Far Cry 3 Xbox 360

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1283 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Returning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the gameReturning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the game progresses until pretty soon all manner of options are available to the player to best defeat their enemies.

    Truth be told the actual story missions, while usually passable, are far from the most interesting aspect of the game. All too often they fall back on video game clichés with the use of QTE’s and escort missions being particularly irritating. What truly makes Far Cry 3 the game it is, is the fantastic open world that allows for all manner of unique, and totally unscripted, events. Talk to anyone that has played the game and they will tell you of events that only they will have experienced. Fortunately the actual gameplay mechanics are also very good with weapons having a real sense of weight to them as well as the welcome freedom to choose from going in all guns blazing to taking a more stealthy approach thanks to the use of 'Takedown' moves that can be unlocked.

    All in all this one comes highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2017
    8
    La troisième fois est la bonne ! après un nullissime premier Far Cry (exclu PC) et un second épisode perclus de défauts mais encourageant, Ubi Soft parvient à hisser (enfin) cette licence au niveau si convoité de l'excellence vidéo-ludique. Ce savant mélange entre les mécaniques des derniers Assassin's Creed et du Splinter Cell (Conviction) appliqué au substrat de Far Cry 2 a donné un jeuLa troisième fois est la bonne ! après un nullissime premier Far Cry (exclu PC) et un second épisode perclus de défauts mais encourageant, Ubi Soft parvient à hisser (enfin) cette licence au niveau si convoité de l'excellence vidéo-ludique. Ce savant mélange entre les mécaniques des derniers Assassin's Creed et du Splinter Cell (Conviction) appliqué au substrat de Far Cry 2 a donné un jeu qui allie une grande liberté d'action et d'exploration, un petit côté jeu de rôle (évolution du personnage) et une campagne certes scriptée mais qui remplit convenablement son office.

    Le monde créé est très vivant et dynamique, les pirates bien évidemment mais aussi les indigènes sans oublier les animaux sauvages qui se révèlent souvent les plus dangereux... les missions de chasseur sont très intéressantes, de même que les missions d'assassinat de pointures locales (uniquement au couteau selon la tradition, cela va de soi...). Les camps qu'il faut prendre d'assaut laissent toujours le choix de l'approche, ce qui nous amène au gameplay qui brille sur les deux tableaux : entre la furtivité et l'attaque du bourrin avec la puissance de feu d'un croiseur, on a le choix !

    Vendu comme un voyage au bout de la folie, Far Cry 3 n'est pas si fou que cela malgré quelques audaces et Bioshock l'était bien plus en vérité. Techniquement, le portage 360 souffre de saccades ici et là et d'une désynchro verticale désagréable mais c'est beau tout de même malgré les couleurs criardes et la distance d'affichage très limitée (commune à toutes les versions) qui fait que l'on bute régulièrement (graphiquement parlant) sur l'image 2d du fond qui marque la "fin" du monde.

    La musique électro très agressive est souvent cacophonique, les quelques beaux morceaux sont cantonnés au générique de fin... ballot. Le doublage français quant à lui serait excellent s'il n'était pas réalisé par des Québecois : seul Jason s'en sort honorablement, les autres feraient mieux d'aller faire cuistots. Enfin, la roue des armes ne marque pas de pause, dommage.
    Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    A really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when consideringA really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when considering how big the map is. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Enredo e gráficos e mecânicas são bens trabalhada proporcionando um ótimo jogo.
  5. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooterFar Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    If you thought that Far cry 2 was a frustration and you decided to quit the Far cry series because of that. But not with this game. Far cry 3 improves on almost everything from Far cry 2. The driving feels a lot smoother and faster. Far cry 2's driving felt like you were always driving a tractor. Far cry 3's shooting feels so much smoother and you can actually fight like your Rambo, ItsIf you thought that Far cry 2 was a frustration and you decided to quit the Far cry series because of that. But not with this game. Far cry 3 improves on almost everything from Far cry 2. The driving feels a lot smoother and faster. Far cry 2's driving felt like you were always driving a tractor. Far cry 3's shooting feels so much smoother and you can actually fight like your Rambo, Its that much better, seriously. Buy this game. Expand
  7. May 23, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is one of those games that I spent HOURS and HOURS playing, really enjoying the combat and overall gameplay for a multitude of reasons. And whilst i never reaaallly enjoy the story of Jason Brody and totally had many issues with some of the narrative points. I cannot deny the fact that I absolutely adored the overall gameplay, environment and setting.

