User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 233

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    So if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think that the series has "died" why are you here commenting about it? Final Fantasy have their real fans and not needs those who once were, but today only know to criticize. You are a zero to the left! Very hard to find a true fan of the Final Fantasy series. What there are people who are/was fans of one or another episode, and all they know to do nowdays is follow the series news just to criticize and say that "it was the good on my time, now it is garbage". So pay no attention to haters, realize that each FF has something new and different to offer and has no obligation to please fans of previous episodes. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    This game isn't a masterpiece... But it is still fantastic. More open, good story, unique soundtrack, and amazing gameplay make this game great. A huge improvement on xiii and the whole feel of the game is much more loose and open while still having a good story (which is very hard to do btw, just ask skyrim and its amazing world and addictiveness but horrible plot). I don't understand all the people who give this game crap. I understand you want final fantasy to be like it used to be but you can't just let that cloud your minds from seeing when square has put out yet another great game. You won't find this game as one of the final fantasy classics, but this game is still very good and shows squares determination to make the game that the fans want to play. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    Unlike the rest of my colleagues who just auto ranked the game based on being a fanboy, I'm actually going to save my judgement until I get the game later today. From what I can tell and the videos I've seen, THIS is what FFXIII should have been. However, when you cater to the easy crowd you will alienate your fanbase and thats what happened. Graphics look good but thats not why I buy RPG's. If a pretty girl on the screen is enough for me to buy a game, I'd stick to Playboy. I buy RPG's for the STORY and FFXIII was completely bonkers on that department. Not even a fantastic musical score, simplified gameplay, nor graphics could have saved that game.

    FFXIII-2 looks to have repaired that damage, but its not what I wanted for the series. FFXIII was a giant step backwards in the progress of FF games, but FFXIII-2 was only skip forward. According to users and critics alike, the gameplay is just on the short side of 30hrs for main storyline. BUT the sidequests are a plenty and the monster collection screams competionist for ALL hardcore pokemon fans out there. You know who you are.... =P

    Sadly, according to what I read and the videos I've seen, the story less fragmented and convoluted than FFXIII, but its still up there. When you incorporate time travel as a mechanic, I'm thinking Chrono Trigger. The story is LINEAR, but the choices are not. XIII-2 doesn't justify a good enough reason for time travelling, but I'll know real soon when I pick up the game.

    Overall, I will enjoy this game more than XIII. I followed SE since it was Squaresoft back when I played FF for the NES. Like all companies, it has slipped and fallen on hard times, but all companies will release a few duds in their time, its the GREAT companies that learn from their mistakes and LISTEN to their fans to make BETTER GAMES.

    I count Square Enix as my FAVORITE SPORTS TEAM. There are times where I am exasperrated (FFXIV, Front Mission, Nier, Dungeon Siege 3) where I am pulling out my hair and cussing at them for their bad plays. But there are also times when I go "Booya! They nailed it!) and I think/hope that its the case with FFXIII-2. If your an SE zealot, then you'll like the game regardless of what I say or what critics say. If your an old jaded fan, rent the game... try it out, maybe SE will win back your trust a little. If you pay $60 bucks for a game, you should have zero loyalties to a company if the game does not live up to your expectation. I'm hoping SE will live up to mine.
    Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    IGN is not the owner of the truth folks, wait for the other reviews...I'm sure that XIII-2 will do better than 83/100 on Metacritic, like XIII, because this game is AWESOME!!!! Rumor has it that some employees were not satisfied with just one thing, although access to the site is via one of the busiest and most crowded subway station. Moreover, everyone will enjoy the greatest luxury and refinement of the site, which rivals the Shinra headquarters of the Final Fantasy VII. Are about 20 floors, with parking for over 300 cars, which show that more than 100 million selling Final fantasys can build. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2012
    4
    Although I'm a long time fan of the series, I don't want to let my bias affect what I say about this game, so I'll review it from a neutral standpoint, as if it were not part of the Final Fantasy series. I have to say that I'm disappointed with FFXIII-2. Whether or not the game is well made, beautiful, interesting, or unique, it lacks the most important component in a video game. It just isn't fun. The graphics are fantastic, but the exploration feels like a chore. The area map is difficult to access, and doesn't feel accurate, and the setting is overly dramatic and uninteresting. The game failed to capture my attention. There are sidequests and missions that can be picked up from NPCs, but as far as I could tell there was no way to track any objective outside of the main storyline, making these sidequests frustrating to deal with and minimally rewarding. I'm sure there are many substories and special items that I missed because I just could not bring myself to go after the sidequests. That aside, even just wandering about in the game was never enjoyable due to constant chirpy quotes from annoying, unrelatable, characters. The music isn't anything special either, so turning off the dialogue volume doesn't solve this problem. Now on to the feature that should be FFXIII-2's selling point: the battle system. I was actually excited to try it out. Again, I was disappointed. You can select paradigm setups in the menu outside of battle, which I found to be enjoyable, but using them in battle is not as rewarding or fun as it should be. For the most part, you select what role you want each character to fill, and then you only have control as one of them in battle, and you choose a chain of moves from a list and then wait. The other charactes run around and do their job, healing the players or doing damage to the enemy. It's nearly impossible to pay attention to them, because the battles are a mess of spinning swords, flashing numbers, and explosions. It's all cinematic, you could select a paradigm that gives the party one attacker and one healer, and then put down the controller and go do something else. You'll eventually win. There's no skill, logic, or thinking involved whatsoever. Your input is completely insignificant to the outcome, and the battles drag on. It can take upwards of 5 minutes to win some of the early battles in the game. I found myself avoiding most enemy encounters, although in other similar games, I tend to search out battles to try out my parties new techiniques and strategies. FFXIII-2 ultimately failed in this regard. Nothing about the game captured my attention or was any fun at all, aside from setting up characters in the menu that I never used. All in all, whether you're a long time fan or a newcomer, I can't bring myself to recommend this game. Rent it or play the demo. Maybe you'll find something you like, but I honestly can't believe this game has receieved any ratings above a 6. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Outdated Everything. Story doesn't make any sense. Annoying voice acting. Combat still unimaginative, the game plays by itself, just flashy battles. How about some real fighting. Not here. Square Enix is just milking the fanbase. The fanbase of neckbeards that like little girls with pink hair.
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Too many ones pushin'up this thing. This game is dull as a rusted dishwater in the center of a living-room. Characters ? Silly, charismatic as a toilet. Game-play ? Chaotic. For a non English-birth-language ones ergonomy is non-existent cause you're forced to read on the bottom of the screen a lot of things that drive away focus completely from everything. Leveling up ? Just too linear. Actions ? Too fast too many times (we are not lab-monkeys) == frustrating. Shops ? That addicted neither-too-sexy thing it's a cheap choice for programmers. Level design ? Built by the machine. Atmosphere ? Zero. Sounds ? Annoying. Musics ? Someone good but out of place and no adrenaline rush. Graphics ? Last chapter was better. The story ? What story ? That mess that someone call a "story" ? Who cares ? ...I'm a bigbetterhuge FF fan, I've always been... but this time is just too much, enough is enough, please FF staff, just go to do HARAKIRI, not FF XIII-3, shame on you, regain "love for the game" instead "love for the money" and money will come again but this time I only wish you to default. Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2012
    4
    Ultimately this game does nothing for the franchise that was driven into the ground. While not as **** as its predecessor, FFXIII-2 is still bland and boring in every possible way (except the graphics of course - those are beautiful). Characters are as annoying as ever; the story is a cliche storm, though typical for any JRPG; the music - well, let's just say that I've never thought that any soundtrack could be more bland and unmemorable than that of FFXIII. Guess SquareEnix proved me wrong. I'm very happy that I will be able to spend these 60$ on something good instead. Too bad for my friend who spent his on this. Expand
  9. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What's wrong with a game has a direct sequence (even if it is more a) if it is a wonderful game? What's wrong with the story complete trilogy format, or quatrolgogia or quintologia? A wonderful game can not escape the conclusion to his story ends it in an upcoming episode? Why require a "middle chapter" finish the story of the game?
  10. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Where are the masters of these fans to be continue to criticize the decision of Square Enix? They criticize everything the company does, how DLCs. Every game company today make five hundred DLCs and nobody says anything, and when the Square do ...
  11. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Everyone has the right not to like Final Fantasy CURRENT. But when you call it "garbage" and said the series "Died," the millions of fans today, feel the least offended. You hater need learn about respect.
