User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1289 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I counted the other day that I've completed at least 22 Xbox games' single player campaigns and also played many other games I haven't bothered finishing

    Far Cry 3 is in the top 3 games I have played It's an open world FPS and will take up a lot of your time very good value for money Great main story with a vast amount of other content including taking out military bases by
    I counted the other day that I've completed at least 22 Xbox games' single player campaigns and also played many other games I haven't bothered finishing

    Far Cry 3 is in the top 3 games I have played

    It's an open world FPS and will take up a lot of your time very good value for money

    Great main story with a vast amount of other content including taking out military bases by stealh or all guns blazing

    A good leveling up system and much more to keep you busy

    I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I can't understand the few negative reviews on this site

    If you buy one FPS this generation make it this one
    Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smartThe first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smart plot to a virtual sandbox for an FPS, but before you groan about the well-worn genres, the whole thing is kept alive by intelligent implementation, and a huge amount of fun!! The graphics aren't faultless but they do the job well, and the sound is storming, with a massive hole-peppered wall of eerie fx and music. Don't buy Far Cry 3 because you want another shooter; buy it because you want to play something compelling, but a lot of fun. Expand
  3. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is a great game, but its flaws keep it from being an amazing game. The story definitely could be better but the gameplay is superb. The game will captivate you for around 5 or 6 hours in but after that, things fall apart in a not so great finale.
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is myFirst off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is my favourite part of the game, hands down. I love the way hunting is done, from the rewards that come with skinning an animal to unpredictable animal encounters. What made it great was having the bow because this weapon is probably one of the best weapons I have ever used, great for taking out animals as well as using it to stealthily kill everyone in a camp without being detected. Everything else is great about the game too, the characters are fun and interesting, especially Vaas and the gameplay is fun too. The missions are fun to play and there are plenty of replay value, from side missions to capturing bases. I've gone on too long with this review but I wanted to tell how amazed I was at the game and how fun and big it was, also the map is probably the one of the biggest ones I've seen in a game. Bottom line the game has great gameplay, great characters, great story, great replay value and, of course, a great hunting system. 10/10 (BTW did I mention I love the hunting system?) Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the biggest and best surprises of 2012, an amazing game with nearly every aspect of the game being near perfection . The game play is great on PC (the driving and combat was great , but the cover system could be improved )the story is great but i would have liked if some characters got a bit more depth (such as Liza ;) )The graphics are also amazing, there were many things that surprised me such as crocs in the river, i love this amount of depth in a open world game. There are also many objectives none of which seem boring or tacked on.Some other things that could be improved upon would be the repetition at the start of the game i.e. constantly having to sneak around is boring and annoying why does a silenced scorpion alert guards wtf?, the heal animations. Also loved how there was player choice in the ending but it want really reflects as much through out the game. Ubisoft's best game of 2012 /in quite a while and possible one of THE best of 2012. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing, literally amazing. The missions are so much fun, I mean there are some straight forward, kinda meh missions but there soem absolutely bonkers missions which don't even feel like a first person shooter but more of a japanese insanity game. seriously though, this game is my favourite game of 2011 - 2013. it is absolutely beautiful, the graphics, the story, it's so compelling and youAmazing, literally amazing. The missions are so much fun, I mean there are some straight forward, kinda meh missions but there soem absolutely bonkers missions which don't even feel like a first person shooter but more of a japanese insanity game. seriously though, this game is my favourite game of 2011 - 2013. it is absolutely beautiful, the graphics, the story, it's so compelling and you really become jason, the protagonist. he slowly becomes more insane and more hungry to just kill, you get that same feeling as you get more skills, especially takedowns, they inspire my bloodlust in the game. A MUST BUY. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great game with a nice open world to explore with a bunch of different collectibles to find and collect. The story isn't all that great, but the gameplay and missions make up for it greatly. It's really fun to play and the graphics are really good. However, there are quite a few bugs that I experienced with this game while playing. The characters are also really great, Vas is one of my favorite villains in a video game. Expand
  8. May 3, 2013
    9
    One of the best games released in 2012, It's perfect in every way, The Xbox 360 version has some framerate and FOV issues, Making the PC version superior(As always).
  9. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY
  11. May 23, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far Cry 3 is one of those games that I spent HOURS and HOURS playing, really enjoying the combat and overall gameplay for a multitude of reasons. And whilst i never reaaallly enjoy the story of Jason Brody and totally had many issues with some of the narrative points. I cannot deny the fact that I absolutely adored the overall gameplay, environment and setting.

