User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 333

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    A really fun game with AMAZING graphics. It has great colour to it, and the shining sun looks ever so beautiful shining on the cars. The multiplayer is great fun, and I mean GREAT.
  2. Oct 5, 2014
    5
    Forza Horizon 2 on the Xbox 360 is one of the biggest disappointments I've ever experienced, you see all the amazing new features and cars, then get onto the 360 and realise they're only for the Xbox One, there are bits of the map that are inaccessible, poor landscape graphics, cheesy starts to races with the arcade noises and missing cars that are unavailable on the 360. This made the game a huge disappointment for me, I couldn't wait to try out some of the amazing rally cars and drift around the docks and warehouses but you can't go there and it makes the game horrible. If that isn't enough, Turn 10 have put so little effort into the 360 version that you go online (which no longer contains online free roam unless it's private with friends) that people have already hacked the game to gain maximum level and credits. If you are going to get this game, don't get it on the xbox 360 Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    So after getting this game 2 years ago, I can still pick it up, put it into my 360 and have as much fun in it as if I only got it a month ago. I have like 20 other racing games that I've collected since 2007 for the 360, and 18 of them I haven't even touched. So why did I pick up Horizon again after over a year? Because the virtual driving experience that it provides is really unique and thrilling, and there is no other game out there that can provide such an experience, not until Horizon 2 drops in a few weeks.

    That experience is having robust sim-cade car handling on the open world. It may feel like an arcade racer at first, but get in a RWD supercar, turn off all the assists, select cockpit view and try to drive as fast as you can while sticking to one road lane, and you'll discover something that you've never experienced before in any Need for Speed game.
    Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2014
    6
    Forza Horizon is a fun open world racer using more realistic physics than it's competition. The soundtrack is first rate, and the car selection (compared to other racers of the type) is commendable as well. Also, Forza Horizon again packs loads of modifications into it's car builds. The game offers a nice variety of tracks and challenges that contribute to some pretty solid gameplay time.
    All of this would make you think that Forza Horizon should be an 8 or a 9, and if you are unfamiliar with the Forza family of games you would be absolutely right.

    I am not unfamiliar with Forza, I have played Forza 1-4, and this game is a 6 for me.
    1st-The story line is better than other Forza titles which have none, but is not an adequate story compared to other open world racers.
    2nd-If you are very familiar with Forza, than you will be disappointed by how few cars there are.
    3rd-If you have to play Forza games at max difficulty, this game will infuriate you. You will hit races where you have only one or two car options and neither will seem fast enough. You will smash your head against a table after your 30th attempt to complete a 2 minute race.
    4th-And finally, Turn 10 are crooks and dangle DLC cars in front of your nose constantly. Add to that Rally upgrades and races not available until you get the DLC. Add to that Tokens that you purchase with real money to get crap add-ons like fast travel anywhere and treasure maps. Couple this with the recent Forza 5 "Day of DLC" that cost almost as much as the game just to give you a proper amount of cars for a simulator and you have fairly conclusive evidence that Turn 10 makes games with as little content as they can get away with and then spend the rest of your gaming time trying to milk you for every dollar. (And breathe...)
    This game is a de-contented twist on an excellent franchise that seems doomed to drown in it's own greed. It is still a good game but it could have been great. Can the next racing simulator franchise please stand up.
    Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2014
    3
    The game is ok but their is no tuning board the fine tune your car. you can buy all the upgrades but how the hell are you suppose to truly fine out how powerful your car is with out tuning radiculous.
