User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1079 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Returning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the game progresses until pretty soon all manner of options are available to the player to best defeat their enemies.

    Truth be told the actual story missions, while usually passable, are far from the most interesting aspect of the game. All too often they fall back on video game clichés with the use of QTE’s and escort missions being particularly irritating. What truly makes Far Cry 3 the game it is, is the fantastic open world that allows for all manner of unique, and totally unscripted, events. Talk to anyone that has played the game and they will tell you of events that only they will have experienced. Fortunately the actual gameplay mechanics are also very good with weapons having a real sense of weight to them as well as the welcome freedom to choose from going in all guns blazing to taking a more stealthy approach thanks to the use of 'Takedown' moves that can be unlocked.

    All in all this one comes highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    A really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when considering how big the map is. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Enredo e gráficos e mecânicas são bens trabalhada proporcionando um ótimo jogo.
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An overall outstanding open world game. Everything seems to work well: The FPS mechanics are solid, the stealth mechanics work surprisingly well, the soundtrack is top-notch, and the graphics are great. The only thing I'm not fond of is the main villain. I loved Vaas, however his boss isn't as interesting as he is. He's just your average jerk drug dealer kinda guy.

    Overall, an excellent game.
    Expand
  8. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Pure fun. A big open wouold full of great graphics and things to do. Far Cry 2 was terrible and I promised myself not to buy this, but I did. This is soooo much more fun. Everything feels accessible. They don't make the side missions too annoying and as long as you plan properly you will always be rewarded (something EVERY game sould do). Pure fun.
  9. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  10. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is one of the greatest FPS of all time yet sadly falls flat due to a flat plot thats very generic and rather pointless plot or story and the fact that every main character is an excluding Vass who is in my opinion one of the best villains ever to be created, he is the definition of INSANITY.

    Pros:
    -Beautiful Graphics
    -One of the greatest characters of all time, Vass
    -Very enjoyable and fluent gameplay
    -Living breathing island, animals will attack u if they see you
    -AGAIN A LOT AND A LOT OF GODDAMN FUN
    -Physics, amazing physics, burn down the trees, fall damage
    -awesome healing system, basically you can UN dislocate your hand
    -Hunting and skinning animals is very rewarding and makes you feel like a total badass

    Cons:
    -Stupid plot with a very retarded ending, basically kill your friends for no real good reason, just because you can
    -Pretty much every main protagonist and antagonist besides Vass and The crazy drug addict scientist is an including the character you play as making you want the characters to die, also they all just feel so GODDAMN BLAND AND LIFELESS
    -Not enough Vass, only in the game for a very short amount of time
    -After finishing the game their is no new game meaning that the replay value is rather pitiful after taking over all the outposts and collecting all items
    -Skills points are way to easy to get, i played the game of warrior difficulty and found the game to still be way to easy
    -Rubbish coop campaign that feels rushed and is WAY TO GODDAMN DIFFICULT TO PLAY WITH ONLY 2 PLAYERS, which is sad because the story itself is rather badass
    -2 easy to get achievements, ive almost got them all

    Mixed:
    -Multplayer, i had a lot of fun with it yet it feels rather disappointing knowing that the servers are laggy as all hell and it feels like a generic COD like style multiplayer instead of using the amazing environment to create an intressting and different multplayer.

