good judgement to realise that you just dont like the RPG genre, at all. and you should stick playing games more in your league. It goes without saying that this is one of the greatest and most absorbing RPGs ever. It's setting is unique, and affecting, its quests are deep and Ryencoke , spare us your vitriol. If you didn't like Oblivion or Morrowind, maybe you should have the good judgement to realise that you just dont like the RPG genre, at all. and you should stick playing games more in your league. It goes without saying that this is one of the greatest and most absorbing RPGs ever. It's setting is unique, and affecting, its quests are deep and entertaining , and the wealth of CHOICE available is completely mind boggling. On the minus - poor ending - Forgiving difficulty curve ( even on very difficult the game feels overly easy ) - Ocassional crashes , glitches, and i experienced a save game corruption though it may have been due to usermods. Expand
  41. CalebH.
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it The very first step you take out of Vault 101 is one of the greatest moments in video gmae history. As your eyes adjust to the sunlight which you've never seen before, you begin to realize that what's around you is nothing you've ever seen before...nothing. Fallout 3 is an absolutely stellar achievement to open-world gaming, and to video games in general. No game before it has created such a strong sense of survival like Fallout 3 does; Every bullet shot, every stimpak injected, every beer drank has weight to it and you can feel it. From the clothing you wear, to the people you meet, to the raiders who try to kill you, every little bit is well-thought out and works like a charm. Voice acting is top-notch and every single city in the Capital Wasteland is unique. That isn't to say that this game is "flawless". The little flaws that are their do not detract from the game in any way, but they are still there and still a problem. The maps you use are pretty much a waste of time. They are hard to read and give you no clear destination. The compass on your HUD is basically all you need. Character models are a bit too similar and their movements are strangely robotic, and this is due to preset animations. The characters do act on their own and are always doing something different, but not without looking like a programmer told them to do it. This is made up for by the increidible voice-acting, but on that note, their are not enough of them! Multiple characters have the same voice as another character. This problem was also present in the latest Oblivion and it doesn't seem like Bethsada cares to fix it. It also would be really cool if we could make a motorcycle and drive it, considering that you can actually pick up all the poarts to a motorcycle. That's all I have to say about its problems. With several hundred missions and over 50+ hours of gameplay, Fallout 3 almost pays for itself. It draws a fine line between action gameplay and RPG elements. It makes for the perfect game. If you even remotely like action or role-playing, give Fallout 3 a try. You shouldn't regret it. Expand
  42. AnonymousMC
    Dec 2, 2008
    8
    Overall, a great game. With that being said, I have not played Fable 2 of any of the other Fallout games so I can only compare it to what I consider the best role playing game in Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. Basically, Fallout 3 is a better version of Morrowind. Everything has been streamlined and slightly improved upon. If you liked Morrowind the I recommend buying Fallout 3. IfOverall, a great game. With that being said, I have not played Fable 2 of any of the other Fallout games so I can only compare it to what I consider the best role playing game in Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind. Basically, Fallout 3 is a better version of Morrowind. Everything has been streamlined and slightly improved upon. If you liked Morrowind the I recommend buying Fallout 3. If not, you may want to rent it first. Expand
  43. SeanAndersen
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    Nothing short of amazing, the world is so vast and so elaborate with minute details. This game is a must buy for so many different video game players. Will easily hold your interest for 100+ hours. Their does seem to be a few glitches here and there, but nothing game breaking that could hurt the score. The biggest downfall of this game is likely that it is so good it might make youNothing short of amazing, the world is so vast and so elaborate with minute details. This game is a must buy for so many different video game players. Will easily hold your interest for 100+ hours. Their does seem to be a few glitches here and there, but nothing game breaking that could hurt the score. The biggest downfall of this game is likely that it is so good it might make you late to work. Expand
  44. KylerN
    Nov 26, 2008
    8
    There were lots of small glitches, but in the museums there was a huge glitch where the models would blind your screen which was an issue with the 360 cache, other than that it has solid gameplay and a little more enticing the the elder scroll series but i feel ripped off by how close it plays like them
  45. ReeceS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Fallout 3 is close to being perfect, but I did find some elements of the game to be disappointing. The leveling up of the character is great, but ends far to quickly with a level 20 cap, and the environment is fairly bland, but there is not much of an alternative considering a nuclear war. Other than those two points the game is excellent. Dialogue options are plentiful, as well asFallout 3 is close to being perfect, but I did find some elements of the game to be disappointing. The leveling up of the character is great, but ends far to quickly with a level 20 cap, and the environment is fairly bland, but there is not much of an alternative considering a nuclear war. Other than those two points the game is excellent. Dialogue options are plentiful, as well as quests, and the combat system is easy to get into and enjoyable. Overall a great game. Expand
  46. EricT
