Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by acclaimed studio Epic Games and available only on Xbox 360, "Gears of War 3" plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood that will conclude the current story arc for "Gears of War." With the last human city destroyed and the remaining survivors stranded, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race from the jaws of extinction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 96
  2. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    100
    The narrative setting is nearly as potent as the gameplay.
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    97
    Horde 2.0 is the best multiplayer experience going right now, and Beast Mode isn't far behind.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    95
    Markus Phoneix leaves the Xbox 360 with an enormous and well-told adventure that exceeds all expectations. A lot of online modes, great Horde 2.0 and all the gameplay that characterizes the journeys of Gears. Magnificent!
  4. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Few games offer up as much as Gears of War 3, and even fewer manage to do it this successfully. This is quite easily the best Gears of War yet, weaving excellent core mechanics together with the renewed perception of an ever-maturing developer. Once again, Epic has successfully iterated on a series that most other developers are still desperately trying to imitate.
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    90
    The single player campaign is a thrilling ride through incredibly varied locations. I would rate it 8/10 but the multiplayer unquestionably deserves 10/10 – I can't think of any way to improve it. Especially the Horde 2.0 and Beast modes are terrific. Visuals are fantastic too – one glance is enough to notice the improvements in the Unreal Engine. As a whole Gears of War 3 is an outstanding, platform defining game. [October, p.52]
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    90
    Gears of War 3 is the absolute business. It plays extremely well on your own, as part of a co-op experience or if you've got the minerals to jump online and leave your mark.
  7. Jan 18, 2012
    65
    Rather than the perfect end to a thrilling series, it seemed like the developers were afraid to take real risks with either the story or the gameplay of Gears 3.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 408
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Gears of war 3 is the best in the series by a mile. The multiplayer is great no flaws, and the first game with a way to kill campers. The digger gun! Great graphics on both SP and MP. 4 player co-op and just an all round epic game. While saying epic, I hope they have some plans up there sleeves as it's ashame this is the end for gears. Possible spin offs witch would be great as it's an amazing franchise. The MP is fresh and I just love playing on it, a great action game and one of the best on the 360. Epic should be very proud as this is a top contender for game of the year. That's about all I have to say on it really other then  if your on the fence with this on, just trust me you won't be let down! Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Wow what a fantastic game, the graphics are incredible. plays smoothly and alot of good shooting Fun. It always makes me laugh when people say the gameplay hasnt changed much since the first game. Of course it bloody hasnt its gears of war. Do people really want the whole gameplay mechanics changed. this is what makes the game. to me this is the finest looking game on the 360 console. To be honest i play my ps3 alot more but i would say the graphics were on par with uncharted. This game certainly deserves a 10. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games for the 360. The graphics are awsome. The story is great. The campaign has a very satisfying ending. The horde mode is awsome too! Collapse
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    If your a fan of the Gear's series, you have to pick this one up. I feel the ending was a little abrupt, but it was an overall good game. The multiplayer complements the campaign well and i love the fluent and fast paced gameplay. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Ive played gears of war since the begining in 2006 And i have to say that Gears of war 3 is the ultimate gears game. Or the ultimate game for anyone who loves gore infested action. This game totaly rocks! The only con i come to think about is that they made the game a bit too easy for newcomers... Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an incredibly fun game and certainly the best Gears release to date. I was a little dissapointed with how the story wrapped up because it just seemed rushed to me but I enjoyed it while it lasted. The multiplayer is FUN if you play with friends otherwise it can get old after a while. It seems that every time i get a gears game I love it and then COD rolls around and i just stop playing it. I don't know why, maybe gears seems more fun and COD seems more business ;) Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2011
    0
    Worst game ever. I dont know what other exclusive to buy for my X box since this is the only major one this year. What a disappointment. Oh well, good thing there is another Halo coming. XD Expand

See all 408 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.
  2. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  3. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.