User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1046 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    i want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway the hunting,skill points,scenery,ATV, were just greeat things i beat it in a week but i will go through again..it is a good challenge, had me mad a few times to the point where i wanted to put it down but it sucked me back in..i woulda liked to see a dirtbike or motorcycle, the backroads and trails woulda been alot of fun..the maze to find Relics were discouraging..but all in all it was my number one game of this year..it is hard to compare to Hitman, or the soon to be Tomb Raider, and Splinter Cell but i think they will also be a great game..sorry to babble on mostly about useless info, but its opinions not facts..thanks Expand
  2. M86
    Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Absolutely awsome game, whopping 9/10 and well earned for me, still playing campaign, easily the best game this year, at both ends of extreme from extremely hostile to peacfull tropical landscapes I love how on some occasions the tiger sits with me while scouting outposts I called him Roo, I stay down out his way and never shoot at him on two separate times he helped, taking down vaas fighters he saved my life and I saved his, I never expected that to happen. Totally wikid Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    The game is so fun, it could be the game of the year for me. But it isn't, for a one clearly understandable mistake. Matchmaking. The matchmaking is so fudged up, you barely can join a game and have fun, and if you manage to join, there's a 30% chance of getting the message "Migration of Host in progress" and then you mostly lose connection to host. But let's go back to singleplayer. You start off as a teenager when you get captured and you need to save your friends. The story isn't the greatest, but the gameplay covers any possible aspect of the game and you feel like you just have to play on and on and on. I recommend this to anyone who likes sandbox games, first-person shooters or even adventure games. Not complaining about the graphics, which are nice, but it looks a bit cartoonish in it's own way. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Obviously, this is definitely a paradigm of FPS sandbox game! Well-design character personality, multiple weapons and quests, richness collectible elements and a good-simulating tropical island style. But there is still some weak point of this game: loading time too long, bored background music (and sometimes it could be cutting off suddenly due to unknown reason) and a bad aim system. The enemies' AI is fine, but the same AI express a terrible performance in our allies. Overall, I think this game can satisfied most sandbox game fans, but a little disappointed to hardcore FPS gamer. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    10/10. Farcry 3 sets new heights for the franchise and is in my opinion the best game of 2012. Ubisoft delayed the game to perfect it and the game is just that, the game is without flaws such as glitches, lag or other disruptions. Farcry 3's story is detailed and engaging as you will lose yourself in the story of Jason Brody and begin to feel connected to the games main character. The best aspect of the game is the single-player but the fantastic Co-Op separate story and competitive multi-player are also very good reasons why you should buy this fantastic game! Farcry 3 is a game that you could sink more than 50 HOURS into! Ubisoft are rapidly becoming one of the biggest publishers in the gaming industry! Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this game a 10/10 because well it's a perfect first person shooter. To start this review off, The intro was amazing. I actually thought it was happening until I see that I am locked in a cage having the intro played on the phone by Vaas, the main villain. The story goes as you , Jason Brody, are trapped on an island with your two brothers and your friends. During the game, you come across tigers, lions, practically any animal you can think of. You can skin the animals and make new pouches or sell the skin to get new weapons. There are many weapons in Far Cry 3 , Even a flamethrower ! The games missions are fun and invigorating. Sometimes you will have to press buttons during cut scenes to get away from pirates , the main enemy. The game , aside from main missions, has side quests and other fun activities you can do. for example, you can go hunt animals or pirates and get XP from it. the game also has a skill tree you can use to get upgrades for your character. The map is not fully unlocked once you get in the game , you must activate radio towers (18) of them to unlock more areas of the map. there is also 38 enemy camps you can take over and have fast travel locations. Overall, this game is fun, exciting, and fairly easy. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS RPG games. 10/10 Expand
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good game, I played for several hours and this game deserves a score of 10, this time to the game's nailed in adventure challenges.Are to be congratulated. Expand
  8. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    A simply brilliant game. Fantastic shooting, good graphics and an enjoyable story. The co-op mode is good fun too, the best compliment I can give this game is that it is fun to play and does not become a chore at any point. A big improvement on Far Cry 2.
  9. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    People spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience that is worth picking up for fans of FPS and RPGs alike.
    The story sounds pretty cookie-cutter, but gets very unique very quickly. During a vacation, something goes wrong and you and your friends are captives of a band of pirates led by a complete psychopath. You escape, and are loose on a jungle island tasked with finding your friends. There are influences from lots of big-name games present, such as climbing radio towers to un-fuzz the map or branching skill trees that give you new abilities. These influences come together to create an excellent and immersive experience.