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to Corrected comments For anyone still looking to buy the game, here are a few Clarifications on the few low scores. "An incredibly dull game filled with bugs. I'm surprised that they've released it in the stage that it's in. It's poor animation, terrible models poor conversation/storyline and extremely bad lighting are just a few things that make this game painful to play." There are as many bugs in this game as in any other top notch game, few and far between. The animation is better than any other sandbox game, and the dialogue is much better than almost any other game that I have played "Simple, linear, unoriginal narrative." There are 25+ quests plus many side "requests" that can be done in the game, and only 3 of the quests are required, not linear at all. "Tactical combat has been removed." Just because the game isn't turn based doesn't mean it isn't tatical. Sure, you could stand in the open on easy difficulty and mow down enemies, or you could turn up the difficulty and use cover, stealth, and your allies. "In Fallout 3, you can shoot nuclear-powered cars with your nuclear catapult (early in the game...), in a town built around an unexploded nuclear bomb." Yes this is true, you can shoot a mini-nuke launcher. Before the war, cars had been powered by nuclear reactors, so for some strange reason, someone hadn't gone through the entire world and removed the engine from every car. There is a town around a dud nuclear bomb because it was dropped out of a plane from low orbit and still didn't detonate. It made an ideal crater for a town. "Much of the crowded (who would have thought nuclear winter would be so claustrophobic?) "wasteland" is sloppily and lazily copy-pasted from place to place." Nuclear winter has worn off during the 200+ years after the Great War. Just because there was a nuclear war doesn't mean that people will never be able to live on the surface. If the wasteland is really just copy-pasted from place to place, how come every building is different and the view from each hill is different. Also, look around you home, do any things look the same. I know that I see houses that look almost identical and cars which are identical every day. "Play first Fallout and Fallout2 ignoring the graphics and then play Fallout3.Only then you will realise how bad this game is.Most gaming sites have either no idea what they are talking about or have been paid well to write these ridiculous reviews." First of all, the game is almost completly different from Fallout and Fallout 2, so there is no way to compare them. Look at Warcraft and World of Warcraft. They are completly different games and there is no way to say which is better. The same is true for Fallout 3. "V.A.T.S. is an interesting concept but it should not take two point blank headshots to kill someone. Free aim is sloppy. The graphics look washed out even in high def and the skin tones are off. " First of all, in many games a headshot isn't a one hit kill. all Halo games, all COD games, all GTA games, Gears 1&2, all Perfect Dark games, all Bond games, Counter Strike, and many, many more. Free aim is only sloppy if you don't know how to use the two little stick things on your controller. The graphics are far better than any other sandbox games, and better than most scripted games. There is no way that skin tones can be off given the fact that every person's skin is a different color. Also, it is a radiation soaked world, and there is a very good chance that skin color could be affected, concidering the insane mutations occuring to other creatures. Expand
  47. WilliamM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    8
    Fallout 3 is without a doubt one of the most impressive games out period. It features good plot lines, weaponry, rpg elements, great graphics etc etc. If you want to read more positive comments see the metascore and all of the professional reviews. This game is not without its downsides, which are significantly played down by the professional reviewers. The creators of the game did not Fallout 3 is without a doubt one of the most impressive games out period. It features good plot lines, weaponry, rpg elements, great graphics etc etc. If you want to read more positive comments see the metascore and all of the professional reviews. This game is not without its downsides, which are significantly played down by the professional reviewers. The creators of the game did not use the scope of the game to their advantage; by that I mean there are only 31 achievement quests(including quests as part as the main story) while there is easily over 150 locations to explore. During the beginning hours, this may not become obvious; in the last hours, however, a player can see that this game seems almost half finished. It just seems that while DC is huge, the amount of things to do in it are limited. Another problem is the gunplay. Often, a player will find themselves wasting tons of ammo trying to kill a simple enemy because their guns are not particularly effective nor accurate outside of VATS. This leads to the player entering combat with VATS, only to hide until VATS fills back up so they can use it again. Fallout 3 has an utter lack of bosses. Bosses are arguably the heart of RPGs aside from the basics; the fact that this game ignored them makes it kind of awkward (especially no final boss). New game plus? Forget about it; once the game is over, it is over. Leveling up past 20? Forget about it; you max out at level 20. Any reason to put the game on very hard? No(no achievement; while you do get more experience points, you will max out before you finish the quests making the quests pointless). Any items that are just "cool" enough to go after a long quest for? No. You can make some and their are some special ones, but they aren't that great. On the plus side, this game will engross you for hours(it would take about 40 of them to complete the story and all the side quests). Expand
  48. HagenM.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and I went into Fallout 3 expecting the perfect game. I did not find a perfect game but I found the closest thing to a perfect game since The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time. This game has so much depth and gameplay that if anyone was talking about depth and gameplay, Fallout 3 could be used as a reference. From the amazing plot line to the creative and addictive ecstasy that is VATS, and from the dialogue to the leveling system, this game has perfected nearly every aspect of an action RPG. The world may not be as massive as Oblivion, but it has so less wasted space. Nearly every inch of The Capitol Wasteland has some location, some vault, metrostation, or point of interst to explore. I beat the game 2 days after buying it, but spent the next 3 weeks playing the side quests., and I'm still exploring locations. The only flaws I found was that the game can be a little unimmerisve when the loading screens come up, and that the walking wasn't fixed from Oblivion. you still seem to slide around when in third-person. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself and if you consider yourself a fan of video-games, then you owe it to yourself to at least try this game. Expand
  49. DenizY
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's Probably the best game I've played so far, definitely the best game of the year. The graphics are superb, the world is expansive and incredibly detailed (you can literally see for miles...), story is so immersible, the gameplay is actually enjoyable, very enjoyable in fact (unlike Oblivion), the style and dialogue is very good, and the theme is so friggin awesome (yes it's supposed to be dark, gloomy, and various shades of gray and brown, it's a post-apocalyptic world you idiots!) There's so much to do and not enough time to do it. I've been playing it for close to 30 hours, not close to finishing the game, and I'm still hungry for more. Expand
  50. TheStodd
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Fantastic - Game of the Year. I haven't been so imeresed since Mass Effect. A few bugs, but overall less hassle than the PC version. Get it NOW!