  12. Jan 31, 2012
    3
    I play RPGs primarily for the story, characters, and the cinematic experience, which is why I am so disenchanted by FF13-2. The story literally does not make any sense, and I feel as though the game finds that fact funny and flaunts it very often. The majority of the conversations in the game have nothing to do with relevant characters or events--they're unnatural, nonsensical rants about "time" and "paradox", over and over and over and over. It's as if the writers believed that if they repeated those words enough, things would start to make sense. They don't. The characters--and there's only two--act as if no one else is there with them. Noel and Serah don't connect at all--they just state things over the course of the game, as if the other isn't there. They go through the entire game without learning much about one another. It's similar to the way, for example, Fang never interacted with anyone but Vanille in FF13. It's very awkward and, to be honest, lonely. But most of the game is lonely; though FF13-2 boasts that towns have returned, they really haven't. Sure, many of the time periods in the game have "towns", but they are just town-looking locations overrun with monsters. Why should I care about saving a town from monsters if the town has no NPCs or interiors of any kind? I don't even know who lives here, or if anyone ever does live here. Sure, you'll see futuristic cars zooming by in the background, but it's a huge disappointment when you realize that you'll never be able to actually talk to anyone from many of the time periods. Don't get excited by the term "time periods"--in 13-2, most of them are just one-level dungeons. My other complaint is the way the developers approached "fixing" the game after FF13. Most of the non-linearity is artificial: Maps are now "gridded", but every twist and turn leads to the same goal. There's not actually anything interesting to see off the beaten path, other than a treasure sphere. The minigames of 13-2 are also totally unrelated to what is going on in the story--they're clearly just thrown in to address 13's lack of minigames. And the towns, as I mentioned, continue to be disappointing ghost towns that constantly make me wonder why this world is worth saving at all when no one lives in it. For me, the meat of an RPG is the story and characters, and that's why I'm giving this game a 3/10. The 3 represents the great graphics, the above average music, the "cool" factor of the game, the CG, the battle system, and all of the other bells and whistles. If you like Pokemon, or want a grinding game, give 13-2 a shot. If you're after for an epic story experience, look elsewhere. Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    If you're going into FFXIII-2 thinking SE learned from the complaints about the last game and created a rich, explorable world for this one, you're going to be disappointed. The world of FFXIII-2 is made up of a small handful of areas with nothing really connecting them to each other (think Kingdom Hearts). The ridiculous time travel storyline gives the developers a convenient excuse to recycle areas with different lighting/weather effects and pass them off as new areas. I have to give them a pass on this, because to my understanding, this game is largely an attempt to make use of the large amount of unused assets created for FFXIII. I think your feelings on FFXIII's battle system will largely determine whether or not you enjoy this game as it is essentially the same aside from the monster collecting. The game still looks and sounds great even if a few of the new musical tracks are truly cringe-worthy (the heavy metal chocobo theme, for example). The music was one of the best things about FFXIII and luckily, all of the most familiar themes from that game make appearances here. They made some rather unfortunate additions to the gameplay, like QTEs and a lot of truly awful puzzle rooms that look like they came straight out of a PS2 game circa 2002. Other than that, this 20-hour sequel if pretty enjoyable. I wouldn't recommend paying full price for it though. Expand
  14. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    This game is better than XIII but the damage has been done. Final Fantasy XIII is one of my most hated games ever and in my opinion, the worst FF game ever. This sequel is what XIII should have been but the problem is that this game should have been XIII when XIII was released and instead we got the same horrible taste with salt and flavourings added to it for slight improvement. First, the good stuff. The battle system is more involving and intuitive, there is more emphasis on exploration and random encounters are tactical. Overall, it completely improves on the gameplay from XIII. Now for the bad stuff and it's a very major one: the story. It is so contrived, so depressing and so poorly written and the time travelling aspect actually makes it worse and yes, the writing is as bad as XIII. Most of characters from XIII are back and are annoying as ever but at least we only have to follow Lightning's sister, Serah, who I thought was the most boring character out of the cast but it is sort of an improvement. Did XIII-2 redeem XIII and the whole franchise? Hell no. Even though it is better than XIII, it isn't enough to save the Final Fantasy franchise because it is still hanging on XIII's shadow and that's not good but it is one small step in the right direction at least. Expand
  15. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    People just need to understand that things change, and as part of the public old leaves, comes a new audience (this includes even lower sales in Japan and higher in the West). Things are new Resident Evil ... went through it, leaving aside the terror and taking action. Final Fantasy follows changing, losing and gaining fans with each new episode, and it is not like those who no longer accept this fact, and at least respect the tastes of others, and as we said, not rate it "junk" as seen by both there. Expand
  16. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    While vain haters saying that the series died on 8, at 9, 10, 6 ... in the game celebrates 25 years with much success, having sold until the thirteenth time about 7 million copies, and XIII-2, they lost some public in Japan, making this much success in the U.S., and pre-sales with 150 000 units more than its predecessor.
  17. Feb 13, 2012
    7
    The Final Fantasy series has been on a slow, steady decline since FFIX almost brought Square back to the elements that made the franchise great to begin with. The pinnacle being VII, everything after has been a slog, as more and more time and energy has been pumped into graphics, while the freedom, gameplay and most of all, STORY has taken a backseat. XIII-2 is only the second numbered sequel, and while I certainly don't think it is a great game, by any means, it at least shows that someone, somewhere inside SE is listening and trying to get the series back on track. I would suggest anyone who has an interest in this series give this one a go, if for no other reason than to give incentives for more risk taking in future installments. Expand
  18. Feb 2, 2012
    5
    The good: Great cinematic scenes.

