Final Fantasy XIII Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Its a beautiful game, but it fails in the aspect that it is too linear and it still does not beat FFVII for story and variety. The battle system, while no doubt some will love it and some will hate it, i was disappointed by it. These flaws are i can only give it a 9
  2. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    While the fan reaction to Final Fantasy XIII is one of the most polarized that a Final Fantasy game has seen since the arrival of Final Fantasy IX, I find myself firmly on the fence. It's a great RPG, but it takes a lot of rather daunting risks with the traditional formula that fans have come to expect. Unsurprisingly, not all of them turn up roses.
  3. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    I liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may playI liked the game and instantly loved some of the characters, but for some reason it didn't really keep my attention like Final Fantasy X or X-2 did, this one seems....dull in some areas. Don't get me wrong, i'm very happy i bought but this game reminds me of Final Fantasy 7 (the newer version 1), after i beat the game once, i never touched it game. This game is sorta the same, i may play it over, but eh. Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not great, not the worst. Graphics and OST are breathtaking, the storyline is good, although a little bit weird and twisted in the end. The fighting system was awkward at first but nice once you had trained it for some hours. The worst is the lack of secondary missions. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    Pros: Superbly beautiful graphics, scenery, cutscenes, and fairly interesting story. Plays out like a movie. Offers a truly unique experience from other video games. Cons: Is not true to franchise, simple combat, sidequests and exploration are nonexistant. Character building is also linear meaning no replayability. Barely counts as an RPG.

    Overall: I think FFXIII is a refreshingly
    Pros: Superbly beautiful graphics, scenery, cutscenes, and fairly interesting story. Plays out like a movie. Offers a truly unique experience from other video games. Cons: Is not true to franchise, simple combat, sidequests and exploration are nonexistant. Character building is also linear meaning no replayability. Barely counts as an RPG.