  51. DouglasM.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    Although a little disappointed in the ending this game is amazing, immersable, and and absolute joy to play and even an somewhat disappointing ending wont keep me from playing this game for a long time.
  52. Tjthegamer
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only A great game. Although not perfect (I don't consider any game "perfect") Fallout 3 offers an experiance unlike any other game in it's genre. The perk system is genius, The story is great, and the V.A.T.S. system comes together perfectly. It's near endless exploration and hours of side missions will have you playing it for weeks on end. Fallout 3 feels and plays like only one other game: The Legend of Zelda. Expand
  53. GregM
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not I have a feeling a lot of the idiots on this board scoring this game low were against it from the very beginning, and it might've been hand-delivered from God (or whomever you want) and they still would treat it like used toilet paper. I've been playing Fallout since it came out in 1998. I've been playing games since Zork. This game is incredibly immersive. It is not without fault. But it exceeded my expectations, and it is the most fun I've had on the Xbox. Expand
  54. PeterL.
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this This Game doesent only live up to the hype it build up since Bethesda previously created Oblivion it Blows up the hype it is just an incredible experience. So many choices every little thing you do will come back to help or haunt you. Either finding a dog to assist you in the wasteland or finding secret weapons that will own the bigger guys... If you have a choice between fable 2 and this masterpiece. it is Fallout 3. Now before you go praising gears of war 2 like it is a epic masterpiece just put it next to fallout 3 and it is an absolute Failure. Go get this game right now.. - The Broken Gamer Expand
  55. BradBegey
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    This game is a one in a million, the game offers many choices in karma (KOTOR?) the game has a different feel than oblivion but has many of the same querks that I love. Sadly the storyline does end and you can't keep playing? If they can patch this my score would be a 10 for sure.
  56. DavidM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Besides some annoying glitches (stopped F3 from getting a 10) this is the most fun I've had with a game in recent memory. For those attempting to make the choice between Fable 2 and Fallout 3 I would certainly suggest both, but F3 is far better in my opinion. PROS: Deep role playing elements, serviceable shooter controls, interesting story, theme and atmosphere, excellent graphics Besides some annoying glitches (stopped F3 from getting a 10) this is the most fun I've had with a game in recent memory. For those attempting to make the choice between Fable 2 and Fallout 3 I would certainly suggest both, but F3 is far better in my opinion. PROS: Deep role playing elements, serviceable shooter controls, interesting story, theme and atmosphere, excellent graphics (It ISN'T supposed to be bright and sunny like Oblivion folks, stop saying it looks dreary like it's a bad thing, it's fracking supposed to.) CONS: Glitches, fighting without V.A.T.S. is like pulling teeth sometimes, dialogue is a little sketchy occasionally, combat A.I. is better (than Oblivion) but overall NPC A.I. seems janky. Expand
  57. RickA.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb The reviewer from GamePro got it right, quite easily the best RPG on the console to date. Ive been gaming for 27years, so ive pretty much played them all - the greats that is, and this massive gem from Bethesda easily falls into my all time fave games list. Fallout3 is so impressive, immersive, atmospheric and downright massive that its up there with the likes of Resident Evil, Tomb Raider, Half-Life, Final Fantaty or Halo as a single player gaming experience you dont want to miss. You can burn through the main story in 20hrs, however thats not the real experience. Ive just clocked 100hrs exploring the 150+ locations around the map, each one with its own different theme, history, monsters, hidden goodies & feel - that you never know what to expect, the variety being the rewards for your efforts. Ive played many RPG games where the off story locations feel just that. Not so with this beautiful game - and there in lies Fallout3's irresistable charm. Easily the front-runner for the 2008 G.O.T.Y - Expand
  58. JorgeM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. The story is great and there's lots of side quests and other things to do. Yes, it feels a lot like Oblivion, but the first time you decapitate a mutant with your rifle you will realize you are not in Cyrodil anymore. Your choices have real consequences and the world is huge. I highly recommend it.
