User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 619 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 619

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    As a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don't get me wrong it's still a great experience and adds tons of new features that set it apart from Fallout 3, but for every good thing it has there's a set back that follows, the graphics can range from great to down right ugly, the sound is fantasticAs a huge Fallout 3 fan this was one of my most anticipated games of 2010 I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with this game, don't get me wrong it's still a great experience and adds tons of new features that set it apart from Fallout 3, but for every good thing it has there's a set back that follows, the graphics can range from great to down right ugly, the sound is fantastic with great voice acting, sound effects, and soundtrack, the new features like fraction reputation and weapon mods work fantastic, but others like iron sights don't, and other great changes like tons of new weapons, enemies, and distractions like gambling will make you drool, and the sheer size of the map and all of the new locations will have people who want to 100% this busy for countless hours as will the multiple ways the story will play out, now for the main downsides, quests aren't as satisfying to complete, while there are many locations there mostly just one room buildings with little to no loot that aren't fun to explore, the number off bugs and glitches has greatly increased, and it's just not as fun as Fallout 3 was, I gave almost 300 hours of my life to that game and still find fun in going back to it, and I'm not even 90 hours into this one and I'm already putting it down to play other games, even though it's not as good I still recommend this to hardcore fans like myself, just don't expect it to be better or even as good. Expand
  2. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    I'll be honest: I much preferred this game than Fallout 3. New Vegas adds everything that Fallout 3 was missing. It made the gameplay more fun, and the environment more visually pleasing. The story isn't as good as Fallout 3's, BUT, it does add more narrative choice that lacked in FO3. While the initial bugs were annoying ,the patches have since made them almost obsolete. Overall: While itI'll be honest: I much preferred this game than Fallout 3. New Vegas adds everything that Fallout 3 was missing. It made the gameplay more fun, and the environment more visually pleasing. The story isn't as good as Fallout 3's, BUT, it does add more narrative choice that lacked in FO3. While the initial bugs were annoying ,the patches have since made them almost obsolete. Overall: While it can be a bit quirky at times. New Vegas really does deliver a strong new slice of the Fallout universe. A great game that all should play. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    7
    The more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend thisThe more I play New Vegas ,my first Fallout game, the more I become addicted to it. Yes it does feature quite a few bugs, glitches, and lag but they never really effected that much (and I have played it for 30 hours) besides in a few moments. It is rather repetitive though and the story isnt interesting at all (for the main quest missions or side mission). Still, I would recommend this game because I enjoyed it a lot (which is a rare occurance now a days). Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Got this on the PC brought it for the 360 for personal reasons so as to not hog all the time on the family PC. Looks and plays the same as the PC version, but without the modding option that just takes the edge off replay value.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Fallout:NV is a game that most Fallout fans will enjoy merely because it is more Fallout. The game looks and plays exactly like Fallout 3 with small changes to the perks system, a new hardcore mode and a branching storyline. Whether this will be enough to justify a purchase will vary from player to player.Personally, I found myself growing weary of the same formula after my time spent withFallout:NV is a game that most Fallout fans will enjoy merely because it is more Fallout. The game looks and plays exactly like Fallout 3 with small changes to the perks system, a new hardcore mode and a branching storyline. Whether this will be enough to justify a purchase will vary from player to player.Personally, I found myself growing weary of the same formula after my time spent with Fallout 3 and its 5 DLC's. With regard to the story it is nice to see the different pathways and choices of the game impacting one another, creating a sense of an actual, functioning world. However, this world seems much emptier than that of Fallout 3. Too many times I've stumbled across a new area only to find nothing to do there.This adds to the feeling that, despite a few new additions, NV is a leaner game than its predecessor. To sum up; if you loved Fallout 3 and want more or have never played it, buy NV. If you thought that the last game was merely ok, you will leave this game dissatisfied. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    Fallout New Vegas is a great game and even better with all the DLC's with it. But out of all of Bethesdas RPGs I have playing it was the worst one(but still is a great game). You have more options witch always leads to some people liking you and some people hating you, witch was one of the few things interested me about Fallout NV. Shops now have more money as the game goes on witch is aFallout New Vegas is a great game and even better with all the DLC's with it. But out of all of Bethesdas RPGs I have playing it was the worst one(but still is a great game). You have more options witch always leads to some people liking you and some people hating you, witch was one of the few things interested me about Fallout NV. Shops now have more money as the game goes on witch is a huge difference witch was one thing I did not like about Fallout 3. You can also get bad-ass weapon scopes and stuff like that(at the gun runners arsenal) Fallout 3 has many reasons why it dominates New Vegas but NV is still a great game(really recommend getting the Ultamite Edition) Fallout: New Vegas 8.7/10 Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    7
    Not that bad pretty badass but compared to the masterpiece RPG FPS named fallout 3, it to me is very lack laster and took me about 1 year to get back into the game, Great game, just not as good as fallout 3
  8. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    While Fallout 3 had the novelty New Vegas has the polished finish that was lacking the the first game. It feels huge and will take hours and hours if you want to visit all the areas in the game. I like the faction interaction while does make you feel like decisions actually impact the game and the companions are more varied and have more depth. A good step in the Fallout franchise.....rollWhile Fallout 3 had the novelty New Vegas has the polished finish that was lacking the the first game. It feels huge and will take hours and hours if you want to visit all the areas in the game. I like the faction interaction while does make you feel like decisions actually impact the game and the companions are more varied and have more depth. A good step in the Fallout franchise.....roll on the next episode. Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    This game offers little mechanical difference from it's predecessor Fallout 3; it's uniqueness comes in it's environment. Obsidian (who contain many former Black Isle employees, developers of Fallout 1 & 2) has crafted a unique environment that will please many players. My favourite part was J.E. Sawyer's inclusion of black humor and numerous easter eggs that make exploring the wastelandThis game offers little mechanical difference from it's predecessor Fallout 3; it's uniqueness comes in it's environment. Obsidian (who contain many former Black Isle employees, developers of Fallout 1 & 2) has crafted a unique environment that will please many players. My favourite part was J.E. Sawyer's inclusion of black humor and numerous easter eggs that make exploring the wasteland fun. DLC's are average, but this is a review of the core game only. -1 for motion capture and faces as well as some minor glitches that have since been patched. Expand
  10. May 12, 2014
    7
    Several years after it has been released, I found the game to still have some bug issues, but nothing game breaking to keep you from playing it. I didn't get into Fallout 3 because the game was so boring as it was not on the interactive level of Bethesda's TES, nor was it on that level of graphics and artstyle. Fallout New Vegas is just the same as Fallout 3 in these regards. AndSeveral years after it has been released, I found the game to still have some bug issues, but nothing game breaking to keep you from playing it. I didn't get into Fallout 3 because the game was so boring as it was not on the interactive level of Bethesda's TES, nor was it on that level of graphics and artstyle. Fallout New Vegas is just the same as Fallout 3 in these regards. And unlike, TES series, you don't level up in this game as you spend more time doing certain attributes. You have to wait until you get enough XP and then put points into those skills. Also, it's not an easily traverseable area to roam in. This sandbox seems to be more restrictive in roaming as you find yourself having to traverse a U shaped map with small corridors along the sides. I just couldn't get excited about playing this game as it takes forever to level up and, just like Fallout 3, I felt like the loneliest person in the world. Ho hum, guess I'll be heading back out collecting bottle caps and ashtrays. Maybe kill a stray mutant, or two along the way. Expand
  11. May 30, 2013
    6
    Same game as Fallout 3, except you can aim down your sights, minor gun customization and a few new guns. It's not bad, but it's not real innovative. Still had a lot of fun on it, but I have to rate it so poorly because of the same game engine and mechanics. Overall, it still provided me around 100 hours of game play, so it is still worth your time.
