Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 418 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have betterPure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    Realism in football games reaches its maximum.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is still the amazing soccer simulation we know, with a host of improvements and the most complete set of players, teams and game modes.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Although lacking a bit in terms of innovation when compared with previous iterations, FIFA 14 remains a well balanced, profound and addictive soccer experience, that will be enjoyed by rookies and veterans alike.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    With its extensive licenses, bold and complex yet accessible gameplay, unparalleled online offerings, excellent tutorials, and clean presentation, FIFA 14 may only be a small step up from last year's game, but it remains a fantastic offering overall.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Learn the nuances then revel in the gorgeous results. [Issue#103, p.80]
  6. FIFA 14 is the same, fundamentally great game that FIFA 13 was before it. Hard-core fans of the series will doubtlessly enjoy the latest instalment, but casual gamers who picked up last year’s won’t miss much by sitting this one out. There is, after all, a next-generation FIFA game to look forward to.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    FIFA 14 requires more patience than most of its predecessors, and even when your patience is rewarded, it often feels like it's flattering to deceive. Slow and stodgy in midfield but dynamic and physical at either end of the pitch, it's possible that some might think this the best FIFA ever--but you'd be splitting hairs, not defences.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 144
  2. Negative: 99 out of 144
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I love all these people complaining how slow it is. It is a much more realistic game. Those of you complaining about one team being rubbishI love all these people complaining how slow it is. It is a much more realistic game. Those of you complaining about one team being rubbish and the next being spectacular...youre probably playing Ultimate team right? Not every team is the same skill level. Game one may be Pro, game two may be world class, they arent the same.

    This is by far the best and most realistic fifa to date. Solid note to end this generation of consoles on.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    FIFA 14 In some respect could be seen as a slight innovation to the Football series.With the pace mechanics shifted from the last entry FIFAFIFA 14 In some respect could be seen as a slight innovation to the Football series.With the pace mechanics shifted from the last entry FIFA 13.The menus often feel laggy and unresponsive and other components to the game(apart from Ultimate Team) feel unchanged.Career mode feels repetitive.Co-op seasons is amazing.The enjoyment is great when you and your friend score after team work. 7/10 Good Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This game was good except for FUT. In the tutorial they teach you about chemistry and they make it look really easy but when you get your teamThis game was good except for FUT. In the tutorial they teach you about chemistry and they make it look really easy but when you get your team its so hard to build the chemistry. Then your team sucks and you can't win. I just play it for the manager career which if you pick a good team then this game is really fun. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    2
    This game is so annoying :(
    I started no tutorial set semi pro
    I thought amateur Is this game only for person who played fifa13?
    This game is so annoying :(
    I started no tutorial set semi pro

    I thought amateur

    Is this game only for person who played fifa13?

    but graphic is great movement is awesome

    and i don't like this game
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    1
    I think it is really disgusting how EA have focused on the aspects of the game that brings them money rather than the game overall. AlthoughI think it is really disgusting how EA have focused on the aspects of the game that brings them money rather than the game overall. Although they have improved ultimate team (as it's what brings them the extra cash) They have just added seasons to every other mode and believed it is enough of an improvement.
    However there are so many flaws with the game.

    -Unrealistic Defensive clearances
    -Really poor AI in Pro Clubs
    -Overpowered Heading
    -Retarded Goalkeepers
    - Poor Unrealistic First touches
    - Momentum
    -Scripting
    - Blowing the whistle at half-time/full-time when a team is on the attack
    -Lack of ambition with Pro Clubs
    -Same Player creation system for god knows how many years now
    -Alot of poor refereeing decisions regarding fouls (not opinionated happens for both sides)
    -Poor player switching
    - Unrealistic Career with poor youth systems and
    - Taking out or changing elements of previous Fifas which weren't an issue such as:
    -The right stick to take large touches
    -Making automatic containing ridiculously underpowered
    -Victor Ibarbo
    - A useless and unnecessary external creation centre(which was a problem before but should have changed)
    -Awful Servers
    -Defence is a joke
    -Players falling over on their backs after a soft tackle
    -Isn't satisfying as it used to be
    -Repetitive commentary
    -Stupid animations which are copied every single year
    - Managers just look horrific , just like the substitutes.
    -One handed goalkeeper catches
    -Slow gameplay (don't even start about how it's more realistic, cause it ain't)
    -Whatever happened
    -Oh and i have to buy a seasons pass to use my created team in a career mode?
    -To get good players in packs you either need to suck off Electronic Arts (paying them) or rely on miracles

    There are probably more that I forgot about but honestly. I've played Fifa since 2003 and some of these games were good. EA are money whores who pay reviewers to give them a great review every year. It makes me sad knowing that they know themselves that they are ripping everyone off and ultimate team just floods them with even more money.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    This FIFA has to be the most pathetic game I've ever had to witness. Don't get me wrong I love playing FIFA and am very good at it. The newThis FIFA has to be the most pathetic game I've ever had to witness. Don't get me wrong I love playing FIFA and am very good at it. The new game play is okay not great but okay. What makes this game is pathetic is that they called this 'the most realistic FIFA' that they had brought out but it's completely the opposite... the actions your players take when you're winning is that of someone who has never seen a football in their life. Your goalkeeper parries the ball to their players basically every time, 'when in doubt cross it in' since when could you in real life score as many headers as FIFA does. Why is it that when you're also winning the other team gets to go into God mode and that you can tackle, tackle and tackle over and over but the ball either doesn't get taken from them unless they get a throw-in, corner or a free kick. Why is it that when you're also winning that your players that you're not controlling will randomly foul the opposing team in the box giving them a free penalty, seriously what is that about? This does sound more of a rant but I'm backing up my comment on how pathetic and 'unrealistic' this game really is. I pray that they sort out their game play for their upcoming FIFA's because it's not 'who's the better player' it's who can get the most unlucky due to EA interfering in the games. Do you find it that a lot of goals are scored up to the 45th and 90th minute? it's programmed to let the who ever has got the ball to be able to score basically anywhere and that no matter what the goalkeeper will let it in or parry it to their player. Review done 0/10 the game is rigged. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    ive noticed the MAtch script on fifa 13 even on online games when they want u to lose u will lose but now the algorithme is exposed too dumpive noticed the MAtch script on fifa 13 even on online games when they want u to lose u will lose but now the algorithme is exposed too dump that ull feel it from the 1st match... Expand

See all 144 User Reviews