    The bad: Same bad experience from FF-XIII. all of this includes annoying background music, silly and childish characters, stupid dialogues and same boring combat system from FFXIII. In sum if you didn't like the original FFXIII you won't be pleased with this one either. I'm still waiting for a FF game that truly incorporates the great things from the
    classic FF games (hopefully FFXIV).This FFXIII saga feels more like an semi-adult version of a Kingdom Hearts game but without any Disney's charm. On the positive side this could be an OK game for those under 12 year old gamers diving into RPG games for the first time. Expand
  19. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Yep.. It's the real deal this time around! ~Game is VERY good and "feels" like a final fantasy game through and through. ~Combat is extremely fluid, fast, and fun! ~Collecting the enemies you fight to aid subsequent encounters is nothing short of epic! ~Within the first hour of the game your riding Chocobos for crying out lout! Awesome. ~By only having 2 main characters the story this time around is ALOT more focused albeit a little less dire but still an overall good story that I'm very much enjoying!

    ~ Time travel mechanic is done in a very accessible way and fun to do instead of being a huge pain in the kiester.

    Did you like FFX?? BUT THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF13?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Did you like FF9?? BUY THIS GAME!
    Expand
  20. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    I must say I am enjoying this Final Fantasy much more than I did 13. I do wish that some more attention to characers were made, but over-all the story elements, combat, music and other additions have greatly improved since 13.
  21. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Fantastic story and great characters. Can't wait for the DLC to follow up, although I still currently await Final Fantasy XIII-3, if it comes out.
  22. Feb 13, 2012
    6
    For a franchise that prides itself on story I have to say this game is one of the poorer entries in the series. Possibly the worst. The story is very bland and uninspiring. Also it doesn't make a whole lot of sense and is not easy to follow even if you're a fanboy. I will say that the graphics for this game are very good but that was already established by the previous game. Combat again is largely the same and I found myself using the same combination of Paradigms and moves over and over again making the experience very bland. They did add quicktime event which didn't add much for me and I also feel are outdated to begin with. Overall this was a very poor game showing that Square Enix is running out of innovative ideas. Expand
  23. dz9
    Feb 6, 2012
    7
    If you have read my review of FF13, it is blatantly obvious that I despised the very fabric of Final Fantasy 13, it took away everything that is loved and that is expected out of Final Fantasy. The countless joyful hours I spent in FF6, 7, 9, 10, and 12 is the sole reason why I even considered giving 13-2 a shot. I read a review before I played it and learned about time traveling aspects in the game and the first thing I thought of was "omg, there going to add a confusing aspect like time traveling to an already confusing, con deluded, and to put it lightly screwed up story?" And this brings me to my first point, in its essence it is a bad thing, but considering how bad the story in 13 was, it is a good thing. They nearly completely threw out all the bad points in 13 and acted as if they never happened and just expanded on the few good concepts. This game also expands on the beautiful graphics, and it shows how much better the gameplay in 13 could have been if they simply had just let you control more than one character in combat!!! This game returns towns (but not in the traditional sense) side quests, replay ability, and side adventuring. 13 treasure hunting was too basic, due to the linearity of the title, every treasure was either in the path, or in the little alcove 10 feet from your path. 13-2 liberates the gamer from the hellish linearity from the first, which greatly improves the treasure hunting. Now... treasures are scattered and hidden nicely and some are invisible which you will have to utilize your moogle in fun and inventive ways to find them. The level up system has way more freedom, however very simplified but i still found it enjoyable. Also, the beast master was a good addition however I thought not completely fleshed but it was still fun and what more can you ask for. However... this game does suffer from some of the flaws from the first title, the characters that make a reappearance (including Lightning) are however a little more fleshed out, but I didn't care about them anymore than I did in the first (except for Hope). This is only a spoiler if you didn't beat the original but one of the main objectives in this title is to revitalize Fang and Vanille, but they were literally some of the worst characters in video game history and I found myself not wanting to do good in this game just to not have to hear Vanille's annoying voice again!! The dialogue in this ranges polar opposite, being very touching or flat out corny and ridiculous, but more so ridiculous. More so Serah, but I found that the two main characters were uninteresting and bland (but still better than the characters in the first). And still, the basic premise of this game is just as confusing as the story in the first... but over great periods of time in this title, you may begin to understand it. And that's another thing this game has wrong, the pacing. The first 8 hours I spent playing it, nothing progressed story wise past the first 20 minutes of the game, the gamer will find