    Overall: I think FFXIII is a refreshingly unique experience. I think it was cool to see a game play out like a movie, but at the same time I would not want all my games to do such.
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Being the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point ofBeing the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point of interest is the combat. The paradigm system is a fresh take on the job system generally associated with III and V. Characters switch roles in the heat of battle, meaning a constant creating and revision of strategy, adding depth and complexity to fighting. The crystarium is very similar to the sphere grid of FFX so it is not a revolution in player growth. The story is much more character driven than other FF games with each struggling with problems connected to others in the group. Though it sags in the third act, the story is much more mature and modern than that of other games in the series. With a combination of graphics, gameplay and story, on paper this looks like an instant classic. FFXIII's real problem is in its mishandling of these elements. The camera is constantly trying to direct the player to the scenery and the visual dazzle occasionally overwhelms and prevents immersion. The game takes too long to reveal all elements of its battle system, withholding the ability to change roles and leaders until certain sections of the game. The characters personal conflicts take much too long to resolve themselves, usually because a character is too afraid to speak up. Though I liked most of the characters, Vanille was unbearable, with an optimistic attitude that is completely at odds with the story and the rest of the characters. This game will divide fans who question whether this is a game worth of the FF name. But to do this game justice, gamers should judge FFXIII on what it is and not on what it isn't. Expand
  7. AllenC
    Mar 9, 2010
    9
    This game needs to be enjoyed for what it is, not despised for what it isn't. On its own merits, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. The story was good and surprisingly character-driven when you think about it. The battle system, as has been noted, is great. The battles are the best of any FF game yet. I'm not going to complain about the lack of exploration in this This game needs to be enjoyed for what it is, not despised for what it isn't. On its own merits, I found this game to be incredibly enjoyable. The story was good and surprisingly character-driven when you think about it. The battle system, as has been noted, is great. The battles are the best of any FF game yet. I'm not going to complain about the lack of exploration in this game because that isn't what the game is about. The first five hours or so really stink. I felt that I was being treated like a bit of an idiot. The end makes up for that. Great game... though all-in-all not as compelling as X or XII. Expand
  8. DavidS
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    Overall I'd say thusfar it's a fairly decent game. The graphics are beautiful and the battle system is well laid out. Character Development isn't too shabby but the storyline hasn't fully sucked me in not quite yet. Hopefully it'll improve over time, but for now it seems a bit linear and a bit predictable at times. Overall I'd still say not a bad installment Overall I'd say thusfar it's a fairly decent game. The graphics are beautiful and the battle system is well laid out. Character Development isn't too shabby but the storyline hasn't fully sucked me in not quite yet. Hopefully it'll improve over time, but for now it seems a bit linear and a bit predictable at times. Overall I'd still say not a bad installment to the series. Expand
  9. DanielK
    Mar 10, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing.... I bought the 360 version because I use my 360 far more and yes there are a few minor blemishes graphically, but overall it's a technical marvel. Besides I like having a smoother framerate and to think they accomplished this on 360 in less than half the time of the dev time of the PS3 is more than impressive. I was a little iffy on the battle system at first This game is amazing.... I bought the 360 version because I use my 360 far more and yes there are a few minor blemishes graphically, but overall it's a technical marvel. Besides I like having a smoother framerate and to think they accomplished this on 360 in less than half the time of the dev time of the PS3 is more than impressive. I was a little iffy on the battle system at first but once you get a couple hours in, the options really open up. I cannot stress enough that the game is amazing and owners of either system should go pick it up; I may still buy the PS3 version just to have both since I'm such an FF nut (I have every single main series Final Fantasy). Expand
  10. SamM
    Mar 14, 2010
    8
    A solid final fantasy experience, graphics and presntation are out of this world and the battle system is well thought out and brings in a number of different tactics for different situations. The story is involving and the voice acting is good for the most part. Unfortunatly it's just missing the charm of its predecessors, and thats why it can't be scored as highly.
  11. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloudI really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloud and company. Expand
  12. DallasB
    Mar 9, 2010
    8
