• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 25, 2008
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 77
  2. Negative: 8 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LarsK
    May 18, 2008
    10
    If the single player campaign is regarded a warm-up to the multiplayer part of the game, this is absolutely the gratest wargame ever
  2. RayK
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    Amazing multiplayer experience online. Huge 50 person battles are intense and hectic.
  3. Matt
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    Despite the bad things I have heard I am quite enjoying this game. The down side being that I have only been playing for about 3 hours in total and am over half way through the campaign.
  4. SamF
    Mar 22, 2008
    8
    A decent FPS With a few different twists. the drones are cool , and the destructible envirement is also a nice extra.
  5. SergenteenS
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    What the he3ll is wrong with all of you people? Any body who gives this game anything less than an 80 is on crack and shouldn't be allowed to rate first person shooters. This game is SWEET! so what if single player is short? So was Halo 3's and that was kick @$$ to.
  6. mattl
    Mar 5, 2008
    3
    I was really excited about this game as i was a huge fan of battlefield 2 before cod4 came out but it was disappointing at best. graphics 3/5 the character models are lacking variety & cartoonish in comparison to other shooters on new gen consoles. even the overhauled model designs on the 360 version of battlefield 2 were much better. the maps are boring & generic & pop up issues come I was really excited about this game as i was a huge fan of battlefield 2 before cod4 came out but it was disappointing at best. graphics 3/5 the character models are lacking variety & cartoonish in comparison to other shooters on new gen consoles. even the overhauled model designs on the 360 version of battlefield 2 were much better. the maps are boring & generic & pop up issues come into play both on & offline on a regular basis. the gun effects & graphics are poor. sound 3/5 not much to say here. nothing that hasnt been done before as far as background sound & music & the gun sounds dont really sound too exhilarating either gameplay 3/5 the single player campaign is short & easy to complete & the vehicles & drones dont come into it as often as they could. each mission is more or less identical. multiplayer suffers from lag & vehicle controls are not easy to handle. this is no halo. all in all i was disappointed with this game & traded it in this morning for army of two. hopefully i can give this one a better review. fingers crossed that battlefield bad company lives up to its predecessor & doesnt fall short like frontlines: fuel of war. Expand
  7. RyanG
    Mar 7, 2008
    3
    This Game Is Not Worth buying. -The Game Lags in MP -the FPS Will drop in MP and Single Player -Worst shooting When Khaos made this game that had a bunch of really cool ideas but didnt perfect each one and just kinda through it in there.
  8. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 13, 2008
    6
    A cross between Halo and Battlefield, ends up as a poor relation to both. Its not bad, just plainly average!
  9. Jan 18, 2012
    8
    Creo que es un gran juego! es entretenido, con una historia aceptable y a muy buen precio. No será un must have, pero si que es un juego que te promete horas de entretenimiento.
  10. AnonymousMC
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    Highly original gameplay ideas, especially centering on the drones and support class structures. Decent sound and though the graphics aren't top notched in quality visually, the maps are some of the most detailed and well designed I have ever seen. These mixed with a storyline ripped from todays headlines and posing the question of what could be a dark future for humanity, is highlyHighly original gameplay ideas, especially centering on the drones and support class structures. Decent sound and though the graphics aren't top notched in quality visually, the maps are some of the most detailed and well designed I have ever seen. These mixed with a storyline ripped from todays headlines and posing the question of what could be a dark future for humanity, is highly original and very stirring. Expand
  11. Bobbobbo
    Mar 1, 2008
    9
    The best game I have ever played.
  12. mr.thuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    7
    its a good game if you have online or an army full of friends who all have high speed internet. the graphics are good enough but with the masses of shooters for the 360 the game is really undermined also the game has some really abused controls i mean these controls have been beaten like tina. otherwise this game is mediocroe at best go get it if you have xbox live.