  12. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    It seems like everyone who reviews this game can only focus on the glitches and bugs. But now that most of them have been fixed by patches, it really should be clear that Fallout: New Vegas was a great game all along, underneath its technical failings. Sure, it's more of the same stuff as Fallout 3. But it also changes and adds several new features that make it feel fresh even if the coreIt seems like everyone who reviews this game can only focus on the glitches and bugs. But now that most of them have been fixed by patches, it really should be clear that Fallout: New Vegas was a great game all along, underneath its technical failings. Sure, it's more of the same stuff as Fallout 3. But it also changes and adds several new features that make it feel fresh even if the core gameplay is based off a previous formula. The game world itself is also very fun and interesting to explore, which is probably the most important part of a Fallout game. I recommend it to anyone that liked Fallout 3. Expand
  13. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    for what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve afor what was a very creative and fun game series, fallout NV and 3 set an all time low. Sure, fallout 3 and NV pulled the series to 3d and open, and i admit it was kind of fun, but that fun was ruined by the major bugs, freezes, glitches and crashes i experienced on my copy. it happened on my PC,ps3 and 360 copies so its not my system. This is a very crap game that does not deserve a sequel. If 4 gets made, it must not be developed by obsidian and not use that crap gamebryo engine. I cant even tell you how bad the DLC makes it. Its unplayable after 3 hours gameplay. its like it purposly freezes to tick you off! Expand
  14. Oct 22, 2010
    4
    When I read a lot of the reviews given here I'm really reminded of the movie Idiocracy. Especially read the review from Guardian. How is it possible to detail such flaws in a game and also score 100%? Really I think that speaks volumes about the average gamer and the industry. Ok, I'd really love a sports car but if the wipers were where the licensce plate was and the side mirrors were onWhen I read a lot of the reviews given here I'm really reminded of the movie Idiocracy. Especially read the review from Guardian. How is it possible to detail such flaws in a game and also score 100%? Really I think that speaks volumes about the average gamer and the industry. Ok, I'd really love a sports car but if the wipers were where the licensce plate was and the side mirrors were on top of the hood and one door was a different color I wouldn't give it a 100% pass and i wouldn't be saying ah don't worry it will be getting fixed later, the company will look after it sometime way off in the future. Look if a game is broke or buggy then you take off some points. Just because you loved Fallout 3, great, go rate that game. This one is buggy and broken and deserves severe reductions. So what if Bethesda says they are going to fix it. It isn't fixed yet. When it is you can adjust your reviews. Broke is broke. This game is a mess that isn't ready to be released and these companies are taking far too many liberties with their gamers who support their wages and companies. Send your message to these software companies that we are not putting up with this anymore. Please click yes to my review so Bethesda starts getting the message that the well is about to dry up and they better get their act together. Expand
  15. May 7, 2013
    6
    It is a OK game. After two years of FO3, this game just not that improved. Actually IMO, this game is a stepback compared to FO3. Less interesting characters/enemies/stories/missions/places, same combat/conversations/gameplay. No three dog.....
  16. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    Good game tbh but more of a really big add-on pack, i did enjoy it i really did but not tooo much has changed. Now im not expecting it to be like 27163765million years ahead of fallout 3 but when a new game comes out you expect a lot of new features and stuff but this just didnt bring the feeling of the deserved wait for the game we were all expecting.
  17. Oct 21, 2010
    6
    After spending 100 to 150 hours behind Fallout 3 and its related downloadable content, I was extremely excited for Fallout New Vegas. My excitement was short lived, however, once I loaded up the game and realized very little has changed between the two. Many existing aspects of Fallout 3 were simply copied and pasted into this title including, but not limited to, GUI, player models &After spending 100 to 150 hours behind Fallout 3 and its related downloadable content, I was extremely excited for Fallout New Vegas. My excitement was short lived, however, once I loaded up the game and realized very little has changed between the two. Many existing aspects of Fallout 3 were simply copied and pasted into this title including, but not limited to, GUI, player models & textures, terrain models and textures, and even the ambient location, day and night music. While some may say the overall familiarity is a strength, I disagree and see it as somewhat of a weakness. There is a difference between a warm blanket and a used blanket that is too small to use and Fallout New Vegas is turning out to be the latter.
    ---
    The modified Elder Scrolls engine is starting to severely show its age and bugs that were a part of that engine in Fallout 3 can still be found in Fallout New Vegas. New Vegas has it's own share of entirely new bugs as well which affect the game across all three platforms. Sometimes you may go hours without noticing any of them and sometimes they may be so severe that they prevent being able to play entirely. Mobs regularly fall through the terrain texture or freeze in place, doing nothing. Sometimes the game doesn't open up content-sensitive doors or areas during a quest arc until manually reloading the game. Frame rate stutters and entire game lockups happen with alarming frequency and on PC, bad DirectX calls can crash the entire game.
    ---
    The voice acting is terrible and it's apparent they used the same small band of people to do all the voices except for major characters who got star treatment and the radio is disappointing, again, unfortunately, with the same old boring tracks on each station with the same old boring announcements by the "DJs" (sorry Mr. Newton, even Mr. Vegas can't save these stations, but at least there's no "Three Dog AHOOOOOOOOOO" this time).
    ---
    This isn't to say the game is all bad. The new crafting mechanics are well implemented, as are the changes to ammo varieties. The story writing is top notch and the various currencies add a lot of flavor. If, of course, you can play the game long enough without it crashing.