  59. matthurd
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    how does gears 2 have a 93 just like this? this is a much better game and it has way more 100 ratings then gears i think they need to fix the rating system here

    either way this game was fantastic and you would be flat out unacceptable to he gaming community to pass up on this master piece
  60. AnonymousMC
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well
    Such a fine game deserves all the praise and attention it's getting. I've never played a game more realistic, more immersive, more epic. The story is engaging and clever, the AI is so real you feel like you actually are transported into this wasteland.

    The fantastic story unfolds all around you, as the brilliant world is brought to life with beautiful graphics and a well thought out and detailed combat system.
    One thing's for sure, there has never been an RPG quite like this.
    Expand
  61. AndrewD.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game was something I had been waiting for a long time. I had loved Oblivion to death, and once i played this, I saw a striking similarity in a different setting. VATS is an awesome addition to combat and the part of conserving ammo and food puts you on the edge all the time. If you enjoyed Oblivion, I would highly recommend you give this game a try.
  62. GD
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    I've been playing RPGs since Ultima 1, and this is certainly on par with the quality of Oblivion, with all the humor, storyline, combat, development, and history of a Fallout game. Don't let anyone tell you this is "oblivion with new graphics," because they're not right. So much stuff to do and see, and it's completely wide open. Anecdotally, each of my 4 friends I've been playing RPGs since Ultima 1, and this is certainly on par with the quality of Oblivion, with all the humor, storyline, combat, development, and history of a Fallout game. Don't let anyone tell you this is "oblivion with new graphics," because they're not right. So much stuff to do and see, and it's completely wide open. Anecdotally, each of my 4 friends playing exited the first Vault in different ways than I did... there's no 'correct' way to do things. Apart from some minor glitches, this game is a must have for any Fallout or RPG fan. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  63. JasonF
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have This game has a ton to offer you. A cool story and an immense world to delve into and a character that can be whatever you want. You can lug around giant guns and sport badass armor, or play as a sneaky thief who likes setting land mines. There is so much to do and see in this game. Just when you think you have seen it all you stumble on another hidden gem. If you own a 360 then you have to own this game. Expand
  64. JasonS
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and This game is sheer amazing. I recommend it to anyone with a console who can play it. It offers a variety of different ways in which to play it, whether it be real time shooting for fps fans, or Vats for more role play fans, and a mass map for the adventerous type (which I would hope is all of us). The ONLY ways in which it is like Oblivion is its sheer map scale, immersive gameplay and plot. And the physics engines are some what similar. The gameplay and fighting systems are NOT at all alike, and the role play elements of Fallout are far greater than that of Oblivions... and more importantly level scaling is not so imposing in fallout (which somewhat ruined Oblivion (only a ltitle) for me). It's also somewhat more fast paced, so you won't feel the burden of fighting like you did in Oblivion (constant hack), it's more explosive and exciting. Buy buy buy!!! Expand