    The story is about the only thing set in stone. Like in Far Cry 2, you can approach any mission the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing, sneak in with silenced weapons (that actually do damage this time) or bust out the knife and start cutting people down with the newly added (and stylish) hand-to-hand takedowns that get progressively better as you upgrade them. As far as free will goes, Far Cry 3 is just like its predecessor. That's where it ends, though. I could rattle on for ages about all the individual ways FC3 is better than FC2, but I'll keep it simple and trim it to one word: polish. I might be alone in this, but FC2 just seemed like a rush job. The story made no sense, stealth was damn near impossible with the crappy weapons, and everything felt like it wasn't finished. The developers heard every single complaint with FC2 and fixed in in FC3. No more fighting through the same outpost 238 times an hour. No more incoherent storyline. No more gun jams. And no more starting a new game every time you finish one.
    Overall, I can find almost nothing wrong with Far Cry 3 other than its somewhat goofy vehicle physics and annoying animal combat. The game excels in just about everything it seeks to do, and is one of the best single-player experiences out there. After you beat the story, there isn't much to do other than wandering around, and even then you stumble on little challenges or puzzles to complete. There's also a multiplayer option, though it is neither bad nor particularly interesting. It has all the standard expectations: leveling, co-op, deathmatch, domination modes etc. There's nothing new about it, but multiplayer isn't what Far Cry is about anyway. It's about a single-player experience that obliterates any online gaming, and no shooter does it better than Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me.
  11. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful world you could possible be stranded in, The story line was amazing and the side quests as well. I give this game a 10 for its amazing work on keeping the gamer fully engaged in a world filled with nature and wilderness. The characters were really well done and loved how unique each one was, i tip my hat to you Ubisoft, thank you for making such a great game!
  12. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Expand
  13. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 happens to be one of my favourite games of 2012. The game combines the best aspects of its sequels whilst adding more creating an epic and imaginative world for you to roam around in and explore. The campaign has a dark and twisted storyline that keeps you coming back for more and additionally creating a very atmospheric scenario for the player.
  14. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the best video game villains in recent memory. That's not to say it doesn't have its shortcomings, at time the narrative can become a bit cliche, and slow, but that is my only gripe. apart from the main quest there are radio towers, which once climbed reveal areas of the map, grant you free weapons and reveal all the enemies forts in the area. Once you clear an enemy fort, you gain access to side missions in that region, as well as a fast travel point. This is a great system where one thing leads to another and you can easily waste hours just screwing around. on top of that there is hunting, which is very fun to do, you have animals ranging from tapirs to tigers, deer to crocodiles and even sharks! Hunting also has a purpose as you hunt for animal skins to upgrade your equipment, like your rucksack, wallet and weapon holster. The open world is a large, beautiful, tropical island, filled with ruins caves and wildlife, the gameplay is solid, and takes a page out of RPG's where as you level up you can spend skill points to further customize your play style, my only problem with this is that it is possible to get every skill, i wish it was a little more specialized so if i wanted to be a ninja, i would have to play like one. Overall the single player is not one to be missed and easily the best experience of the year. Muliplayer however, while not fantastic is not bad. It is a typical FPS style multiplayer, build a class, unlock as you progress etc. My favourite game mode was firestorm, where you have to simultaneously ignite your oppositions barrels. Fire then spreads throughout the map cutting off certain routes. It is a fun and interesting game mode to play, and i recommend you give it a go. Then there is even Coop, which is fun and takes place 6 months prior to the singleplayer. Overall the Coop is a solid addition, which can be a bit tedious if you have less than 3 players. Then you have the map editor, which is awesome, the options are extremely robust, and you can create almost anything you can imagine. My only gripe being the controls being a little difficult at times to use. (But that's consoles for ya!). Overall Far Cry is an amazing game, i couldn't give it more praise, a few hiccups sadly prevent me from giving it the 10, but however this is easily the best game released this year, and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  15. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close!
    -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress.
    -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out
    including yourself.
    CONS
    -Story line is blockbuster action esque (meaning it's kinda lame but nobody really cares). Your character goes from being an everyday American wus like you and me to a bad ass warrior who kills 100s of people.
    -Dubstep
    Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed playing through this game. While the story was weak it was presented so well I didn't care.
    My gripes were all small ones, such as the sliding hills, slow response to the heal button at times, tiny things like that.
  17. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Best game in the series !! What a surprise ! I couldnt stop playing this game . I am an assasins creed fan and the similarities between these two game is unreal but it works and it realy is brilliant . Biggest surprise of 2012 and most overlooked !
  18. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    I can think of only one thing about this game that I would change, and it's not a game breaker, it's being able to store your looted items (and in all honesty I may have just missed a place where you can do this).

