Far Cry 3 Xbox 360

Far Cry 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight toIn Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost its understanding of what's right and wrong. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Far Cry 3, a pretty good open-world shooter, is a terrible sequel to Far Cry 2. One of the hallmarks of Far Cry 2 was that you never left the game world, even to check your map. But like many good games, Far Cry 3 is brimming with gamey stuff that takes you out of the world and into the gaminess.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 290
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get throughI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches"I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches" ! MAN UP! "Only bought it for the map editor" If thats how you get your kicks then your boring. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and settingA game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. IFar Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, FarFar Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  6. May 1, 2013
    8
    I really think this is worth your money. I got it because it looked crazy, and weird (which it is) and I got more than I expected. The storyI really think this is worth your money. I got it because it looked crazy, and weird (which it is) and I got more than I expected. The story is amazing, and has the best bad guy of all time. I even felt bad when he dies. After finishing the main campaign I captured every enemy camp, and did almost every side quest. I thought I would have restarted, but I feel like one play through is enough. That is the only reason I'm giving it an 8 out of 10. I feel like this kind of game should have good quests and a and missions that will last as long as Skyrim did. All of the good missions end after about the 23 hour mark. Still is amazing though, and definitely worth your time. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2015
    0
    hoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing thathoped that, being this the third instalment of a sequel, it might have a chance of actually being something good. The only good thing that comes out of it is the idea behind it all, which is a shame. It feels and looks like you're playing a 128 bits console and it is so repetitive... the whole picking items up and crafting stuff is confusing, boring and not very believable. You can hide but there is no cover option, which makes a whole sense in this type of game. Expand

See all 290 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.