  65. ZacS.
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups Simply the most immersing and compelling game in history, that is, if you have half a brain. I found Mass Effect's dialog trees tedious and mind-numbing... Fallout 3 introduces a quest system that makes Fable II look like the smallest sandbox on the playground. Bottom line: games like this are triumphs of balance between such a multitude of advanced gaming concepts that a few hiccups must be expected. Fallout 3 is nearly flawless in its hybridization of sandbox, RPG, dialog-based games , first person shooter, strategic targeting, etc. etc.... even the minigames are amazing. This is a new day in gaming and this is the maverick title to raise the bar beyond a level I think will be reached until we enter the 'next generation' of gaming... or Fallout 4. Expand
  66. MarkK
    Nov 4, 2008
    10
    While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling While this is a game definately NOT for the casual gamer, or even your average FPS fan, for those who seek a little more substance in their gaming diet, this is simply phenomenal. I was a big fan of the original games back in the day, and I'm glad to say this is a very worthy (and quite probably better) successor. The level of immersion is second to none as you really have a feeling that absolutely everything you do has an effect of some kind on the excellently-designed post-apocalyptic wasteland that your dude/dudette calls home. Genuinely, my only wish is that there was more of it. The interface does exactly what I presume Bethesda intended it to, keep the feel of the originals while adding the functionality of a next-gen game. The VATS system is solid, and a brilliantly-implemented compromise between the older-games fight mechanics and Oblivion's FPS-like combat. Essentially, what Bethesda have done is achieve the impossible; keep the fans of the original Fallout happy, while once again revolutionising the genre in a similar way to Mass Effect this time last year. Purely awesome. Expand
  67. BrendanK
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Amazing, absolutely amazing. A lot of reviews say it isn't just Oblivion-with-guns but really, that is all it is... and that is excellent! Bethesda have done an excellent job recreating the Fallout world with a consistent aesthetic and style and tone and you wll lose hours just exploring the Wasteland before you remember you haven't even entered DC yet. The floaty animations are Amazing, absolutely amazing. A lot of reviews say it isn't just Oblivion-with-guns but really, that is all it is... and that is excellent! Bethesda have done an excellent job recreating the Fallout world with a consistent aesthetic and style and tone and you wll lose hours just exploring the Wasteland before you remember you haven't even entered DC yet. The floaty animations are dissapointing but tolerable, in my opinion. Expand
  68. JamesD.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright Fallout 3 is Exactly what I, a long time Fallout veteran, have been hoping for and more! In order to explain just how amazing this game is, I will tell you this. My girlfriend, who normally just plays casual games on the Wii, played this game just to see how it was and was amazed by it. She has been stuck on the game for three days now, I kid you not. I think that the game is downright the most sprawling, addictive video game of the year, bar none. Others might not dig the VATS targeting system, the slow-mo kill cams, the graphics, or the trekking across the D.C. wasteland, but I believe that these features make the game so unique and refreshing that I couldn't imagine the game without thinking about them. If you thought Oblivion was addictive or you are remotely interested in an adventurous apocalyptic action extravaganza, you will absolutely love this game. The game is chock full of hilarious dialogue and great little comic touches to the an otherwise shockingly ravaged nuclear land. There are many minor flaws and issues with this sprawling open-world action-shooter-RPG, but come on, what game is perfect? If you came to negatively critique the game, then chances are that you never gave it a chance in the first place. Give the game your full attention, open up your imagination, turn up the Ink Spots on Galaxy News Radio, and try not to be sucked into an awe-inspiring atmospheric adventure into a the Washington D.C. that you thought you knew so well! I am simply blown away by the sheer scope of the game and the teeny tiniest little details in the game that make it so memorable. Whether it be the G.O.A.T. test or a rag-tag ramshackle city's "colorful" citizens, Fallout 3 is sure to surprise you with its amazing presentation, realism, its thought-provokingly insightful situations, and immersion factor. If you own a game console or PC that will play this game, then you have no excuse to not buy this amazing game. Expand
  69. KristianR.
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Sure, it has a few bugs. Sure, it's like Oblivion (Why is that bad exactly?). I suppose it is possible to not like this game. But if you don't like it, you probably don't like video games much at all. Either that or you're lying to yourself and you secretly crave all that the Wasteland (TM) has to offer. And it offers a great deal.
  70. JohnC
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Fallout 3 is fantastic, if you like RPG's add this to your wish list. Its story structure and side plots are like Mass Effect but you can roam wider like in Oblivion. Combat is engaging and fun The graphics are good but a few of the motion animations are off center. Good plot line, plenty of sub quests, solid and enjoyable combat system, only a couple of very minor animation Fallout 3 is fantastic, if you like RPG's add this to your wish list. Its story structure and side plots are like Mass Effect but you can roam wider like in Oblivion. Combat is engaging and fun The graphics are good but a few of the motion animations are off center. Good plot line, plenty of sub quests, solid and enjoyable combat system, only a couple of very minor animation glitches, a great game, I am a big Fallout fan and I knew Bethesda would not drop the ball. Great stuff. Expand
  71. KyleG.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The I am about 40 hours in and at this point I can safely say that in my book, this is definitely game of the year. While it does share some of Oblivion's style and perspective, Fallout 3 is unquestionably it's own game. The combat is great fun with it's mix of V.A.T.S. and real time first person shooting making dealing with groups of enemies feel fresh and unpredictable. The perk system really adds a new and exciting twist to the RPG side of things. The main story really starts to blossom around the 20-25 hour mark to create a fantastic sense of purpose for your character. Graphically, the game excels in creating an atmosphere that is at once technically beautiful, completely absorbing and borderline depressing. After playing for extended amounts of time, I suggest treating yourself to an ice cream cone to help alleviate the feeling of bleakness this environment can bestow upon you. My only gripe with the game is that money (bottle caps) seems to be rather difficult to come by. Perhaps I'll play as a bad guy on my second play through to see if things are easier in that department. Absolutely brilliant game though. I hope everyone enjoys it as much as i have. Expand
  72. AndyS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Take the best Deus Ex and mix in a good serving of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and you have Fallout 3. This is without a doubt the PC game of the year, if not for 360 and PS3 as well. I'm only L8 and i already want to play it again, and again, and some more after that.