    Farcry 3 has me absolutely hooked. I cant turn on my Xbox now without sticking the disc in and going on an adventure. Whether it;s carrying on with the brilliantly written
    story or side quests, or just liberating a camp or two this game has me in its clutches.

    - Great visuals. The graphics themselves are lovely and the small touches like the fact that if you sprint and jump into water, you end up diving, healing yourself with no meds still makes me cringe.
    - The vehicles work well too. With a good variation and great driving mechanics
    - a good selection of weapons, and they're upgradeable
    - the story line has me gripped, a tense thrill ride with more ups and downs than you can count
    - The hunting is great fun, as are all of the side quests and little bits to do here and there

    Whoever you are, and whatever you are into. Buy this. Buy it, treasure it and never let it out of your sight.

    The only downside to this is that other games that I was really enjoying are now going to be nowhere near as good... which will be a shame.... If I ever get back to playing them....
    Expand
  19. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of 2012 . Farcry 3 has improved quite a bit well at least i thought it did. It was really really fun. The Environment was beautiful and the storyline was amazing. It has everything u would want in a open world game. I would seriosuly recommend this game for gamers who love open world games.
  20. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is almost the best game ever. the reason for 'almost' is for all the bugs and glitches(like disapearing characters, dying from the wingsuit when your like 3 feet in the air).
  21. Jan 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is such a good game, even if theres a not so good end, because of his grat gameplay, bloody story, and an amazing open world game, i recomended Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  23. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR 2012 this game is amazing great graphics great game play great story and the best video game villain ever this game is amazing every one should play it a ton of content and amazing characters get this game
  24. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    Where do i start off with this spectacular game??? First off, the graphics are the greatest I have ever seen on a console based game! The surrounding area on the massive open world maps really makes you feel like you are in the game as yourself. The story is one of the best told stories ever with all the turns and suprises. The Far Cry franchise has really over done itself and made major improvements from game to game. The more you play it, the more it pulls you in. The online is the only reason why the game has not been rated as a 10. The gameplay could have been faster and smoother but thats not really a major part of the game. The game was made for the story. Overall, one of the bes games i have ever played in my life! Collapse
  25. Feb 10, 2013
    9
    Having played several other of the Far cry titles, it's clear that they have learnt a lot. While the past games had a lot of positive points, they had a lot of negative features which put a lot of people off, e.g. the heavy handed game play. However in Far cry 3 they have addressed almost all the issues and have created one of the best campaigns I've played to date. The characters, cut scenes and voice acting, (especially Vaas) are unexpectedly amazing thus creating a very strong story. There are also top notch hunting mechanics linking to a well designed crafting system, and with a bunch side quests and activities, sure to give you your moneys worth in the campaign alone. On top of all this though you have a good multi player with a surprisingly good level progression and unlock system and it kept me entertained right to the max level of 75. There is also a co-op mode which is quite generic but is refreshingly difficult and there is a more than decent amount of content. Finally you have the map editor. It gives you the tools to make some truly amazing looking map even if the controls are difficult on xbox and PS3. However, on the negative side while you can place vehicles down, don't expect to be able to use that map on multi player, even private matches. The same story is for placeable AI as neither can be used in multi player. In my opinion this is a huge wasted opportunity to create some unique online mechanics, e.g. example an online game mode with AI pirates and hostile wildlife, (assuming the engine could handle it). Overall a great game and definitely worth your money. Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, it takes me back to the original Far Cry with the beautiful tropical island surrounds. After the let down that was Far Cry 2, this reinvigorates the series. While it definitely isn't perfect, its one of favourites for 2012 releases.
  27. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    This game is going to have to be a favorite for me. The graphics are beautiful, good story, and there is just so much to do. So many side missions to play and unlock. Over 30 animals to hunt! This game deserves a 10 but I rated 9 because there could've been a little more to it. The multiplayer is kinda worthless and not worth paying 10 bucks to play (Yes you have to pay for multiplayer after you payed for the game...) So don't get it used! If I had know the multiplayer was terrible i wouldn't of gotten it. People are barely ever on and it takes forever to get into a game. The CO-OP is ok but could've been better. But other than that this game surely is amazing! Expand
  28. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    Nice graphics, imaginative story, good gameplay, open world.
    Unfortunately, it is difficult in many parts of the game. For example, to be shooting at the enemy, and they are coming from the three, and even a man must also be protected. I found there forever. But really, it's a very good game.
  29. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    OUt of every shooter i have every played, none have drawn me in and made me feel for the charactors and the world so much then Far Cry 3. This game is Excellent. The world is beautiful, the voice acting is stellar and the story is fantastic. Jason brody isnt really the most Pleasant protagonist to play as you could say. He is pretty whiney and says things sometimes that bother you. but thats generally only towards the beginning. you really feel for the people in this story and it only gets better and better. I spent (and still spend) most of my time in this game just running around with my recurve bow hunting animals and sniping bandits. This game is huge. Climing up the radiotowers like altier and ezio and synching the world to find optional quests is very entertaining.