    First off the Visuals are the BEST on the 360! There is no discerning between cut scenes and actual game play. The only jaggies can be seen when you move the camera closeup on the character and you get some straight line animations on the arms. But that really is a mute point as the characters look superb close up as the do far away! Graphics:10 So far missions have felt short and simple. First off the Visuals are the BEST on the 360! There is no discerning between cut scenes and actual game play. The only jaggies can be seen when you move the camera closeup on the character and you get some straight line animations on the arms. But that really is a mute point as the characters look superb close up as the do far away! Graphics:10 So far missions have felt short and simple. I use auto battle the most as I just want to watch the great graphics but for those who want to get into the nitty gritty they can customize and slow down the battle. I really REALLY want to control the character. I want to battle myself, pushing buttons to punch or another button the slash, or that special button to achieve a special skill,but sadly it is not there. Basically just Que up what you want and sit back and watch. The early bosses look like they will be Huge challenges but often then not they are just as easy as early soldiers. Also sometimes during battles your star system is based on how quick you beat the bad guys, so to be perfect in stars you want to win as quick as possible. Also drops from battles can be incredible items, to nothing dropped, though this gets better as you progress through the game, as one would expect! Game Play: 7.5 Story Line can be somewhat confusing. Make sure you push that Y button on the 360 quite a bit and read the story progress as you may get somewhat lost. I would much have rather watched cut scenes then read this lengthy book they have, as it can take you out of the heat of the moment, but at least it is included. There are a few characters that will pull at your heart strings, but sometimes your left wondering why that character just behave that way, over all though it doesn't put a damper on the game play, though it does take you out of it due to all the reading. I feel this is the biggest fault of the game! Story:6 Camera Control, can be VERY frustrating. I find myself, clicking the stick to re-center the camera quite a bit. I wished often that I could just go into First person mode, and look at all the gorgeous detail instead of being stuck in this third person mode. Also looking at enemies in your data bank will find you wanting to zoom in and rotate, but forget it, your stuck with just a static view, that you can't zoom in on or rotate. Camera 7 Finally the downside to some is the discs, there are 3 for the 360. This has no effect on me, and I have not installed the game, and I just play it from discs. Overall this is a GREAT game for the 360, and should be the standard for all games of this type moving forward. Take note of some of the small flaws of this game and the next game of this type would be almost perfect. Final Fantasy fans will buy this no question, but if your not into this type of game, you will be blown away by the gorgeous visuals and be left scratching your head about the story line and frustrated over really wanting to get into the fight, so you may want to rent before diving in on the purchase. For me this was a Midnight buy and I have been enjoying it, with just a few wishes and complaints before the game moves on to another gorgeous site! Expand
  13. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Let me start off by first saying that this is easily one of the best Final Fantasy games out there right now. Ever since I finished Final Fantasy X's epic storyline, I've been yearning for another Final Fantasy game to come along that can emulate the emotions that I had felt all those years ago. I'm happy to say that I have indeed found that game in the form of Final Fantasy XIII. I'veLet me start off by first saying that this is easily one of the best Final Fantasy games out there right now. Ever since I finished Final Fantasy X's epic storyline, I've been yearning for another Final Fantasy game to come along that can emulate the emotions that I had felt all those years ago. I'm happy to say that I have indeed found that game in the form of Final Fantasy XIII. I've slowly come to realize that most fans either love the game or absolutely hate it and I can understand both sides of the spectrum. Graphically, even by today's standards, FFXIII is one of the sharpest looking games out there. Character models still look extremely solid and the environments and cutscenes are absolutely gorgeous. The game features an entirely made-from-scratch world with its own rich history and extremely deep lore that is presented in spot-on fashion so as to not overwhelm the player with too many details. Now, moving on to the core aspects of the game, starting with the storyline. As mentioned earlier, FFXIII's story is one of hope. It's about setting out to accomplish something, rather than sitting around wishing you could, when others say it is impossible. Admittedly, it's not exactly the most unique message a video game has ever conveyed, but the manner in which it is presented is spectacular. The story starts off focused on Lightning Farron (whose real first name is revealed later), a Guardian Corps. soldier whose sister becomes branded by a demigod-like being called a Fal'Cie. Those that are branded, called l'Cie, have what's called a Focus, which is a single objective that must be accomplished in a limited amount of time. If the l'Cie fails to carry out their Focus in the time given, they turn into mindless demonic creatures called Cie'th. However, if they do carry out their Focus successfully, they turn into crystal to sleep for all of eternity, which isn't exactly much better. Without giving away too much more, Lightning desperately tries to help her sister out of this impossible situation. By far, this is one of the most stellar endings, in my opinion, to any video I've ever played, neatly wrapping up all loose ends and satisfying the player. The game features an extraordinary cast of hit-or-miss characters. My friend hated every single party member while I grew fond of every one of them. Each of them features an engaging backstory and personality and I actually cared deeply what happened to them as the story progressed. The game's score is absolutely fantastic and suits the game's tone and atmosphere perfectly. Moving on to actual gameplay, many critics fault the game for its extreme linearity and I wholeheartedly agree. This is easily one of the most linear games you will ever play, with very little to no side-missions or objectives to accomplish. The side missions that are available (late in the game) are nothing more than monster-slaying missions and a majority of them offer rewards that barely warrant the time and effort put into these challenging battles. In fact, the majority of the game is very