  73. TomP.
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    A very solid representation of the fallout universe, as a big fallout fan I've been cautious as to how the game would turn out, but bethesda have done a great job. My only problem is with the lack of some of the series previous humour and with hardly any reference to fallout 2 let alone fallout 1. That said it's a solid 9/10 for me.
  74. NathanE
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This game is amazing. I don't know what Mike R's problem with it is, but the targeting system is actually useful as well as flexible and satisfying. You have a huge, realized open world to explore, tons of interesting characters to talk to and a plethora of ways to upgrade your character, all while trying to survive through the run down wastelands of a radiation stricken This game is amazing. I don't know what Mike R's problem with it is, but the targeting system is actually useful as well as flexible and satisfying. You have a huge, realized open world to explore, tons of interesting characters to talk to and a plethora of ways to upgrade your character, all while trying to survive through the run down wastelands of a radiation stricken Washington DC. If you like any of Bethesda's previous games like Oblivion, or even if you like the old Fallout games, don't hesitate to pick this one up. If you have the brain to actually manage your character within the game's nearly limitless rules, you will undoubtedly have a blast with Fallout 3. My only problem is that the main quest can be finished in around 10 hours without doing any side missions, but thank god the side missions are there. There's plenty of them to do and they tend to be more interesting than the main quest. Also, when going into this game don't expect it to be a shooter. This is a Western RPG through and through, and what a wonderful RPG it is. Expand
  75. JackJ.
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. The visuals are good, and there is a huge environment to enjoy. Aside from the story, there are many other enemies and battles to engage in, and the missions are extensive. Definitely lives up to my expectations
  76. MatthewC.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, sure, it's got faults. So does everything. What I
  77. MikeP
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well done, and gives the player an edge over their enemies, like a better form of bullet time. Characters in this game are at least twice as well developed as they were in Oblivion, I felt attached and involved with the storyline and the characters. As far Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well done, and gives the player an edge over their enemies, like a better form of bullet time. Characters in this game are at least twice as well developed as they were in Oblivion, I felt attached and involved with the storyline and the characters. As far as following the overall feel of a fallout game, I feel it does pretty well, it stumbles in some places that really point out the difference between Black Isle/Interplay and Bethesda. Bethesda's fallout world is less free, less funny and less nuanced than Black Isle' fallout world. There were less dialogue options in F3 as opposed to F1&2 but I suppose that when you record voices for every NPC sentence it makes it more difficult to have 7 options when 3 would get the point across. Along those lines though sometimes I felt like what I wanted to say didn't have a parallel with the options I was given. It was also like I said not quite as funny as the first two games in the tragic-comedy type of way. Also Bethesda does not give you the ABSOLUTE freedom that you would get from the first two games, if you have 99 skill in lockpick and the door requires 100 your not getting in, in Fallout 1&2 you'd just chuckle as you set a five pound brick of plastic-explosives for 20 seconds and dive behind cover as the door flies off it's hinges. You require training to use certain armor, and the person that trains you isn't available to you until you complete an objective well within the middle of the game; F1&2 you'd just put it on. It's details like those that I'm missing from this fallout and have made it slightly frustrating to play as a fallout game. That and my biggest annoyance is that if I turn every enemy in the room into steaming goo before my allies fire a shot, they still talk to me like I needed their help and I can't handle myself. Expand
  78. JohnHartman
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played. 1. Half life 2 (Including episodes) 2. Bioshock 3. Fallout 3. The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played.

    1. Half life 2 (Including episodes)
    2. Bioshock
    3. Fallout 3.

    The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything that oblivion has but more, such as VATS, Guns, and the fallout setting.
    Expand
  79. MarcB.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Exactly what I've been waiting for. If you enjoy western RPG's, you won't want to miss it. Very reminiscent of Oblivion, of course, but F3's VATS system is much more engaging than Oblivion's combat or casting. Interesting theme, amazing locations, addictive questing. I only deduct a point because (despite what others are writing) I find myself a little Exactly what I've been waiting for. If you enjoy western RPG's, you won't want to miss it. Very reminiscent of Oblivion, of course, but F3's VATS system is much more engaging than Oblivion's combat or casting. Interesting theme, amazing locations, addictive questing. I only deduct a point because (despite what others are writing) I find myself a little disappointed with the graphics. They are breathtaking... occasionally... but at other times downright retro (and not in the intentional sense.) Either way - fun! Expand
  80. Jakkers
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    After a half dozen hours in this game, I can safely say it's straight up more fun than Oblivion or Mass Effect. So far the only thing bothering me is the touchy walking animations - just not as crisp as in a standard fps, and it works to somewhat take you out of the experience. Besides that, fantastic game so far. 9.5/10.
