Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    90
    The adventure is of a satisfying size, the writing and characterizations are strong, and it offers an experience that is uniquely different from the main campaign. As a matter of fact, it even includes some surprising revelations that will entice players to play through the other three DLC episodes that follow. From every angle, Dead Money is a winning hand.
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    Obsidian delivers a first DLC that matches their Fallout: New Vegas : tense, captivating, despite its linearity. With a tiny bit more difficulty! Once more, we'd almost forget about the aging 3D engine of Bethesda and the poor AI. I experienced it like a little pen & paper RPG scenario of a single night. My thanks to the Obisidian Game Master.
  3. 80
    Glitches can sully the fun--an if you've finished the main game, you're forced to load an earlier save(pre-endgame)--but Dead Money is still a grim, well-wrought challenge. [March 2011, p.85]
  4. 80
    Dead Money clocks in at a good five hours or so, and is well worth investing in if you're thirsty for more New Vegas action. There's plenty of what Fallout does best, with new melee weapons and guns to try out as well as several divergent conclusions to reach once you manage to successfully (or indeed unsuccessfully) pull off the Sierra Madre heist. But does Dead Money deliver on the same level as Fallout 3's DLC did? To a certain extent yes, but having played through the DLC episode, we can attest that Dead Money is absorbing while it lasts, yet you might still be left wanting more once the credits have rolled.
  5. Jan 2, 2011
    80
    As the first of New Vegas' DLC, Dead Money fits firmly into the 'good' category and has set the bar at a high level for any future additions. As for what the legendary Sierra Madre treasure itself actually is, well, let's just say be sure to leave at least 90lb worth of room in your back-pack.
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    78
    A well crafted DLC, filled with all the atmosphere and the charisma of the main title. Some more interesting loot and a little variety could've made it even better.
  7. Games Master UK
    Feb 14, 2011
    75
    Dead money is all about the companion interaction and offers a decent addition to your game time for 800 points. [Mar 2011, p.94]
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    75
    Annoyances aside, at 800 points Dead Money is a steal, one that could be taken fresh from the Sierra Madre vaults themselves!
  9. Jan 3, 2011
    75
    Overall the Dead Money add-on might not be perfectly constructed, but it is an interesting curve for Fallout: New Vegas, one that is worth the caps. If you already jetted a fair share of hours into New Vegas, you will likely be satisfied with the content offered in Dead Money.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    4
    Huge Fallout 3 and F:NV fan here, and I have to say that for the first time, playing this game felt like a chore. Dreary, unattractiveHuge Fallout 3 and F:NV fan here, and I have to say that for the first time, playing this game felt like a chore. Dreary, unattractive settings, repetitive gameplay, and a difficulty curve that just gets stupidly hard and frustrating. Most of the devices designed to build tension - the poisonous fog, the stupid beeping collars - are just irritating. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2010
    7
    Dead money is a tough quest thatâ
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    4
    While I truly love Fallout New Vegas, I'd recommend taking a pass on this expansion. The setting/technology is interesting, the story behindWhile I truly love Fallout New Vegas, I'd recommend taking a pass on this expansion. The setting/technology is interesting, the story behind everything is compelling ( and tragic ) and your temporary companions have good back-stories and voice acting. The rest of the game is a void of tedious suckage scrambling around a bleak resort designed for agoraphobics reminiscent of the subways you had to traverse in the previous Fallout 3. This actually could have been an excellent expansion, but my guess is that during development there were complaints that people were completing it too quickly. It was obviously too late to make extra content, so instead they introduced no less than seven plot elements designed specifically to slow your progress to a crawl. Those extra hours of gameplay they've stretched in are not enjoyable ones. Be prepared to reload often due to your untimely death happening with alarming frequency. And while there were new weapons and gear, none of it was as good as the stuff I already had from playing the regular game. At most, it provides extra money - but that was never a problem in New Vegas either. The new perks went unused as well. Full Review »