Gears of War 3 Xbox 360

Gears of War 3 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1522 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by acclaimed studio Epic Games and available only on Xbox 360, "Gears of War 3" plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood that will conclude the current story arc for "Gears of War." With the last human city destroyed and theDeveloped by acclaimed studio Epic Games and available only on Xbox 360, "Gears of War 3" plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood that will conclude the current story arc for "Gears of War." With the last human city destroyed and the remaining survivors stranded, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race from the jaws of extinction. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    100
    The narrative setting is nearly as potent as the gameplay.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    97
    Horde 2.0 is the best multiplayer experience going right now, and Beast Mode isn't far behind.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    95
    Markus Phoneix leaves the Xbox 360 with an enormous and well-told adventure that exceeds all expectations. A lot of online modes, great Horde 2.0 and all the gameplay that characterizes the journeys of Gears. Magnificent!
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Few games offer up as much as Gears of War 3, and even fewer manage to do it this successfully. This is quite easily the best Gears of War yet, weaving excellent core mechanics together with the renewed perception of an ever-maturing developer. Once again, Epic has successfully iterated on a series that most other developers are still desperately trying to imitate.
  5. CD-Action
    Sep 29, 2011
    90
    The single player campaign is a thrilling ride through incredibly varied locations. I would rate it 8/10 but the multiplayer unquestionably deserves 10/10 – I can't think of any way to improve it. Especially the Horde 2.0 and Beast modes are terrific. Visuals are fantastic too – one glance is enough to notice the improvements in the Unreal Engine. As a whole Gears of War 3 is an outstanding, platform defining game. [October, p.52]
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Gears of War 3 is the absolute business. It plays extremely well on your own, as part of a co-op experience or if you've got the minerals to jump online and leave your mark.
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 416
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. TheGears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    I dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 pageI dont often give out full marks,but this game is the tweaked,perfected & culmination of a great gaming series(apart from the abysmal 1 page game 'Manual'!(or should i say leaflet).They've done the impossible & also improved the graphics on the already hugely impressive 1&2,& theres new features,moves,new enemies,& new weapons(LOVE the Retro Lancer)!as well as all the existing ones on all counts,as well as new characters including returning familiar faces.I found the story interesting & compelling,which is no suprise,as it was penned by the author responsible for The Gears of War novels.The campaign is longer than the previous games too,which is what i wanted,with the even more wanted 4-Player Campaign Co-Op finally..Awesome! This game really is a complete package,with a much improved Horde mode,& the new beast mode,which is kind of like Horde,but instead playing as the Locust.Plus the multiplayer.All these are playable against bots also with or against friends.You cant ask for anything more than that! This game REALLY does offer you whatever your preference is,be it Single or Co-Op campaign,Side Co-Op modes,& great multiplayer.As i said,COMPLETE package.Such a great conclusion to a great(& influential)series.But as i touched on earlier though,i have one complaint,The 'Manual' (& i struggle to use the word manual),is absolutely ABYSMAL! with the first two games,they were so well illustrated & informative,but the one with this game is quite literally a pamphlet with a diagram of the joypad buttons on one of the pages.Thats it!? Nothing to tell you to how to actually play the game,the game modes,or how to do the various moves in the game.Not even in the £100 'epic' edition of the game,do you get any kind of manual or guide! Very poor Epic,Shame on you,for sullying the final game of such an amazing series.. Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong.I admit my concern. I was afraid Gears' formula had worn on me after the second installment. I also admit that I was wrong. So horribly wrong. Gears of War 3 is, without a doubt, the best in the series by a mile and an absolute masterpiece. There is something that sets it apart from the other two. You can feel the dedication that Epic has put into this finale. Everything has been improved. The campaign, while never emotionally engaging, is fairly intriguing and supplies some twists I didn't see coming. This game's crown achievement, however, lies in its multiplayer. Everything is streamlined and works brilliantly. There was hardly a game where lag was a problem, and the constant unlocks have kept me addicted. Gears 3 isn't a radical change, but it never really needed it. Instead, Epic has opted to smooth over the wrinkles of the last two. Everything feels smooth and improved. I love, love, LOVE this game. Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    The game is very good but i have one question??? Epic...........Why why why in the name of god, why you killed Dominic Santiago
    Graphics:10
    The game is very good but i have one question??? Epic...........Why why why in the name of god, why you killed Dominic Santiago
    Graphics:10 Fun:10 Campaign:8
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    Remarkably similar to Gears 2, but hardly a bad game. The campaign was excellent as always and the mutli-player is a real step up. It's onlyRemarkably similar to Gears 2, but hardly a bad game. The campaign was excellent as always and the mutli-player is a real step up. It's only real flaw was its lack of innovation. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2012
    8
    "Gears of war 3 is refined, polished, and improved making Gears 3 by far the best in the series." Gears of war 3 really does improve from its"Gears of war 3 is refined, polished, and improved making Gears 3 by far the best in the series." Gears of war 3 really does improve from its previous games adding 4 player co-op anytime, adding a tower defense horde, and a faster and well design competitive mode. There is Beast mode but that seems more of an after thought or an extra to play with your friends and not by your self. To get to the point, the campaign is sold with some creative moments but after half way through the campaign, it does get repetitive after awhile. The game does pick up a lot better at the final act after act 4. Campaign does come with a arcade mode for scores and death free game overs. The story ends the series and finishes the fight , don't expect too much unless you played the first 2 games before Gears 3. The reason for this is because of the lack of character development for any other characters besides Marcus. Some of the depressing moments can be little cliche yet, it can be a little surprising for those fans of the series. Horde mode adds fortifications as a second defense against the horde of both Locust and Lambent. Each 10th wave adds a boss giving you challenging and huge beast to take on. This gives players many opinions how they want to advance there play styles. Beast Mode seems more an extra allowing players to play as the Locust against the humans but only for 12 waves. Its best not playing Beast Mode by your self. Lastly is the multiplayer adding new layers to gameplay but a bit scare some for veteran players. Gears 3's multiplayer adds new weapons, bunch of new characters to select from, and pay to use gun skins. 9 maps plus 4 free DLC maps bring as well as old and refined classic maps from previous Gears of war tiles. 2 of the major weapons such as the SoS shotgun and retro lancer bring a new coward to the series as well as new and familiar mode Team DeathMatch. At first, it does seem to hurt the skill that the Gears series always had but with a few updates, Gears of war 3 still takes skill to master and a steep learn curve when playing the major Gears of war modes (execution and Guardian mode). Overall, Gears of War 3 may not impress some of the hardcore fans that stayed in the series but personally, it still has its hardcore/skill charm that rewards better players and forces newer players to understand, improve and learn from experiences. I suggest the buy knowing your planning to play it online or with local co-op, other then that, the game is best for rent. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    I gave it a one because of the sawed-off. The reason i didn't give it a zero is because of the dedicated servers. I gave it a one because ofI gave it a one because of the sawed-off. The reason i didn't give it a zero is because of the dedicated servers. I gave it a one because of the sawed-off. The reason i didn't give it a zero is because of the dedicated servers. I gave it a one because of the sawed-off. The reason i didn't give it a zero is because of the dedicated servers. Expand

See all 416 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  3. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.