    The only downside of this game is the multiplayer. The coop is fun but only for a little while. And its made to be played with 4 people. if you play with 2 you will die, alot. i promise. the competitive multi player is general. and i diddnt relaly find it that fun. the map editrior is awesome! but i wish they had gone to more of a forge mode letting you play with more people and mix ideas. but all in all. BUY far cry 3. its incredible and you will waste your life playing it.
    Expand
  31. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Excellent game The game Far Cry 2 should 've been.
    It takes the best elements from Red Dead Redemption, GTA and Far Cry and melds them together into a wonderfully enjoyable romp through the Jungles, roads and seas. Plenty of bad guys, animals and missions to keep you interested. Also the combat is very good, they must 've sacked the guys from Far Cry 2 and employed some competent
    programmers Well done! Expand
  32. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    An amazing game with a great story and awesome graphics! This was the first Far Cry game I have played and I wasn't sure how fun it would be when I got it. After a few hours I couldn't stop playing. It was so fun! I especially love the large map that you can explore and have hours of fun on. And if you don't feel like playing the main story, you can play side quests and take over outposts. This game can provide hours of fun. I would definitely recommend this game to a friend. Expand
  33. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    I'm not the kind of gamer who can play at 10-15 hour game and keep interested. Far Cry 3 proved me wrong. The story was interesting and I really felt like the main character. I usually stick to main story quests to finish the game quick but I quickly found myself exploring the island, hunting, and doing optional quests. Overall, a beautiful game and engaging story. Must buy!
  34. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best open-world games ever made. A truly epic sandbox a great dynamic environment some of the best voice acting and some truly memorable characters deep customisation great graphics the gameplay is top-notch and feels great and the missions all have different events unlike GTA the controls are excellent too a must have
  35. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Great first person shooter mixed with open world environment. It does get a little repetitive, but there are many different tasks, side missions, etc to follow along with the main story line to keep you entertained. The story line alone was enough for to keep me going.
  36. May 9, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, absolutely loving it without a doubt. I'll be honest, when I heard about it initially, I wasn't too keen on getting it due to Far Cry 2 being so terrible and frustrating. However, I did decide to rent the game and upon playing it for quite some time, I felt like an idiot for not buying it sooner.

    I'm going to take a dig at a few people writing reviews complaining about
    the graphics for a start, people have stated that "for a 2012 game it's graphically terrible". What? Graphically, I think the game does pretty well, if you want to see terrible graphics? Head on over to whatever game shop you like and buy The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct. Now THAT game is beyond awful when it comes to graphics.

    Anyway, Far Cry 3 A very sound storyline. Not a lot of games have well scripted voiced storylines nowadays but this game does it pretty well. It's interesting too, and the villian is pretty awesome. Hunting, now that is something that I like. Love the feel of being in the wilderness with a bow, picking off animals and then skinning them to help me craft materials that benefit my gameplay. There are a good amount of things to do, meh they can be repetitive but what game isn't nowadays? Customization is decent, the scenery is nice to look at and the game has quite a lot to offer especially for an FPS.

    I'd recommend this game to all of my friends, and especially people I don't know. Buy it, rent it You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  37. Rem
    Nov 7, 2013
    9
    "Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its among the best of 2012. The story, while not consistent, is presented very well with cinematic voice acting and graphics. Rook Island is a beautiful place to explore ranging from jungle to ruin. The fun thing is how it all blends into a cohesive experience. However once you finish the game, there isn't much else to do which is Far Cry 3's greatest flaw. Despite so, it remembers that it is a game and it remembers that is a great game. Expand
  38. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    Mother of God this is a fantastic game. Mechanically, it is the best FPS I've ever played. Short of a few story missions that require you to use a direct assault method, the game is as tactical as you want it to be. A lot is made of good IA or bad IA or clever IA, but I'd say this game has the most fun IA I've ever experienced. The games rules work, consistently, all the time. This seems like it should be easy, but almost all other games fail. What I mean in this case is that you can accurately predict the outcome of your tactics and attempts to manipulate the IA and it is incredibly rewarding. If you are 500 yards away from an enemy base with a sniper rifle, you can wreck havok on them. If you are properly concealed by forest or bushes, they will not be able to spot you. I'd say the best comparison I can make for this game is Crysis 1 Just Cause 2, but better. There are a million things to do and all of them feed into XP or equipment, so everything is both fun and rewarding. The gun play, on top of fun IA and stealth options, is spot on as well. I'd give the PC version a 10 and the console version a 9, just because of the framerate (which is poor, but playable). Really, truly the best shooter of this generation. I can't decide if it beats Half-Life 2, since that is a bit of apples vs oranges. Expand
  39. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Farcry 3 is a amazing experience and probably one of best games of 2012. The story of Farcry 3 is amazing and Jason main protagonist grows as he is on the island. While the real star of the game is probably Vaas who is one of the main villians the game. The voice acting and the way he acts in the game really makes the player want to kill him. Furthermore, the gameplay of Farcry 3 is also amazing with a variety of ways a player can complete the game. You can complete the game stealthy or run and gun throughout the game. In addition, there are many weapons that a player can choose from which can help you be stealthy or help you mow down you enemies. Also the what makes this game different from other games is that you can also hunt animals. There are also many skills that a players changes the pace based on what players choose. Hunting animals actually have a impact on the game and you can create different things from materials found from animals. Even after you complete the game there are many things such as side quests to finish. Another addition the developers added was mulitplayer which wasn't even necessary but a welcome addition. Overall, the game is great with additional content the will make the game last. Expand
  40. May 14, 2013
    9
    The best game of 2012, yeah just like that, the question is why the hell it wasn't even a contender ta VGA's, probably because vga is full of crap! PS Just what the did to Deus Ex Human Revolution
  41. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I'm not going to lie, I love Far Cry 3. Everything in the single player is perfect. I didn't want to stop playing it! It took over 20 hours for me to complete everything in it. And you know what, it was well worth it. Hell, this game was so good, I would have payed extra for it. Yet that was just the single player. The game falls apart when it comes to co-op and multiplayer. I won't even mention how awful they are. But, the good parts about the game heavily out weigh the bad parts. This game is a definite buy. I might even buy it for PS3 and PC, even though I already have the game on Xbox! Expand
  42. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This is by far one of the greatest games I have played in my past years. It has everything you could want from animals and plants you use the resources of to survive to a great storyline and its open world so you can continue playing the game even after you have completed the main story.
  43. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    When I first looked at this game,I thought it would be decent.But after really fun combat,Great story and lots of exploring,it was way better than I expected.
  44. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is the shooter 95% of FPS fans want. Why? Adrenaline.
    Set in two tropical islands in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, the player plays as Jason, an unfortunate young man who’s had the bad luck to go on a vacation with a group of friends to an island infested with drug/human traffickers. What transpires from there is for the player to find out. And oh, is it a hell of a trip.

