User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidH
    Jun 4, 2009
    10
    I rate this game 8/10. Now I'm not going to call this game "dumb" or "stupid" like IGN, or nitpick how boring a post-apocalyptic landscape is like TVG and Eurogamer. The truth is any flaws can be overlooked due to the fantastic and frantic racing that FUEL offers. Once you get used to the handling of each vehicle you will thoroughly enjoy this game . (The reason I gave this a 10/10 I rate this game 8/10. Now I'm not going to call this game "dumb" or "stupid" like IGN, or nitpick how boring a post-apocalyptic landscape is like TVG and Eurogamer. The truth is any flaws can be overlooked due to the fantastic and frantic racing that FUEL offers. Once you get used to the handling of each vehicle you will thoroughly enjoy this game . (The reason I gave this a 10/10 here is to counteract the obviously bandwagon-esque scores some people are giving.) Expand
  2. DomM.
    Jun 6, 2009
    9
    So far TeamXbox is nearly on the right way. In my opinion, FUEL offers great visuals and is addicting as hell. Yes, it could have indeed be more polished, but it's all right as it is. It is an amazing free roaming racing experience you won't be able to enjoy with any other racing title out there. My full recommendation for all free roaming offroad fans out there. But don't So far TeamXbox is nearly on the right way. In my opinion, FUEL offers great visuals and is addicting as hell. Yes, it could have indeed be more polished, but it's all right as it is. It is an amazing free roaming racing experience you won't be able to enjoy with any other racing title out there. My full recommendation for all free roaming offroad fans out there. But don't expect a game, packed with action and a fairly good damage model as motorstorm. Fuel can't offer these things, but a free off loading times, unbelievable large world and moreover a fluent day/night cycle and quite well designed weather effects. Expand
  3. Andyman
    Jun 3, 2009
    0
    In 2009, to omit controller configuration options is completely inexcusable. I'm very sure I'm not the only gamer on the planet who's unable to use the triggers for gas/brake. Unbelievably lazy game design. Thanks for making the game impossible for me to play, guys.
  4. DougB
    Jun 5, 2009
    2
    Now I know why there wasn't a demo when the game launched. Got the game today, what a freaking disappointment. Game looks like dog butt. Like others have said, handling is a joke and I can't see well enough to drive at night or in the dusk time. Sound leaves a lot to be desired. What a disappointment. I'm trading it on Goozex as we speak.
  5. PeterG
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    It amuses me that such low scores were given to this game by the larger websites and kind of goes to prove reviewers don't always put enough time into things before passing judgement. Fuel is an excellent game, with very minor flaws. Plenty to do and plenty to see.
  6. MarcusL
    Jan 24, 2010
    7
    Codemasters have been very successful with their Colin McRae Rally series, and ever since his tragic passing in 2007, we have seen some new additions to Codemasters's garage such as Grid and Fuel. Fuel is a post-apocalyptic sandbox racing game with the biggest environment in any game, with 5,000 square miles of land to do whatever you want. But, it isn't all available for you Codemasters have been very successful with their Colin McRae Rally series, and ever since his tragic passing in 2007, we have seen some new additions to Codemasters's garage such as Grid and Fuel. Fuel is a post-apocalyptic sandbox racing game with the biggest environment in any game, with 5,000 square miles of land to do whatever you want. But, it isn't all available for you straight away. You start off in one area of the map (which considering it's only about one twelfth of the map, it's still very huge) and have to complete races in order to collect stars which unlocks extra areas. The races, are very Midnight Club, with the fact that it's all checkpoint based, and you can take your own route, as long as you hit the checkpoints. However, the AI can be very aggressive at the start of a race, on ANY difficulty. Also, the 5,000 square mile landscape, isn't the best thing to look at. Sure, it's post-apocalyptic, but maybe we could have some worn down cities, like in Fallout 3? The multiplayer is pretty limited too, with only standard races, or online free ride, allowing you to go around the 5,000 square mile landscape with 7 other people. However, at the time I played, there was nobody on online free ride. Overall, if you really enjoy Midnight Club and Burnout Paradise, but want more of an area to cruise around, this is the game for you. But, if you get bored very easily, I'd recommend you avoid this at all costs. Expand