    I actually really enjoyed the game. I remember all the hype I had for it in 2011 and I remember every moment playing the game in 2013, me being a lot fatter and naive to the real world and its problems.

    Its great and fantastic. Its a good time and I very much recommend checking it out.

    Im actually really hoping that Ubisoft kinda remaster or add the game to the PS4 with the release of Far Cry 5. Would be nice being able to return to the tropical islands of Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  12. May 6, 2013
    8
    Having enjoyed the first two installments of Far Cry, I thought I would give Far Cry 3 a whirl. While it has many similar features to Far Cry 2, this time around those features have been improved and added to. Travelling around the game world is far less tedious than previously, missions are far less repetitive, there is a much wider range of things to do than in previous games and theHaving enjoyed the first two installments of Far Cry, I thought I would give Far Cry 3 a whirl. While it has many similar features to Far Cry 2, this time around those features have been improved and added to. Travelling around the game world is far less tedious than previously, missions are far less repetitive, there is a much wider range of things to do than in previous games and the story is a lot tighter. There are some parts of the game that are not so good the story, whilst ambitious, falls short of it's own ambitions and feels a little forced, the main character's personal journey does not really feel plausible, the guns all feel very similar and lack realism, there is not real feeling of survivalism as money is plentiful and you can unlock all the weapons without having to pay for them. Having said all that, Far Cry 3 is a lot of fun, has a long campaign by the standards of other FPS' and at least tries to have somewhere deep storyline. Well worth a look! Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches" ! MAN UP! "Only bought it for the map editor" If thats how you get your kicks then your boring.
  14. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    This is easily one of the best 2012 first-person shooters I've played. Exploring a large island while undertaking different missions and activities spells hours of fun. Unlocking weapons, getting upgrades, expanding territory and exploring the island leads to a lot of replayability. It's no slouch in the graphics department. While it's not the best-looking game on the 360, it's prettyThis is easily one of the best 2012 first-person shooters I've played. Exploring a large island while undertaking different missions and activities spells hours of fun. Unlocking weapons, getting upgrades, expanding territory and exploring the island leads to a lot of replayability. It's no slouch in the graphics department. While it's not the best-looking game on the 360, it's pretty close. The only downsides are the multiplayer and co-op, both of which aren't very spectacular (and don't justify an extra $10 if you buy the game used). Regardless, this is an amazing game that first-person shooter fans of every stripe should try. Expand
  15. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    It's like minecraft, but... Farcry. Farcraft.

    Oh, and the story is twisted, engrossing, and savagely entertaining. Shameless. SO SO SO SO SO SO GOOD
  16. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    The thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I hadThe thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I had written this one off. Well Giant Bomb had a quick look and I figured that wouldn't hurt and within about 10 minutes I was convinced that I would like this game. So, two days after it comes out I decide I need to have it and pop it in and get going. I remember being totally lost in the first few minutes of 2 and wasn't sure how I was going to tackle this new one. Luckily it sort of eases you into the open island and gives you the basic knowledge of survival (read: crafting). So after about two to three hours I feel like I am blowing through it way to quick and having too much fun and decide I need to pace myself. I found myself thinking about the game while I wasn't playing. Thoughts such as "What things do I need to do next, get materials for crafting? What do I want to craft next? Should I continue with the story or go get more radio towers? What skills should I invest in?". It was wild that I cared this much about a game outside of playing it and then it dawned on me that the last time this happened was Skyrim. I've been somewhat disappointed since Skyrim that nothing has really grabbed me as well and tricked me into throwing 86 hours of my life into it over the course of 4 weeks. Well, Far Cry 3 came to the rescue and scratched that itch. I always liked the aura of Skyrim but never was really motivated to go find cool site seeing locations. With Far Cry 3 I was always wanting to see what was on the other side of the hill and see how far I could see and generally just view this paradise that I was tromping through. The best part was definitely the exploring and being able to scale massive mountains, hang glide [spoiler] wingsuit [/spoiler] for what felt like miles was totally exhilarating. One bit I was surprised by was the driving. They tackled that aspect extremely well so that it doesn't feel like a clunky part of the game you want to avoid and compromise with walking. Jumping in a jeep and bouncing around as you roared through the jungle dodging trees and aiming for enemies felt exactly like I would have imagined it. So that was the upside of Far Cry 3, but unfortunately there were some downsides too. Remember how I was hooked? Well that continued through the first half of the game and a little bit into the second half but eventually the story slows down and doesn't feel as irrational as some of the missions in the first half. There was also a skills tree which I hardly used at all and felt it had little effect on my play through. It was only towards that end that I realized I had all these upgrades available to me and with them I didn't feel like I could accomplish anything more efficiently. While some may argue that certain characters were weak in this game (especially the main) I found it also had some great characters: Vaas and Sam Becker being my favorites. I don't really know who the right crowd for this game is as I didn't think it was myself going in, but I can say I got my brother who normally has zero interest in games to play it and beat it before me. So my recommendation is that if you are interested in the slightest bit, you need to sit down and play 2-3 hours and you will understand what I am talking about. Expand
  17. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This a review that is mostly in progress but so far I've put in about 15 hours so I have a rough idea of what Far Cry 3 has to offer. I still can't wait to continue playing as I type.

