Forza Motorsport 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 385 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 385
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AnthB.
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    Great game! Only problem is the redundancy of the same tracks over and over and the increasing boredom of more laps to beat higher levels. Still worth the money in my opinion.
  2. LiamM.
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    This is seriously a good racing game. I loved the stunning visuals and the frame rate the best! Also, the huge collection of cars to buy in Career mode, and some of the made up tracks like the Sunset Peninsula Infield which reminds me of Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Forza Motorsport 2 does have some realistic tracks including Silverstone and Suzuka. I like them both. The missing 10th This is seriously a good racing game. I loved the stunning visuals and the frame rate the best! Also, the huge collection of cars to buy in Career mode, and some of the made up tracks like the Sunset Peninsula Infield which reminds me of Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Forza Motorsport 2 does have some realistic tracks including Silverstone and Suzuka. I like them both. The missing 10th point is that the tire sounds are really annoying so I turned them off, The game needs more tracks, and also, the most important thing that Forza has left out is the save progress in the middle of the race, because I crashed right near the end of Silverstone Endurance race. Expand
  3. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2007
    8
    Very good game but not the Gran Turismo killer I was hoping for. The game has improved from its originator, but only on a surface level. The cars, tracks and menus are nice and shiny. But the 60fps everyone was harping about doesn't cut it for me. The cars seem to move slower than in FM1, was is odd! Also there are criminally fewer tracks than on FM1. What happened to the ship yard Very good game but not the Gran Turismo killer I was hoping for. The game has improved from its originator, but only on a surface level. The cars, tracks and menus are nice and shiny. But the 60fps everyone was harping about doesn't cut it for me. The cars seem to move slower than in FM1, was is odd! Also there are criminally fewer tracks than on FM1. What happened to the ship yard track? My bloody favorite. Online, albeit in its early stages, isn't great. Players spend more time crashing into than playing, and the sever keeps kicking you out. But this is still a very good game with great cars, excellent handling, and a decent career mode. But thats as far as it goes! Expand
  4. MattB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    An incredibly good simulator. The only way to get the most out of this game is to turn most assists off (ABS and TCS are sometimes exceptions) and put the AI on hard, or at least medium. Don't expect waterfalls and beach locations, this is pure track racing. If you're not into simulators, and think Ridge Racer is the best racing game of all time, you may want to stay away :) It An incredibly good simulator. The only way to get the most out of this game is to turn most assists off (ABS and TCS are sometimes exceptions) and put the AI on hard, or at least medium. Don't expect waterfalls and beach locations, this is pure track racing. If you're not into simulators, and think Ridge Racer is the best racing game of all time, you may want to stay away :) It sports awesome physics, an excellent car modding system, and one bastard AI character called Rossi who will make you tear your hair out! While the graphics certainly aren't groundbreaking, after 5 minutes of actual racing, chances are you won't even notice or care. Actually, they enhance the gameplay hugely. Running at a constant 60 frames per second and with a near unlimited draw distance, and excellent car models, it's easy to focus on what matters most - the track, and the car in front of you. Not the best racing GAME of all time in terms of entertainment value (GT3 still holds that place in my opinion), but as a SIMULATOR, I believe this is the best console offering to date. If you're into racing sims, it'd be a crime to miss it. Expand
  5. CoryD.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Very well done sim-racing game... lots of customization and tracks available. I admit it didn't hold my interest as long as the PGR franchise, but still a 2 thumbs-up buy. ;)
