User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 108
  2. Negative: 53 out of 108

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    2
    They say no one sets out to make a bad game and yet it keeps happening. This game could have been awsome and fans would have waited for it to be polished to perfection, but no, they give us this. The story and acting are ponderously plodding but the worst thing is the TERRIBLE combat system. I played the whole game but it was an ordeal and the idea of playing dlc or a sequel is absurd. As a fan I hung in there but was not rewarded. Curiosity killed the cat but I miraculously survived. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2013
    0
    Literally the worst RPG ever. Linear, no exploration, awful combat system, dodgy graphics. The game had potential, but it was squandered on a game that was no more an RPG than LOTR: War in the North.
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    4
    If this game had as much value as the show it would be awesome! ...Unfortunately that is not the case. The overall game-play is what killed it for me. I've been playing games since the 90's so i can deal with mediocre graphics, and i've played Skyrim and Fallout so i can also deal with long loading times. But i absolutely HATE turned based games with a dying passion!! So you pick moves from a selection wheel for your character to do (like 5 max at a time) and then you wait for your guy to go, then the enemy, then your guy and so on...did i mention in SLOW MOTION?! Jesus, it takes forever. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    1
    I can forgive the incredibly outdated graphics. I can forgive the constant glitches and horrible dialogue. I can even forgive the slow loading times. What I can't forgive is the awful AWFUL battle system. So much so that I'm on chapter 9 and contemplating just quitting (which doesn't happen often) It is literally the worst battle system I have ever encountered in years of playing RPG's. You can't really dodge attacks. Even if the enemy's sword swings on the other side of the screen, you'll still receive damage. You can't really control anything. In essence, all you do in line up some attacks and wait for your character to do them, or wait for your energy to meter to slowly build up while you run in circles around the enemy. More often than not he'll attack the wrong target, and more often than not you'll scream at your television. This game is nothing but a chore. Definitely one of the worst RPG's I've ever played. I love the books, I love the television show, but I can't stand this awfully repetitive game. Do yourself a favour and give it a miss, for your own sanity. Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Collapse
  6. May 31, 2012
    3
    When it comes to a 'book to television show to game' this is pretty bad. As a fan of turn based RPG's like Dragon Age and Knights of the Old Republic, this just doesn't stand up to the competition. It has an excellent story that goes side by side during the events of the HBO series, but falls short in mechanics and graphics. The game takes you into the role of two characters, which is the first mistake. Give us options! We are in a vast era of gaming and to not have creation options in an RPG is unheard of now-a-days. Progression is slow when it comes to leveling. Then to add insult to injury, it doesn't look that good. Hear the full review on the podcast; http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  7. May 23, 2012
    2
    This is a game that theoretically should have been fantastic but I just could not play longer than two hours without wanting to never play it again. So many problems were little but when you have too many little problems they all just add up to being impossible to get past. The largest problems for me were as follows: The game was too dark, as in contrast and brightness to hard to actually see the Mors segments. Also the font was impossible to read. I don't think that with a 62 inch Tv I should *ever* have to get up and walk to my Tv to read the character creation screens ( where there was also a light issue that gave me a headache trying to read the too tiny font). The voice acting was terrible beyond belief. I can't believe I ever thought I would say this but Thrillville Off The Rails is no longer the worst voice acting I've ever played through. The graphics were not terrible but they were not good either. The angle of the character to there view of the world was lopsided. What I mean is the character stood at the left side of your screen at an odd awkward angle making it feel like I constantly could not center the camera. Most of all though every time your character Mors or Alestar walk the moment they stop the camera keeps zooming in for 3 seconds. This seems like the smallest complaint by far because it sounds so petty but this is not a petty small complaint because I nearly threw up and got dizzy from it. The game play was hard to follow even with having played Dragon Age Origins. I just couldn't wrap my brain around the battle engine. It felt too difficult too fiddly like you had to play either on idiot easy difficulty or else be some sort of sword wielding savant. I wanted this game to be good I really really did. But it wasn't. It was actually painful to play and it left me wishing I'd never spent the money. Thank God for trading games at re-salers I bought Dragon's Dogma today and feel less like eatin Ramen for a week to make up my stupid game choice purchase. The last time I hated a game this much was when I bought Two Worlds for $5 and felt cheated out of a BigMac and Fries instead. Expand
  8. May 20, 2012
    2
    Anyone who gives this game anything over a 5 is a total fanboy. This game is utter crap, the IGN review is the most spot on and giving it a 4 is being gracious.

    This should have been a novel or better yet they should have held off releasing until the game was finished. The combat system is a mess, slow-mo or turning it off on regular motion is still crap. Why queue up each time the
    same EXACT moves.

    The monotone voice acting is a total joke. This game deserves being a coaster.
    Expand
  9. May 16, 2012
    1
    Wow what a complete disappointment!! The graphics were okay to me and the storyline and characters are pretty decent, but why oh why would you make the combat so crappy?! You have to push A up to 3 times to queue up attacks or press the RB button to slow the game down while you queue up to 3 combinations of special ability attacks, ARE KIDDING ME!! The whole time all you are doing is pushing A for the same basic attack. No pulling the right trigger to pull of a normal attack then trying to block with a shield while you wait for that perfect moment of weakness in your opponents attack to strike with a power attack. Oh no, you just hit A, sit back and watch you character do all the workâ Expand
  10. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'm not sure why people expected this to be anything other then mediocre trash milking money from loyal fans. It's a popular book series and tv show...of course they are going to capitalize by putting out a rushed product. It has terrible voice acting, graphics and buggy gameplay. Pretty much the exact formula similar titles like LOTR and Harry Potter follow. Fanboys will continue to buy these and they will continue to come out. Just don't be tricked into thinking this is anything but a mediocre title. Expand
  11. May 15, 2012
    3
    Something that bother me is why some game developers keep making horrible games again and again. Why never learn from mistakes? This game is very buggy and the graphics look awful. The combat system is very repetitive. They said they start making this game 7 years ago? Are you kidding me? Even this game more focused on story but you have to realize that it's still f**king game. With zero re-playability, please save your 60 bucks. Expand
  12. Jun 9, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Sep 4, 2012
    55
    Game of Thrones revels in the source material, wraps its narrative around it, and plays along with the vast universe that George Martin has crafted. It's too bad, and deeply disappointing, that the game celebrates little else.
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    30
    Even if you're a fan of the TV series, the dullness just isn't worth it. [Issue#87, p.86]
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    30
    Ultimately, Cyanide seems to have released a poor excuse for a TV show to Videogame port with Game of Thrones. It's aimed at fans of the show, and you'll soon realise that Cyanide have used little imagination when creating this title, no doubt knowing that fans will lap this tripe up simply for having the title 'Game of Thrones' on the front cover.