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    I love that this game is expanding the audience from a typical gear head Forza. I like arcade type games and this one hits the spot without making me feel like I have not grown up. I would suggest that anyone looking for something a little different in a racer but still likes it to be grounded in reality to check this game out! I can't wait for the next one to come out on the "horizon" .... Thanks, I will be here all week, try the fish! Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2014
    9
    Forza Horizon, a nice twist on the original forza Motorsport series. Changing from a track based racing same to a free roam. With over 150 cars to choose from this game is no exeption. It has a slightly different racing style to forza 4 but it has the nice arcade feel ive been wanting from forza which they can improve on in their new release of forza Horizon 2 at E3 this year
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    Looking at the cover, I didn't expect an engaging, fast, fun and incredible game. Nothing is better than driving strait down the interstate at 200 mph taking in all the Colorado scenery than pulling off a fifty foot drift and into a fence . There are still flaws like the amount of invisible walls, the crash physics and how you can't use half the sweet cars you buy in races. But, that is ignored when I beat my friends speed zone record. Expand
  9. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Turn10 has done it again with Horizon.forget about any other racing game including need for speed.the cars look,sound,and drive amazing and realistic more than you can say for most other car games.while its still street racing it is some what proffesional and organized.upgrading of cars going deeper that i've ever seen i can modify my audi rs4 to a R8 motor its just awesome.there's only 2 minor flaws i found with the game.1 no tuning of the cars wich i tapicaly like and.2 decals and vynals are a bit poor.but otherwise awesome. FORZA rules Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    best game i've ever played on my xbox 360 so realistic, when you've got xbox live you can get 193 cars and the most legany car on the planet is in the offline gameplay. lots of dlc cars to download and car packs ect, rally pack witch is deffantly worth the £13.67 you get 5 diffrent cars to start off with and lots of different parts for when making a rally car. GET IT
  11. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome just awesome the best graphics ever and the cars are so life like it is insane. But finding the barn finds is pretty hard I think.
  12. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    Forza Horizon is a great game. A beautiful open world that immerses you combined with strong racing elements makes for a breath-taking experience. The barn finds in the game, also, are extremely enjoyable.
  13. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is really nothing wrong with Forza Horizon but they do need to update the game and put a 2006 or 2007 Chevy Corvette Z06 and a McLaren P1 and maybe more race events Expand
  14. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    Keep doing what you do best, as this shows clearly fine art. I have played this game since day 1, and I love it. A few minor details that have room for improvement even though the bar has been set so high because of this game.
    PROS: Beautiful scenic drives in different locations, real time traffic, great camera views, and good selection of cars
    CONS: Sound! Huge deal for me especially on
    5.1/7.1 dolby, needs more depth, more projection from engine noise such as when your doing 120 mph through a section of buildings or even full throttle in a 500-1000 hp vehicle it would be extremely loud, sound waves bouncing off every object, and tons of commotion to where you cant think straight with a pair of Sennheisser or Turtle Beach PX51 headphones.
    Also more car selection like the older cars from previous games such as mazda 787b.
    Expand
  15. Aug 20, 2013
    0
    If your thing is playing a game that could have been so great but ruined by the collision physics on multiplayer, i had about 15 online races with one being clean and that is because the collisions were off, no matter how much you try and keep clean and play fair your bashed purposely by everyone and come off worse 9 times out of 10 despite being the good one.

    What a shame they failed
    with this aspect of the game which makes it an utterly useless addition to any serious gamers collection, unless you can deal with the full contact racing if not i strongly advise to look elsewhere. Expand
  16. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    Forza Horizion is a poor game for many reason's, The price of the DLC's for one, 4000 msp for the season is a rip off, the cars are all the same, there's not enough cars on the game, too short of a career mode. This game is not worth the money. stay away from it.
  17. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    this game is fantastic! reminds me of need for speed underground last generation but with a huge open world and a tonne of great cars. graphically the game is great and the environments and cars have that great feel. the difficulty of the game can be adjusted in a number of ways to ensure the game is never to hard or to easy. throw in a tonne of customization abilities, many racing modes and open world events such as random challenges, barnyard cars and speed cameras this game has a lot of content. Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    Why does this game have so many good reviews. This game isn't even really made by Turn 10. It's boring, repetitive. I was hoping for a realistic open world racer and that's not what I got.
  19. May 18, 2013
    9
    Exactly what IGN said. 'It's the game we've been taught not to expect'. Great map, great cars, great detail, overall the game works amazingly. Only bad thing I would say is how they approach thew DLC. It's good, but only 6 cars for 400MSP is a bit bad. People complain about a small car list, but c'mon. How many games nowadays have 140 cars? With a lot of them being great cars, and not 50 odd Nissans and Hondas.
    The game was short, around 15-20 to complete, but there was still stuff to do after you finish. And that was improved apon even more with the free 1000 club expansion.