  6. PaulK.
    May 31, 2007
    10
    Let me first say that there will forever be people who simply cannot fully enjoy simulation games. This is a sim, yes. But it is also perhaps the most polished and feature-rich game I have ever played. All of the time spent on this game is both immediately apparent and also beautifully subtle. The game is remarkably accesible to those unfamiliar or put-off by sims in the past, and Let me first say that there will forever be people who simply cannot fully enjoy simulation games. This is a sim, yes. But it is also perhaps the most polished and feature-rich game I have ever played. All of the time spent on this game is both immediately apparent and also beautifully subtle. The game is remarkably accesible to those unfamiliar or put-off by sims in the past, and includes 4 difficulty settings- each with multiple assists and options. In short: Perfectly modeled cars in 60 frames per second, tremendous customization options, three distinct and deep (and actually worthwhile) game modes, and an intuitive interface that wraps it all up in a slick package. If you have even the slightest interest in cars or if you enjoy games that surpass expectations, play Forza 2. Expand
  7. Aaace5
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    Unlike the Gran Turismo series, these cars are very responsive and drive more realistic. A lot of people like to hold the GT series up as the holy grail of sim racers... But I think the system is flawed, and Forza is the fix. Sim racers will always be somewhat boring because you can't get the excitement of arcade style racing. And the only real difference of an updated racing Unlike the Gran Turismo series, these cars are very responsive and drive more realistic. A lot of people like to hold the GT series up as the holy grail of sim racers... But I think the system is flawed, and Forza is the fix. Sim racers will always be somewhat boring because you can't get the excitement of arcade style racing. And the only real difference of an updated racing franchise is the graphical and control tweaks. GT wins at the graphical level for now until we see the final product in action, but FM 2 wins in the control area which is technically the most important thing for sim racers. The graphics aren't gears of war quality, but they aren't bad by any means- and the fact that you get to customize your car virtually any way you wish and even auction it off for extra cash online makes up for FM 2's slight shortcomings. "Worth the cash if you like more realistic racing experiences!" Don't be cheap... Get xbox live and get your full moneys worth out of this game and probably some of your old games as well, great place to be in my opinion! Expand
  8. NiccoJ.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Loving this game! I know it could be redesigned to fit a broader audience, but if you like your driving experience spot on, then this is the game for you!
  9. TracyC.
    Jun 7, 2007
    9
    I agree that this is the best racing SIM I have ever played. I grew up around racing and my first car was a 1967 Camaro SS which I raced illegally every chance I got so obviously I am into cars. Thing is, I chose Europe as my region as I prefer the Ferrari and Porche over all other. Anyways, everyone has said the game plays amazing that they are right. There is nothing like being rewarded I agree that this is the best racing SIM I have ever played. I grew up around racing and my first car was a 1967 Camaro SS which I raced illegally every chance I got so obviously I am into cars. Thing is, I chose Europe as my region as I prefer the Ferrari and Porche over all other. Anyways, everyone has said the game plays amazing that they are right. There is nothing like being rewarded for understanding the "grip" of the particular car you are driving and out braking/driving your opponent. You will hear that the graphics are a bit off and this is true to an extent. The graphics look amazing and the tracks and scenery can be distracting with their detail. I just think we expected perfection out of the visuals and we got 90% of that..still not bad. Thing is, at 120+ mph you will not be looking at the car as most SIM racers I know use the view that does not even show the car. One thing that will turn this game into Crack is the ability to see where you stand versus everyone AND just your friends for EVERY track, car class, time-trial, etc. I often plan to do a certain race only to see that one of my friends has beat me in a time-trial and I just HAVE to top them. This game even has a NASCAR-type oval track that is VERY fun and popular online. I cannot say enough good things about this game if you are a fan of racing sims. If you want to just hold the gas and turn, this is NOT the game for you. Brilliant!! Love this game!! Expand
  10. AnonY.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    A superb racing game. The physics, the handling - spot on. Would be nice to see some real-time weather and to be able to buy a Bugatti Veyron, but thats being ultra-picky. The first great racing sim on the 360 - buy it.
  11. DebernardiD.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    The Game is one of the best designed video Games I have ever played and is the by far the best racing sim I have ever played, and that is coming from a big fan of the Gran Turismo series.
  12. MarkD.
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    Seems to me most of the complaints about the physics are done by folks who have obviously never driven a real car on a real track -- hate to tell you, but if you don't enter the corner at the right angle and speed, you WILL find yourself into the sand, grass or, worse yet, wall. So ... having played every version of Gran Turismo, I have to see Forza is incredibly impressive. Much Seems to me most of the complaints about the physics are done by folks who have obviously never driven a real car on a real track -- hate to tell you, but if you don't enter the corner at the right angle and speed, you WILL find yourself into the sand, grass or, worse yet, wall. So ... having played every version of Gran Turismo, I have to see Forza is incredibly impressive. Much like GT, it's a tribute to cars that's meant to appeal to us autophiles, not 13-year olds who like the arcade-style found in games like Burnout or Need for Speed. The choice of cars is excellent (still too few Mustangs, IMHO), the tracks challenging and interesting, the graphics great, and the ability to modify the look of the cars is a HUGE advantage of GT (again, IMHO). The only thing keeping this game from getting a 10 is the soundtrack -- a few good tunes, but I love to jam out while driving. Thus, I recommend loading up your iPod with some great driving tunes, playing it just loud enough to hear the music while still being able to hear the car's exhaust and tires. Do that, and this is driving nirvana for those of us who truly understand cars and what it takes to race them. Expand
  13. CThompson
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best racing games I've played, and my first ever 1000/1000 achievements game. I've grown to enjoy it more now than when I first bought hte game, if you want more than an arcade racer but don't want a full out sim, this is the game for you!
