Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The world of Vana'diel stands at the brink of war. Three powerful nations, united in their plight against the beastmen forces, look to their last hope -- brave adventurers like you! Will the beastmen gain the upper hand, and thrust the once-peaceful Vana'diel into another war? Step into the world of Vana'diel and journey forth on grand adventures with players from all across the globe! Final Fantasy XI is the first online game in the award-winning FINAL FANTASY series. How you play is up to you, with limitless possibilities for adventure. Set out on your own to discover the countless secrets of Vana'diel, or form a party with your friends to purge the beastman forces and bring home sensational spoils! With the release of Final Fantasy XI for Xbox 360, Square Enix expands its cross-platform strategy, making the award-winning MMORPG available to a much wider audience across the world. The powerful next-generation capabilities of Xbox 360 provides a much more dynamic and visually impressive gateway to Vana'diel. In addition, players can finally experience Final Fantasy XI in high-definition and 5.1 channel surround sound, only on Xbox 360. Final Fantasy XI is accessible through the Xbox Live online game service. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. 90
    So whether you're an FFXI veteran or noob, rest assured that this story is far from over. Based on the evidence at hand, we're quite confident that it has only just begun.
  2. All complaints and setup times aside, FF XI is one of the stronger MMORPGs out there, and when it comes to console MMORPGs (not PC), it may very well be the best.
  3. The game controls well with the Xbox 360 controller (aside from the d-pad issues), so if you can get over the lackluster graphics you should be able to enjoy yourself.
  4. Even hardened FF fans can't escape the fact that this is little more than a solid, functional port of a four year old game. As potentially enjoyable as it is (if you put the hours in), and as much content as there is in this all-encompassing release (if you really put the hours in), things have moved on considerably in the MMO scene in the intervening years.
  5. So it's dissapointing that instead of the mind-shattering experience that should properly claim "first MMO" honors, we get Final Fantasy XI--a port of a four-year-old game. [July 2006, p.78]
  6. Despite its flaws and frustrations, FFXI's age gives it one thing that no other 360 game can match: massive amounts of content. You could easily lose 200 hours of your life (not to mention your spouse) during the first month of exploration.
  7. FFXI is a very hard sell to anyone that is new to the franchise. The easiest word to describe it is drudgery, what with its excessive traveling times, difficult leveling structure, and level requirements for anything cool.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 5 out of 17
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Oh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’ve been playing MMO most all my life and they are my favorite type of game to play. As this review is being done on 9/7/2013 that’s how I’ll be looking at the game as it stands now. I’ve done a review of the PC version so check that out. For me the XBOX 360 version of this game is disappointing in my eyes. It’s an older game on a 7th generation console and it look exactly the same as the ps2 version of the game with the exception of higher resolution text textures for HDTV’s SE just lazily ported over the ps2 version with no effort to make it look any better. The game for xbox has long load time, lag in area of more then 10 people and textures look exactly the same as the ps2. If you need to play it on a console then yes the xbox 360 version of the game is your best choice. It should be noted that the PC supports controllers as well and look great for the age of the game with high resolution textures. I did use the xbox version out on my big screen for a bit till I build a HTPC, now I just use a wireless xbox 360 controller adapter and sit on the couch with a wireless keyboard. The game is still a 10 out of 10 for me but I wish SE put a little more effort to making it look more like the pc version of the game not just port over the ps2 version. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    I honestly don't see why people hate the 360 version so much. The only valid complaint, kind of, that I see is that it requires XBox Live. I understand people getting upset about that, but here's the question in countering that complaint. Are you sure that it only works on "XBox Live Gold"? As far as I've seen, the answer is no. What is XBox LIVE Gold? Simple, it's what you get when you pay $60 a year to play online and have access to online content. But there's an alternative, called XBox Live Silver, which is 100% free. XBL Silver doesn't give you the ability to play online, but it does allow you to interact with your friends online, and have access to certain things. But here's the detail that people don't know about. Final Fantasy XI actually works on XBL Silver. What does this mean? It means you can play FFXI on 360 without the need to pay for XBL, of course you still have to pay the $12 a month to play the game, but when can you not play an MMO like this for free? In all honesty, when I heard that this game was on 360, I jumped on it. Long have I waited for an awesome MMO that you can play on an actual CONSOLE, and not have to play with a stupid keyboard that has too many buttons for gaming. Trying to play a game on PC reminds me of the Intelevision, which had the stupid ass keypad. Sorry PC gamers, but if there's isn't an actual gaming controler, I can't play it. One of the reasons I didn't like WOW, shocked to hear that? Get used to it, I hate PC gaming. So when I found out that this MMO, which was a smash hit when it came out, was being launched on 360 with XBL support, I jumped on it, big time. Because I love playing MMO's, I really do, but I hate PC gaming, and since the large majority of MMOs are PC exclusive, that's why I don't play them very often. That and I sometimes can't afford the monthly fee. Anway, concerning the game in general, my only complaint about the 360 verson was all the room it took up on my hard drive. 