    Far Cry 3 is an open world first person shooter; this isn’t a game like call of duty, where the player is expected to walk from point A to B without the freedom to choose how, but a game where the player is given complete freedom over how they want to progress. If thorough, halfway through the game the player will find him/herself as a complete badass without feeling too overpowered. The game does an excellent job providing a leveling system that is neat and well rewarding. It’s fun to see what new skills can be unlocked with every new level achieved through experience points, and ultimately putting them to the test.
    Gameplay shines in Far Cry 3. Throughout the game, the player unlocks and has several skills to take advantage either in the environment or during combat. It is ever so fun to sneak behind an enemy, impale him, quickly getting his knife with the other hand, and throwing it to the closest enemy AI, all silently. Guns are varied and so are customizations. Depending on the style of the player, one could either go loud or be a tactical stealthy assassin. The latter proves to be super fun as it provides such a level of adrenaline that is rarely present in a lot of games within the same genre. True, one can feel as a predator, but the enemy AI is smart; they will react to loud noises, sound alarms, and be aggressive. So the hunter will feel hunted as well during missions. Animals also roam around the islands and nearby waters, providing ingredients that can be key to the player’s progress. If the player wants to carry more guns, they will have to hunt down certain animals to build a larger bag. Vehicles are common, and it’s fun to drive them around. Soundtrack is fun, reaching such heights during certain segments of the game that make some missions feel so fun and exciting. A very convenient fast travel system is also present in the game for those who don’t want to spend too much time walking around from mission to mission.
    Far Cry 3’s campaign is for the most part very good. It can become a little dull during the last fourth of the game, but never enough to lose the immersive feeling. Overall it is a fantastic story full of exciting, very well acted characters that only pull the player further into the story. Ending can be a bit cliché, but it’s nothing that breaks the experience. It’s still satisfactory.
    Visuals are outstanding. The jungle environment, mountains, hills, lakes and oceans are beautifully portrayed. It truly feels like one is out in the jungle.
    Far Cry 3 is a satisfactory, thrilling, adrenaline-filled video game that makes the player feel like a badass. There is no shortage of action and adventure.
    Expand
  45. May 27, 2013
    9
    I was way of purchasing this, as I'm not usually one for 'pew pew' as I couldn't hit a barn door in Xbox games, but I truly loved every moment of this game. All the combat, the achievements, the multiplayer it all seemed to be created by people who had a clue what gamers want these days.