    I actually really enjoyed the game. I remember all the hype I had for it in 2011 and I remember every moment playing the game in 2013, me being a lot fatter and naive to the real world and its problems.

    Its great and fantastic. Its a good time and I very much recommend checking it out.

    Im actually really hoping that Ubisoft kinda remaster or add the game to the PS4 with the release of Far Cry 5. Would be nice being able to return to the tropical islands of Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  8. May 8, 2015
    9
    Far Cry 3 is the definition of insanity. Everything about it is just plain crazy and over the top, which is why it is one of the best games I have played in a long time.
  9. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Far cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves aroundFar cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves around are BEYOND amazingly good. The excellent script and creative characters, leaves this game as a remember-able experience. Some of the best unpredictable exploration and free-form open world games sense fallout, which uses its strength of crazy ambition to remain as one of the most appealing and historical mentioned games to date. Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leaderFar Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I haveFar Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  12. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  13. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  14. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Pure fun. A big open wouold full of great graphics and things to do. Far Cry 2 was terrible and I promised myself not to buy this, but I did. This is soooo much more fun. Everything feels accessible. They don't make the side missions too annoying and as long as you plan properly you will always be rewarded (something EVERY game sould do). Pure fun.
  15. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  16. Oct 28, 2015
    9
    Ubisoft gained by respect with this title. Far Cry 3 is simply one of the best open world games ever because it delivers a total package to the player, and offers something for every player. Are you a stealth nut? This game has a very robust stealth system. Do you like shooty games? This game has a large selection of guns. Do you like exploring a beautiful tropical island? It's here. WantUbisoft gained by respect with this title. Far Cry 3 is simply one of the best open world games ever because it delivers a total package to the player, and offers something for every player. Are you a stealth nut? This game has a very robust stealth system. Do you like shooty games? This game has a large selection of guns. Do you like exploring a beautiful tropical island? It's here. Want a memorable cast with good story? Check. This game is a defining moment of the last gen along with some other titles. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  18. Rem
    Nov 7, 2013
    8
    "Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its"Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its among the best of 2012. The story, while not consistent, is presented very well with cinematic voice acting and graphics. Rook Island is a beautiful place to explore ranging from jungle to ruin. The fun thing is how it all blends into a cohesive experience. However once you finish the game, there isn't much else to do which is Far Cry 3's greatest flaw. Despite so, it remembers that it is a game and it remembers that is a great game. Expand
  19. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment ofSo here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map[9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  21. Nov 28, 2013
    9
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close! -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress. -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out
    Positives:
    -Open world allows for good pacing when it comes to action. Also, it is in the jungle and you can hunt wildlife.
    -Go in guns-a-blazing or stealthily. Pick people off from long range or go up close!
    -RPG elements such as upgrading equipment and gaining new skills as you progress.
    -Likable archnemesis in Vaas and a few interesting characters though nobody is really fleshed out including yourself.
    CONS
    -Story line is blockbuster action esque (meaning it's kinda lame but nobody really cares). Your character goes from being an everyday American wus like you and me to a bad ass warrior who kills 100s of people.
    -Dubstep
    Expand
  22. May 14, 2013
    9
    The best game of 2012, yeah just like that, the question is why the hell it wasn't even a contender ta VGA's, probably because vga is full of crap! PS Just what the did to Deus Ex Human Revolution
  23. Dec 7, 2014
    9
    The environment is sprawling and scrumptious, the side missions, particularly the outposts, are a joy to do. The antagonist Vaas is now regarded as one of video games best villains and I am glad he is getting the credit he deserves. Vaas' lunacy and unpredictability make him genuinely scary, which makes for a low key element of constant fear whilst playing which only adds to theThe environment is sprawling and scrumptious, the side missions, particularly the outposts, are a joy to do. The antagonist Vaas is now regarded as one of video games best villains and I am glad he is getting the credit he deserves. Vaas' lunacy and unpredictability make him genuinely scary, which makes for a low key element of constant fear whilst playing which only adds to the excitement. The story lays down the mat well and does well to inject a sense of unease into you right off the bat. Far Cry 3 truly is a genre and generation defining game, full of freedom, combat and a setting that changes the ball game for the open world genre. Expand
  24. Dec 22, 2012
    4
    This game is dreadful. One big fetch quest from start to finish, without little in the way of variance. Locations are all almost the same consisting of revealing an area by climbing a radio tower, then liberating it by clearing 2 enemy bases in that zone. They are all similar little in the way of difference. Once cleared there will be a wanted quest, and or a hunter quest, possibly aThis game is dreadful. One big fetch quest from start to finish, without little in the way of variance. Locations are all almost the same consisting of revealing an area by climbing a radio tower, then liberating it by clearing 2 enemy bases in that zone. They are all similar little in the way of difference. Once cleared there will be a wanted quest, and or a hunter quest, possibly a villagers quest, and hospital supply quest, repeating in these identically for 18 or so zones. While picking up endless collectibles to whittle the time away. The main story is un-thrilling lacking in much personality, solved by going in with guns blazing or climb, swim to escape. The AI are unintilligent always speaking the same with the same accent in every location, while getting themselves stuck constantly and die so easily on every difficulty. This game blatantly condones drug missuse everything is injected and is from a syringe. While you also slaugther endangered animals to make into bags. Money caps and cannot be collected until a bigger wallet is made, meaning hunting some rare endangered animal and skinning to craft into a larger wallet. You simply cannot pick up more cash prior. The mini game of Texas holdem poker is played entirely wrong. Every time you win a hand even after the table has folded your winning hand is shown. The format of the winning hand is shown by combining the cards with the decks cards leaving you to figured out what your opponents had. Vechiles drive like tanks, often getting stuck on terrain, while mostly it is quicker to run. There are little differences between the various gun types they all handle as easily as an another resulting in the enemy dead very quickly on which ever diffculty played. Once dead you respawn easily there are no penalties.

