User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 39
  2. Negative: 18 out of 39

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2013
    2
    Games based on TV series tend to be at risk of not feeling authentic enough to sit alongside the established universes that they offer. Back to the Multiverse decides to throw away the challenge of making a compelling game to sit alongside the TV series and instead gives us two discerning fingers right up the jaxie. The main problem is the game is roughly 4-6 hours of constant shooting, constant enemy respawning and alas constant boredom. Dialogue is recycled in a nonsensical manner from the TV show for instance Brian will belt out that he needs a midget with some gin to be in business- with zero relevance to what is going on. There are challenges to take on, a local multiplayer option and a seemingly impressive array of collectibles. But all of this doesn't make up for a shoddy, half arsed lazy cash in. Just watch Family Guy on DVD, at least you will get original concepts and ideas as well as shed loads of crass humour. Pick this up and bird won't be the word- but turd will. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and the game really captures the show with lots of humor, I laughed out loud a lot. It is not a great game but it is certainly not as bad as the critics are saying. I think the developers did a pretty good job of giving fans a Family Guy game and I am not disappointed at all. Not a masterpiece but a very fun game to play, much more fun than Assassins Creed 3. Expand
  3. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    I think I need to do this game justice. It is obvious that yes this isn't the best game ever and why is that you may ask well because it wasn't designed to be that's why. This is a fun all round game meant not to be taken seriously Its family guy for god sake what were people expecting a story on par with games like Mass Effect despite not having the best story, the graphics while not being the best have a nice style and are like the tv show which I found great as it was a nice change from normal game graphics I found as it never seemed to get old. The game play is OK in this and while it does feel like every other generic shooter that doesn't mean its totally bad. It's playable. But their are something in this game that do make up for that, things like collectibles are a nice little touch and while being a conman thing in games they do allow for some replay ability and fun to be had The game doesn't feature online co-op which I found disappointing so I would say if you are planning on getting this game get it like me a few months after its been out The voice acting in this game great and provides some witty humor which I found enjoyable and made the game even better. The story as I mentioned earlier isn't on par with things like Mass Effect or the metal gear solid franchise but still that doesn't stop it from being great. The story is basically about you having to switch between different universes stopping Bertram before he assembles a army and destroys the current universe Brian and Stewie live in In short this game is great fun and if you can get it cheap like me and are a fan of the show go for it Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    As a massive family guy fan I was looking forward to this game, I knew it wasn't going to be a game which would rival Halo 4 or Mass Effect so wasn't expecting much!!

    Is a very fun game, I guess if your not a fan of the programme the game would come across as pretty poor! but I'm not a fan of Friends the TV programme, so I wouldn't go out and buy a game based on it! (that would be
    shocking)

    The levels are quite fun to play and the sound bites are all fun also! some are repeated now and again, but its not a big budget game, so what you expect?
    Isn't the longest of games, but the multiplayer is quite fun also, is only local, but all fun with some mates!

    If your a Family guy fan, I would recommend buying for a laugh, price tag is maybe quite high at the moment, but is good for a laugh, just don't expect a Mass Effect or Halo 4 is all!
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this game kinda came out of left field, I only knew about it a couple months before it came out, but I know alot of people who still don't know about it know and its already out.