    I picked it up on demand for £14.99 and never looked back
  46. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Far cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves around are BEYOND amazingly good. The excellent script and creative characters, leaves this game as a remember-able experience. Some of the best unpredictable exploration and free-form open world games sense fallout, which uses its strength of crazy ambition to remain as one of the most appealing and historical mentioned games to date. Expand
  47. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    I'm really surprised how much i enjoyed play this game. Based on the first two games review I didn't expect it to be great, but it did look cool so I picked it up. And it did not disappoint, there was so much to do, the island looked great, the story was insane it was a surprise hit for me.
  48. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    Incredible game. This is one of the best open-box shooters I've ever player. The story, the graphics, the characters. It really worth playing. It's phenomenal. But, the co-op isn't really so awesome like the single-player, but still worth.
  49. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I have been hoping for years that one day they would make an HD-remake version of the original Far Cry, but after playing Far Cry 3 I seemed to have forgot all about that. FC3 takes the concept of the original and builds upon it in every conceivable way. The game truly is magnificent. The game features a lush vibrant environment that you can explore and do everything from wingsuit proximity diving, hang gliding, hunting, you can ride jet -skis, ATV's, and believe it or not you can murder the out of some people with the spot on FPS gameplay. In all honesty, I would recommend this game over BioShock Infinite. I think everything is done better on this side of the fence. Thats just my opinion. Expand
  50. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Awesome game. The campaing is the amazing and very intense. There are both stealth and great shooting missions, which makes the game very balanced and not boring at all to the player. I just wish the multiplayer was that awesome. There are not too many people playing and it's reminds a lot of CoD: MW structure. The history is clearly the strong point of the game and won't disappoint anyone!
  51. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was definitely the biggest surprise of the year for me. In a year full of sequels including Assassin's Creed 3, Halo 4, Borderlands 2, and Mass Effect 3, Far Cry 3 just might come out as the best of 2012.
  52. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 has set a new standard for open-world games. The location you play at is detailed and feels alive. The characters, story, and of course, the gameplay is top notch. Far Cry 3 is a must play and should not be passed by any gamer that enjoys FPSs.
  53. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This is a good game that deserves it's score if you buy this game the odds are you will have a good time playing it even though some parts of the game are difficult and will get you annoyed you will eventually overcome them which in away is good because every game needs a little bit of challenge.
  54. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    The overall graphics, level design, face renderings, character voices and animations are all incredible. The detail is staggering when stopping to take a look at just about anything. I didn't experience a single crash which is uncommon with games this size and speaks to the overall quality of the development. The game started a little slow for me since the player must craft certain important items from animal hides you laboriously hunt (or hunt you), and I also spent most of the time in the bushes with a crossbow throwing endless rocks to manipulate the pirates for stealthy take downs. But later, the game did speed up after the tedious starting items and story elements were completed, and it felt more like an FPS and less like Thief. The skill tree is helpful and not too obnoxiously big or complicated. Movements are fluid and precise. I didn't care for the single save, forced crafting on most items, repetitive engagements with Vaas (definition of insanity?), and monotonous side quests (which you start to feel towards the end). I didn't play FC1 or 2, but this was on sale for $14.99 and though I'd give it a try. I'm glad I did, it's truly an elite game. Be patient with it, the rewards are big. Expand
  55. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    I love this game. Beautiful environments that shy away from the dull grey's and brown's that modern FPS' love to overuse, great combat, great story, one of my favorite villain in all of gaming, and overall is just a fun game to play. On the Xbox 360 there are some graphical and frame rate issues though but it's not so bad that it is unplayable. Co-op is also not very entertaining but that is an entirely new story that has nothing to do with the main campaign and if you don't want to 100% the achievements you don't even have to touch it. They also add a new multiplayer mode (witch is not that good, but passable.) and a robust map editing tool that dwarves the likes of Forge in Halo. Overall this is a great game and one of Ubisoft's best, it goes up there with Prince of Persia and the Rayman Series. This is a must buy for any FPS or open world fan. Expand
  56. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Simply put, Far Cry 3 is my favorite first person shooter of all time. I love this game. Graphics are beautiful, with lots of attention to detail put into making the island really look alive. The story is also very strong as well, with outstanding characters and great progression. But what really makes this my favorite shooter of all time is the gameplay and the gameplay mechanics. Getting experience for shooting other pirates and soldiers on the island is fun, and you gradually feel your character become a powerful warrior. This is due to an extremely well done perk unlock system. Whenever you gain enough experience, you are able to unlock another perk. This allows you to perform deadly new attacks, help you survive longer, or be more stealthy. No matter how you choose to play the game, it all feels great. Being stealthy is almost too satisfying, as you quickly and quietly leap out from a hiding place to kill an enemy before going back into hiding. Guns blazing is also very satisfying, as the guns feel powerful and deadly. Far cry 3 is one of those games that I played for hours and hours and never touched the story, but did the side missions instead. It was a game that I simply could not put down. It is an experience that really sticks out in my mind as one of the best games released in a long time. If you are a fan of shooters, RPGs, or open world games, you owe it to yourself to go buy this game. The sheer enjoyment of this game is enough to warrant a perfect score, and the great graphics, story, and character development really make Far Cry 3 an unforgettable experience. Expand
  57. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    MUST PLAY!!! If you enjoyed playing Red Dead Redemption you will enjoy this game. I've played Far Cry 2 on the same system, and pretty much everything that annoyed me in the last game got fixed! I give this game a solid 9. It's not perfect but it deserves it: Let's start with the negatives: -I found storyline boring and quite stupid. Especially moments when he blacks out and there is a stupid action event knife fight.
    - Main character Jason is kind of a doushe bro and I found him annoying, well that's ok with me. I really dont' care.
    -I really don't care about his friends either. They seemed like bunch of self entitled rich kids to me.
    -Only one type of the environment, just the jungle. In second one there was Savannah and the jungle. May be in the next game you can get on the plane and fly to another island with different scenery.

    Now what I like in this game:
    +It's a gorgeous looking game, and I'm a person who doesn't really care about the graphics.
    +This game has a BOW, and you can do some Rambo like killing with it.
    +What is awesome about this video game that you have and open world to explore. Meet new bad guys and them kill them. It's not just your regular FPS, you get to sneak on some bad dudes and cut their throats, that's what I found the best about this game. Only few missions are sneak around only, but for the most of the game you don't have to sneak around even once.
    +Can customize weapons
    +Killing animals and crafting stuff
    +Putting this on fire is pretty cool
    and so on...