  14. NeilV.
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    Wow.....this is a great game. I am a gamer, I love all genres, but I'm not a *huge* racing game fan. I have had plenty of experience with GT, PGR and the NFS series and all of them lose my interest after a couple of days. Forza is different. Not only is it a great SIM racer (I appreciate the sims more than the arcade racers for their longevity), the options for customization and Wow.....this is a great game. I am a gamer, I love all genres, but I'm not a *huge* racing game fan. I have had plenty of experience with GT, PGR and the NFS series and all of them lose my interest after a couple of days. Forza is different. Not only is it a great SIM racer (I appreciate the sims more than the arcade racers for their longevity), the options for customization and particularly the paint job design are the deepest that I have ever seen. I am hooked on Forza and I envision spending many more hours joyfully racing away. Expand
  15. TheSalt
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    Hands down the best racing game ive played. I am generally not a major fan (Grand Turismo, Collin McCrae, Forza, Championship Rally,) are the only racers Ive put anytime into. This one knocks them all over. The best thing about the game is the physics engine that you are working within. You can go from a zero to a hero by changing a small component on your car...some races take 5, 6, 7, Hands down the best racing game ive played. I am generally not a major fan (Grand Turismo, Collin McCrae, Forza, Championship Rally,) are the only racers Ive put anytime into. This one knocks them all over. The best thing about the game is the physics engine that you are working within. You can go from a zero to a hero by changing a small component on your car...some races take 5, 6, 7, attempts to win them. You have to race perfect from start to finish but thats the beauty of the game if you apply yourself you can do...and you can do it easily...just dont choke...dont even drift out of the line too far or else the cars 2, 3, and 4 will shoot past you. Online is just as fun as you can take your single player career online and add to you cash pool for victories. Yes I know every new car game is daunting...not this one...race a few basics, win a few cars...and tune up a couple of spec cars for spec races...and your on your way. A must have car game - shows just how crap Project Gotham Racing is in comparison. Even better than the original Forza. Expand
  16. Jeltz0
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    Two words "steering wheel" Its one thing to play this game with the controller, but plug in the 360's wheel and you're in force feedback heaven I'M HOOKED!!
  17. VV
    Jun 9, 2007
    9
    Best racing sim game on consoles EVER. Second most realistic racing game ever on consoles after RBR (both Forza2 and RBR put the GT series to shame in terms of realism and simulation). The game is so clean and well done, graphics are simply amazing (even if not as photorealistic as the GT series) , best looking tracks ever on any racing game (PC or consoles). The physics are very well Best racing sim game on consoles EVER. Second most realistic racing game ever on consoles after RBR (both Forza2 and RBR put the GT series to shame in terms of realism and simulation). The game is so clean and well done, graphics are simply amazing (even if not as photorealistic as the GT series) , best looking tracks ever on any racing game (PC or consoles). The physics are very well done, even better than the first Forza game, the car feels heavy and realistic, driving with all aids off is a wonderful experience that rival even the most awarded racing sims on PC (GTR, rFactor, etc). Sound effects are top notch and a big improvement over the first game. Career mode gets better and better with time and the sense of evolution always present. Using the wheel is a step toward maximum realism, but using the controller give you a great feeling never the less. I am not giving it a 10 for two reasons only: the first one is I was waiting for more real life tracks, there are some great real life tracks in the game like Mugello, Sebring, Laguna Seca and Suzuka among others but a couple more of them don't hurt (download contents in the next months? hope so) and the second reason is "the replays" (which I love to see on any racing game) are not realistic enough for my taste, they are a mix of camera angles TVs and some unrealistic "follow the car" views, I would much prefer a GT/GTR like replays. Anyway, an AMAZING game! Expand
  18. SimonW.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    Absolutely outstanding racing game that is a car-lovers wet dream. Each car feels different in your hands and the upgrading makes you love and care for each of your babies. The sense of community online with Forza 2 will keep you coming back for more and more. With the addition of auctions for cars and special paint-jobs you'll never see the same race twice when you check out Motorsport TV.
  19. TNDMore
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Best driver we have come across. This game rocks!
  20. BrentA.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    I picked up this game and so far it's excellent. The customization options are amazing, enough to keep you entertained for hours designing cars. The physics are near perfect, and the graphics are up to par. This game is a must own for any racing fan.
