Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse introduces an all-new original story written and voiced by Family Guy talent and influenced by the famous Family Guy season eight episode, Road to the Multiverse, where Stewie and Brian travel on an out-of-this-world journey through Quahog’s bizarreFamily Guy: Back to the Multiverse introduces an all-new original story written and voiced by Family Guy talent and influenced by the famous Family Guy season eight episode, Road to the Multiverse, where Stewie and Brian travel on an out-of-this-world journey through Quahog’s bizarre parallel universes. Gamers travel through all-new settings on a mission to save Quahog and stop the destructive schemes of Bertram, Stewie’s nemesis. Playing as either Stewie or Brian, each equipped with unique special weapons and abilities, gamers encounter an array of Family Guy characters, references and jokes. Additionally, fans can share this hilarious experience and invite friends and family to jump into the wild Family Guy world through drop-in/drop-out co-op multiplayer mode and competitive multiplayer challenges. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    65
    As an exercise in fan service, Back to the Multiverse hits a lot of notes that fans of the series will recognize and appreciate. It's certainly offensive, but so is the source material, so that shouldn't be a surprise. As a game, it's a very average third person shooter that doesn't do anything special, but doesn't do anything horrible either.
  2. Dec 6, 2012
    58
    Two worlds collide: On one side you get loads of bizarre enemies and hair-raising ideas. On the other you get frustrated by old-fashioned mission design, poor AI and boring gunfights. Like Stewie says: "Again! Again! I love repetition!"
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    A solid comedic core cannot save what becomes tedious gameplay as you move through the 10 different dimensions of the Multiverse. Throw in the mind-boggling lack of online multiplayer for a suite that clearly could have benefited from it, and Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse should only appeal to fanatics of the FOX animated sitcom.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Macfarlane is a man of many talents. Understanding what makes a videogame great is not one of them, unfortunately.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    38
    The game isn't funny, and that's inexcusable.
  6. Jan 19, 2013
    30
    Appalling levels, terrible writing, repetitive gags and weak shooting mechanics make for one of the least enjoyable experiences of 2012. Be smart and avoid at all costs. [Issue#93, p.82]
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    Crude, archaic, sloppy, and unfunny, but I don't want the show to be blamed for any of it -- not because I wish to defend Family Guy, but because by blaming the show, we let this game get away with being the invidious dross it is.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 15
  2. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Jul 17, 2015
    10
    Family Guy: Back To The Multiverse it's one of the best games on PS3 adn XBOX 360. With a cameo of Joyce Kinney, my favourite character,Family Guy: Back To The Multiverse it's one of the best games on PS3 adn XBOX 360. With a cameo of Joyce Kinney, my favourite character, during the opening of the game. I hope that Joyce Kinney will live forever! Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why everybody is hating this game! I think that this game is awesome. Well yeah, it is pretty short game but the challengesI don't understand why everybody is hating this game! I think that this game is awesome. Well yeah, it is pretty short game but the challenges aren't so easy and if you are trying to get 100% from this game, it's gona take a while. The game should have been a little more hard but it's pretty funny and Family Guy like so I think that it's okay. The universes they traveled could been more like the ones that were in the episode but now they were references to some other episodes witch is pretty awesome if you are a fan. The thing that this game is missing the most is the online multiplayer cause it's just pretty boring if you are trying to get those achievements. I gave this game 9 because this game should have a better grade
    and it's very entertaining.
    Collapse
  3. May 18, 2015
    8
    If you're looking for a game that is just fun, then this is your pick. Family Guy Back to the Multiverse, is a great game. It's hilarious,If you're looking for a game that is just fun, then this is your pick. Family Guy Back to the Multiverse, is a great game. It's hilarious, yes, but the gameplay is so fun and somewhat challenging. Don't think because the setting isn't serious that the gameplay will be lacking, because it's exceptional. The multiplayer is extremely fun, not to mention the challenge mode which is extremely challenging. The game has a very solid story, especially for a comedy. There are 10 levels if I remember correctly, but these levels are packed with action that is so great. The weapons are fantastic and sometimes hilarious. I believe that the game devotes it's self so much that it forgets comedy as a main aspect. Don't get me wrong, it's still very hilarious, just not as crazy as you might expect. Still funnier than the Cleveland Show. This is a game that is hated on a lot, but I've found it to be really fun and am considering buying it for my PS3. That's saying a lot since it is a linear game. Expand
  4. Feb 15, 2013
    6
    After so much waiting, I finally got this game yesterday for Valentines Day (Thank You Mom and Dad). I've been trying to get my hands on thisAfter so much waiting, I finally got this game yesterday for Valentines Day (Thank You Mom and Dad). I've been trying to get my hands on this game for a little while, but due to some issues and conflicting opinions about this game I held off on Family Guy for a while. Now how is the game? Is it good or is it one of the worse games recently released? Well, I played the game for like 4 hours yesterday and the game is not that bad what people make it out to be. The game is like a missing Family Guy cartoon. If you are not a fan of Family Guy or have not been following the series, you might feel lost. Stewie's arch enemy Bertram returns after in one of the Family guy episodes he was killed in a alternate universe, but since Stewie nor Brian couldn't kill him for reasons I have no idea so Bertram comes back to exact revenge on Stewie and Brian. Stewie and Brian must stop Bertram from taking his revenge and must go to multiple universes to stop Bertram's evil plan. You can play as Stewie or Brian and both have different weapons to choose from and different inventories. The downside is if your taking critical damage from one character and you switch to the other character, you have the same health bar. Luckily, the game supplies you with multiple health packs and ammo to get. The game is fun and entertaining, but can feel really boring. Its a simple story you must complete. Does this make the game bad? No. Swapping between Stewie and Brian is fun and destroying objects in your path, shooting every enemy that comes your way, and many other stuff you can do. Its also fun to hear Brian and Stewie shout out old phrases and saying from the cartoons. At the same time can be annoying because they shout it every 5 minutes and say the same thing all the time. Family Guy is definitely not the best game in the world, but is not terrible either. Fans of Family Guy will probably enjoy this game and if you want to try out a different game try this. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    5
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this
    Before a get started I just want to say that I am a HUGE Family Guy fan since 1999 to today.

