Final Fantasy XIII-2 Xbox 360


Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
Buy On
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 22, 2012
    Stand-alone expansion pack you will not want to play for of the story, but only for its battles. [March 2012]
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    Final Fantasy XIII-2 is an exercise in making the best out of a bad situation. Feedback was taken from the previous game, and corrections requested by the players dissatisfied with FFXIII are mostly for the best, but it suffers from being the middle child in what will (now) obviously be a trilogy. Old characters feel pointlessly shoehorned into the plot, and nothing feels accomplished at the end of the game. Fortunately for FFXIII-2, overcoming these issues isn't impossible given how enjoyable the rest of it can be.
  3. Feb 13, 2012
    One thing you cannot criticise Square Enix for is taking this direct sequel lightly as there's been a thorough spring clean on all fronts. A much improved gaming experience but is at the same time hampered by its ties to the past. The characters remain uninteresting and a great villain makes an RPG worth all the hours of work. If Square Enix continue to listen to criticism then there's hope for another classic entry in the Final Fantasy series one day.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2012
    Final Fantasy XIII-2 doesn't really improve on its predecessor. The story is weaker, the side quests are half-arsed and the monster catching has no noticeable effect on combat. A completely unnecessary sequel. [Feb 2012]
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    So at the end of the day, I'm going to say what I expected to say when I saw this game in the past, and what you probably expected me to say as well: FFXIII-2 is a lot like FFXIII, and will elicit the same kind of divided response within the gaming community. It is slightly better, all things considered, with a few appreciated improvements, but it certainly isn't anything that's going to sway someone who didn't like FFXIII to begin with.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    Overall, XIII-2's more diverse play experience should make it a more palatable game to a larger segment of gamers. Whether or not it's better than Final Fantasy XIII is something I leave for you to judge for yourself.
  7. 70
    Final Fantasy XIII wanted you to love it for who it was, but Final Fantasy XIII-2 wants you to love it for who it's like. And compared to Final Fantasy VII, Final Fantasy XII and Chrono Trigger it falters significantly, with a ridiculous and convoluted story, some awful voice acting and the worst music I've heard in a video game. If you're a fan of JRPGs you'll probably enjoy it, but it's in no way the best game on the market - not by a long shot.
  8. Jan 31, 2012
    Final Fantasy XIII-2 is beautiful and packed with tons of tiny details that will keep you interested even when you've run into your umpteenth random battle. It misses a few opportunities and at times bogs down with its story, but overall provides a satisfying adventure.
  9. Jan 29, 2012
    Ultimately, if Final Fantasy XIII took the series five steps back, Final Fantasy XIII-2 takes it one hesitant step forward. Features like non-linear dungeons, optional side quests and NPC-populated towns are wonderful and all, but they were RPG staples twenty years ago. While Final Fantasy XIII-2 does quite a bit to fix the mistakes of its predecessor, it does very little to stand out on its own merits. It's enjoyable, but it's also disappointing in many ways. Final Fantasy deserves better.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 84
  2. Negative: 15 out of 84
  1. Feb 1, 2012
    This game isn't a masterpiece... But it is still fantastic. More open, good story, unique soundtrack, and amazing gameplay make this gameThis game isn't a masterpiece... But it is still fantastic. More open, good story, unique soundtrack, and amazing gameplay make this game great. A huge improvement on xiii and the whole feel of the game is much more loose and open while still having a good story (which is very hard to do btw, just ask skyrim and its amazing world and addictiveness but horrible plot). I don't understand all the people who give this game crap. I understand you want final fantasy to be like it used to be but you can't just let that cloud your minds from seeing when square has put out yet another great game. You won't find this game as one of the final fantasy classics, but this game is still very good and shows squares determination to make the game that the fans want to play. Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    So if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think thatSo if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think that the series has "died" why are you here commenting about it? Final Fantasy have their real fans and not needs those who once were, but today only know to criticize. You are a zero to the left! Very hard to find a true fan of the Final Fantasy series. What there are people who are/was fans of one or another episode, and all they know to do nowdays is follow the series news just to criticize and say that "it was the good on my time, now it is garbage". So pay no attention to haters, realize that each FF has something new and different to offer and has no obligation to please fans of previous episodes. Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    Although I'm a long time fan of the series, I don't want to let my bias affect what I say about this game, so I'll review it from a neutralAlthough I'm a long time fan of the series, I don't want to let my bias affect what I say about this game, so I'll review it from a neutral standpoint, as if it were not part of the Final Fantasy series. I have to say that I'm disappointed with FFXIII-2. Whether or not the game is well made, beautiful, interesting, or unique, it lacks the most important component in a video game. It just isn't fun. The graphics are fantastic, but the exploration feels like a chore. The area map is difficult to access, and doesn't feel accurate, and the setting is overly dramatic and uninteresting. The game failed to capture my attention. There are sidequests and missions that can be picked up from NPCs, but as far as I could tell there was no way to track any objective outside of the main storyline, making these sidequests frustrating to deal with and minimally rewarding. I'm sure there are many substories and special items that I missed because I just could not bring myself to go after the sidequests. That aside, even just wandering about in the game was never enjoyable due to constant chirpy quotes from annoying, unrelatable, characters. The music isn't anything special either, so turning off the dialogue volume doesn't solve this problem. Now on to the feature that should be FFXIII-2's selling point: the battle system. I was actually excited to try it out. Again, I was disappointed. You can select paradigm setups in the menu outside of battle, which I found to be enjoyable, but using them in battle is not as rewarding or fun as it should be. For the most part, you select what role you want each character to fill, and then you only have control as one of them in battle, and you choose a chain of moves from a list and then wait. The other charactes run around and do their job, healing the players or doing damage to the enemy. It's nearly impossible to pay attention to them, because the battles are a mess of spinning swords, flashing numbers, and explosions. It's all cinematic, you could select a paradigm that gives the party one attacker and one healer, and then put down the controller and go do something else. You'll eventually win. There's no skill, logic, or thinking involved whatsoever. Your input is completely insignificant to the outcome, and the battles drag on. It can take upwards of 5 minutes to win some of the early battles in the game. I found myself avoiding most enemy encounters, although in other similar games, I tend to search out battles to try out my parties new techiniques and strategies. FFXIII-2 ultimately failed in this regard. Nothing about the game captured my attention or was any fun at all, aside from setting up characters in the menu that I never used. All in all, whether you're a long time fan or a newcomer, I can't bring myself to recommend this game. Rent it or play the demo. Maybe you'll find something you like, but I honestly can't believe this game has receieved any ratings above a 6. Full Review »