    A massively disappointingly game where you literally repeating the same thing over on one big fetch quest. Its playtime comes from chasing collectibles. You would really have to be somekind of stoner to find any enjoyment out of this game as it is boring beyond all imagination.
    Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2015
    7
    The story is simple but decent. You're kidnapped by a polynesian mafia, and you have to escape, and rescue your friends. There's also a little bit of mysticism involved, and an upgrade system which greatly reminded me of both Dead Island, and the new Tomb Raider series. This game has a lot of action, and there is an upgrade system, but a lot of different things held this back for me.The story is simple but decent. You're kidnapped by a polynesian mafia, and you have to escape, and rescue your friends. There's also a little bit of mysticism involved, and an upgrade system which greatly reminded me of both Dead Island, and the new Tomb Raider series. This game has a lot of action, and there is an upgrade system, but a lot of different things held this back for me.

    It's repetitive. I hate these grindy type games, where you have to do boring missions to improve your stats. I don't want to climb up a million radio towers, and I don't want to hunt animals, and collect plants, and do all that. This should be optional. Technically, it is, but you can't really progress through the game without doing these things. You have to do this rubbish to be strong enough to face the baddies.

    That's another thing -- the bad guys. It seems almost all video games have this flaw. Even though this had a stealth system, the baddies were able to detect me, and know where I was, even when I ran, and hid. It didn't work as well as I had hoped. It's especially frustrating when there are a million clones chasing after you, and you have a piece of crap weapon, and low health.

    Third, the general geography of the world was annoying. It's going up, and down, and around, and it's hard as f*** to know where you're going. The map doesn't provide much help either. The quest system is extremely flawed. This game, in order to provide a sense of variety, just confuses the average console gamer. How many hours in am I, and I can't store more than two weapons? They have these crappy tutorials, but they actually prove to be annoying. It should be straight forward.

    However, this game does have its merits. Like mentioned earlier, there is a good story line that motivates you to carry on. The characters are likeable, and there's lots of stuff to do, and a world to explore. Plenty of action too, more than anyone needs.

    But this game just doesn't bring together all the elements I like in a game. The Halo series seems to be the gold standard in first person shooters. They give you lots to do withotu overwhelming the player, and it's fairly easy to follow.