    Amazing game
    Expand
  20. May 10, 2013
    8
    Forza Horizon is an open world concept racing game that is set in Colorado and is centered around the Forza Horizon music festival. The main objective of the game is to well... race and earn wristbands and challenge other drivers. The driving handles pretty much like any other Forza title. In Forza Horizon you are able to travel on dirt roads, city streets and a highway. Graphically, the game is nothing less than breathtaking. The scenery is fantastic and the day to night transitions are beautiful. One interesting feature is the different challenges in which you can race against planes. There is a wide variety of different vehicles to choose from to keep you satisfied. All and all this is a great effort by the folks from playground games and turn 10. There are a few complaints I have with this game that are relatively minor like not truly being able to explore areas, because it is fenced off. I would consider it more of an open road game than an open world game. Weather effects would have been a great addition, travelling in the snow capped Rocky mountains with snow falling would have been fantastic. I would have liked to have seen more vehicle damage and windshield cracks when crashing head on with another driver. As people of said, it is more like a Need for Speed title, but Forza at it's core. Overall, Forza Horizon is a great addition to the Forza Motorsport series. 8/10 Expand
  21. Apr 16, 2013
    6
    Best racing game to date, also arguably the most realistic and the best looking. Perfect combination of cars, tuning and customization, location, story, events, realism and detail. Other developers should take notes.
  22. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    a game that should have gone under a different name, because of the Forza title I am holding it upto Forza standards, giant lack of cars on game release makes it massively lacking in the variety area compared to earlier games given massive amounts of car packs but who wants to spend more then the inital 60 when previous titles already contained more. Also game contains the Bugatti. Any game that has that car without actual full blown race cars in it is ruined in my opinion, nothing can match its speed and pretty much your goal is to just get that car because once its in your possession you have the best car in the game. Lack of customization is also a issue, previous titles had much more in-depth customization that I don't feel should have been left out. This game is not a true forza game instead a cheap knock off and I do feel it can be called a knock off since its put under the Exact same title. Would be a 7 of 10 instead if it wasn't just riding the True forzas fame to get sales on a wanna be Expand
  23. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    So first look into horizon, I'd have to say the only negative complaints are this. There's no split screen multiplayer, and the sound of some of the cars (You're reading a review from a gearhead, keep in mind) aren't very accurate. It almost appears like the FH team focused on the big, expensive cars more than the little ones. Of course, the Pagani Huayra was straight on cue, but the smaller, slower cars aren't given as much love! Other than that, still my favorite racing game, just as good as FM 4, but in a completely different perspective. The only thing I wish I could fix is the noise and the multiplayer features. Expand
  24. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome, they introcued a new side series for Free-Roam in which made users travel around the city beating Racers on the Road to earn cash and also beat the Speed Cams. A amazing game this is.
  25. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    The game is so much cool 150 cars a smalest collection comparing with fm4 and its dont have the co op multiplayer but this game is really fantastic the graphics are so beautiful and the story is so perfect and the multiplayer was the same as fm4 but its so nice
  26. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    Great stuff, lots of diversity in the races, runs very smooth for 30hz. It''s good to look at as a companion to FM4 - it's frivolous but probably more fun, just less intense - so it depends what you're in the mood for. It's technically remarkable, kudos to the devs. To put handling like this in an open world sets a precedent. All the hip urban festival stuff is bulls**t, but it doesn't detract from the quality of the game. Expand
  27. Jan 17, 2013
    8
    Such distances from the original series are often not good, in this case, however, lived up to the task, and Microsoft has done a really nice racer. Interesting festival atmosphere, very pleasant driving model, interesting races, open road, and most importantly, the view from the inside, so that the game is really fun. The game, however, has its drawbacks, we feel terrible constraints on the choice of cars, not used for racing at night, do not admire artwork and designer to the power of imposing additional races. My Rating - 8/10 Expand