  81. EricW
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Bethesda did a great job making the word feel like Fallout. It doesn't have the "magic" that the Black Isle games did, but they've paid tribute to the first two games and brought the series into the new generation. I'll be looking forward to more Fallout games from Bethesda.
  82. Tom
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    As a fan of the original Fallout series I was worried but am relieved to say that this is an incredible game. It truly makes you feel like you are a scavenger in a post apocalyptic world.
  83. THATGAMINGGUY
    Oct 30, 2008
    8
    Being a fan of the old PC Fallouts, and not being a big fan of Bethesda's Oblivion, I went into this game with a naive expectation for game of the year. And yeah, it came kinda close. First of all, it may not seem so for the first few hours, but eventually F3 turns into a very compelling and satisfying story, with a surprising flavor of a FInal Fantasy 7 or 8, mixed it. On the other Being a fan of the old PC Fallouts, and not being a big fan of Bethesda's Oblivion, I went into this game with a naive expectation for game of the year. And yeah, it came kinda close. First of all, it may not seem so for the first few hours, but eventually F3 turns into a very compelling and satisfying story, with a surprising flavor of a FInal Fantasy 7 or 8, mixed it. On the other hand, the fact that the main character (you) don't ever speak a word (hello 1993 rpg?) but everyone else does, kind of shoots the game in the foot a bit, taking away from it's direction a being a memorable personal story (please see Mass Effect on how this is done right). Aside from this, the sandbox gaming is on GTA IV level of fun, definitely a highlight of what this game is about. Exploring, scavenging, etc. The karma (good v evil) system is cool, but still a step behind Mass Effect. There's tons of glitches, more than enough to make this fall into the "feels like a 90s pc game" category. But not enough to make me dislike the game. It's a ton of fun. And for all it's flaws, it is still very impressive and addictive as hell. Oblivion with guns? Yes, but that's exactly what it needed to be. Expand
  84. MattF.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    This is a phenomenal game. It's not in the same vein as the first two fallouts (the dark humour is much less evident), but it is a very very good game. VATS is a phenomenal combat system - switching back to first person becomes a bit of a drag after using VATS too long.
  85. AaronB.
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    I can't believe this is only an 8.5 for user votes. Must be some haters bringing the average down. I think it deserves at least a 9. It's not perfect - what game is? - but I'll rate it a 10 to compensate for the haters.
  86. Wtfji
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Isn't there someone to moderate these comments? Mike R is clearly taking the piss with the most stupid and worthless comment of all time. Maybe you need to be British to understand that. Either way... you should delete it.
  87. MatthewM
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    This game is basically Fallout meets Oblivion. It's gorgeous, control is decent, upgrades are substantial, story is intriguing. It is definitely well in line with the Fallout of my youth. However, I always get bored of Elder Scrolls games and am already starting to feel that wanderlust.
  88. [Anonymous]
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Great graphics, intense and almsot non-stop combat system, and if you get the "bloody mess" perk, lol. Prepare for some hilerious V.A.T.S. moments, especially when it traces your bullets all the way to the enemy's skull and then proceeds to split it into a billion little pieces. Brutal, and incredibly satisfying.
  89. SanzeeMan
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    I bought Fallout 3 a few days ago and have been playing it ever since. I skipped almost all sidequests because I was interested in the story. Now that I've played through this game, I can honestly say WOW. Every aspect of this game is superb. Concept, Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, Technical, Story, everything totally kicks @ss. Truly has it earned Game of the Year in my eyes. Bethesda,I bought Fallout 3 a few days ago and have been playing it ever since. I skipped almost all sidequests because I was interested in the story. Now that I've played through this game, I can honestly say WOW. Every aspect of this game is superb. Concept, Graphics, Sound, Gameplay, Technical, Story, everything totally kicks @ss. Truly has it earned Game of the Year in my eyes. Bethesda, you've done it again! Expand
  90. ErikP
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Look I'm not going to straight review this game, but everyone needs to stop comparing it to Bioshock. You should be comparing Bioshock to it considering Fallout is an old series. Especially you reviewers get a life if you don't like this game. It may be your opinion, but your opinion is wack.On the same note Bioshock was a good game, but not worth playing more than once. Mass Look I'm not going to straight review this game, but everyone needs to stop comparing it to Bioshock. You should be comparing Bioshock to it considering Fallout is an old series. Especially you reviewers get a life if you don't like this game. It may be your opinion, but your opinion is wack.On the same note Bioshock was a good game, but not worth playing more than once. Mass Effect was a great game, but it's negative outweighed its positives. It got boring. Fallout 3 is nowhere near getting boring and it definitely will have great replay qualities. From the engrossing storyline that only gives little by little to keep you wondering. To the humorous and serious interactions with NPC'S. To the guy on the side of the road looking for purified water. It's a great game don't let critics throw you from the beaten path on playing Fallout 3. Expand
  91. StuartS.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. Good balance between clear narrative and open play. Early on, you get a taste for how much control over the play style you have, and I'm totally hooked. I think my work performance today is telling of my addiction.