    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse... this game kinda came out of left field, I only knew about it a couple months before it came out, but I know alot of people who still don't know about it know and its already out.

    This game isnt broken, but it not good. The singleplayer is at times fun and funny but really short and really repetitive, not to mention respective, and the last boos battle is really quit frustrating. The controls arent really that bad, I'd even go as far as to say that their good, you'll need to put your sensitivity to at least 9 though. The game has drop in drop out co-op, and multiplayer , kinda. Theirs no online play what so ever, so is it 2012 or 1999, but maybe you can play with bots, the answer is no, so the sucks. I would have gave this game a six but with no online its a 5.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2014
    4
    I gave it a 4 because I did play it all the way through and had some fun. It was just eh... At first I was really excited about this game.I gave it a 4 because I did play it all the way through and had some fun. It was just eh... At first I was really excited about this game. It seemed like a unique escape from the FPS COD, Halos, GTAs, Saints Rows, and Skyrim. I had good but grounded expectations on this game. Or maybe not, I have seen every episode of Family Guy and I was hoping for something original, but everything was recycled. This game is as cheap as they come. When you play it, you get the impression they blew their entire budget on getting the rights to Family Guy.

    Seeking that escape from COD and other FPS, not hating, just played so much of it (logged over 30 days play time xbox live COD MW2) during this time that this game was a pleasant change. I was so wrong. This was a complete recycle of COD MW2 maps. Most notably the Airport level on this game is almost a clone (just rearranged) of the controversial "Terminal" level on COD MW2. The multiplayer is straight up boring, I only played it to get the achievments. If it were online based multiplayer, it could have been fun.

    Last the audio is HORRIBLE! Every single sound bite has been taken from Family Guy the TV show, there is nothing original at all. Maybe I am expecting too much but some of it is so off and clearly edited in it reminds me of a kidnapper in a movie that does not want their voice to be recognized so they take a famous person and use editting to rearrange the audio to communicate a ransom demand. Ah great example, google the Brian Williams Snoop Dogg Edit.

    Anyways, the only positive I have to say about this is:

    -The theme and humor elements
    -The controls (cloned from COD)

    I would only recommend renting or buying this game used. Spend no more than $10 on this title.
    Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    0
    Dreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the olderDreadful, the whole title is a lie, for there is almost NO multiverse aspect in this game, you only visit the locations you see in the older episodes of the show. This is a dreadful game as far as AI and gameplay is concerned. A awful TPS with copy and paste mission objectives stay away from this game. Do not buy this game avoid it like the plague. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews