• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Even if you have already played Instincts on the Xbox I can’t encourage you enough to check out the 360 version of Far Cry. The graphical improvements are simply outstanding, especially on an HDTV, and easily approach the quality of the original PC game.
  2. 90
    The single-player game features some welcome additions (pipe bombs are a lot of noisy, nasty fun), while the multiplayer is even more fun than it was the last time out. This is undoubtedly one of the Xbox 360's best titles.
  3. With so many ways to approach any given combat situation, Predator is more cerebral than other shooters, and allows you to play the way you want to. [Jun 2006, p.114]
  4. While it’s not worth upgrading from the Xbox version for the graphics improvements alone, the fact that you essentially get the expansion for free does help make up for the feeling that the game isn’t as next-gen as it really ought to be.
  5. A solid and fun first-person shooter. Unfortunately, it doesn’t quite have the next-generation visuals. While the jungles look pleasant enough, the numerous in-door areas are nothing short of fugly. [Apr 2006]
  6. A feature-packed bundle that's fun to play, but won't blow the socks off Fary Cry experts. [May 2006, p.77]
  7. The graphics are quite stunning and the sound does not disappoint. The storyline is engaging and the voices are superb and almost too realistic.
  8. The Instincts portion is a great game, looks absolutely stunning, and is fun and exciting, if a little easy and short.
  9. Excellent storyline, fantastic game play and next generation graphics, its well worth the price of admission.
  10. If you haven't played Far Cry for the Xbox already, then by all means you should pick up Far Cry Instincts: Predator. It's got a satisfying and fun single player mode, and its online play has the unique feature of being able to run both original maps and custom created ones
  11. 83
    Killing things with feral powers is always enjoyable, and the expanded multiplayer options help to keep this game entertaining long after you blaze through the new single player content.
  12. The visuals in Far Cry Instincts Predator look great. The lush, detailed jungle is lush compliments the fluid, realistic water very well.
  13. While its newly added content and Evolution missions are welcomed additions, the main game doesn’t do anything that really sets it apart from the Xbox version and that includes the visuals.
  14. All in all, Far Cry Instincts and Evolution are two games worth playing. If you haven’t played the Xbox version, you should definitely think about getting it for the 360.
  15. The A.I. isn’t tha great, but the controls and gameplay are still intact from the original.
  16. The intuitive map editor can add a lot of life to the game.
  17. Far Cry debuts on the 360 with a bang, featuring the same solid gameplay and lush visual, and adds a superb multiplayer and map-creator to enhance its longevity.
  18. One big, giant, fly in the umbrella drink is that as refreshing as these bright visuals are - especially at HDTV resolution (720p) - it's pretty clear that many of the graphics were ported directly from the Xbox version.
  19. The 'Feral' abilities make the experience unlike most other games out there and some of the online game types are immense fun.
  20. What's refreshing is the level of freedom you're given. [Issue #7]
  21. If you're new to the series, Far Cry Instincts: Predator is an excellent first-person shooter package. [May 2006, p.48]
  22. Here’s the kicker for those of you who already completed the Instincts chapter in the previous Xbox version: you cannot unlock the Evolution chapter in Far Cry: Instincts – Predator without finishing the Instincts chapter first (unless you know the cheat code, of course).
  23. If you have never played a Far Cry game before then now is the time as Far Cry Instincts Predator has a lot to offer.
  24. Plenty of Bruckheimer-style action, a decent suite of multiplayer options, strong visuals, and a variety-packed single-player mode. Derivative it might be, both of past Far Cry games and other FPSes, but there's still no arguing with the quality of this offering.
  25. A meaty first-person shooter with lots of action and some great features, especially with its multiplayer components.
  26. By packaging last year's excellent "Far Cry Instincts" with a new campaign and a bigger multiplayer suite, Far Cry Instincts Predator delivers a ton of content to Xbox 360 owners.
  27. The map editor has gotten a nice boost in functionality and the online multiplayer modes are sure to keep players busy for months, but how long do we have to wait until there is a true sequel for Far Cry?
  28. The real reason to hunker down the cash for Predator rests squarely on the shoulders as to whether you really get off on XBL and/or enjoy playing with level editors. If you do, then I'd say Predator is definitely worth the money. If you're a casual FPS fan with a new X360, a rental would more than suffice.
  29. An enjoyable experience, and the animalistic twist on the usual weaponry is a nice idea, but as all of us who shelled out on the new Microsoft console should be asking ‘is the 360 really being stretched by this?’
  30. If you have played the original and also the sequel on the Xbox, then I would call Far Cry Instincts Predator a renter. If you have played the original on the Xbox, then you have some pretty strong reasons for getting the Xbox 360 version, including the graphical upgrades, the Instincts: Evolution story, and also the multiplayer mode.
  31. Ultimately, the promise of Far Cry's early enjoyably beachy facade doesn't entirely pay for the derivative sins of its latter half. [Jun 2006, p.83]
  32. The single player game leaves a bit to be desired thanks to some really poor computer AI and a bit of monotony.
  33. 75
    Predator isn't a huge upgrade from the Xbox games but if you want to play the game on your Xbox 360 then this is the all in one package.
  34. All of this is topped with solid online play and a pretty decent map-making tool. It will take some time to create your own perfect jungle battlefield, but this feature is a gold mine for online shooters.
