Frontlines: Fuel of War Xbox 360

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Feb 25, 2008
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 77
  2. Negative: 8 out of 77
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ApocalypseBrown
    Mar 13, 2008
    6
    A cross between Halo and Battlefield, ends up as a poor relation to both. Its not bad, just plainly average!
  2. mr.thuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    7
    its a good game if you have online or an army full of friends who all have high speed internet. the graphics are good enough but with the masses of shooters for the 360 the game is really undermined also the game has some really abused controls i mean these controls have been beaten like tina. otherwise this game is mediocroe at best go get it if you have xbox live.
  3. PaulE
    Feb 22, 2008
    6
    Sloppy map design. Players seen hovering in mid-air after crawling across a rocky outcropping. very laggy online play. fire your rockets and two seconds later you see the shell emerge as the target moves safely away. Frustrating when you know it's not you failing to execute but the terrible connections provided. I would love to play it if it wasn't so sloppy. Online matches Sloppy map design. Players seen hovering in mid-air after crawling across a rocky outcropping. very laggy online play. fire your rockets and two seconds later you see the shell emerge as the target moves safely away. Frustrating when you know it's not you failing to execute but the terrible connections provided. I would love to play it if it wasn't so sloppy. Online matches should always be forced to keep the teams balanced. Like BF2 did. Expand
  4. FPSMaster
    Feb 27, 2008
    6
    I've yet to see any review mention what actually breaks this game. LAAAAAAG. It lags so horribly no matter your connection, no matter if the server is dedicated and no matter how many green bars the server has. Sometimes there's a good 10 seconds of lag between the time you do something and the time it actually happens. Unacceptable. No matter though, it's boring anyway. I've yet to see any review mention what actually breaks this game. LAAAAAAG. It lags so horribly no matter your connection, no matter if the server is dedicated and no matter how many green bars the server has. Sometimes there's a good 10 seconds of lag between the time you do something and the time it actually happens. Unacceptable. No matter though, it's boring anyway. There's no sense of accomplishment for some reason here. You get kills and take over objectives but it doesn't feel satisfying. Maybe it's because you know as soon as you capture a point and get some kills it will just be recaptured by the enemy and go back and fourth for an hour and you'll keep dying from a camper because when you die you have NO IDEA from where...ever. Laggy and boring. A broken POS. Expand
  5. RahulD
    Apr 20, 2008
    5
    This is an okay game at its core. However, hit detection is terrible, and the AI makes me want to cry. Multiplayer is a gem, with huge maps and dedicated servers. My main problem is just how the weapons feel. It might just be me, but Call of Duty 4 makes this game seem like garbage.
  6. Aug 29, 2010
    7
    This game is alright game but there are many things that keep this from excellence. This game does not reach the level of greatness that many other FPS's do. This campaign often feels like you are playing with a bunch of bot players because the enemy AI is terrible. I literally have had countless enemies walk right past me and not even trying to kill me. Your friendly AI are not muchThis game is alright game but there are many things that keep this from excellence. This game does not reach the level of greatness that many other FPS's do. This campaign often feels like you are playing with a bunch of bot players because the enemy AI is terrible. I literally have had countless enemies walk right past me and not even trying to kill me. Your friendly AI are not much better if not worse than the enemies. This game also has hardly no story besides that there is some war over oil so go out and win battles. thats it. The multiplayer is alright but it often seems like they were trying to copy battlefield with it except that there is no level progression or unlocks in the game. Expand
  7. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you can forget about the fact that you’ve been playing this style game for years with the Battlefield franchise then Frontlines will hook you for some time with its gargantuan battles, but for most Fuel of War will likely be too generic to truly sink their teeth into. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2015
    5
    joined the fray too late to get in on the multiplayer action and I found the mechanics of the campaign dated and boring, to put it short the is a plethora of games available now for xbox 360 and this one was just not worth my time. My main gripe would be totally different controls to what everyone is used to (I know a product of my own shooter conditioning) and the broken enemy spawnjoined the fray too late to get in on the multiplayer action and I found the mechanics of the campaign dated and boring, to put it short the is a plethora of games available now for xbox 360 and this one was just not worth my time. My main gripe would be totally different controls to what everyone is used to (I know a product of my own shooter conditioning) and the broken enemy spawn system , people just spawn from anywhere and everywhere leaving you bemused as you fight for ground and cover only to have swarms of enemies appearing at areas you previous cleared or directly behind you. Just not doing it for me as I now have discretion to play only games I will really enjoy with the price and depth of titles where it is at the moment. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. Games Master UK
    85
    It may not be sophisticated but it does offer carnage on a satisfyingly huge scale. [Mar 2008, p.83]
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    The levels can sometimes feel artificial and depopulated, the game neither recreating sprawling, unrelenting conflict, nor managing to suggest a greater world through the controlled cinema of more linear shooters. [Mar 2008, p.94]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    The single-player element is distinctly average, so play Frontlines: Fuel Of War for its online mode, as that’s what it will be remembered for. [Mar 2008, p.118]