  13. PaulE
    Feb 22, 2008
    6
    Sloppy map design. Players seen hovering in mid-air after crawling across a rocky outcropping. very laggy online play. fire your rockets and two seconds later you see the shell emerge as the target moves safely away. Frustrating when you know it's not you failing to execute but the terrible connections provided. I would love to play it if it wasn't so sloppy. Online matches Sloppy map design. Players seen hovering in mid-air after crawling across a rocky outcropping. very laggy online play. fire your rockets and two seconds later you see the shell emerge as the target moves safely away. Frustrating when you know it's not you failing to execute but the terrible connections provided. I would love to play it if it wasn't so sloppy. Online matches should always be forced to keep the teams balanced. Like BF2 did. Expand
  14. RyanS
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    the demos don't do the final product justice. The gameplay has been tightened up and polished off in the final version. The single player is decent enough but this game really shines in the multiplayer realm. Frontlines basically puts a new twist on the Battlefield style of gameplay by having players battle over one or two tactical points at a time. This draws players into the action the demos don't do the final product justice. The gameplay has been tightened up and polished off in the final version. The single player is decent enough but this game really shines in the multiplayer realm. Frontlines basically puts a new twist on the Battlefield style of gameplay by having players battle over one or two tactical points at a time. This draws players into the action rather than having them go off on their own to look for it. Much to my surprise, this game is a solid effort. Expand
  15. FPSMaster
    Feb 27, 2008
    6
    I've yet to see any review mention what actually breaks this game. LAAAAAAG. It lags so horribly no matter your connection, no matter if the server is dedicated and no matter how many green bars the server has. Sometimes there's a good 10 seconds of lag between the time you do something and the time it actually happens. Unacceptable. No matter though, it's boring anyway. I've yet to see any review mention what actually breaks this game. LAAAAAAG. It lags so horribly no matter your connection, no matter if the server is dedicated and no matter how many green bars the server has. Sometimes there's a good 10 seconds of lag between the time you do something and the time it actually happens. Unacceptable. No matter though, it's boring anyway. There's no sense of accomplishment for some reason here. You get kills and take over objectives but it doesn't feel satisfying. Maybe it's because you know as soon as you capture a point and get some kills it will just be recaptured by the enemy and go back and fourth for an hour and you'll keep dying from a camper because when you die you have NO IDEA from where...ever. Laggy and boring. A broken POS. Expand
  16. ToddH
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    The best multiplayer on Xbox 360 period. Only reason it didn't get a higher a score is based upon the less than stellar campaign mode.
  17. DavidR
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    I enjoyed the battlefield games, and I'm totally enjoying this game. Give it a chance if you like large scale battles.
  18. Boaty_M
    Mar 17, 2008
    9
    Awesome game for a saturate market. Done very well, I like how they incorperate different little toys to make the game that much more fun. Storyline is a great one, the developers spent ages getting it all together and its very well done.
  19. RahulD
    Apr 20, 2008
    5
    This is an okay game at its core. However, hit detection is terrible, and the AI makes me want to cry. Multiplayer is a gem, with huge maps and dedicated servers. My main problem is just how the weapons feel. It might just be me, but Call of Duty 4 makes this game seem like garbage.
  20. MW
    Apr 27, 2008
    9
    Great storyline, fantastic graphics and fun gameplay make this a must own title. I had so much fun playing this game and loved the addition of remote control combat minivehicles. Not overly difficult or long made this a truly enjoyable gaming experience. Highly recommended.
  21. JackG
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    One of the best shooters I've ever played.
  22. TomS
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    A very solid game, not as good as COD4 of course but lots of weapons and vehicles and some good missions make this another quality 360 shooter
  23. JustinT
    Dec 25, 2009
    8
    This game is a great buy for bargain shoppers. Its only 10 bucks which is a steal. The graphics are pretty good and the gameplay is also good. The story is better than a lot of war games as well. There are a couple of problems. The missions are very long and can get boring towards the end. This isn't because the gameplay is boring, its because you can spend a while killing the enemy. This game is a great buy for bargain shoppers. Its only 10 bucks which is a steal. The graphics are pretty good and the gameplay is also good. The story is better than a lot of war games as well. There are a couple of problems. The missions are very long and can get boring towards the end. This isn't because the gameplay is boring, its because you can spend a while killing the enemy. There are a huge amount of enemies and they come at all angles. However, the AI isn't that good and enemies can run past you at times without even trying to kill you. I wouldve much rather dealt with amazingly hard enemies than deal with a ton of enemies that are stupid. I'm not a fan of long missions and like 8 objectives during each mission. I think its better to have a bunch of missions that are shorter than long missions. Really though, this game is still good and a great buy to waste some time away. Expand
  24. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    This game is alright game but there are many things that keep this from excellence. This game does not reach the level of greatness that many other FPS's do. This campaign often feels like you are playing with a bunch of bot players because the enemy AI is terrible. I literally have had countless enemies walk right past me and not even trying to kill me. Your friendly AI are not muchThis game is alright game but there are many things that keep this from excellence. This game does not reach the level of greatness that many other FPS's do. This campaign often feels like you are playing with a bunch of bot players because the enemy AI is terrible. I literally have had countless enemies walk right past me and not even trying to kill me. Your friendly AI are not much better if not worse than the enemies. This game also has hardly no story besides that there is some war over oil so go out and win battles. thats it. The multiplayer is alright but it often seems like they were trying to copy battlefield with it except that there is no level progression or unlocks in the game. Expand
  25. MW3
    Jan 18, 2012
    10
    this game is cool i havent played online but i like the campaign and the achievements
  26. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    front-lines fuel of war has some awesome and original game-play idea's that make it different than many other games. the story is fun and exciting, and the multilayer is good as well.