    ---
    Overall, I think the game is getting far too much praise for the title name alone and nostalgia for the previous version. Fallout New Vegas does very little different, or even better than, its predecessor and the repeat gamebreaking bugs make the game difficult to enjoy while playing. As I previously alluded to, when playing New Vegas, I feel like I'm trying to use a 5 year old blanket that I've outgrown: I know it could be warm and great, but it's a struggle to use.
    Expand
  18. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Great game. It takes the best elements from Fallout 3 and improves upon them. The various quests and factions are superb, and even the ending is great. Hardly anything about this game can be criticized in earnest. I can't wait to see what the next Fallout is like.
  19. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    this game is the perfect example of how quality content outweighs any problems with bugs/graphics. Yes the game is very buggy but being regular on the saving is an easy way past this problem but those bugs can be easily overlooked when you see the imagination that has gone into this game, it is a must play of the generation. Now a lot of people rate this game higher than it's predecessorthis game is the perfect example of how quality content outweighs any problems with bugs/graphics. Yes the game is very buggy but being regular on the saving is an easy way past this problem but those bugs can be easily overlooked when you see the imagination that has gone into this game, it is a must play of the generation. Now a lot of people rate this game higher than it's predecessor and I do feel the characters have had the most attention but I feel the restriction at the start of the game (not being able to head north) makes the game feel a bit linear (reason it misses out on game of the year) and although side quests and locations are dotted along the path to New Vegas the game just doesn't have the sense of freedom that Fallout 3 had. All this being said it is still a top notch videogame and all the other stuff you loved from Fallout 3 is still here (like the crazy huge and imaginative arsenal available). I believe New Vegas should be mentioned among the elite of this generation. Expand
  20. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Firstly if your expecting a fps, this is not it, but a RPG that is pretty stellar.

    Pros: Choices. They matter, want to kill the deuchebag main character? You can, want to kill strippers for some reason, you can. Heaps of factions to choose from all with interesting back stories. Different endings that are summed up well. Level tree. Diverse and you max out everything skill by the end.
    Firstly if your expecting a fps, this is not it, but a RPG that is pretty stellar.

    Pros:
    Choices. They matter, want to kill the deuchebag main character? You can, want to kill strippers for some reason, you can. Heaps of factions to choose from all with interesting back stories. Different endings that are summed up well.
    Level tree. Diverse and you max out everything skill by the end.
    Content. A good 35hr game with lots of quests and interesting discoveries in the this open world.

    Cons:
    Gameplay. Feels sluggish and out dating, and relies on stats rather then skill.
    Animations. Out dated, bad facial animations, awkward time stopping conversations.
    Expand
  21. May 5, 2012
    9
    Despite the shared Fallout title and environment, New Vegas and Fallout 3 play with completely different storytelling and feel. Where 3 feels empty and bleak, (not a bad thing), Vegas feels packed and alive. This game is about rebuilding and advancing as a race, where 3 was all about surviving day to day. The role the character takes in New Vegas feels much more significant, andDespite the shared Fallout title and environment, New Vegas and Fallout 3 play with completely different storytelling and feel. Where 3 feels empty and bleak, (not a bad thing), Vegas feels packed and alive. This game is about rebuilding and advancing as a race, where 3 was all about surviving day to day. The role the character takes in New Vegas feels much more significant, and complicated. Graphics still suffer from bugging issues, though this could be Bethesda's slogan already. The music and ambiance is a copy from 3, which is a very good thing. Weapon complexity and mechanics are vastly improved, from scopes that actually shoot where you point, to modifiable weapons and ammo. The shooter aspect of Vegas is much improved over three and makes for much more rewarding running and gunning. The dense nature of the world, compared fallout 3, is less rewarding on the exploration side, as you can get in A LOT of trouble early on in the game. Exploring comes with the much larger amount of missions. This makes the game feel more structured and restricted than Fallout 3, which for this type of game, is a minus for me. Overall, still an excellent, much longer experience than Fallout 3 that feels highly rewarding, though not without it's faults. BUGS! Expand
  22. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    Too many bugs and glitches and save files can be corrupt. The only good part of this game is an open world where you can explore for a lot of hours. Fallout 3 was way better than New Vegas.
  23. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox.