challenging. The game lacks any sort of difficulty setting and so if you're a very casual gamer, you may want to steer clear of this one. Personally, I enjoy challenging video games but this game was just downright frustrating at times. I honestly don't even know how they expect you to win some of the fights without maxing out your characters. The game's battle system is a healthy combination of turn-based combat and a fast-paced action game. It's difficult to describe in a few sentences but it is extremely satisfying without becoming a mindless button-masher. Triumphing over rough boss fights is a real treat that truly tests your skills as a gamer. Fortunately, you can "Retry" any battle mid-fight, which resets your character to right before you engaged the enemy, and the save systems throughout the game are very generous. Overall, Final Fantasy XIII is a treat of a video game. Boasting sharp visuals, an intelligently-satisfying battle system, a fantastic cast of characters, an emotionally engaging storyline and an absolutely stellar ending, this truly is the Final Fantasy game that all fans should play. Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    For most of you, you think this game sucks. Well guess what... it DOESN'T! Final Fantasy games have never been mainly about focusing on in game play, it was just a side thing that was awesome. Anyway, the main thing is the story line, and if you actually pay attention it's really good! I admit that some of the characters I didn't like at first (Snow and Lightning to be exact) but then IFor most of you, you think this game sucks. Well guess what... it DOESN'T! Final Fantasy games have never been mainly about focusing on in game play, it was just a side thing that was awesome. Anyway, the main thing is the story line, and if you actually pay attention it's really good! I admit that some of the characters I didn't like at first (Snow and Lightning to be exact) but then I started to like them after a while, it's an amazing game if you give it a chance but most of you haven't. If you have a problem with this game, then the problems with yourself. Expand
  15. GregS
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the normal attack, then heal after battle. The lack of having to manage MP does not make it any easier either, as the mechanics are in place to prevent outlasting strategies on bosses. There is also some great music, even without Nobuo Uematsu. The final boss theme Born Anew, in particular, stands with the best final boss themes in the series. Oh, and the graphics are the best I've ever seen (though I have yet to play Crysis). Expand
  16. MaxS
    Mar 9, 2010
    10
    I have no idea why this game has been given a 3.6 so far. There are obviously some trolls voting, because although I could understand a rating in the low B range, there is no way this game is in any way deserving of a fail. Even for the graphics alone, the game would be worth playing, but when you factor in the enjoyable story and gameplay, I have to give this game a score it rightly I have no idea why this game has been given a 3.6 so far. There are obviously some trolls voting, because although I could understand a rating in the low B range, there is no way this game is in any way deserving of a fail. Even for the graphics alone, the game would be worth playing, but when you factor in the enjoyable story and gameplay, I have to give this game a score it rightly deserves. Eat it, haters. Expand
  17. JamesK
    Mar 10, 2010
    9
    A truly excellent title with the feel of Final Fantasy 10 in terms of camera or graphics, with the classic sensibilities from Final Fantasy 7, 8, and 10 that is most obvious in the characters or environments that I found to be immensely entertaining and likable. Each character has a complex background story to them as well which pushes the epic, lore-rich story further along. The only A truly excellent title with the feel of Final Fantasy 10 in terms of camera or graphics, with the classic sensibilities from Final Fantasy 7, 8, and 10 that is most obvious in the characters or environments that I found to be immensely entertaining and likable. Each character has a complex background story to them as well which pushes the epic, lore-rich story further along. The only problems are the quite often insanely hard battles, mostly the boss battles, but this finally makes strategy an important option by finally forcing you to use Elemental Resistance accessories you'd never use in other RPG's; even buffs such as Protect or Shell which you'd never use in some Final Fantasy games. Another problem is the slow starting point to the game, where the game follows a linear path for the first 15 hours or so, but it slowly opens up and gets better as you gain more abilities at your disposal and the beautiful world opens up to you. It is understandable for some to not like this game, but many Final Fantasy fans and veterans such as me will love this game! For newcomers, a lore rich world and intense combat system awaits! Expand
  18. robynk
    Mar 13, 2010
    9
    Quite good overall. I expect a lot of traditional fans will not like it as much as previous titles due to the gameplay changes (honestly it almost handles more like a recent-gen Shin Megami Tensei title). That said, it is - of course - very pretty, and the characters are engaging and likable. Those saying the plot and map are too linear must have chronic amnesia, as 13 is really no more Quite good overall. I expect a lot of traditional fans will not like it as much as previous titles due to the gameplay changes (honestly it almost handles more like a recent-gen Shin Megami Tensei title). That said, it is - of course - very pretty, and the characters are engaging and likable. Those saying the plot and map are too linear must have chronic amnesia, as 13 is really no more linear a plot or map than 10 was and it does nothing to detract from the story - which is the whole idea. Kudos, Square, I liked this one and will be replaying it. Expand
  19. KarlaM
    Mar 13, 2010
    10