  7. U4IASTRM
    Jun 10, 2009
    3
    Decent for an Arcade game, but the game promised huge world with fun and entertaining things. They got vast right. From last to first(which is where you have to be to win) is a mean feat. Drive off the beaten path once, and your in for a real challenge to get the win, even if you drive a perfect line. Do not be fooled by the back cover of the box. As one of the loading messages will tell Decent for an Arcade game, but the game promised huge world with fun and entertaining things. They got vast right. From last to first(which is where you have to be to win) is a mean feat. Drive off the beaten path once, and your in for a real challenge to get the win, even if you drive a perfect line. Do not be fooled by the back cover of the box. As one of the loading messages will tell you, "This game is not going anywhere". Rent it first. OR wait til it hits the bargain bin here pretty soon. Expand
  8. MarkS
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    Ignore the reviewers who don't have any skill, or couldn't be bothered to put any real time into this game (I'm looking at you IGN). This game is far better than they would have you believe. This game is flawed, but still manages to be a lot of fun. Give it a shot.
  9. AbeG
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome! So much fun and unbelievable addictive. Don't understand all these mixed reviews, guess its just not for everyone, but if you're looking for a fun easy to pick up and play sandbox style racing game it is worth picking up.
  10. HarryT
    Jun 4, 2009
    8
    Very good game with flaws that can be overlooked due to the fantastic, frantic racing and excellent online "free-ride" mode.
  11. DanH
    Jun 8, 2009
    8
    It is unfortunate that this game is getting such mixed reviews because it may steer some away from giving it a try, especially those who enjoy this type of game. I picked up a copy on a Friday afternon and played it straight through the entire weekend ... and let me tell you I am just barely beginning to scratch the surface of this incredibly immense game! As you may have heard the It is unfortunate that this game is getting such mixed reviews because it may steer some away from giving it a try, especially those who enjoy this type of game. I picked up a copy on a Friday afternon and played it straight through the entire weekend ... and let me tell you I am just barely beginning to scratch the surface of this incredibly immense game! As you may have heard the ability to free roam is truly amazing. Just messing around and looking for Fuel barrels throughout the landscape is a total blast! I would say this game is a blend of Motorstorm and Test Drive Unlimited and the graphics remind me a lot of Pure. There are a ton of cars, a ton of missions, and an incredibly huge map to play with as you raom the countryside or play one of the many challenges or missions ... There is so much to do that this game always keeps things fresh. Because of the incredibly mixed reviews I went into this game pretty sceptical ,but, I am so glad that I picked it up anyway because this game has been a a welcome addition to my game library! If you are the type who likes to run aroud open workd games just to see the game world and you also enjoy driving games, do yourself a favore and pick this game up right away. Expand
  12. AdamH.
    Jun 8, 2009
    3
    It's not extremely bad in any way. It's just not entertaining at all either. The map, handling or graphics fail to impress and the challenges is just nothing that makes you pick up the game and play.
  13. ChrisD
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    8/10 -- I too was disappointed to find the controller couldn't be configured to match my GRID setup, (reminded me of Speed Devils from my Dreamcast days) and I'm still not sure if there's such a thing as mixed class racing (I saw none online or in single player). Outside of that, I'm impressed with the scope and think it has good potential. It's funny that people 8/10 -- I too was disappointed to find the controller couldn't be configured to match my GRID setup, (reminded me of Speed Devils from my Dreamcast days) and I'm still not sure if there's such a thing as mixed class racing (I saw none online or in single player). Outside of that, I'm impressed with the scope and think it has good potential. It's funny that people would trash this game as mediocre though, when this generation has produced pure lamefests like PGR3. Expand
  14. MarkalangoP
    Jan 16, 2010
    0
    A simple game for the simple minded folk. Lots to do ... but it is not fun. Oh and how they advertised storms affect races is pure BS. Avoid this game at all cost and don't even think about trying it.