  92. DanielS
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    So far this year this is the best game I have played. But there are negatives. First the good 1. Its very much like oblivion but with a way better combat system 2. Leveling system is more interesting than oblivion (u actually have to think about it as you dont want to waste your pts) 3. very immersive environment. The bad is that the after 40+ hrs i can see myself getting bored by the So far this year this is the best game I have played. But there are negatives. First the good 1. Its very much like oblivion but with a way better combat system 2. Leveling system is more interesting than oblivion (u actually have to think about it as you dont want to waste your pts) 3. very immersive environment. The bad is that the after 40+ hrs i can see myself getting bored by the post apocalpyse motiff. no variety compared to the fantasy world of oblivion. plus brown is 90% of the colors in the game. ive played about 5 hrs and just got to megaton and doing my first side mission there. all in all a great game. i recommend getting the guide. also what irks me is i picked the big guns skills but only use the small guns so far so that was a waste. also it takes a billion shots to kill anything when u are low level even headshots at point blank. Vats is not as good as was hyped to be also Expand
  93. NickB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I'm blown away.....best experience I've had since Mass Effect, and this game is in fact better than that title, which was itself a+. Fallout 3 is the first game in years to really make me feel the environment and the setting.....startlingly addictive and immersive RPG. A must have!
  94. Maou
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, I can't stop playing it. Has some bugs/flaws, but I'm sure will be taken care of, even if not it's still one I can't put down. It's not perfect but then no game is, but it's everything I expected it to be and more! Not sure why people compare it to Oblivion, other than using the same engine (but more advanced) the games are really nothing alike. Amazing game, I can't stop playing it. Has some bugs/flaws, but I'm sure will be taken care of, even if not it's still one I can't put down. It's not perfect but then no game is, but it's everything I expected it to be and more! Not sure why people compare it to Oblivion, other than using the same engine (but more advanced) the games are really nothing alike. Story, environment, leveling, etc are completely different. Expand
  95. ShaneB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    While this game does have a few minor flaws the overall play and concept are rock solid it touches on lots of aspects and there is no single action in the game that is overly painful or monotonous from the combat to even the mini-games that run when you attempt skills such as lockpick. This game is, without a doubt, a ten out of ten.
  96. ChristianG.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This is no doubt one of the best games in history, and a front-runner for game of the year. It combines incredibly deep roleplaying with amazing combat, an astounding narrative, ridiculous amounts of freedom, an incredible atmosphere and obscene amounts of content into a cohesive whole that is greater than the sum of its parts. A game that transcends simple quality, it is simply a must play.
  97. DuxaC.
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played.. Tutorial is genius, the world looks like id imagine a post apocalyptic world... the story is thrilling. Characters are awesome. There are some minor issues, like small pathing/animation problems.. but those can all be fixed with a small patch. And even if they never fix them, they are so minor that it doesn't matter. If you are going to buy This is the best game I have ever played.. Tutorial is genius, the world looks like id imagine a post apocalyptic world... the story is thrilling. Characters are awesome. There are some minor issues, like small pathing/animation problems.. but those can all be fixed with a small patch. And even if they never fix them, they are so minor that it doesn't matter. If you are going to buy only 1 game this holiday season.. then this is the game to get. Expand
  98. JosephS.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    (1) We know that Fallout 1&2 were SICK, and (2) We know that Bethesda creates works of art (Oblivion) for a living. If this game isn't a 9 or 10, it's because the subtleties imbedded within go unnoticed by a generation of gamers who thought 'Mario Sunshine' was a top-notch title. Our standards must be set higher - I believe Bethesda and Fallout 3 will help us do that.
  99. JosephA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    The game captures the post-apocalyptic scarcity, desperation, and freedom of the original two masterpieces and takes advantage of all the great things Oblivion offered. Most enjoyable game I have played this year thus far, and I've played nearly all of them.
  100. DaveW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece! Same format as Oblivion but very much its own game. A MUST play for any RPG fan. FPS mechanics are of a high quality as well as the visuals that are some of the best I have seen. Just a shame my 360 red lighted 9 hours in! Putting that aside Bethesda have done it again - buy it!!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself, and while it may not offer as much replay value as Oblivion, it’s so much more then an “Oblivion with guns”.
  2. 90
    From the hollow wind blowing down through subway tunnels, to the radioactive dust clouds swirling throughout the wasteland, up to the buzzards circling the encampment where the bodies of 30 slave traders lie; Fallout 3 is as much a game as it is a training sim for the coming apocalypse.
  3. In fact, Fallout 3 is leaner and meaner than Bethesda's previous efforts, less expansive but more intense, while still offering immense replay value and quite a few thrills along the way.