    Expand
  24. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Fallout: New Vegas is a massive step forward for the Fallout series. I've clocked 6 hours now and haven't even seen the Vegas Strip, and that's not a complaint. It's almost identical to Fallout 3 graphic-wise, suffers the same glitches here and there, and shares extremely similar mechanics. But in no way is it merely an expansion of Fallout 3. It's a totally new game and feels like oneFallout: New Vegas is a massive step forward for the Fallout series. I've clocked 6 hours now and haven't even seen the Vegas Strip, and that's not a complaint. It's almost identical to Fallout 3 graphic-wise, suffers the same glitches here and there, and shares extremely similar mechanics. But in no way is it merely an expansion of Fallout 3. It's a totally new game and feels like one from the start. The customisation is more in-depth than I imagined. You're now able to customise your weapons from adding scopes and silencers, down to what type of bullet it fires. There's no feeling of monotony or boredom anymore and the game is even more challenging (hardcore mode aside). You now have almost full control over the story, with most quests forking into several routes, letting you make important decisions for yourself. That said, it's a Fallout game, it's for the fans. If you did not like Fallout 3, there's no way you'll like New Vegas. If you haven't played a Fallout game though, this is one that would be too big a shame to miss. 10/10 Expand
  25. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It's basically more Fallout 3, which I don't mind one bit, as Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. Where it lacks in story, it makes up in other innovations like customized weapons and ammo. The hunger aspect is also interesting, though I didn't use it too much. Definitely worth picking up if you like Fallout.
  26. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    very good. i liked fallout 3 better but this game added new things to it that made it all worthwhile. not must buy but maybe a must try at least.
  27. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    From stepping into unknown territory with Fallout 3, Fallout: New Vegas makes a stronger foundation for the fallout franchise and improves upon the technical issues with Fallout 3. You can now aim down the sights of most weapons (some unique energy guns you can't), you can repair weapons to 100% without needing a 100 repair skill, but repair now comes into play with breaking down andFrom stepping into unknown territory with Fallout 3, Fallout: New Vegas makes a stronger foundation for the fallout franchise and improves upon the technical issues with Fallout 3. You can now aim down the sights of most weapons (some unique energy guns you can't), you can repair weapons to 100% without needing a 100 repair skill, but repair now comes into play with breaking down and creating your own ammunition and arms. The Workshop table now has a more intricate tablet of items to create, compared to the simple icons from Fallout 3. HardCore mode provides more RPG elements to the whole fallout experience, making water, food and sleep much more necessary than optional at best. Unfortunately, now you can only get a perk point every other level, but the cap has been increased to 30 and each DLC provides level caps of 5 rather than the 1 in Fallout 3. the environment in the Mojave "Wasteland" is still interesting, with it's own blend of colorful characters and landscapes. The Story of this game is also strong, but doesn't really put much enthusiasm to the whole "Fallout" feel. Even with the Hardcore mode enabled, I feel i have a much easier walk in the park playing through this game than Fallout 3 normally, and that didn't have hardcore mode in the first place. I know that coincidentally Mr. House was able to salvage most of the Mojave Desert through his means of defense, but that doesn't build upon the whole idealism of a Post-Apocalyptic Wasteland if there is a organized government developing through most of the area. It just feels like Oblivion if I was thrown into a desert. Although, with it's weaknesses there comes strengths. You get to traverse through the strip, gambling, having sex with hookers, and helping Mr. House enforce his rule around the Mojave. Plants of plenty will grow around in the wasteland, allowing you to scavenge for them to keep yourself healthy from dehydration or starvation. New Vegas provides more choices with what factions you work with, depending on if you want to help Mr. House, Yes Man, the NCR or the Legion. How you feel this new wiped country should be governed depends on you. While on a combat scale, it has improved, with improved skill sets, and more to choose from, Fallout: New Vegas doesn't quite compliment a whole "Fallout" feel, it does improve much upon from the original game, at least, original on a new console. Expand
  28. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game in the Fallout franchise that provides hours of single player content, There are few games out there that could match the amount of content you can find in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Whilst this game is good it has a lot of bugs that bring down the overall experience dramatically, I have never experienced so many game bugs from a single game and as a hugeFallout: New Vegas is a solid game in the Fallout franchise that provides hours of single player content, There are few games out there that could match the amount of content you can find in Fallout 3 and New Vegas, Whilst this game is good it has a lot of bugs that bring down the overall experience dramatically, I have never experienced so many game bugs from a single game and as a huge fan of Fallout 3, I was very disappointed by it, the game is great if you can get past the bugs, but if you can't then you might want to consider looking elsewhere. But from a content level this game can give you hundreds of hours playtime. Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    The sequel to the award winning fallout 3. Is a good title. It incorporates lost of mechanics, and features form Fallout 3. Not to mention they both run on the same engine. Many people criticize it for not adding much new, but why broke what aint fixed. Fallout 3, takes the superb mechanics and features from Fallout 3, and fixes the annoying stuff and adds minor but fun and helpfulThe sequel to the award winning fallout 3. Is a good title. It incorporates lost of mechanics, and features form Fallout 3. Not to mention they both run on the same engine. Many people criticize it for not adding much new, but why broke what aint fixed. Fallout 3, takes the superb mechanics and features from Fallout 3, and fixes the annoying stuff and adds minor but fun and helpful improvements. These include Much better crafting interactions, new perks, a light crafting system, a better variety of weapons, and of corse since it is vegas: gambling. Overall a great return to the fallout universe. It may not provide any innovation, and is just shy of greatness because of technical glitches and bugs, but It's great to return to the universe of fallout with a new story and cast of characters. Expand
  30. Feb 15, 2011
    7
    I will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk ofI will say that I feel it was an intelligent move for them to call this Fallout: New Vegas and not Fallout 4, mainly because it's extremely similar to Fallout 3, with even the graphics being the same. The engine clearly shows its age in this one, sharing the same old outdated graphics as Fallout 3, as well as mechanics and its own fair share of glitches. Yes, there are a decent chunk of glitches, but none of them are game breaking. They mainly consist of people floating on occasion as well as items vanishing. And of course, the rare but inevitable game crash that seems to plague the Gamebryo engine. By installing the game onto your hard drive, you definitely cut down on some of the glitches, as well as graphic tearing, which seems to persist throughout the game. To move on, the storyline on New Vegas is relatively weak, in my opinion. Never once did I honestly care too much about what was going on in the world, nor did I care about which side that I took. The side quests in the game are about as decent as you would expect, some of them being cliche and pointless, while others are quite a lot of fun. As mentioned earlier, the graphics are subpar for this day and age, and the sound quality is average. Even though you can aim down your sights on most of the guns, this new mechanic is essentially worthless, considering there's no aim assist, making it virtually impossible to hit enemies where you want to. Since this is the case, it still forces you to use VATS most of the time, like in Fallout 3, which is definitely something I didn't enjoy. Even though the actual world map is supposedly equivalent to Fallout 3's, I feel that it's not nearly as big. All of the locations are in the center of the map, and it will not let you explore any of the corners of the map, which make up at least a third of it. Mountains block your path when you try and leave, and the locations are so tightly clustered that it doesn't feel as realistic as Fallout 3 did. It says that it has more locations than Fallout 3; what they don't mention, is that a third of these locations literally consist of half of a burned down shack with one metal box inside that contains a stimpack and a cot. There are hardly any details for many locations, giving you in actuality less places to explore. The factions have very little meaning, other than restricting what clothing you wear, as well as which enemies shoot you on sight. If you steal from or kill any faction members than your reputation with them goes down, which is still essentially pointless. It's kind of difficult to get on a faction's good side (i.e. Powder Gangers) when they shoot you on sight before you even have a chance to interact with them. Weapon modding is slightly absurd: you have a choice of a few mods to insert into your weapon, but the mods aren't anything exciting. Crafting items is also bland, resulting in either new ammunition of breaking it down. The difficulty is embarassing at times. On the standard difficulty, you will usually kill enemy monsters in a few hits. But then, you'll encounter random monsters that suddenly see a huge difficulty spike, where they'll annihiliate you in three hits. Overall, the game is still pieced together well, and despite all of its flaws, it definitely provides an entertaining predecessor if you enjoyed Fallout 3. It doesn't surpass it in any way, rather, it seems a step back, but if you loved Fallout 3 and need more, than this is the game for you. Recommended to fans of the series and RPG's, but I can't recommend to FPS lovers. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 11, 2011
    70
    Until Fallout: New Vegas gets a major patch that fixes the problems, it can only be recommended to gamers who have a high threshold for frustration.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    88
    If you didn't enjoy Fallout 3 or are not a fan of RPGs in general, then you'll probably disagree with me. Everyone else should seriously consider taking a road trip to New Vegas.
  3. Jan 16, 2011
    85
    The technology of the newest part of the fallout series is over aged and besides the hardcore mode and the reputation-system, the new features of New Vegas are manageable. But altogether, New Vegas is a successful new part and not just an add-on, with more than 100 hours of gaming, an interesting story and a new setting to explore.