7GB!!! YEESH!! If you want to play the 360 version of this game, make sure you have a big hard drive. One other complaint is how you can't turn the console off while playing. When you wanna get off the game, you can't just hit the power button, you have to shut down from the in game menu first, and wait until it arrives at the dashboard, then you can turn the console off. This can take some time, once it took 5 whole minutes to go back to the dashboard. So, with these complaints, why do I give it a 9? Easy, the game is ABSOLUTELY FREAKING POSSITIVLEY AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Yes, these complaints can be issues, but when you're actually in the game and playing, it's so worth it. It's just like your average MMO, make a character, choose your race and class, where your character was born, the whole deal. But here's the twist, in most MMOs, WOW included, when you choose a class you're stuck with it. You cannot try a different class, if you want to do another class, you have to make another character, which is a pain in the ass because I want to be adventurous. In FFXI, you're character isn't restricted to just one class. You choose a starter class, and you can change to another anytime without the need of making another character. This gives the game alot more freedom, and allows you to help others in need, properly. Say somebody needs a white mage to help them on a quest, but you're in Thief mode. You can just tell him "Just give me a sec to change to white mage and I'll help you." Each class has it's own unique leveling up. Say you level up your thief to lvl 10, you then switch to warrior, you will then be at lvl 1 again. You lvl up your warrior to lvl 14, but then you switch to your thief, and your thief is still lvl 10. This gives the leveling system the propper use of balance between leveling different classes. And once you hit lvl 18, you can do a sub-job quest. Once you do the sub-job quest, you can have a mian job, and a sub-job. So you can pretty much be both a Black mage, and a white mage. Of course there are restrictions. your sub-job can only be half of what your main job is. Say your a lvl 18 black mage, and you also lvled your white mage to lvl 16. When you set white mage as your sub, it will display your white mage at lvl 9, but when you lvl your black mage up to lvl 20, your white mage will display lvl 10. having a sub job gives you access to many other abilities to add to your main job, but some of you white mage special abilities will not be usable as a sub job, mainly your 2 hour power ability, a very powerful ability that can only be used once every 2 hours, real time. The community in the game is great, in fact communication is required. The game encourages you to get help from other players in order to get past quests that you could never do alone, including end-game events. I wish I could go on, but I'm running out of room on this review, but overall the game is great. I give it a 9/10. Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    It's funny how this has so many negative reviews from critics when the PC version doesn't. In the end, this MMO is either for you or not. It has a steep learning curve that requires hours of poking around the FFXI wiki and learning the basics.

    Also for people who do NOT get this because they don't want to pay for a gold subscription AND FFXI: Much like Phantasy Star Universe, this game does not require gold to be played online. As PlayOnline is a unique entity from XBOXlive, they do not require it. ... not that doesn't annoy MS, but hey. You can play FFXI with your silver account,
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    3
    Like the majority of recent final fantasy games this was bollocks. Another boring linear game with no real choice or influence in what you do, hack and slash rubbish. Also the new leveling up system, one word. LAZY. Graphically game was good but that about sums up the good points. Do not buy this game if you are a true rpg fan. Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    Final Fantasy XI; what a waste of my life. So far I have had positive reviews on video games; this game changes that. I know all website say this game is good; they must have been payed because the Final Fantasy XI I played sucked. I purchased this game for the Xbox 360 for twenty dollars at the local Gamestop. I was expecting to play it that night, surprise you have to get a massive download that has nothing to do with the game. After two days of leaving my 360 on, I had to set up and online account. I then find out that there is a monthly fee of fifteen dollars a month. WTF!!! I already pay sixty dollars a year for the Xbox (luckily this game lasted only a few days more). Four days after buying this game I GOT TO PLAY!!! The graphics were as good as Final Fantasy VIII (a 1999 game). I was walking around and saying to my self, "this must be the tutorial area..not to many people here." I continued playing and got some random quest to kill things (this is an MMORPG after all) and got to level two. During my quest I saw a person doing a quest as well. (Turns out this was no tutorial, it was the game). After getting to about level four I said I am done with this **** The graphics sucked, quests were super boring, and no sense of accomplishment when playing this game. I also saw only about five people the entire time I played this game. Some MMO. I doubt that the PC version is any better. They even made several expansion to this horrible game. Nowadays people are saying that Final Fantasy XIV is terrible. My advice is to stay away from Final Fantasy MMO's. Even more good news about this game. When you try to take it to Gamestop after you have realized it sucks donkey balls, they will tell you that they cannot buy it from you because it is an MMORPG and it has been opened. I even tried to exchange it for a quarter; that failed. =( Collapse
  6. May 14, 2014
    1
    This game nearly ruined the franchise. Worst rendition of Final Fantasy ever. X was amazing and to follow it up with this crap is depressing. I refuse to play any more of there games this game is unforgivable. Online only play. Give me a break. Waste of Video game makers time. Top 10 worst MMO's but then again all MMO's are crap. WoW sucks too. Play better games. There are a at least 1000 better games out there better than any massively multi player online one. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    The game is horrendous like rob is at WoW, the game is incredibly un-user friendly, with long travel times, no way to keep track of your quest givers and mounts which you cant recall once you dismount off, all i can say about the game is that it is incredibly dated and for anyone looking for a MMO to play I would suggest any Korean free mmo over this game. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?