  35. The improvements are marginal at best (which may be a tribute to just how well FCI was executed on the Xbox) and the game is really not offering anything new in gameplay.
  36. Doubly annoying is the fact that you actually have to play through the entire Instincts campaign before you can even unlock the Evolution levels, so any existing fans might be better off buying the standalone Far Cry Instincts Evolution on Xbox and swallow the minor technical step down.
  37. And the inclusion of a short, after-thought of an add-on simply isn’t enough to encourage me to urge any of you to spend fifty pounds of your hard earned cash.
  38. The bundle is a far cry from a true 360 experience and I anxiously await the Far Cry built from the ground up for the system.
  39. Two campaigns, extensive multiplayer options, and the creative Map Editor gives Far Cry Instincts Predator the possibility of lasting for quite some time.
  40. There’s a hell of a lot of work here that doesn’t add up to a tremendously great game. I think games like this really serve as an example of how important it is to pay attention to the gameplay. Games need a good control feel, it’s as simple as that.
  41. If you've never played Far Cry before and don't mind your eyes recoiling into your sockets every time you see another monstrously rendered native, pirate or insurgent, then this is a good deal.
  42. The truth is Farcry Instincts Predator is a great game for first time around players. For anyone else, it’s sadly more of the same.
  43. Far Cry is like a car with a new coat of paint and a nice 19' set of rims. Nothing news, it just runs a little smoother.
  44. Far Cry Instincts: Predator would be something special on the Xbox (the original was given an 8, after all), but we've seen it all before and Ubi-Soft have clearly forgotten that we are now entering the next generation of gaming.
  45. One of the better packages we've seen undermined by some of the dumbest AI ever, FCIP lurches between greatness and mediocrity before settling somewhere between the two. [Issue#5, p.84]
  46. 50
    It'd need to deliver a pretty substantial kick in the ass to get anyone to purchase it yet again, but Far Cry: Instincts -- Predator falls quite a bit short in the asskick department. It just doesn't offer enough new material beyond yet another noun tacked to the end of its ever-lengthening name.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    3
    what happpend to the original FC the graphics in this are downgraded the stealth is still a joke the gunplay works well but the werewolf stuff is just the multiplayer is just ok but the story and voice acting are even worse the diffculty is all over the place but the map editor is actually quite good i like it Full Review »
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    2
    This is a great game that was ruined by outrageous and pointless difficulty. There is almost no skill to this game. Almost every major battle consists of you finding out what precise spot to stand where you wont be instakilled by a sniper or blown away by a rocket launcher. Enemies take bullet after bullet without even flinching, and even if you run with the speed ability they can get you with every shot. Doesn't matter how fast you move. There almost never anywhere to take cover, since bullets magically come through the walls, rocks, and containers spread throughout the game. Enemies materialize out of nowhere, usually from behind you in an area that you cleared literally seconds ago. They surround you and push you into a corner. You can use the precise same guns as they do and it can take a whole clip in the chest to kill them, yet they can decimate you with 3-4 shots. And YOU are the one with the powers! I enjoyed parts of the game, but they were massively shadowed by the horrible parts. The worst part of the whole game is the aiming. There is a massive lag between when you push the stick to one side and your cursor actually moving. The auto-aim helps with this, but you are still benefitted by getting head shots. When you're surrounded by 30 enemies and 4 shots from any one of their rifles can kill you, and snipers and rocket launchers can instakill you through a keyhole in a door on the other side of the island, headshots are typically out of the question. Auto saving is very uneven. Sometimes it autosaves immediately after a big battle, others 3-4 big battles. The most frustrating parts of the game involved me having to die 8-10 times in order to figure out where the enemies would materialize out of thin air and where I could hide to keep them from instakilling me, and I typically had to spend anywhere from 10-20 minutes between respawning and getting to those points. I feel like this game takes the dirtiest possible route of making it challenging, and the moments of fun I had were eclipsed by frustration at being cheated out of a good time. This is not hard. This is ridiculous. I'm all for a challenge. I've played Dark Souls and I've never felt like a game hated me this much before. At the time I'm writing this, I'm at the final two battles with Crowe and Krieger. Crowe is sitting on a cliff with a unhinged previously mounted machine guy while mutants who take a clip each to kill unless I can manage to accidentally shoot them in the head (which still takes half a clip) tear at me with guns and instakill me with their bare hands if I don't happen to see them come up on me on my radar surround me, and I have to kill them first through a couple of waves. Next, he starts lobbing grenades at me that are more like homing missiles and shooting at me with his machine gun. When he start shooting at me with the machine gun, I get instakilled by something even if I have 100 life and 100 armor. You can shoot him while he is lobbing grenades if you want, but if you're within 3 miles of the magic grenade it'll blow you up. And most of the instakills are while his back is turned, so I guess he is shooting me with his sniper rifle machine gun backwards. Anyways, I think the game is great but that they went way overboard with the cheatish difficulty. It has sapped every bit of fun out of the game for me and left me wishing I had never bothered with it. Cheap shots don't make a game fun. Full Review »
  3. Aug 11, 2012
    6
    Far Cry Instincts Predator had a horrible campaign, but the multiplayer is really good and I love the map editor so much. Campaign 3/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Map Editor 9/10 Far Cry Instincts Predator 6.6/10 Full Review »