  28. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    I recall seeing rumors for this game popping up in the Forza 4 thread and instantly despising it once I saw the trailer. Being a fan of racing games, dumping many hours in Forza 3 and 4, and also a huge fan of EDM, it was like seeing them perverted and slapped together in some BS off year game. While I still hold strong on my position of the whole EDM center to the game, it held up on the racing side. If seeing a racer look so damn beautiful and remind me what it is like to drive a nice car through a beautiful part of the world wasn't enough, the gameplay was really fun. It held up extremely well to what I would expect from a Forza series and in some cases went beyond my expectations in providing something that a more "arcady" racer wouldn't necessarily require to please most of its fans. My favorite parts of the game were the point to point races that felt more like a reality than something like a circuit race. Being able to fly at 120mph on the edge of the cliff with the orange faces of Colorado's natural formations surrounding me or blazing down desert highways dodging commuter traffic at absurd speeds were really the staples of this game; these were the moments that kept me wanting more. There were definitely dull moments and a lot of the story, if you want to call it that, was exactly the same as NFS: Pro Street. I think the most surprising part for me was how much side stuff there was to do. When I first started playing I was annoyed by how far apart the races were and thinking about how much time I was going to spend over the course of the game driving in between events versus just choosing an event off a grid in Forza 4. Luckily the game soon unveils that you actually have an amazing amount of other stuff to do to pass the time and make those trips more fun. I equate it to interactive loading screens. Some of the downsides for me included not being able to swap my free roam car with ease or not being able to tune/upgrade without visiting the garage in the center of the map. I often found myself driving the same car in between events for each act of the game. So, I am pleased to say that Forza Horizon was the first game I completed in 2013, and if you are the kind of person who enjoys racing games (especially ones that are BEAUTIFUL), arcade or sim, this is absolutely worth dropping time into. Expand
  29. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Forza was getting stale. Circuit based racing that has been done to death in the franchise full of exotic exports and authentic driving experiences. The restrictions were too tight it seems, as Playground Games have stripped out all the senses of confinement and given us a stunning naturalistic landscape to race around in. Red rocking canyons, long stretches of road and valleys tearing through the countryside with mountains gleaning in the backgrounds. The lack of changing weather systems and varied terrain are slight dents in the bodywork, but bringing Forza to the open world is a successful experiment that is due to a repeat trip. Expand
  30. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    it's very good many new things great songs why not buy it nice cars nice places to race the game looks awesome it's a free rom if you love free rom racing games you will want to get this game (
  31. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    EXCELLENT music, relaxed/less strict cornering, great points/XP to be earned at EVERY corner, overall a GREAT game. I have been playing Forza since Forza 2, and I know and love the simulation driving that it brings. With Horizon, there is a huge difference from the rest of the series, but even with my love of simulations driving/racing games, they have still done it justice. Yes it may be simpler, and less strict, but the driving challenge is still customizable with all the assists and everything, so I do not see others complaints. I play with a +70% Credit bonus with most assists off, and high difficulty, so the only other gripes I see is maybe the new "shortcuts" as in the NFS series, where the best line might not help you, and may hinder, but the drifting is much improved, there is traffic to avoid on the road, and there is still the great, critically acclaimed physics engine behind it all. It IS still Forza, street style, done right. The entire experience of the Horizon in game festival brings joy to my heart every time I drive main area. They have done a great job at immersing you into the experience, and that is a crucial point I look for. I will say, however, that I am a huge hater of DLC, especially the DLC that is ready at launch, but my copy came with the rally expansion pack for free(Thank you Amazon), and the rest of the DLC cars are minimal in price, and worth every penny. I am new to the XBox racing game, as I have been strictly a PC gamer, but oh my god, why did I not join sooner!? The entire Forza series is a wonder, a brilliant wonder, and I miss not being current with the rest of the series. Anyways, even if you are a hardcore Forza simulation guru and fanatic, do not shy away from this game, as it still offers the same great Forza experience, just keep in mind this version is not the track variety, and instead is based on street racing. Only the tracks really suffer, tbh. Overall, I definitely recommend this game to casual racer fans and simulation gamers alike. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    90
    Forza Horizon is not simply a great racing game; it’s a great game in general. From the handling to the visuals and sound, from the tweaking to the reward system, Horizon has everything it needs to be an enjoyable time. It may lack the challenge and depth that fans of the core Forza series know and love but if you’ve admired the Forza Motorsport games from a distance (like me) then do yourself a favor and play this amazing game.
  2. 80
    Valiant and almost flawless effort to bring more arcade elements into the serious Forza games offers more than any other competition. [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Like a real party Forza Horizon can entertain you for hours. The game offers variation in both the singleplayer and multiplayer modes and looks fantastic. The soundtrack just completes it. Despite a few flaws the franchise took a turn that proves to be good for newcomers, but also great for the fanbase. You can't miss out on this party.