    I would definately pick up this game if I were you, it's pretty cheap now and it is definitely worth it.
    Expand
  58. Oct 4, 2013
    9
    Far cry 3 is the best game in the franchise. It puts you in a lush amazing world were you have to ability to explore different islands do side quests and just blow up! it lets you choose how to do a mission, from stealth to total guns blazing. getting new tattoos so you have new you could say powers to help you survive the island. oh and the new enemy voss is dun perfectly never have I ever been so immersed in a game. and it comes with a full length multiplayer, and a co-op campaign and map editor. now the map editor is clearly made and designed for pc because it is extremely hard to use on the Xbox. You can also download other maps that people made and play them with friends or random people in a death match or strategic match. Now for some of the games faults. First for some reason the game wouldn't save at sometimes. and my game occasionally froze and I had to restart my Xbox witch I didn't enjoy. also some random frame rate issues. and once you beat the game it just feels like a big open world but that's it there is nothing left to do and it gets kind of boring. but I love this game no matter what so I give it a 9/10 I would given it higher but its to late. Also guys check out my new youtube chanel AverageGamerReviews2 and subscribe because I will be bringing you all the news and reviews of the games coming out 3013-2014 Expand
  59. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    How on earth did Bioshock Infinite score higher than this game, it's so much better in every single department. More imaginative, creative, original and most importantly far more fun to play. The RPG elements are excellent, tons of variety, shooting and stealth are very fun perfect 10. One of my favourite games of all time. Oh, and the graphics are lovely.
  60. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Brilliant open world game with so much to see and do. I love games that allow me to explore go anywhere do anything as i wish, and Far Cry 3 allows me to do that and so much more. A few of the missions in the campaign are a little poo, but the rest is just fantastic. Can't wait for Far Cry 4 on next gen.
  61. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    A near perfect game with dozens of hours worth of gameplay. A big step up from Far Cry 2. The graphics are beautiful and the sound design really makes the game come alive.
  62. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be
    worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean. Expand
  63. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is a perfect game, superbly balanced and lush with mission variations that prolong the beautiful adventure. If you truly give in to the game's insanity, it's the most fun and rewarding experience money can buy
  64. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 combined the multi-faceted action, open world and not a bad screenplay. Stated promises made ​​almost flawlessly, and such honesty is worthy of awards. The problems, of course, there are, but in this particular case, we will gladly about them forget.
  65. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    I really don't have much to rag on for Far Cry III. This game has it all. Here's some of Far Cry III's biggest strengths:
    -Top quality voice acting & character animations
    -High quality story
    -Great combat (if you use it right. You can either just go in guns blazing or try for more stealth-based combat. I opt for the latter which has made my gameplaying experience SO much better!)
    -The
    best villain I've ever played against: Vaas.
    -An open, lush environment
    -A pretty cool RPG-esque level up system.

    Now, you may have heard this game is Skyrim with guns. As awesome as the game is, it'd be a lie to say that it's anything like the Elder Scrolls. NPC interaction is pretty limited, sidequests are really basic and you don't level up in nearly as much detail as Skyrim. That being said, I still loved the game. Buy it now!
    Expand
  66. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    Beautiful open-world environment. Superb cover mechanics in gunfights. Great leveling-up and crafting system. Rarely have I felt so nervous to venture out into unknown territory, but the difficulty level is perfect. The villain's voice actor may actually be a psycho in real life. My favorite parts were the genuinely trippy psychedelic experiences that are part of the gameplay (not mere cut-scenes) which exemplify the developer's artistry. I have very minor complaints about the second half of the story, as well as the protagonist's voice acting, but all-in-all you should definitely play this game. Expand
  67. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    This is a great game. It's epic. The only reason I am not giving it a ten is because it's not the best I've ever played, but it's def one of the tops on the list. It gas a great level up system. Hunting to upgrade your stuff is fun and was a great idea. I normally am not a stealth type player , but even going in stealth mode on this game was fun. The game starts off good, then gets a little better, and by the time you are deep into the story you will be sitting on the edge of your seat . It's a definite buy and I very picky on actual buys. It has a good amount of replay value and even just doing the story without side missions you will still get your money worth out of hrs played. I still have not gotten every achievement. This talking about it has got me ready to play it now lol. Right now I'm playing Dead Island and it's a suckfest. So go buy far cry 3 and enjoy..

    Also I have noticed that ppl complain about there not being a lot of guns. But there is a decent amount and you have many mod options on em. And I'm sure the ppl complaining didn't do as many side missions as me. To let you in without a spoiler . Let's just say there are quite a few more guns than you are expected to believe.
    Expand
  68. Jan 29, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You may have noticed that people don't have the guts to try something different and unique in video games. Ubisoft do though, they've made an open-world first-person shooter called Far Cry 3. We don't get games of this kind nowadays, but this has been pulled off. It's an outstanding game and one that everyone should pick up. This is a game with reasons to explore, an engaging story and satisfying gameplay. It's spectacular!