themselves maybe completely not caring about the story, but if you can luster up the strength to venture on, it does get better. The Good: Gameplay upgraded, level up system, graphics, exploring, story upgraded, beast master fits right in, and an awesome villain. The Bad: Accessories seem irrelevant, bland main characters, pacing, and suffers from its predecessor. In the End: This game gets carried by its flash, its gameplay, its main villain, and your nostalgia. I feel like Square did an absolute horrible job with the story development because all the "twists" were just so obvious that the game spits in the face of the gamer by presuming your somehow not smart enough to understand. This game is still not a genuine FF title, it just BARELY earns its name... its enjoyable and fun, but don't expect a total thrill ride or story driven experience because once you get past the flash, theres not a terrible amount going for it... Expand
  24. Feb 6, 2012
    3
    I was one of those people who actually enjoyed FFXIII (shocking, I know, that those people do exist) and I didn't have as many gripes with how it played out. It's been said that this game is basically the complete opposite of what FFXIII was and I can agree with them. The main problem I have with this game is the fact that it's so boring. I liked the story and, even though the characters were kinda annoying in FFXIII, they weren't so bad that it hindered the story, unlike in here. Sarah and Noel are beyond terrible as main characters and listening to them talk about a convoluted story, which doesn't hold a candle to the story in FFXIII, is beyond difficult to listen too. The voice acting isn't terrible it's just that the characters are not very compelling and the way they are presented make them uninteresting and just annoying to have to deal with. However it's the story that is the worst part of the game. The time traveling part of the story could have been interesting but the way it's presented with all the complexities of time travel make it difficult to follow and even harder to have a vested interest in its outcome. All these things make for a boring game, especially for someone who actually enjoyed FFXIII. It's completely true that this game is the exact opposite of FFXIII. That means if you actually liked FFXIII like I did, you may have some issues with all the things that were changed from that one to this game. To each his own but be careful with this game if you actually enjoyed FFXIII. Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Funny that almost all animes use and abuse of the To Be Continued, FF seems already prohibited from using it. There are chapters and more chapters of Dragon Ball Z for example, that are pure **** surpassing even the novels of Globo and Televisa.
  26. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    Final Fantasy fans have their real needs and not those that have been, but today only know how to criticize. You are a leading zero to Square Enix! Sorry, but this is the truth. Recalling that the Square already registered the name Final Fantasy XIII-3.
  27. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    As we have reported in recent weeks, the newest RPG from Square Enix, Final Fantasy XIII-2 continues to surprise in pre-sales in the U.S.. Unlike Japan, where sales were not as good as its predecessor, the American territory, the game has surpassed more than 100 000 units Final Fantasy XIII on the same date, and that only the PS3 version, adding about 354 000 copies sold . In the Xbox 360 version, the game enters the top 10 with 115,000 units. Expand
  28. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The CEO Square Enix Yoichi Wada and the CEO of Bic Camera, Hiroyuki Miyajima continued with speeches short. Wada noted that XIII -2 has been enhanced to overcome the XIII in all aspects. Miyajima said the pre-sales for the game were strong in your store, and expressed hope that they sell more copies than anywhere in Japan.
  29. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this wonderfull game? better than the original in almost every single way...better than the original in almost every single way, I wanna XIII-3 now!!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Fantastic, quirky, blast of a time-travel RPG. While I very seriously enjoyed XIII-1, the only thing lacking in my opinion was the ability to have a more free roam experience. That's very much present in here, and you can tell the devs had fun making this game. While the story is a little disjointed and gets pieced-together bit by bit as you travel, and not necessarily in the right order. The ability to recruit monsters as your third party member is in-fact my favorite change to the Final Fantasy formula and breathes a new life into the system. Absolutely fantastic game--what everyone else was looking for when XIII game out. Square Enix is back on it's game. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. 70
    Stand-alone expansion pack you will not want to play for of the story, but only for its battles. [March 2012]
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    81
    If you take XIII-2 and grade it on its own merits, it stands out as a fantastic game. But, if you walk in looking for some semblance of what made the series a household name in the RPG world, you'll be sorely disappointed.
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    91
    With numerous endings, extremely challenging bonus bosses, and a pokemon-like addictiveness of trying to catch them all, Final Fantasy XIII-2 definitely surpassed my expectations and I'm glad that many of the shortcomings of XIII have been addressed and fixed. If you were let down with XIII, give XIII-2 a shot, you might be impressed with all the improvements and changes.