    Of course this game is worth a look; however, I believe it is far from perfect. It could've been an 8 or 9, but it didn't quite make it. Clunky interface and repetitiveness held it back for me.
    Expand
  26. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of those games that nearly defies description. Most of the time, when a game tries to reach this wide, it ends up trying too hard and failing at some part of it. The gameplay suffers, the engine lags, the AI is brain-dead, or something else is, if not wrong, just not right. Amazingly FC3 reached for the stars...and caught one. The game revolves around a main character whoFar Cry 3 is one of those games that nearly defies description. Most of the time, when a game tries to reach this wide, it ends up trying too hard and failing at some part of it. The gameplay suffers, the engine lags, the AI is brain-dead, or something else is, if not wrong, just not right. Amazingly FC3 reached for the stars...and caught one. The game revolves around a main character who isn't a hero; he's a spoiled chump who, caught in extraordinary circumstances, metamorphoses into a killing machine dedicated to saving his friends and family from a group of psychotic pirates. So, let's look at some components. Graphics are among the best you'll find on a console, with lush jungles complete with real-time shadows (which are subject to a bit of a dithering problem, but not too awful) and detailed props. Textures are high enough resolution that it never breaks the illusion. The AI is generally intelligent, and adequately inventive to keep you on your toes in a tactical situation. Skills are varied and powerful, making a real impact on the game. Perhaps one of the best components of the game is the weapon modification system, enabling you to tune just about every weapon to your play style. The icing on the cake is a dynamic fire system pirates taking cover in tall grass are no problem, just start a fire and let it flush them out. Controls are solid, both on foot and in vehicles, without any of the annoying twitchiness that can wreck a game. Best yet, the control schema is ergonomic and trying to get something done doesn't interfere with playing the game (who wants to do the inventory hunt under fire?). Missions are varied, interesting, and generally well written. But FC3 really stands out in its writing. This game has one of video gaming's best-ever villains in a psychotic pirate named Vaas. Michael Mando brings vocal life to the insane pirate warlord, creating a character that is, without doubt, one of the best, most engaging villains that has ever appeared in a video game. The entire game is tailored as a major mind-bender, and Vaas rounds out the disconcerting world with his incredibly bent view of the world a view he shares frequently with the player. The writing also extends into philosophical grounds, as the main character's friends react to his transformation from party-hard Beverly Hills to a flint-edged warrior. One would expect, then, the sandbox world implementation to suffer, but it doesn't; there are random events aplenty, and crafting will keep you busy for hours. So why not a 10? Crafting improvements to your gear is effectively over less than halfway through the game, leaving the second half a little too static. Skills top out by the time you're two-thirds of the way through the game, so the only thing left is buying better weapons, but that runs out soon thereafter. The game has the gas to go the distance; it just doesn't quite have the tools and toys to keep itself fresh for the entire time. But don't misunderstand; Far Cry 3 is one of the absolute top-shelf best FPS/RPG hybrids ever made. Game designers and publishers should nail a copy of this to their walls so that they remember what they should be aiming for. Recommended without hesitation, it's a well-earned 9 for Far Cry 3. Expand
  27. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turnedFar Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  28. Aug 31, 2014
    9
    This is a genuinely excellent game. It's rich in almost everything, the tropical island environment, the gunplay, the rpg elements, the detail in everything. it's a fantastic campaign that is great even when you play it over and over. However, the multiplayer is pretty bad but i'm willing to overlook that.
  29. Dec 23, 2016
    9
    Far Cry 3 é sem duvidas o auge da franquia da Ubisoft, o game é excelente, o mundo aberto é grande, da pra explorar bastante, o vilão do jogo, Vaas é sem duvidas um dos melhores da historia dos game, ele é violento, sadico, e divertido, o cenario é lindo, a variedade de animais é grande, tem fases muito boas, o personagem principal é o meu favorito da saga, (eu joguei pouco do 1, maisFar Cry 3 é sem duvidas o auge da franquia da Ubisoft, o game é excelente, o mundo aberto é grande, da pra explorar bastante, o vilão do jogo, Vaas é sem duvidas um dos melhores da historia dos game, ele é violento, sadico, e divertido, o cenario é lindo, a variedade de animais é grande, tem fases muito boas, o personagem principal é o meu favorito da saga, (eu joguei pouco do 1, mais joguei o 3,4 e primal), o grafico é lindo, ainda mais pra época, Far Cry 3 é um dos melhores jogo da antiga geraçao, tem problemas, alguns bugs, um roteiro bom, mais com falhas, e um personagem principal que mesmo sendo o melhor dos jogos, é esquecivel, mais por outro lado, o game tem graficos lindos, um vilão sensacional, variedades de animais e varias side-quest ótimas. Nota 9.3 Expand
  30. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.