  21. SteveC.
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    9.7 in my opinion. Just short of great. Improves upon the formula of the original, but not greatly. Mind you this is not a bad thing. Customization is the best in ANY car racing game/sim. Online is fantastic and will keep any gamer hooked for months. Forget PGR, Grand Turismo 5 (whenever thats coming out) this is the game that will be talked about until something better comes along.
  22. AaronB.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    CORE SYSTEM owners beware.YOU NEED THE HARD DRIVE TO WATCH REPLAYS. I just went out and bought Forza 2 yesterday. Could not believe that I couldn't watch replays- me and my friends were stunned. The gameplay was worthy enough to warrent me upgrading though(I new I would have to eventually) Loving every minute of it. To summarize- it cost me £100 to get the full Forza 2 CORE SYSTEM owners beware.YOU NEED THE HARD DRIVE TO WATCH REPLAYS. I just went out and bought Forza 2 yesterday. Could not believe that I couldn't watch replays- me and my friends were stunned. The gameplay was worthy enough to warrent me upgrading though(I new I would have to eventually) Loving every minute of it. To summarize- it cost me £100 to get the full Forza 2 experience and has been worth every penny. Still pissed at Microsoft for not putting anything on the box re HD requirements- its on every other 360 game out there. I think they should add core system functionality on the game boxes also. Just so people can make an informed decision about the games they are purchasing. Nuff said about that though. I had rated it a 9, but it really deserves a 10 : ) Expand
  23. SeymourQ.
    Jun 11, 2007
    9
    Brilliant in all respects (apart from the graphics) loving every minute of it and will do so for months. Online racing is the best quality I have seen.
  24. NickG.
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    I wasn't crazy about the demo, but the full game is a different story. It's simply amazing, and I've been hooked on this game since I picked it up a week ago. It's perhaps the best racing game I've played to date.
  25. PhilipB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I'm no fan of racing games - that is until I picked up FORZA. I was / am totally addicted to this game and have touched nothing else for the past 3 weeks. The graphics are good - not the best - but very smooth. The car handling is brilliant - swithc off the assists if you want a challenge. I bought the official MS Wireless Steering yesterday and this takes the game into another I'm no fan of racing games - that is until I picked up FORZA. I was / am totally addicted to this game and have touched nothing else for the past 3 weeks. The graphics are good - not the best - but very smooth. The car handling is brilliant - swithc off the assists if you want a challenge. I bought the official MS Wireless Steering yesterday and this takes the game into another league entirely. I've not had such a good gaming experience since I booted up GTA3 back in 2001 - this game has blown me away. This is game of the year - hands down. Expand
  26. JaceN.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    Forza 2 is absolute driving physics perfection...which is its biggest party piece and its biggest problem...as all the time & work spent on it came at the cost of content! The original complaint of not enough tracks from Forza 1 is still present AND far worse now theres even less, Drivatar is gone, career still feels like a checklist instead of a career and "Driver Fatigue" still sets in Forza 2 is absolute driving physics perfection...which is its biggest party piece and its biggest problem...as all the time & work spent on it came at the cost of content! The original complaint of not enough tracks from Forza 1 is still present AND far worse now theres even less, Drivatar is gone, career still feels like a checklist instead of a career and "Driver Fatigue" still sets in around level 30 leaving you bored with the monotony and with little motivation to reach level 50! Overall its a major "behind the scenes" update to the physics system with a dissapointing content downgrade! Expand
  27. ShawnA.
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    This is the best racing game I have ever played. Unlike PGR you can not turn and power slide while going 150MPG. You actually have to use your brakes. This is the game that will prove that the 360 can easily dominate the racing domain. Gran Turismo's move now.
  28. PaulD.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Great game, Great ride, just an awesome time
  29. FrancisM.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Very solid 9 and enjoying every minutes of it.
  30. Jason
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    This game is simply fatastsic. If you are a car enthusiast, you owe it to yourself to give this one a try atleast. Definetly a keeper.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 66
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 66
  3. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. The rather functional-at-best visuals aside, Forza 2 excels in a way no other racing game has managed this generation. If losing yourself in a vast world of excellent handling and top notch realistic racing is something you crave from videogame racing (and admittedly, this sort of thing isn’t to everyone’s taste), ensure you get hold of Forza 2 as soon as you can - it’ll keep you occupied for months.
  2. Dangerously addictive and loads of fun, Forza Motorsport 2 has what it takes under the hood to satisfy both car junkies and general gamers alike.
  3. Forza 2 delivers on nearly every aspect you'd want in a Forza sequel. It drives incredibly, it's wonderfully presented, and it's rich with modes and features.