    You shuffle your way towards a smoking outpost, bow in hand, you take out a patrolling sniper that was spying the opposite direction. Using your binoculars you spot two other guards and cleverly you throw a stone to distract them. All of a sudden, allied forces (the amanaki warriors) assault from the west and you pick off the stragglers. The base is yours.
    As someone who despises linear games with a passion, playing Far Cry 3 allows me to play the way i want. Do you want to go in like a ninja and stab them up close? or Shoot them from afar with a sniper rifle? Screw that, just shoot the animal cage nearby and let the bear do the work for you. The shackles have mostly come off in what is a beautiful open world game. For those unfamiliar with the Far Cry series, it first started off under the tenure of Crytek who then passed the game onto Ubisoft to carry the game forward. And what a good job they have done! The game revolves around the lives of a group of spoilt, rich, Californians who (quite literally) landed into the drug and sex slave trade on Rook Island. You play as Jason Brody, someone who on paper you would despise but actually warms to you throughout the game as you watch him turn from a gun shy novice to a leader of many. Split off from the rest of the crew, and on a mission to avenge his murdered brother, Jason sets out to find and kill the ruthless gangs who enslaved his friends and oppressed the Island with the help of Citra and her warrior army. Sounds cliche right? It is the characters that fill the game that make it awesome rather than the storyline. Vaas, one of the many protagonists in FC3 is probably hands down, one of the best antagonists I've seen in a video game. Yeah, that good. He embodies a persona that really makes you wonder what he will do next, his mind is on the brink of insanity and it starts to rub off on Jason as he gleefully stabs a foot-soldier with a tribal knife.

    Ubisoft Montreal don't take this game seriously and are happy to mess around and keep things fresh for the gamer's entertainment. A memorable mission that really stood out for me was you (Brody) were asked to piss off a drug lord enough to be lured back to mainland Rook Island. How would you do that? By burning down his weed with a flamethrower and a dub-fueled soundtrack. Awesome.

    You would wonder why I haven't given this game the perfect 10 score then? It is because Far Cry is somewhat technically flawed. Even though on the console it is really pretty, the strain of running the game leads to constant texture pop ins and mild glitches. None of them game breakers, but they do hinder Far Cry 3 from greatness. Also, I would like to point out a little niggle of mine that may not put others off but which I find annoying. The saving system is slightly flawed. You can't save anywhere and respawn there, it will only drop you off in a nearby safe-house or a nearby radio tower if you so happen to die. So if you spot a cave that you want to explore later and save so you would return where you left off, don't be surprised when you spawn inside an abandoned shack instead. The console versions inevitably won't look as good as it will on the PC, but the graphics are still amazing on any platform. The AI also are at times something to admire. What they lack in intelligence, they make up in unfiltered aggression and if they spot you, they will often pursue you far away from their base. Animals are also a very important mechanic in the game as they form a part in the crafting system. Wherever you roam, you may see such things like Komodo Dragons slithering through the jungle hunting nearby goats or in other cases, you or an unfortunate nearby local. If you kill an animal, chances are you can skin, sell or craft it into an expanded gun holster or a new wallet. To progress through the game, you will have to deactivate radio towers nearby so you can clear the surrounding area to be seen on your map (kind of like the Assassins Creed Synchronization perches). Often this offers a challenge to do so; maybe you have to get past a nearby guarding tiger or the base of the tower is rusted and will make you more likely to fall off. Once the tower is deactivated, it allows you to buy more of the large array of weapons available for free (my favorite by far is the recurve crossbow). The multiplayer and Co-op modes aren't stand alone gems but they are solid, if not, unoriginal. I still haven't even mentioned the detailed level creator, the loot and collectables and the solid driving but I don't need to. If you haven't noticed already, I am in love with this game and even with the flaws; I beg you to buy Far Cry 3. This game offers something for everyone and without a doubt, I will be playing this game for a long time.
    Expand
  18. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I played Borderlands 2 and had hours of fun, Halo 4 came out and wowed with it's graphics, now we have Far Cry 3 and at the end of the year no doubt. I have been following this since it was announced and I pre-ordered, mind you I don't typically do that.