    This game isnt broken, but it not good. The singleplayer is at times fun and
    funny but really short and really repetitive, not to mention respective, and the last boos battle is really quit frustrating. The controls arent really that bad, I'd even go as far as to say that their good, you'll need to put your sensitivity to at least 9 though. The game has drop in drop out co-op, and multiplayer , kinda. Theirs no online play what so ever, so is it 2012 or 1999, but maybe you can play with bots, the answer is no, so the sucks. I would have gave this game a six but with no online its a 5. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    You know the game is garbage the second you put the disk inside your console. Anything that you dreamed this game will be like will not be found. There's a reason they didn't have any demos or show any videos of the game before it's release. Gameplay is atrocious and comedy is non existent. Save your money!
  7. Dec 3, 2012
    1
    I myself love Family Guy so I came into this challenge wishing for the best. Needless to say I was given the exact opposite. The game is a terrible mix of unrelenting, repetitive game play that at times makes you want to punch your controller. And generally, punching your controller actually helps just as much as trying to play the game. Its a terrible mess of polygons slapped together to make a branded piece of merchandise that falls flat before you even know what hit you. You could either buy this game, or kick a baby. The later making more sense. Expand
  8. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why everybody is hating this game! I think that this game is awesome. Well yeah, it is pretty short game but the challenges aren't so easy and if you are trying to get 100% from this game, it's gona take a while. The game should have been a little more hard but it's pretty funny and Family Guy like so I think that it's okay. The universes they traveled could been more like the ones that were in the episode but now they were references to some other episodes witch is pretty awesome if you are a fan. The thing that this game is missing the most is the online multiplayer cause it's just pretty boring if you are trying to get those achievements. I gave this game 9 because this game should have a better grade
    and it's very entertaining.
    Expand
  9. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    After so much waiting, I finally got this game yesterday for Valentines Day (Thank You Mom and Dad). I've been trying to get my hands on this game for a little while, but due to some issues and conflicting opinions about this game I held off on Family Guy for a while. Now how is the game? Is it good or is it one of the worse games recently released? Well, I played the game for like 4 hours yesterday and the game is not that bad what people make it out to be. The game is like a missing Family Guy cartoon. If you are not a fan of Family Guy or have not been following the series, you might feel lost. Stewie's arch enemy Bertram returns after in one of the Family guy episodes he was killed in a alternate universe, but since Stewie nor Brian couldn't kill him for reasons I have no idea so Bertram comes back to exact revenge on Stewie and Brian. Stewie and Brian must stop Bertram from taking his revenge and must go to multiple universes to stop Bertram's evil plan. You can play as Stewie or Brian and both have different weapons to choose from and different inventories. The downside is if your taking critical damage from one character and you switch to the other character, you have the same health bar. Luckily, the game supplies you with multiple health packs and ammo to get. The game is fun and entertaining, but can feel really boring. Its a simple story you must complete. Does this make the game bad? No. Swapping between Stewie and Brian is fun and destroying objects in your path, shooting every enemy that comes your way, and many other stuff you can do. Its also fun to hear Brian and Stewie shout out old phrases and saying from the cartoons. At the same time can be annoying because they shout it every 5 minutes and say the same thing all the time. Family Guy is definitely not the best game in the world, but is not terrible either. Fans of Family Guy will probably enjoy this game and if you want to try out a different game try this. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    This is not the best game in the world, but its okay. I don't think it deserves as bad reviews as its getting. The gameplay could be improved, but I've seen worse. How much did we even expect from a video game based on Family Guy? Not much. This is better than I thought it would be.
  11. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Family Guy Back To The Multiverse- one of the funniest bad games. The game is broken and very small but the gags are there and that makes it playable. For the fans it's nothing new- Stewie and Brian go full on violent on the bad santa and his elves. Well to me- it's hilarious because- IAM a family guy fan. Seriously guys, this game's machanics and pace is so bad but it's so good. Back to the multiverse is a very mediocre and broken third person shooter with a well writing and some laughs. This is a rent only for family guy fans. Expand
  12. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Dreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the older episodes of the show. This is a dreadful game as far as AI and gameplay is concerned. A awful TPS with copy and paste mission objectives stay away from this game. Do not buy this game avoid it like the plague.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    30
    Appalling levels, terrible writing, repetitive gags and weak shooting mechanics make for one of the least enjoyable experiences of 2012. Be smart and avoid at all costs. [Issue#93, p.82]
  2. Jan 16, 2013
    56
    Funny but mediocre shooter that a mother (or a hardcore fan) couldn't love. [Feb 2013, p.78]
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    30
    Not good. Not funny. Which is a sin for a Family Guy game.