  15. markc
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    I've had it for 5 days now and its absolutely great. Graphics look great and the gameplay is spot on.There is so much to do and see.The landscapes and vistas look fantastic and ive had some of the best races I've ever had in a racing game.My favourite racing game before this was NEED FOR SPEED on the 3DO. Don't understand all these negative comments and scores its been I've had it for 5 days now and its absolutely great. Graphics look great and the gameplay is spot on.There is so much to do and see.The landscapes and vistas look fantastic and ive had some of the best races I've ever had in a racing game.My favourite racing game before this was NEED FOR SPEED on the 3DO. Don't understand all these negative comments and scores its been receiving..even EDGE gave it a good review and scored it an impressive 8. In my opinion its as good as if not better than GRID and COLIN MCRAE.DIRT. Expand
  16. AndrewL
    Sep 11, 2009
    9
    This is a great games that does admittedly have some flaws.The handling is quite sludgey,the online options are a bit limited and the music is awful.BUT, if you put time into it,it's an engrossing experience which offers both relaxing exploration/collection and exciting racing.Definatly worth giving a chance.
  17. legendKid
    Jun 22, 2009
    9
    I love this game i brought it three days ago, and i love the free ride and the races. People may cry "its just boring waste land" well yeah but i have pulled off some serious freeking jumps free ride. Dont be arses and definitely don't underestimate this game, cause i rock at this game b*tches.
  18. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Honestly I sold this game back to the store before buying it again,starting from a different perspective and now loving every minute of playing.See I was comparing it to Code masters other titles like Dirt and Grid and I wasn't satisfied.If you play it for what it is then you will find that nothing and no game is like it.It is mentioned in 3 guinness world records,gamers edition and now IHonestly I sold this game back to the store before buying it again,starting from a different perspective and now loving every minute of playing.See I was comparing it to Code masters other titles like Dirt and Grid and I wasn't satisfied.If you play it for what it is then you will find that nothing and no game is like it.It is mentioned in 3 guinness world records,gamers edition and now I see why.Up to this review I have put in around 90 hours into this game and it's great.I am knocking 5 points off because of the amount of time it was in production and it still has small problems,but all in all another amazing title by Code masters!!95% Expand
  19. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    i thought this game was really good with some floors. the post apocalyptic landscape could of been better like ruined city or something different to what it is. the racing is the best thing about this game even tho in the racing you need to get the checkpoints as well as first place to win it but that aside the races r frantic and intense. i enjoyed the fact you can free ride it was myi thought this game was really good with some floors. the post apocalyptic landscape could of been better like ruined city or something different to what it is. the racing is the best thing about this game even tho in the racing you need to get the checkpoints as well as first place to win it but that aside the races r frantic and intense. i enjoyed the fact you can free ride it was my favorite thing to do on the game was great when i just didn't want to do a race. the fact it changes from day to night is a nice touch along with the weather effects Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 4 out of 45
  1. The complete lack of boundaries means it's a totally unique challenge, in which standard racing skills often need to be thrown out of the window. Despite this, with such exciting technology at its core, we can't help but hope that Asobo gets another roll of the dice to create something truly, and consistently astonishing. [June 2009, p.84]
  2. 55
    When that ambition fails to live up to its promise by delivering a hollow and disappointing experience, you can't help but feel somewhat nonplussed by the final product. This should have been incredible, but having tried our very best to like Codemasters' latest racing IP, we can't help but feel like we've been taken for a ride. Fuel-ed, if you will.
  3. Fuel is without a doubt a complete game, that thanks to the numerous unlockable areas, cars, challenges and so on, reaches an enviable longevity. Unfortunately the gameplay lacks all the functionality typical of the competition, and there are some techincal issues that ruin the overall score. Fuel is a game for all arcade-off-road racing games, but beware as you won't find the dynamism of Motorstorm nor the attention to detail of Pure, but a different game, with good free-roaming gameplay.