    Overall:
    I really enjoyed Far Cry 3, even if the game had a lot of cons i still very much enjoyed the game because its just so beautiful and you can see so much hard work went into creating the single player experience that all the rushed add on editions feel as if they are easily forgotten
    Expand
  11. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Far cry 3’s engaging introduction instantly inflicts emotion and realism towards the player. The captured pirate and wildlife infested island remains mysterious on its back roads, as Jason Brody, the main protagonist must discover. Although the overwhelming size of the island and customizations, it’s a gamers ever wanted playground. The supporting cast in which the story revolves around are BEYOND amazingly good. The excellent script and creative characters, leaves this game as a remember-able experience. Some of the best unpredictable exploration and free-form open world games sense fallout, which uses its strength of crazy ambition to remain as one of the most appealing and historical mentioned games to date. Expand
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    [9.2] What Far Cry 3 lacks in story quality makes up for so much in the game. It has incredibly beautiful environments with great graphics to support it, very smooth stealth and combat systems, fun activities, and endless amount of exploration, as well as a multiplayer, which may be basic, but works great with Far Cry mechanics. The co-op is also a great way to pass time, and the map editor is the best I've seen in any game, including Halo. There are very few, extremely minor flaws in the game, including occasional glitches, which are often quite funny, and poor writing, which is also often funny. It is the perfect open world experience, with plenty of other elements to satisfy almost any player. Expand
  13. May 14, 2013
    9
    The best game of 2012, yeah just like that, the question is why the hell it wasn't even a contender ta VGA's, probably because vga is full of crap! PS Just what the did to Deus Ex Human Revolution
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  15. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  16. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of those games that nearly defies description. Most of the time, when a game tries to reach this wide, it ends up trying too hard and failing at some part of it. The gameplay suffers, the engine lags, the AI is brain-dead, or something else is, if not wrong, just not right. Amazingly FC3 reached for the stars...and caught one. The game revolves around a main character who isn't a hero; he's a spoiled chump who, caught in extraordinary circumstances, metamorphoses into a killing machine dedicated to saving his friends and family from a group of psychotic pirates. So, let's look at some components. Graphics are among the best you'll find on a console, with lush jungles complete with real-time shadows (which are subject to a bit of a dithering problem, but not too awful) and detailed props. Textures are high enough resolution that it never breaks the illusion. The AI is generally intelligent, and adequately inventive to keep you on your toes in a tactical situation. Skills are varied and powerful, making a real impact on the game. Perhaps one of the best components of the game is the weapon modification system, enabling you to tune just about every weapon to your play style. The icing on the cake is a dynamic fire system pirates taking cover in tall grass are no problem, just start a fire and let it flush them out. Controls are solid, both on foot and in vehicles, without any of the annoying twitchiness that can wreck a game. Best yet, the control schema is ergonomic and trying to get something done doesn't interfere with playing the game (who wants to do the inventory hunt under fire?). Missions are varied, interesting, and generally well written. But FC3 really stands out in its writing. This game has one of video gaming's best-ever villains in a psychotic pirate named Vaas. Michael Mando brings vocal life to the insane pirate warlord, creating a character that is, without doubt, one of the best, most engaging villains that has ever appeared in a video game. The entire game is tailored as a major mind-bender, and Vaas rounds out the disconcerting world with his incredibly bent view of the world a view he shares frequently with the player. The writing also extends into philosophical grounds, as the main character's friends react to his transformation from party-hard Beverly Hills to a flint-edged warrior. One would expect, then, the sandbox world implementation to suffer, but it doesn't; there are random events aplenty, and crafting will keep you busy for hours. So why not a 10? Crafting improvements to your gear is effectively over less than halfway through the game, leaving the second half a little too static. Skills top out by the time you're two-thirds of the way through the game, so the only thing left is buying better weapons, but that runs out soon thereafter. The game has the gas to go the distance; it just doesn't quite have the tools and toys to keep itself fresh for the entire time. But don't misunderstand; Far Cry 3 is one of the absolute top-shelf best FPS/RPG hybrids ever made. Game designers and publishers should nail a copy of this to their walls so that they remember what they should be aiming for. Recommended without hesitation, it's a well-earned 9 for Far Cry 3. Expand
  19. Rem
    Nov 7, 2013
    9
    "Did I ever tell you the definition of insanity?" says Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist of Far Cry 3. I can surely answer that, Far Cry 3 has gotten me insane, but usually because it's just so damn fun. What Far Cry 3 does isn't entirely original, but boy is it ever so polished. The main surprise in this game is the story. Not only is it leaps and bounds above its predecessors, its among the best of 2012. The story, while not consistent, is presented very well with cinematic voice acting and graphics. Rook Island is a beautiful place to explore ranging from jungle to ruin. The fun thing is how it all blends into a cohesive experience. However once you finish the game, there isn't much else to do which is Far Cry 3's greatest flaw. Despite so, it remembers that it is a game and it remembers that is a great game. Expand
  20. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    One of the best open-world games ever made. A truly epic sandbox a great dynamic environment some of the best voice acting and some truly memorable characters deep customisation great graphics the gameplay is top-notch and feels great and the missions all have different events unlike GTA the controls are excellent too a must have
  21. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is a great game, but its flaws keep it from being an amazing game. The story definitely could be better but the gameplay is superb. The game will captivate you for around 5 or 6 hours in but after that, things fall apart in a not so great finale.
  23. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3 is the best game ever for about five to ten hours, then starting forest fires with a flamethrower and blowing up a animals with an RPG just kind of gets old. I like the story and the setting. The landscape looks great and its really cool that the box art is actually a real spot in the game (try to find it!). The weapon selection and upgrades are nice. I liked how you had to work to open up the map and aim to make targets show up. I felt cheated every time I died due to the game breaking it's own rules. The enemies are a little funny at first, but they only said a few lines, so I got pretty tired of them fast. I spent over 50 hours in the game because I went after absolutely everything, and I can say that there is no reward in getting every piece of loot, so resist being a completionist. The driving should really have been third-person because walking everywhere got very tedious. My car would either explode or get stuck on a twig within 20 seconds of getting in it. The choices of the open world made the game open-ended for different styles of play. For example, I took an outpost with only two bears when I could have used bullets or bombs or arrows. Overall, this title is a good open world game with so much to do and good memories to have, but little short on the story mode and gets slightly repetitive. Expand
  24. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    I've been dying for this game to come out, watched every video, read all the news and rumours, and then when it came out, I skipped my exams, went home and played it for a good three hours straight. And now that I finished it. Here is my "opinon"