    I have spent 20+ hours with this done some story missions and climbed about 10 radio towers, there is just so much packed into this
    I played Borderlands 2 and had hours of fun, Halo 4 came out and wowed with it's graphics, now we have Far Cry 3 and at the end of the year no doubt. I have been following this since it was announced and I pre-ordered, mind you I don't typically do that.

    I have spent 20+ hours with this done some story missions and climbed about 10 radio towers, there is just so much packed into this game. It took a little bit to get used to, as the game doesn't hold your hands, it gives you the basics and leaves you to your own devices.

    Once I got the hang of how the whole thing works I was hunting and crafting to make my hunter more efficient. Vaas is an excellent villain one of the best I've seen in a while. What I love most about this game is the randomness. Yesterday for the heck of it I decided to run into the jungle ran into a rare tiger, fought with him, killed him, then stumbled across a motorboat and drove it down a waterfall.

    Started an enemy base on fire that spread into the forest animals scattering everywhere. Then I came across a cave and the game cycle entered night, cave was kind of creepy, then I heard the sounds of something in there, found some good loot, then a bear comes out from deep within the cave and kills me.

    This was just 20 minutes of messing around, its easy to loose yourself for hours playing this game. There's just fun around every corner and the encounters are always random and different. I'm very impressed with the amount of constantly random content in this game.

    This is my first Far Cry game, the cons always outweighed the pros to me but this one is way different and I'm happy to close off the year with this gem of a game.

    Pros:
    -Graphics
    -Gameplay
    -Story
    -Randomness
    -Openworld
    -Vehicles

    Cons:
    -Some missions when your near the mission area and try to wander the game warns you "Leaving mission area turn back or fail the mission" this sucks cause the other day I found a rare animal and hunted them, once I skinned the animal I failed and had to restart at the last checkpoint and lost my rare animal skin.
    -I would say the checkpoint system and the inability to save in mission is a setback.
    -Also, you can't change active quest or turn off active quest in game i.e. Skyrim, Borderlands 2.

