Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FIFA Soccer 12 brings a new physics engine into the soccer gameplay.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    From standard Exhibitions to the Ultimate Team card game, everything about FIFA 12 is superb. This is sports gaming excellence personified.
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    95
    It's by far the most realistic football title on the market and there are plenty of game modes to keep players entertained. FIFA 12 is a must own title for football fans who will no doubt be playing up until the next instalment.
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    94
    FIFA 12 enhances the exceptional gameplay of the last years and makes a bold change in defense, which forces players to pass through a process of adaptation (although they can turn on the "classic" defense), but shines like the previous games.
  4. Sep 26, 2011
    90
    Once again, Fifa redefines what we expect from a football sim. Improved defensive systems and physics, along with expanded game modes, result in an even more beautiful 'beautiful game.'
  5. Oct 12, 2011
    90
    FIFA Soccer 12 is rich with fathoms of deep features, and the well-designed improvements to both presentation and gameplay make it a worthy upgrade for owners of last year's edition.
  6. Sep 27, 2011
    90
    When all is said and done, the fundamentals of the sport are extremely well represented, and as of this writing you'd be hard pressed to find a better soccer game.
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    70
    The major additions show real promise, but right now they're doing more harm than good. [Issue#77, p.84]

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 94
  2. Negative: 29 out of 94
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    First off let me start by saying I've been playing soccer games since 1998 and and have played pretty much all the brands out there. And whenFirst off let me start by saying I've been playing soccer games since 1998 and and have played pretty much all the brands out there. And when I say FIFA 12 is the best soccer game of all time.after a distasterous outing with FIFA 11 EA has pulled out all the stops and its made for an excellent game.this year I am confident in saying FIFA is king!!!!!! Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    I cannot believe that they are calling this a bad game, or that PES is better. The changes may have been so-so but come on people! First youI cannot believe that they are calling this a bad game, or that PES is better. The changes may have been so-so but come on people! First you complain about FIFA 11 and that they should change some things and then when they change them, you still complain. I thought this game was beutiful and haters gonna hate. Expand
  3. Jul 13, 2015
    9
    Great soccer game for any soccer fans! The graphics is pretty good, the gameplay is awesome, and the sound is excellent! You feel like you areGreat soccer game for any soccer fans! The graphics is pretty good, the gameplay is awesome, and the sound is excellent! You feel like you are at a soccer game! This game features a lot of teams (F.C Barcelona, Manchester United, etc.) and I like it very much! Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    It's a reasonably good game, the Defensive AI has been definitely improved, and Tactical Defending and Precision Dribbling were very nice newIt's a reasonably good game, the Defensive AI has been definitely improved, and Tactical Defending and Precision Dribbling were very nice new features, as they improved the game's realism, since the defensive system and dribbling system in previous FIFA's was reminiscent of guided missiles ready to take the ball away from you, and there was little you could do about it unless you passed the ball around. However it feels like they didn't apply those features very smoothly, and some problems exist. And there are a lot of problems with the impact engine.
    On the graphics department everything's good, it's not a reference in terms of graphics, but it's still pretty good.
    Online: the servers could be a bit better, and offline the Career Mode is still poor, probably because of the attention EA Sports gave to Ultimate Team, which hasn't improved at all, somehow.

    PS: Momentum still seems to be present within the game in the last minutes of each part, even though EAS denies it.
    Collapse
  5. Oct 28, 2011
    6
    FIFA 11 was the buggiest game i have ever played so i expected improvements for FIFA12 & they delivered, it is the 2nd buggiest game i haveFIFA 11 was the buggiest game i have ever played so i expected improvements for FIFA12 & they delivered, it is the 2nd buggiest game i have played. How a big company like EA can continue to take advantage of its fans by releasing unfinished games i dont know but what confuses me more is that none of the reviews mention how broken the game is - EA must be spending a lot of money on these reviews... compare them to the user score.

    As far as the content of FIFA 12 goes, Manager mode is still pretty poor & playing the AI is no fun at all. The new seasons mode in online is a good idea but has reintroduced so many of the problems from previous years like playing the same teams every game, i really get the feeling whoever makes these decisions doesnt play much online. Clubs, my favourite mode last year (after it was patched, it didnt work for the 1st month!) is the same as FIFA 11 but has some new bugs, thanks! Lastly new defending has made the game less fun as you are afraid to tackle when defending & feel like you dont need to pass on attack as its so easy to dribble past people... can only play so many 5-4 games before it gets boring. Poor effort from EA, i''m going back to PES just to stop giving them money to cheat me.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2012
    4
    When I first got this game, I loved it. But as you start to play it you realize just how many things are wrong with this game. The defendingWhen I first got this game, I loved it. But as you start to play it you realize just how many things are wrong with this game. The defending is absolutely horrible. If I am going to "tactically defend" and block pass lanes, I need my AI defender to be able to adequately defend my opponent with the ball. When you do attempt to tackle/jockey, it is incredibly difficult to time correctly, leading to your opponent running right past you. If you do tackle correctly, the ball magically bounces right into your nearest opponent's foot and the whole process starts all over. However, my biggest and must infuriating problem with this game is how it is somewhat scripted, for lack of a better word. You could take the exact same shot, in the exact same situation 10 times, and FIFA will decide you get to miss 6 of those, because apparently having a random error generator makes the game more realistic. It doesn't. If I have a good shot on goal, I expect it to go in. Also, you have a SIGNIFICANTLY better chance of scoring in the 45th minute, 90th minute, or just after you've been scored on. This leads to some absurdly terrible shots being scored, which in my mind removes the legitimacy of this game. Basically, until all that crap and more is fixed (which it likely won't be), I won't be buying another FIFA game. I also feel dirty every time I give EA my money. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    tous le jeu de foot ce resemble le foot sport de pedale Ce jeu est blague. Jeu jouer ennuyeux et prévisible. Vous passez plus detous le jeu de foot ce resemble le foot sport de pedale Ce jeu est blague. Jeu jouer ennuyeux et prévisible. Vous passez plus de temps courir pour obtenir une boule. CPU est unbeattable sur la classe mondiale. Quoi de plus? Tout d'abord Fifa 12 LIGNE est cassée, PPL sur xbox déjà triche en utilisant un gliches sorte qu'ils ne peuvent pas perdre un match. Il ya beaucoup plus et gliches problmes mais sux jeu en général. Ce n'est pas un ballon de football Expand

See all 94 User Reviews