    Story: this game focuses on insanity. And while leaving some plot holes, it makes you think is it bad story telling or is Jason Brody insane?
    And a lot of the stuff could be a fragment of his diritating mind?, but from what I gathered it's a great story that keeps you guessing, and while having two okay endings.. It's still pretty unique and covered the insanity tale well. The cast of this game is well done, from spies, to Australians to Germans, to Americans, all is AAA voiced acted. Everyone sounds authentic. The animals sound terrifyingly satisfying. The guns sound different and all the brushes and wildlife sound authentic.

    Graphics: being a console, it has it's pop ins and some screen tearing but overall looks great with a nice sense of cell shade. The fire is the best I've seen, especially when coming from the flamethrower. The rain is all well and good, but sometimes storms appear out of the blue, not in a realistic way, the waters look nice but could of used more splashes when swimming fast, again it is consoles.

    Gameplay: very diverse, stealth works well, and guns blazing is great also, lots of weapons (43) and attachments to buy etc, 85% of this game you choose ur style some missions would require a specific approach.

    Overall it is a reveloutionary single player FPS and it destroys it completion I'm the single player experience, I'm a offline gamer (a rare dying breed) to do everything it take about 35 to 50 hrs, you get ur money's worth, go and buy it now.
    Expand
  25. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  26. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  27. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    The thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I had written this one off. Well Giant Bomb had a quick look and I figured that wouldn't hurt and within about 10 minutes I was convinced that I would like this game. So, two days after it comes out I decide I need to have it and pop it in and get going. I remember being totally lost in the first few minutes of 2 and wasn't sure how I was going to tackle this new one. Luckily it sort of eases you into the open island and gives you the basic knowledge of survival (read: crafting). So after about two to three hours I feel like I am blowing through it way to quick and having too much fun and decide I need to pace myself. I found myself thinking about the game while I wasn't playing. Thoughts such as "What things do I need to do next, get materials for crafting? What do I want to craft next? Should I continue with the story or go get more radio towers? What skills should I invest in?". It was wild that I cared this much about a game outside of playing it and then it dawned on me that the last time this happened was Skyrim. I've been somewhat disappointed since Skyrim that nothing has really grabbed me as well and tricked me into throwing 86 hours of my life into it over the course of 4 weeks. Well, Far Cry 3 came to the rescue and scratched that itch. I always liked the aura of Skyrim but never was really motivated to go find cool site seeing locations. With Far Cry 3 I was always wanting to see what was on the other side of the hill and see how far I could see and generally just view this paradise that I was tromping through. The best part was definitely the exploring and being able to scale massive mountains, hang glide [spoiler] wingsuit [/spoiler] for what felt like miles was totally exhilarating. One bit I was surprised by was the driving. They tackled that aspect extremely well so that it doesn't feel like a clunky part of the game you want to avoid and compromise with walking. Jumping in a jeep and bouncing around as you roared through the jungle dodging trees and aiming for enemies felt exactly like I would have imagined it. So that was the upside of Far Cry 3, but unfortunately there were some downsides too. Remember how I was hooked? Well that continued through the first half of the game and a little bit into the second half but eventually the story slows down and doesn't feel as irrational as some of the missions in the first half. There was also a skills tree which I hardly used at all and felt it had little effect on my play through. It was only towards that end that I realized I had all these upgrades available to me and with them I didn't feel like I could accomplish anything more efficiently. While some may argue that certain characters were weak in this game (especially the main) I found it also had some great characters: Vaas and Sam Becker being my favorites. I don't really know who the right crowd for this game is as I didn't think it was myself going in, but I can say I got my brother who normally has zero interest in games to play it and beat it before me. So my recommendation is that if you are interested in the slightest bit, you need to sit down and play 2-3 hours and you will understand what I am talking about. Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    When I first looked at this game,I thought it would be decent.But after really fun combat,Great story and lots of exploring,it was way better than I expected.
  29. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect, Far Cry 3 provides us with a world just about as beautiful as it is massive. With radio towers, exploration not only is a tourist attraction, it's an objective. Honestly, I will always miss carrying around my GPS and map, searching for blood diamonds, and taking malaria pills (perhaps not that last one), Far Cry 3 provides a more convenient atmosphere more geared towards a thrilling experience. And, a little tangent: Vaas is fricken' awesome. Expand
  30. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.