    Other than those minor gripes this is BY FAR my Game of the Year!!!
    Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Enredo e gráficos e mecânicas são bens trabalhada proporcionando um ótimo jogo.
  20. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Oh God..... I LOVE this game!! THE best sandpit experience ever and major contender for game of the year. The freedom to follow the story campaign and divert to side missions, or just explore is brilliant. Just to go hunting and stumble upon hidden caves, (full of goodies and collectables) or jump off a mountain in a hang glider and choose any destination to land is freedom afforded byOh God..... I LOVE this game!! THE best sandpit experience ever and major contender for game of the year. The freedom to follow the story campaign and divert to side missions, or just explore is brilliant. Just to go hunting and stumble upon hidden caves, (full of goodies and collectables) or jump off a mountain in a hang glider and choose any destination to land is freedom afforded by very few games. And trouble is never far away whether you are free roaming or questing, be it human or wild beast. Simply.............. AWESOME !!!! Expand
  21. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    Good game. The story is great, Jason Brody is an interesting and compelling character, Vaas' character is only surpassed by The Joker the the Batman: Arkham series IMO. He's interesting, unpredictable, bad-ass and INSANE. There's lots of things to do in the story mode, Side-quests, Mini-games, Hunting, Assassination, Exploring and just plain annihilating the pirates! Crafting and theGood game. The story is great, Jason Brody is an interesting and compelling character, Vaas' character is only surpassed by The Joker the the Batman: Arkham series IMO. He's interesting, unpredictable, bad-ass and INSANE. There's lots of things to do in the story mode, Side-quests, Mini-games, Hunting, Assassination, Exploring and just plain annihilating the pirates! Crafting and the Ta-tau add an interesting twist on leveling up, and the take-downs leave you feeling bad-ass. Now i normally dont like Quick-Time-Events (QTE's) in games, but FarCry 3 does them very well. They are well co-coordinated and they do not feel like a last second addition as the did in Halo 4, overall the QTE's are very satisfying, you'll know what i mean when you play FC3. Collapse
  22. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Best game of 2012..everything about this game is amazing.. I'm still playing it every now and then, a month after beating it.go buy it ...its a million miles better than call of booty... booooom!
  23. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    Far cry 3 was an interesting game, mixing exploration, fps and a few rpg elements together to form something which played out rather well. A decent story, good re playability and a rather amazing island to explore make farcry 3 an experience you should definitely check out
  24. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean.
    Expand
  25. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is now my favorite all-time game! Half-life 2 was previously my 1st person favorite. Then Call of Duty. Then Battlefield Bad Company. Then Bioshock 1, 2, Infinite. (I probably missed a few amongst my collection skyrim, etc...) but Far Cry 3 did EVERYTHING right! I hated Far Cry 1 and 2 because you either spent all your time looking for a gas mask or spent hours mudainly walkingThis is now my favorite all-time game! Half-life 2 was previously my 1st person favorite. Then Call of Duty. Then Battlefield Bad Company. Then Bioshock 1, 2, Infinite. (I probably missed a few amongst my collection skyrim, etc...) but Far Cry 3 did EVERYTHING right! I hated Far Cry 1 and 2 because you either spent all your time looking for a gas mask or spent hours mudainly walking from one location to another hoping to find a vehicle somewhere. If you hated these elements with previous Far Cry 1 and 2, but liked the atmosphere of exploring an island, you'll really, really enjoy Far Cry 3. The nice overhead map lets you quickly travel from place to place plus there are vehicles, jet-skies, hand-gliders all over the place where you can choose how to specifically approach each mission/bad guy camp (usually involving capturing an enemy encampment using a different set of strategies/weapons). You can go in guns blazing or secretly snipe or hand take down each enemy. Just toss a rock to then sneak up behind them. There's plenty of encampments so you'll get your chance to try another strategy again. Then there's the really neat way you upgrade your guns and medicine. To build bigger ammo type pouches to carry more ammo, you hunt certain animals in one of the best hunting type games around. Animals will charge you and protect their kind. Or you may see a Cheetah chasing a deer for easy pick off. There's snakes, there's sharks, there's dogs, buffalo, deer komodo dragons, etc... each one's hide improving what you can carry. another big plus is that you can still run just as fast regardless of what you carry. i hate it when games only allow you to run a short distance fast or slower with more gear. Climbing the towers to make new areas visible was a brilliant design move. Each tower in itself is a challenge to climb and one wrong step sends you tumbling to your death. The scenery alone is unbelievable and you really get a sense of vertigo (not recommended for those afraid of heights!). The graphics are top notch to make you feel like you are right there! The plot is basically you, a weak, non-fighter type of guy must take on the role of rescuing your friends forcing you to learn new skills along the way. It's not the best plot but one you'll remember. Don't expect to fight any huge monsters in Far Cry 3 but you can expect a clever AI which tries to surround you, outflank you, or run for cover. I actually enjoy Far Cry 3 over Bioshock Infinite! I've been playing it non-stop for a week now. There's so much to do and so much to see that any minor, minor, minor glitches can easily be overlooked. It's a near perfect game in my books short only to actually being on the island. It's an experience I'll always remember (like fighting the war of the world aliens in Half-Life 2). What I think I like the most about Far Cry 3 is that you approach each situation differently so strategy Is a big factor. Strategy and the type of weapon you use are important. I haven't even mentioned the dream sequences which you'll have to see for yourself. The only mission i really didn't want to do was burn up all the bad guys pot plant fields (for personal reasons). I was reluctant to dish out the $60 for Far Cry 3 given all the things I didn't like about 1 and 2 but they did everything right with Far Cry 3 and I couldn't be happier about spending the dough! Money well spent. I didn't try the multi-player but I think Far Cry 3 is one of the best single-player 1st person shooter/adventure games currently on the market. Expand
