Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 340 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combining the traditional Forza with a music festival vibe, Horizon promises to take freedom of the open road to the next level. Explore vast and varied driving playgrounds. Team up or compete with friends and rivals online. Show off your unique driving skills and become the star of theCombining the traditional Forza with a music festival vibe, Horizon promises to take freedom of the open road to the next level. Explore vast and varied driving playgrounds. Team up or compete with friends and rivals online. Show off your unique driving skills and become the star of the world's most rocking motorsport party. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    100
    It's hard to find negative things to write about Forza Horizon. It certainly is a different experience compared to Forza Motorsport 4, but that doesn't mean it's not as good. The spotless presentation and the enormous amount of things to do makes this one of the finest racing games I've ever played.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    91
    But getting behind the wheel of one of the most realistic driving engines and booting around, challenging racers, and having all kinds of fun adds value to all cars – not just the ones that are ridiculously fast and expensive. I've played the game at numerous difficulty settings both with 360 controller and MS Force Feedback Racing Wheel, and have come away impressed.
  3. Oct 12, 2012
    90
    Playground Games took a humungous, beautiful world, packed it full of entertaining challenges and events, added in tons of personality and style, and built it all around the proven Forza tech, giving racing game fans an exceptional automotive experience that they didn't even know they wanted. For as much as I love Forza Motorsport, it's going to be hard to go back after this.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    90
    Forza Horizon is made of pure, unadulterated open world racing fun, and I can't take off points for that.
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    85
    A great arcade racing game, with a lot of content and nice visuals.
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    80
    A different, but superb Forza title nonetheless. The game does not harm the series name; on the contrary, it expands on stiff racing circuits with a dense public traffic panorama. Even though it has its flaws and the game shows compromises in it, as their first attempt Playground Games own this specific sub-genre. However, no daydreaming to you Playground Games, you need to drive away from your competition, especially from your Turn 10 fellows.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    Horizon's accessibility gives way to a lack of foresight. Its open world feels empty, its economic model is questionable, and its armada of cars are powerless against arbitrary AI escalation. Forza Horizon has more flash than its predecessors, but it's hollow by comparison.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 84
  2. Negative: 9 out of 84
  1. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Just played this game, very beautiful, very engaging, perfect usability design, excellent choice of music of various genres, love it! LightingJust played this game, very beautiful, very engaging, perfect usability design, excellent choice of music of various genres, love it! Lighting and overall presentation is gorgeous! Very fun to play, thanks for making this game M.S. you made my weeknights and weekends! Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    A really fun game with AMAZING graphics. It has great colour to it, and the shining sun looks ever so beautiful shining on the cars. TheA really fun game with AMAZING graphics. It has great colour to it, and the shining sun looks ever so beautiful shining on the cars. The multiplayer is great fun, and I mean GREAT. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome, they introcued a new side series for Free-Roam in which made users travel around the city beating Racers on the Road toThis game is awesome, they introcued a new side series for Free-Roam in which made users travel around the city beating Racers on the Road to earn cash and also beat the Speed Cams. A amazing game this is. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    What an amazing game. Somehow they have managed to merge best parts of free roam racing games and the fantastic simulation of forza gamesWhat an amazing game. Somehow they have managed to merge best parts of free roam racing games and the fantastic simulation of forza games into one. In singleplayer there is so much to do and none of it is tedious like other games can be. The cars drive really well (as expected). This game is a must have. The online is the weak link, however and that is why I am giving it a 9 and not a 10. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2014
    9
    So after getting this game 2 years ago, I can still pick it up, put it into my 360 and have as much fun in it as if I only got it a month ago.So after getting this game 2 years ago, I can still pick it up, put it into my 360 and have as much fun in it as if I only got it a month ago. I have like 20 other racing games that I've collected since 2007 for the 360, and 18 of them I haven't even touched. So why did I pick up Horizon again after over a year? Because the virtual driving experience that it provides is really unique and thrilling, and there is no other game out there that can provide such an experience, not until Horizon 2 drops in a few weeks.

    That experience is having robust sim-cade car handling on the open world. It may feel like an arcade racer at first, but get in a RWD supercar, turn off all the assists, select cockpit view and try to drive as fast as you can while sticking to one road lane, and you'll discover something that you've never experienced before in any Need for Speed game.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    8
    I love that this game is expanding the audience from a typical gear head Forza. I like arcade type games and this one hits the spot withoutI love that this game is expanding the audience from a typical gear head Forza. I like arcade type games and this one hits the spot without making me feel like I have not grown up. I would suggest that anyone looking for something a little different in a racer but still likes it to be grounded in reality to check this game out! I can't wait for the next one to come out on the "horizon" .... Thanks, I will be here all week, try the fish! Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    0
    boring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC thatboring dull and repetitive, don't buy this game rent it as you can easily complete it in less than 4 days, no value at all plus the DLC that costs more than the game costs to buy, if you still want to buy it wait till after xmass and no doubt it'll be in every stores bargain bins. Collapse

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.