    I've only been playing for 4 days, and I can honestly say the perfection of this game has surprised me. I have been a fan of the series since Mystic Quest, and I have played all the installments, I expect nothing but the best from the saga, but I did not expect something like this! The gameplay is awesome and the graphics are mouth-watering in a colorful and detailed sense. A I've only been playing for 4 days, and I can honestly say the perfection of this game has surprised me. I have been a fan of the series since Mystic Quest, and I have played all the installments, I expect nothing but the best from the saga, but I did not expect something like this! The gameplay is awesome and the graphics are mouth-watering in a colorful and detailed sense. A downfall for me in the game is the soundtrack. I have been used to Nobuo Uematsu's awesome composing and since the game is directed by Tetsuya Nomura, I expected the WHOLE team to be the same. The music doesn't take me inside the game like other soundtracks did. The story isn't really interesting to me to the point where I can't stop playing it to see what happens next, but the battle system is SO FUN I keep playing anyway. I think it has proven itself in the few days I've played that it will be a game to remember because it is THE FIRST OF ITS KIND. Expand
  20. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    Well worth its money. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The battlesystem is by far the best I've ever used. It's never boring, and it combines fast-paced action with tactic. I've a hard time seeing some "noob" being able to finish some bosses (without grinding for X hours), since it requires a deep understanding of the game mechanics. It's true that the game Well worth its money. The graphics are stunning to say the least. The battlesystem is by far the best I've ever used. It's never boring, and it combines fast-paced action with tactic. I've a hard time seeing some "noob" being able to finish some bosses (without grinding for X hours), since it requires a deep understanding of the game mechanics. It's true that the game is alot of cinematics and fighting, and little else. Personally I don't have any problems with this, and neither should any true RPG-lover. The characters are good, and the story tight. However, for the first 25hrs (50-60% of the game), you don't really get alot of freedom in anything. This will change as you arrive at Gran Pulse, where you'll be able to take up a great deal of sidequests (even if they all are about "kill this mob for me"), which rewards you with nice stuff. All in all, it's a great game if you enjoy long stories with engaging characters and some j-grinding! Expand
  21. JeremyN
    Mar 14, 2010
    9
    I must be missing something. This, to me, is the best RPG to come out in a long time. Possible dislikes: Battle system due to it being rather new, and the linearity. I'll start with the battle system. Generally speaking, you're not choosing each character's actions, since the auto select is intelligent enough and you want to keep the chain level high. But really, I must be missing something. This, to me, is the best RPG to come out in a long time. Possible dislikes: Battle system due to it being rather new, and the linearity. I'll start with the battle system. Generally speaking, you're not choosing each character's actions, since the auto select is intelligent enough and you want to keep the chain level high. But really, you're avoiding grunt work, and making higher level decisions about the way you want your party to work together. And, strange as it may seem, I found this to be the most strategic and engaging battle system that I've ever seen in an RPG. The linearity thing... well, I haven't gotten all the way through yet, though I'm sure that at some point soon I'll be getting an airship or something. I don't stress linearity in RPGs - they're all going to the same ending. They've been programmed in advance, people. Actually, I'd rather have an RPG that revels in its linearity, making one very strong core story (FFXIII is the most mature/followable story in the franchise as far as I can tell), as opposed to giving the illusion of control at the expense of real quality story telling. Anyway, I think that FFXIII is the best RPG I've played in over 10 years. I just get the feeling that square/enix paid the wrong people to write reviews, or didn't pay the right people. I truly don't understand how reviewers can have such high praise for anything Bioware, and then turn around and spit on this amazing game. Expand
  22. PeterM
    Mar 15, 2010
    9
    The story is gripping and immediately accessible. More-so than previous games in the series. It has likable characters that all compliment each other very well to create an intriguing ensemble. The new battle system is arguably the most exciting in the series although it does take a long time to get going. You are very much molly coddled for a long time at the start until you get to an The story is gripping and immediately accessible. More-so than previous games in the series. It has likable characters that all compliment each other very well to create an intriguing ensemble. The new battle system is arguably the most exciting in the series although it does take a long time to get going. You are very much molly coddled for a long time at the start until you get to an adequate level. A very good game that has all the components to be exceptional. The linearity of large parts of the early game do feel like a step back in terms of gameplay but this is for the benefit of the story and character development. If Gaming is to be seen as a serious media form then all aspects of this game are an excellent example to all those nay sayers of fantastic story telling intermingled with intelligent game play. Expand
  23. MikeG.
    Apr 2, 2010
    8