  26. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    What a fanatastic game... Totally stoked! played it on a whole weekend and it din't get boring for a single second. Even if the Multiplayer seems to be a little unecessary, the singleplayer convinces with a captivating storyline and the craziest characters I've ever seen (apart from borderlands...). In my opinion the Game of the Year 2012!
  27. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Without a doubt one of my favorite games I've ever played, and what I mean by that is it ranks up there with Twisted Metal and Crash Bandicoot on my child-like list of favorites. Hunting and skinning exotic wildlife for wallets and pouches should not be this fun. It's lush, harsh, at times unforgiving, and if you use anything other than the bow and arrow I personally think you're playingWithout a doubt one of my favorite games I've ever played, and what I mean by that is it ranks up there with Twisted Metal and Crash Bandicoot on my child-like list of favorites. Hunting and skinning exotic wildlife for wallets and pouches should not be this fun. It's lush, harsh, at times unforgiving, and if you use anything other than the bow and arrow I personally think you're playing the game wrong. Burning out a hostile camp with fire arrows, ambushing a convoy with the explosive arrows, and silently taking out your enemies from the bushes is all so rewarding. The recurve bow and the red long barrel .44 are the only weapons I've spent my in-game on. Painting them and using them exclusively gives me this weird sense of signature ownership. My favorite thing about Far Car 3, however, is how it presents itself. It was obviously made by dedicated people who most likely love this game more than we possibly could, and it pays off. Expand
  28. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Actually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothlyActually,this is an really AWESOME sandbox shooting game for those players who is new to the Far Cry series...but for the FANS...there is some TINY---VERY TINY disappointment in this game...especially...those total Far Cry 2 fans..... First of all, there's NO GUN JAMMING in this game...many people may ask "Isn't that nice ?"...Well, for those FPS player who wants to have a smoothly gunfight like the COD..."YES.".....but for those FC2 fans...that was really unacceptable...cuz it's fun and it's realistic for those hardcore FPS players....i know that sometime the mechanism is quite frustrating,but it is its feature---FUN and DANGEROUS, isn't it ? Second,the MONEY....yeh...i know that earning money fast isn't bad...but in Far Cry 3 ....it's just too damn fast !!! It just makes all this survival feeling game become tooo EASY for those hardcore FPS player or those who struggle finding diamonds in FC 2....(and yes, prefer the diamonds in FC 2) Third,there is no SLEEPING SYSTEM in these game..so..if you want to have a night walk of stealthy killing...you have to wait----till the sun set......and that's really damn long... And last, the HEALING SYSTEM is really really worse than FC2...it's just too "easy" for me---a FC2 player. So,if you are new to these kind of game....i highly recommend it ........it's a must buy for sure..........but for those FC2 fans...i think they should think twice whether you are ready to let go those fun experience and accept those new things... Still, i'll give this game a 8.3/10 for bringing soo much fun to me. Expand
  29. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    This game is very entertaining every minute of gameplay. There is always something interesting to do. It has that unique Far Cry feel and won't disappoint fans. The developer has addressed a few of the complaints from Far Cry 2 and added extra features like crafting. Really reminds me of the original.
  30. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    i want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway thei want to say im surprised alot of ppl did not like this game, it had pluses that the far cry 2 lacked, i loved the colorful graphics, the main character was my only turn off, he coulda been a lil less jock. Voss, Citra, were my favorites the story with them coulda had more of them in it...i like the gun upgrades and no more miss fires or damaged weapons like part 2..Anyway the hunting,skill points,scenery,ATV, were just greeat things i beat it in a week but i will go through again..it is a good challenge, had me mad a few times to the point where i wanted to put it down but it sucked me back in..i woulda liked to see a dirtbike or motorcycle, the backroads and trails woulda been alot of fun..the maze to find Relics were discouraging..but all in all it was my number one game of this year..it is hard to compare to Hitman, or the soon to be Tomb Raider, and Splinter Cell but i think they will also be a great game..sorry to babble on mostly about useless info, but its opinions not facts..thanks Expand
  31. Jul 27, 2014
    8
    Good game. The story is great, Jason Brody is an interesting and compelling character, Vaas' character is only surpassed by The Joker the the Batman: Arkham series IMO. He's interesting, unpredictable, bad-ass and INSANE. There's lots of things to do in the story mode, Side-quests, Mini-games, Hunting, Assassination, Exploring and just plain annihilating the pirates! Crafting and theGood game. The story is great, Jason Brody is an interesting and compelling character, Vaas' character is only surpassed by The Joker the the Batman: Arkham series IMO. He's interesting, unpredictable, bad-ass and INSANE. There's lots of things to do in the story mode, Side-quests, Mini-games, Hunting, Assassination, Exploring and just plain annihilating the pirates! Crafting and the Ta-tau add an interesting twist on leveling up, and the take-downs leave you feeling bad-ass. Now i normally dont like Quick-Time-Events (QTE's) in games, but FarCry 3 does them very well. They are well co-coordinated and they do not feel like a last second addition as the did in Halo 4, overall the QTE's are very satisfying, you'll know what i mean when you play FC3. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.