  27. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    The game is old, and the dated graphics show its' age, but it is a fun game regardless. The weapons and useable items in the game (radio controlled combat vehicles) make it even better. Admittedly, it is a bit easy as ammunition crates are everywhere. The story is mediocre but the gameplay is definitely worth at least 1 play through.
  28. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you can forget about the fact that you’ve been playing this style game for years with the Battlefield franchise then Frontlines will hook you for some time with its gargantuan battles, but for most Fuel of War will likely be too generic to truly sink their teeth into. Expand
  29. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    Frontlines: Fuel of War is a flawed game to be certain, but most definitely an entertaining and interesting experience as well. The single-player story is semi-forgettable, but the prospects of the single-player campaign itself are quite intriguing and promising. The multiplayer mode is pretty fast paced and has a decent following going even today, and has certainly done many things right,Frontlines: Fuel of War is a flawed game to be certain, but most definitely an entertaining and interesting experience as well. The single-player story is semi-forgettable, but the prospects of the single-player campaign itself are quite intriguing and promising. The multiplayer mode is pretty fast paced and has a decent following going even today, and has certainly done many things right, such as balancing gameplay and objectives. The game's graphics, at the time, were decently good, and the weapons realistically effective. The major drawback for the game is that the majority of vehicles control terribly to drive, and often experience glitches such as rapidly decelerating or randomly driving backwards and erratically while you are concentrating on firing. All in all, Frontlines: Fuel of War has been an enjoyable experience, and one that shows promise. It is only a shame that it's universe has not yet been revisited or expanded upon... Expand
  30. Sep 21, 2015
    5
    joined the fray too late to get in on the multiplayer action and I found the mechanics of the campaign dated and boring, to put it short the is a plethora of games available now for xbox 360 and this one was just not worth my time. My main gripe would be totally different controls to what everyone is used to (I know a product of my own shooter conditioning) and the broken enemy spawnjoined the fray too late to get in on the multiplayer action and I found the mechanics of the campaign dated and boring, to put it short the is a plethora of games available now for xbox 360 and this one was just not worth my time. My main gripe would be totally different controls to what everyone is used to (I know a product of my own shooter conditioning) and the broken enemy spawn system , people just spawn from anywhere and everywhere leaving you bemused as you fight for ground and cover only to have swarms of enemies appearing at areas you previous cleared or directly behind you. Just not doing it for me as I now have discretion to play only games I will really enjoy with the price and depth of titles where it is at the moment. Expand
  31. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    Un juego muy interesnate para su epoca, el cual si lo encuentras baratos deberias jugarlo , ya que plantea una buena idea pero lastima que no este del todo bien desarollada
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Games Master UK
    85
    It may not be sophisticated but it does offer carnage on a satisfyingly huge scale. [Mar 2008, p.83]
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    The levels can sometimes feel artificial and depopulated, the game neither recreating sprawling, unrelenting conflict, nor managing to suggest a greater world through the controlled cinema of more linear shooters. [Mar 2008, p.94]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    The single-player element is distinctly average, so play Frontlines: Fuel Of War for its online mode, as that’s what it will be remembered for. [Mar 2008, p.118]