    This game will lose points with people for its linear nature and advanced battle system. But all I can say is I love it. It has that excellent character development and story that you expect with a Final Fantasy. The sound track is great, again, as you would expect from a FF. The controls and camera can be annoying but its not a huge issue. This is a good game that I would recomend to any This game will lose points with people for its linear nature and advanced battle system. But all I can say is I love it. It has that excellent character development and story that you expect with a Final Fantasy. The sound track is great, again, as you would expect from a FF. The controls and camera can be annoying but its not a huge issue. This is a good game that I would recomend to any fan of the Final Fantasy series. Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    I honestly don't know why you would objectively give this game a bad score. Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing story. The only thing you can complain is that in terms of gameplay it is quite limited for an RPG, specially for a Final Fantasy. But it is clear they have focused a lot on the story, which is the keystone of Final Fantasy, its essence, and this game haven't lost that ATI honestly don't know why you would objectively give this game a bad score. Amazing graphics, amazing music, amazing story. The only thing you can complain is that in terms of gameplay it is quite limited for an RPG, specially for a Final Fantasy. But it is clear they have focused a lot on the story, which is the keystone of Final Fantasy, its essence, and this game haven't lost that AT ALL. Also the new combat system is great and seems the natural evolution of the classic turn-based combat, and battles are very challenging, some are among the most difficult of the entire saga. Expand
  25. May 29, 2014
    8
    First of all, all those nostalgic fanboys should shut their **** mouths. Seriously FFVII is not so good, so stop praising it so much. Now to you FFXIII. I like it. Visuals are one of the best in the entire console generation. The battlesystem may seem really dull and easy because of the auto buttin, but Battles will get challenging, I mean a lot challenging. Story I nice, and yes you canFirst of all, all those nostalgic fanboys should shut their **** mouths. Seriously FFVII is not so good, so stop praising it so much. Now to you FFXIII. I like it. Visuals are one of the best in the entire console generation. The battlesystem may seem really dull and easy because of the auto buttin, but Battles will get challenging, I mean a lot challenging. Story I nice, and yes you can read the stuff up, but everything that is important for the story will be explained. The things you actually read is lore, it's like reading all the boss souls in Dark Souls. Character overall meh. Lightning is groomy most of the time, ok she lost her parents when she was a kid and now she lost her sister. Snow can get annoying, but in chapter 7 he opens himself a bit. Hope is a whiny **** at first, but is also getting quite the character development in chapter 7. Sazh is the best character and a reasonable. Vanille seems at first glance annoying, but you will realize that she is carrying a burden and only hides her actual feelings. Fangs is the badass that every Final Fantasy has. There is also a reason within the story that there are no towns, so I can forgive the developer for this. And yes the game is linear but so was FFX.
    But what I think this game could have needed is more end game content.
    Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    I have played every single Final Fantasy game except for the ones on handheld devices and the MMO ones. Square made one huge mistake with this release and that was calling it Final Fantasy. People have really high expectations for this series because it literally is one of the last good JRPG series out and frankly? Square has done better than this. This game is by no means WHATSOEVER a badI have played every single Final Fantasy game except for the ones on handheld devices and the MMO ones. Square made one huge mistake with this release and that was calling it Final Fantasy. People have really high expectations for this series because it literally is one of the last good JRPG series out and frankly? Square has done better than this. This game is by no means WHATSOEVER a bad game though! I couldn't put it down because the story is amazing. The graphics are amazing. OMFG the graphics are so good. Even in 2014 the cut scenes are like WHOA! The music is great. From what I remember about every Final Fantasy Square always brought at least that to the table except for the music on X-2 (really?). The bad? The game is super linear. I still put in about 65 hours in this game from start to finish only doing about half of the side content. The side content is not that great. It's just a bunch of monster slayer missions. You have the opportunity to get your group super OP and take down super OP mobs. Who has time for that anyway? Not me. I was semi thankful towards the end that the first 2 cds were so linear. The content is still astounding though if you compare 60 hours to the 25 hours it takes to beat Final Fantasy 2(US release) for the SNES. Think about it. They made this super linear and it still takes at least 45-50 hours to play through your first time. Do yourself a favor. Forget about the other Final Fantasy games and play this with an unbiased opinion. You will probably like it. I know I did when looking at it like that. Expand
  27. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Ah Final Fantasy XIII a game that is hated and loved by many at the same time. I love this game. This game is gorgeous, the battle system was pretty cool, and the story was simple at least for me to follow. I love the character development this game has. Overall I love this game a lot. I recommend you try it.
  28. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    Amazing, stunning graphics. Some of the best animation cinematics I have ever seen in a videogame, Square Enix took a brave step, and moved its biggest franchise into a more direct style of gameplay. No more open world, no more secondary stories, no more visiting shops and talking to villagers. Instead, a long corridor to walk through for hours while beating enemies, with numerousAmazing, stunning graphics. Some of the best animation cinematics I have ever seen in a videogame, Square Enix took a brave step, and moved its biggest franchise into a more direct style of gameplay. No more open world, no more secondary stories, no more visiting shops and talking to villagers. Instead, a long corridor to walk through for hours while beating enemies, with numerous cutscenes in the middle.

