Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This quirky platformer stars a little white creature with a bright red fez. Gomez is a 2D being living in a 2D world. Or is he? When the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension is unveiled, Gomez embarks on a journey that will usher him to the very end of time and space. Utilize your abilityThis quirky platformer stars a little white creature with a bright red fez. Gomez is a 2D being living in a 2D world. Or is he? When the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension is unveiled, Gomez embarks on a journey that will usher him to the very end of time and space. Utilize your ability to navigate 3D structures from 4 distinct 2D perspectives. Explore an open-ended world full of secrets, puzzles and hidden treasures. Re-open the mysteries of the past and discover the truth about reality and perception. Alter your perspective and see the world in a different way. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. May 13, 2012
    100
    A masterpiece of a game that draws inspiration from many classic franchises in order to deliver a unique experience. Don't miss it!
  2. Apr 12, 2012
    100
    The simple joy of exploration is at the very heart of the appeal of video games. In Fez, it's absolutely unfettered.
  3. 95
    For an experience that could've drowned in an overreliance on using familiar signposts from what's come before it, Fez succeeds in celebrating the past in a smart, joyous way that has us incredibly excited for gaming's future.
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    90
    Although it's not exactly the indie revolution many expected, there's more talent in a couple of Fez's levels than in many entire triple A games published in recent years.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    90
    You travel through an engaging world full of secrets and hidden clues. You watch, you take notes, you ponder, you think about what is happening on the screen. This is a mysterious journey through time and space – charming, fascinating, unique.
  6. May 10, 2012
    80
    Unique atmosphere, lovely retro visuals and extremely enjoyable gameplay mechanics. The game could be a bit more friendly though, because it's easy to get confused in the intriguing world of Fez. [June 2012, p.84]
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    70
    Polytron has crafted an exceedingly gorgeous world, full of surprises, temples, and eye-melting cuteness. Switching perspectives holds up as a gameplay mechanic, deftly avoiding gimicky traps along the way...Still, technical missteps and a confusing, unintuitive map system, confusing branches and game crashes remind us that Fez isn't the indie hero we need right now, but the one we deserve.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 97
  2. Negative: 24 out of 97
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Fez is an amazing piece of work that shows meticulous attention to every little detail that it shows to the player. What makes Fez stand out,Fez is an amazing piece of work that shows meticulous attention to every little detail that it shows to the player. What makes Fez stand out, however, is all the little things that aren't directly obvious. There is an almost intimidating and uncountable amount of content that is hidden, secret or written in non-existent language. Fez presents itself through amazing art and animation, music and a careful tendency towards being a calm & peaceful place with a darker undertone. The lack of combat might make Fez feel somewhat slow or uninteresting to some that are more pre-disposed towards Call of Duty or more action-oriented games, but to me Fez stands out as the first real adventure game in a decade. It is a game I want to play without walkthrough or spoilers simply because it so subtly challenges me to figure it out myself through its elaborate world and fiction.

    Fez appeals to me in the nostalgic craving for a proper adventure game, yet stands out because it goes beyond just being a nostalgic throwback. Fez isn't scared to radically overthrow some notions about what games should be while being a truly interesting game first and foremost at all times.

    Fez is something remarkably special.
    Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Simply put: Fez is my vote for game of the year. You need to play this game to understand the depth and genius of the design. Its gamesSimply put: Fez is my vote for game of the year. You need to play this game to understand the depth and genius of the design. Its games like this that revive my faith in the industry and comes as a welcome change. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    Fez has been in the making for a long time. Long enough that people have been given time to form strong opinions on the game before havingFez has been in the making for a long time. Long enough that people have been given time to form strong opinions on the game before having played it. Not only on the game, but on its outspoken creator. However, none of this enters the actual experience of playing Fez. Those who give this game a low score may simply not have figured out what to do, may have been lazy or superficial in their approach. It is not impossible to dislike this game after having played it thoroughly and given it a chance. But it does seem like most negative reviews are based on bitter opinions.

    The game is an absolute gem. The music, the ideas, the atmosphere, the mystery. It will take you back to when you were still amazed and baffled by video games....if you really immerse yourself in it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    An amazing puzzle/platformer that has so much more to it than meets the eye! Simple to grasp and dive into with game play and sound trackAn amazing puzzle/platformer that has so much more to it than meets the eye! Simple to grasp and dive into with game play and sound track that keeps you playing. This is the kind of game that really is for about everyone; play through once and just solve the simple puzzles, or play again and actually dive into the language of the game and find yourself decoding hieroglyphics on the walls. Fez is very satisfying and never gets the feeling of becoming old. I was quite sad to figure out that this game would not be getting a sequel and that the creator ended up being a huge tool. The only thing that got this game a below perfect rating is the fact that it doesn't offer any kind of co-op and the fact that developer Phil Fish insulted so many fans, and really all gamers, after it's release. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Fez is a true masterpiece, such blocky old school visuals familiar to anyone who gamed through the 80's except the attention to detail isFez is a true masterpiece, such blocky old school visuals familiar to anyone who gamed through the 80's except the attention to detail is amazing. Simply put, although this game looks retro it's only because of the modern hardware that it's made possible. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    I haven't got to the end yet but have been to most of the "worlds" and here's my interpretation this far. The worlds are all amazing looking.I haven't got to the end yet but have been to most of the "worlds" and here's my interpretation this far. The worlds are all amazing looking. Phil Fish is a very talented artist and his work on Fez is perfectly suited. Id give the art a 9/10 since there is some repetitiveness and a lack of variety in color. The gameplay is fun but it too gets repetitive. I find myself unable to play the game for long sessions as it gets boring after an hour or so and I need to put it down due to the repetition. However, the polish of the gameplay is evident as the puzzles work just as expected and what must have been a very hard challenge to code was done very well, it is fluid and error free. The navigation of the game is probably my biggest problem with it. You will feel lost at times, and the worst part is, you will end up going through the same place more than a few times trying to figure out where to go next, and the map is of very little help (its too simple to help). Overall its nothing revolutionary but I think the creator got what he expected from the game, a peaceful adventure for players to relax, enjoy the scenery and do some fun puzzles. But since the gameplay is lacking and the repetitiveness is evident I would not feel right giving it an 8 where so many other indie games deserve that score or higher so 7 it is, not a bad score and I would say its worth playing but I'm not sure if Id buy it again. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Loved the game for about 30 mins then my save file was corrupted. Started again and this time after about an hour the same thing happened.Loved the game for about 30 mins then my save file was corrupted. Started again and this time after about an hour the same thing happened. Third time it only took about 40 mins. Tried once more a few weeks ago and got about 45 mins into it. Great idea, gameplay and music but completely broken. Waste of money. Collapse

See all 97 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.