    Far Cry 3 has a meaningful story that will put you on the edge of your seat. You play as Jason Brody who's friends have been captured on an Asian island during a vacation. It's Jason's job to save his friends and seek revenge on Vaas Montenegro who has killed your brother and runs an organization of pirates on the north side of the Island. Although Vaas is a villain in this game, he's someone that you will fall in love with once you get to hear what he says and see what he does and is an awesome guy, and one of the many unforgettable characters in Far Cry 3. Everyone has something special about their personality and actions and you will love them all. Even if you don't like some of the characters, you weren't supposed to. Jason's friends are like the dumb and arrogant teenagers that you've probably come across in your life.
    Then, there's the music which really matches and engages with whatever you are doing as Jason or whatever you are doing whilst exploring. When you're engaged in combat, the music is fast and dramatic, but when Jason is doing something in a cut scene, the music is really quiet and gentle.
    Expand
  69. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of the best game I have ever played. There are lots of animals you can hunt, Lots of guns you can shoot and lots of vehicles you can drive. Lots of people hated jason but I loved him. I do wish that they kept vaas alive, he was awesome. You should go out and get this game now. Expand
  70. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I've been dying for this game to come out, watched every video, read all the news and rumours, and then when it came out, I skipped my exams, went home and played it for a good three hours straight. And now that I finished it. Here is my "opinon"

    Story: this game focuses on insanity. And while leaving some plot holes, it makes you think is it bad story telling or is Jason Brody insane?
    And a lot of the stuff could be a fragment of his diritating mind?, but from what I gathered it's a great story that keeps you guessing, and while having two okay endings.. It's still pretty unique and covered the insanity tale well. The cast of this game is well done, from spies, to Australians to Germans, to Americans, all is AAA voiced acted. Everyone sounds authentic. The animals sound terrifyingly satisfying. The guns sound different and all the brushes and wildlife sound authentic.

    Graphics: being a console, it has it's pop ins and some screen tearing but overall looks great with a nice sense of cell shade. The fire is the best I've seen, especially when coming from the flamethrower. The rain is all well and good, but sometimes storms appear out of the blue, not in a realistic way, the waters look nice but could of used more splashes when swimming fast, again it is consoles.

    Gameplay: very diverse, stealth works well, and guns blazing is great also, lots of weapons (43) and attachments to buy etc, 85% of this game you choose ur style some missions would require a specific approach.

    Overall it is a reveloutionary single player FPS and it destroys it completion I'm the single player experience, I'm a offline gamer (a rare dying breed) to do everything it take about 35 to 50 hrs, you get ur money's worth, go and buy it now.
    Expand
  71. May 27, 2014
    9
    Loved the environment, the graphics, gameplay and story. All of them very very good. Vaas is a great character man... One of the bests. Besides being easy, it's fun and immersive. Waiting for Far Cry 4!!
  72. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    One of the best single player campaigns ever! It really makes you feel like you are part of the story, like it's you on this island in this situation. I love the first person view during cut scenes. The story should be made into a real movie. And It's still fun to just roam around the island and hunt animals, craft bigger wallets and ammo holsters, take over outposts, collect relics and lost letters from really beautiful places like waterfalls and underwater caves. The tropical island setting is really cool. Highly recommended! Expand
  73. May 15, 2014
    9
    A 9 or a 10. That's what this game deserves! One of the best fps games out there! I hated the second one so the third... I wasnt convince... got it for 20$ at walmart and god dam*** it's worth it !! so engaging in every details... so many ways of getting job done. so many side tasks.

    BUY IT IF YOU DONT HAVE IT
  74. May 26, 2014
    10
    I loved this game as much as GTA V. Awesome story and awesome open world. Great graphics. It took an entire summer (playing evry day) to complete every single mission and to find the treasures. I lost so many hours doing nothing and having fun with animals and exploring the islands! Try to approach the situation like 'murika, throwing grenades and burning people with a flamethrower or try with stealth, letting tigers to kill enemies or killing them from behind. And the boss battle, skrillex soundtrack, all the moments that you will remember are too much to not play this game. Expand
  75. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is a genuinely excellent game. It's rich in almost everything, the tropical island environment, the gunplay, the rpg elements, the detail in everything. it's a fantastic campaign that is great even when you play it over and over. However, the multiplayer is pretty bad but i'm willing to overlook that.
  76. Feb 7, 2013
    0
    Where do i start off with this spectacular game??? First off, the graphics are the greatest I have ever seen on a console based game! The surrounding area on the massive open world maps really makes you feel like you are in the game as yourself. The story is one of the best told stories ever with all the turns and suprises. The Far Cry franchise has really over done itself and made major improvements from game to game. The more you play it, the more it pulls you in. The online is the only reason why the game has not been rated as a 10. The gameplay could have been faster and smoother but thats not really a major part of the game. The game was made for the story. Overall, one of the bes games i have ever played in my life! Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.