Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]
  2. May 7, 2013
    91
    Bawdy and beautiful, Blood Dragon is that mocking love letter that lets you live out selfish, stupid, guilty pleasures and this time with production values.
  3. May 7, 2013
    92
    If your eyes can take the color scheme, you're in for a top-tier shooter at a downloadable game price.
  4. 90
    With or without Far Cry 3, Blood Dragon deserves the acquisition and justifies the investment, such is the uniqueness of the content.
  5. May 5, 2013
    90
    Blood Dragon its a wonderful homage to the Eighties, and a very good variation of one of the best game of the last year. A true must buy for every thirty-something gamer who loves video games, movies and bad jokes.
  6. May 1, 2013
    90
    While we bitched and moaned about the angles attempted (and often failed) in Far Cry 3, Blood Dragon very skillfully promises very little and delivers quite a lot. It’s more than Far Cry 3 reskinned, and the effort gone into the soundtrack, voice-acting, scripting and all that unfortunate research the team probably had to do to get their references just right, is top-notch.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    94
    The culmination of amazing sound, throwback 8-bit cutscenes, excellent graphics, spotless presentation, and enough details from the 80’s to pack a game twice this size; Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon delivers on every front near flawlessly.
  8. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    Still, Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is so bad that it's oh-so good. Though it doesn't aim to be the best shooter open-world experience ever, it's thoroughly gratifying—the amazing title screen, the jokes in loading screens, the heavily synthesized soundtrack, the whole damn thing.
  9. Who the hell at Ubisoft gave Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon the go-ahead? And more importantly, how can I shake his or her hand? It’s one of the most unique releases of the year: a brilliant homage to the games and movies of the 1980s, yet it’s also a biting mockery of them.
  10. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    Blood Dragon came out of nowhere and blew me away. As a child of the 80s and 90s, it was a wonderful blast through the past that I couldn’t stop playing. My only major complaint is the brevity of the package, but if you’re the kind of person who always goes for 100% completion, there’s more than enough game here for you to enjoy.
  11. Apr 30, 2013
    100
    Rarely do I laugh my way through an entire game but even in the intense action scenes Blood Dragon is still throwing humor out every which way.
  12. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    The game’s writing is one of the big highlights. The tutorial sections are hilarious, as is the dialog between characters. Rex is constantly spouting insanely cheesy dialog, and it all works really well.
  13. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    Parody's a thorny thing, tricky to execute and often limited in appeal. It's to Ubisoft Montreal's credit that Blood Dragon broadens the appeal of its source, thanks to a hilarious, accessible dollop of nostalgia, coated in the mechanics that made Far Cry 3 great. This easily could've been a great idea greenlit into something terrible. We do love it when a plan comes together.
  14. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    Blood Dragon wears its idiocy like a shield. With its mechanisms borrowed from a bona fide blockbuster and its cornball retro swagger rendering any artistic criticism surplus to requirements, all that's left is to have fun, and that's in plentiful supply. Blood Dragon condenses all the best bits of Far Cry 3, sprinkles them with cheesy nonsense and blazes its way through to a finale that will leave you grinning like a loon.
  15. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    A surprising game that adds to the already solid FC3 gameplay a layer of exhilarating 80s culture parody with great jokes and over-the-top action. It deserves to be followed by a full-fledged, triple-A sequel: Rex Colt has got the potential to be the real, modern heir to Duke Nukem.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 287 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 2 out of 69
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining aboutWell, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$. Full Review »
  2. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand theAbsolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entiresomethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand. Full Review »