    The plot is good, maybe not the best in the franchise but definitely better than what we are used to in the current generation. In my opinion, the characters seem quite annoying in the beginning, but they evolve during the game and get more interesting and complex.

    The combat system might seem awkward in the beginning, but by the end of the game (which took me around 40 hours to finish, a very decent number) you might think it is very fun and challenging. Each boss fight needs strategy and planification, but also agility to switch your team formations in the middle of the battle to be able to survive.
    The main problem in this game, though, is the high difficulty of some enemies. The nature of this game is that of a corridor (we go from point A to point B to proceed in the story, and we cannot go anywhere else), so training your characters needs some extra motivation. In other RPGs, exploring a dungeon or a mysterious area might be a good excuse to level up and get nice items before you face the "big boss". In FF XIII, you are sometimes rewarded very little for fighting hardcore creatures; and very much for fighting 4 or 5 weak enemies. This is something I find unfair, and it does not encourage training your squad. What you might do instead is to find one single enemy that is easy to beat and rewards you with a lot of experience points, and repeat this fight many times. This will be the most time-efficient manner of leveling your squad, which is a pity. However, this was corrected in FF XIII-2, and that is a point for the guys of Square Enix.

    In conclusion, this is a very good (but linear) RPG. Probably it was meant to be more accessible for the public, with great graphics and an intuitive gameplay. This disappointed the fans of the saga, which I understand.
    One might not mention this game when it comes to define the Final Fantasy franchise... But its name might sound in the "top 10 Japanese RPGs" of the Xbox360-PS3 generation.
    Expand
  29. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    While a departure from the series the game, when taken as a stand alone, is very fun to play, especially in the later chapters. That said, the early chapters do tend to drag a bit, with the exposition being laid on much slower than it could have been. The characters, as a whole, seem to be a matter of taste. While some may find them quite enjoyable, others will detest them. The plot isWhile a departure from the series the game, when taken as a stand alone, is very fun to play, especially in the later chapters. That said, the early chapters do tend to drag a bit, with the exposition being laid on much slower than it could have been. The characters, as a whole, seem to be a matter of taste. While some may find them quite enjoyable, others will detest them. The plot is nothing new for a Final Fantasy, though the gameplay offers some fun challenges, though again later on (5-6 of 13 chapters are overtly simple to play.) Overall, if you tend toward RPGs, specifically JRPGs, then this is a solid, enjoyable title. Expand
  30. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    I've been playing RPGs for a very long time, and the Final Fantasy series, like many other old-school RPGers, comes close to beloved status for me. FF3 (6), FF7, FF10, these have a special place in my RPG shrine, also known as a dusty corner in my closet.

    So when I saw that FF13 was shortly due to be released, I decided to borrow my buddy's stormtrooper costume and go out for the midnight
    I've been playing RPGs for a very long time, and the Final Fantasy series, like many other old-school RPGers, comes close to beloved status for me. FF3 (6), FF7, FF10, these have a special place in my RPG shrine, also known as a dusty corner in my closet.

    So when I saw that FF13 was shortly due to be released, I decided to borrow my buddy's stormtrooper costume and go out for the midnight release. He opted to go as Voldemort. Much fun was had, and I returned excited to play.

    Upon popping that disc in and loading up the intro movie, I experienced what I consider the major positive of this game: the graphics. Let me just state that plainly: from a technical stand-point, the graphics are gorgeous. The characters are modeled with exceptional detail. It really is a pleasure just to watch them. On the other hand, I found the stylistic side of the graphics to be something of a let-down. There's a lot of recycled corridors and monster models. Nothing ever really popped out at me; I never encountered any memorable sort of artistic moments.

    So going from the intro screen, I had high hopes. And then I played the game.

    The gameplay is both exceptionally linear and exceptionally easy, especially in the first parts of the game. Basically you can control only one person and even then your options are limited. Essentially the entire strategy of the game comes from switching roles. Sadly there are very few fights that require even that. During some of the early dungeons I literally held up on the joystick and pressed A over and over and beat them, while I was outside grilling salmon (wireless controllers ftw?) An entire dungeon, without looking, except for the boss. Which is unfortunate because I was also randomly using items and libra and other such things, but I still managed to win the day!

    Let me elaborate further upon my claims of this being the most linear game ever: the game's dungeons are essentially corridors running in one direction, there are never any towns to explore, there are no extra townspeople to talk to, and your character development is more or less entirely linear. There are no choices to make because you can choose them all.

    Simply put, the gameplay is boring. It's a game made for over-achieving zombies.

    Now then let me move on to the story. A big letdown, for several reasons. For one, the dialogue is abysmal. The voice-acting is great, that's not my complaint: the script is terrible. Perhaps I was spoiled, coming from Dragon Age, but I found most of the conversations painfully formulaic. I understand that this game is made to be understood even by little kids, yet Pixar movies somehow manage to be entertaining and approachable for all ages so why couldn't FF13?

    Starting from a poor script, the story can really only go down hill. The villains (like in FF12) are somewhat vague and/or absent. It's not really very clear until later, and even then only just so, why exactly I'm running through corridors, killing everything that moves.

    As we say in the creative writing biz, the game never managed to "draw me in"; it never captured me and consequentially I couldn't careless about the fates of anyone involved.

    The characters are, like everything else in the game, one dimensional. Snow is the cardboard cutout of a "hero" oblivious to reality; Lightning is the cardboard cutout of the gritty tough soldier, even though as a Guardian soldier, she's the equivalent of a national guard soldier in a completely peaceful country; Hope is the cardboard cutout of a weak unguided boy who has "great potential" or some other BS; etc, etc, etc. I actually found Vanille, which Gamespot's reviewer thought was annoying, to be the only character with any real depth. Unfortunately, the game feels the need to constantly blungeon you over the head with this: I HAVE A SECRET, I HAVE A SECRET. Yet, if you are at all cognizant of how Square localizes their FF games, her Australian accent (as opposed to the accents of everyone else) is a dead give-away what her secret is.

    In short, this game has wonderful graphics and decent voice-acting and not much else. It'd be like if you gathered a bunch of beautiful actors, gave them a crappy studio with no props or tools or anything else, handed them a Danielle Steele novel to serve as a script, and told them: "Go at it." Then you'd have FF13.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. We can't assure it is a turning point in the series, but it manages to make fights fun and it's no doubt an outstanding game.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    While the game's first 10 hours still give me pause, the 60 magnificent hours after those initial steps onto Cocoon make up for the tunnel-vision tutorial. [Apr 2010, p.68]