Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This quirky platformer stars a little white creature with a bright red fez. Gomez is a 2D being living in a 2D world. Or is he? When the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension is unveiled, Gomez embarks on a journey that will usher him to the very end of time and space. Utilize your abilityThis quirky platformer stars a little white creature with a bright red fez. Gomez is a 2D being living in a 2D world. Or is he? When the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension is unveiled, Gomez embarks on a journey that will usher him to the very end of time and space. Utilize your ability to navigate 3D structures from 4 distinct 2D perspectives. Explore an open-ended world full of secrets, puzzles and hidden treasures. Re-open the mysteries of the past and discover the truth about reality and perception. Alter your perspective and see the world in a different way. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. May 13, 2012
    100
    A masterpiece of a game that draws inspiration from many classic franchises in order to deliver a unique experience. Don't miss it!
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    100
    The simple joy of exploration is at the very heart of the appeal of video games. In Fez, it's absolutely unfettered.
  3. 95
    For an experience that could've drowned in an overreliance on using familiar signposts from what's come before it, Fez succeeds in celebrating the past in a smart, joyous way that has us incredibly excited for gaming's future.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    Although it's not exactly the indie revolution many expected, there's more talent in a couple of Fez's levels than in many entire triple A games published in recent years.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    You travel through an engaging world full of secrets and hidden clues. You watch, you take notes, you ponder, you think about what is happening on the screen. This is a mysterious journey through time and space – charming, fascinating, unique.
  6. May 10, 2012
    80
    Unique atmosphere, lovely retro visuals and extremely enjoyable gameplay mechanics. The game could be a bit more friendly though, because it's easy to get confused in the intriguing world of Fez. [June 2012, p.84]
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Polytron has crafted an exceedingly gorgeous world, full of surprises, temples, and eye-melting cuteness. Switching perspectives holds up as a gameplay mechanic, deftly avoiding gimicky traps along the way...Still, technical missteps and a confusing, unintuitive map system, confusing branches and game crashes remind us that Fez isn't the indie hero we need right now, but the one we deserve.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 97
  2. Negative: 23 out of 97
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Fez is an amazing piece of work that shows meticulous attention to every little detail that it shows to the player. What makes Fez stand out,Fez is an amazing piece of work that shows meticulous attention to every little detail that it shows to the player. What makes Fez stand out, however, is all the little things that aren't directly obvious. There is an almost intimidating and uncountable amount of content that is hidden, secret or written in non-existent language. Fez presents itself through amazing art and animation, music and a careful tendency towards being a calm & peaceful place with a darker undertone. The lack of combat might make Fez feel somewhat slow or uninteresting to some that are more pre-disposed towards Call of Duty or more action-oriented games, but to me Fez stands out as the first real adventure game in a decade. It is a game I want to play without walkthrough or spoilers simply because it so subtly challenges me to figure it out myself through its elaborate world and fiction.

    Fez appeals to me in the nostalgic craving for a proper adventure game, yet stands out because it goes beyond just being a nostalgic throwback. Fez isn't scared to radically overthrow some notions about what games should be while being a truly interesting game first and foremost at all times.

    Fez is something remarkably special.
    Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Simply put: Fez is my vote for game of the year. You need to play this game to understand the depth and genius of the design. Its gamesSimply put: Fez is my vote for game of the year. You need to play this game to understand the depth and genius of the design. Its games like this that revive my faith in the industry and comes as a welcome change. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Fez has been in the making for a long time. Long enough that people have been given time to form strong opinions on the game before havingFez has been in the making for a long time. Long enough that people have been given time to form strong opinions on the game before having played it. Not only on the game, but on its outspoken creator. However, none of this enters the actual experience of playing Fez. Those who give this game a low score may simply not have figured out what to do, may have been lazy or superficial in their approach. It is not impossible to dislike this game after having played it thoroughly and given it a chance. But it does seem like most negative reviews are based on bitter opinions.

    The game is an absolute gem. The music, the ideas, the atmosphere, the mystery. It will take you back to when you were still amazed and baffled by video games....if you really immerse yourself in it.
    Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    Unfortunately I'm seeing a lot of reviews saying this game is unoriginal but I find that to be quite hilarious. I've never played any otherUnfortunately I'm seeing a lot of reviews saying this game is unoriginal but I find that to be quite hilarious. I've never played any other game like this and I LOVE the fact that they put out a retro style game in the sea of games being released now a days. I honestly think everyone should give this a try. If you're not a fan of puzzle/platform games it's not for you. Take it as it is and enjoy Fez! Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Epitomizes everything that is pure and heartfelt about retro platformers (our history), and indie gaming (our future). Fun as hell and aEpitomizes everything that is pure and heartfelt about retro platformers (our history), and indie gaming (our future). Fun as hell and a kickass soundtrack to boot. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2012
    6
    I'm not sure what the game is supposed to be, as a puzzle game it's a pretty easy one, and I am a little bit tired of indie games with SNESI'm not sure what the game is supposed to be, as a puzzle game it's a pretty easy one, and I am a little bit tired of indie games with SNES graphics coming out every other month. The one gimmick that makes this game so unique has been done before, in a Flash game called Sky Island, which is free, and is much harder than FEZ.
    I'm not sure why it took the game so long to come out, or why it got such amazing reviews, when Sky Island was criticized into obscurity although Sky Island used the rotating world gimmick way better in terms of gameplay, making a better puzzle game than FEZ.
    FEZ shouldn't be treated as a game, I can see why it is beloved by many, it does contain lovely graphics, while not hardware breaking, they are simple and nice to look at. The music is also relaxing. But I have a feeling people love for this game is more related to the hype of a game that has been into development for years. Speaking of being developed for years, I have no idea what they did that justifies that, the game is riddled with bugs, and severely lacks gameplay.
    Overall I think it's just another "indie" platformer with a twist, like many other "indie" games that came out these past few years. Sky Island got 7.0 on Armor Games, I'm giving FEZ 6.0 for having even less content than Sky Island, which is a FREE FLASH GAME.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2014
    0
    If this game was made for the sake of 'artistic expression', then we already have that with good gameplay in EVE Online. Glad I didn't spendIf this game was made for the sake of 'artistic expression', then we already have that with good gameplay in EVE Online. Glad I didn't spend money on this crap. I only regret exposing my PC's internals to potential depression due to installing terribad software. Expand

See all 97 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.