User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2115 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MauricioG.
    Dec 13, 2006
    4
    I Must Agree with Daniel, the expectations was so big that everyone make a big over-rated. This game is ridiculous in size. In one day I Finish!! The gameplay and looking remind a lot of BLACK on the PS2. The main aspect of the gears of war is the paintball style of play. Rent before buy and you will save a bucks...
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    This GAME IS FULL OF S%#T, go rot in hell. All you xbox 360 fanboys look like Marcus's screwed up wife! So yeah I h8 this game so that's it I am going to say and I did this so xbox 360 will be gone.
  3. Apr 13, 2011
    1
    Completely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of coverCompletely overhyped and overrated. Gamers were basically told that we are supposed to like this game and many never bothered to question that. Read the summary on this game then ask someone who likes GoW why they do. Nine times out of ten their answer will sound like they are reading the summary, almost like rehearsed lines. Clunky gameplay, darkness instead of graphics, overuse of cover system to the point of boredom, very short game (for what was a top dollar release), cliche everything, and nothing new enough to balance just how tired and clearly "borrowed" so much of this game was- all with a sheen of gore and machismo so over the top it is almost laughable. This game had great appeal for people like the movie going audiences that laud each new release as the best movie ever until the next movie comes out, but in the annals of gaming it is a minor embarrassment and little more. Expand
  4. MessiahLee
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than
    A generic, mediocre shooter of the most depthless proportions. My opinion of this game is hardly marred by its difficulty, Abdul, but its been-there-done-that gameplay.
    I think it's funny that you claim Mass Effect's storyline was awful, and then you gave Gears of War, an entire experience that can be summarized in one or two paragraphs at Wikipedia, and finished in less than 6 hours on HARDCORE MODE, a perfect 10.
    You're an idiot.
    Expand
  5. JohnS.
    Jan 19, 2007
    1
    I enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run theI enjoyed this game quite a lot..........for 5 hours. I don't mind short games when they are extremely complete and introduce brand new things to a genre, but this game just felt like a really well done remake of past games. All the really cool features, have been done before, just not tied together so well. Graphics are nice, but it's sad to see that they couldnt run the Unreal 3 engine at its max, the demo's I've seen of the engine rendering other things on PC is amazing. Framerate is very poor when camera pans around in story sequences.

    Good game, not great, I recomend renting it, but not buying it. I would normally give it a 7, but because of the overhype, and the insane fanboys spreading false info, I give it a 1.
    Expand
  6. JackieB
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and My problem with this series is that it's a basic mod for Unreal Tournament 2004. The Cogs look identical to the Human race in UT2k4 and after playing it on the PC, I can say that 'ts almost exactly the same. Aside from being third person, having a cover mechanic, and not being able to jump. I can say that Epic games has pulled a fast one and slapped a mod onto an older game and made millions. The only reason this game isn't getting a 1 is because the blood and gore in it are really good. Otherwise, it's hide, shoot, hide, shoot, watch scene, walk a little, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, hide, shoot, move a little, etc etc there are some enjoyable dialogues.. but honestly.. you guys just modded UT 2004 and called it Gears of War. Please. Have a little more creativity. Expand
  7. StorageBox
    Jun 14, 2007
    4
    I didn
  8. Dec 5, 2010
    4
    I'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sortI'm not quite sure where the appeal for this game is. I've played up to a certain point, and have not seen many redeeming qualities. The story is... mediocre, sound is okay, music is fine, gameplay mechanics work well enough, but at the end, I really don't care about any of these characters. There's no incentive for me to keep playing, really. In a way, it got boring fighting the same sort of enemies over and over, with a little variation every now and then with 'bosses'. -- The graphics, in its time, must have been pretty good, but does no one realise that graphics will always get worse over time? Praising a game for its amazing visuals while ignoring its faults is akin to people being famous for being famous. Something more lasting: a new, innovative graphical technique, or an interesting use of an old one (like Left 4 Dead's film techniques), an amazing story (Final Fantasy Tactics, lots of RPG's), those sort of things make a game that will be remembered as a good game for a long time to come. -- This game isn't really even worth it's money right now. let alone five years from now because it just isn't that fun. Expand
  9. MarcStaal
    Jan 4, 2007
    0
    it is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also sworeit is unbelievable how some sicko's out there put a random chainsaw on a gun, just for the purpose of seeing blood squirt everywhere.......my son, who is 6 years of age, went to his friends house where he watched this boy's brother play the game......my son came home with the friend, and starting to pretend to chainsaw each other..they were yelling and screaming, and also swore lots......my son said "Sup B**ches" to his friend...this is absolutely insane..........who the heck puts that dumb chainsaw in the game....this person must have just got out of jail....UNBELIEVABLE......but overall great game with great graphics Expand
  10. MasterChief
    Dec 14, 2009
    0
    This game is nothing compared to the adrenaline fueled graphics bomb we all know as Halo 3. Halo 3 is the only thing on the 360, if you want games like this, buy a Wii. Cause Wii is great for these casual games.
  11. 70bucksWasted
    Nov 8, 2006
    1
    70 bucks down the drain. I finished the game in 5 hours and since I don't have online it's practically worthless to me now. it was fun while it lasted but not challenging and waaaaaay too short. The shortest game I've ever played in my life. Bloody EB won't give me my cash back eitehr, only trade in.... sigh
  12. GuyWithGoodTaste
    May 10, 2008
    3
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of This is one of the worst games I have ever played. It really says a lot about the state of the games industry when THIS game gets high marks. Repetitive, short, and just generally soul crushing. It's only redeeming aspect is the graphics, which aren't all that dazzling when they make the transition from screen shot to actual game. Gears of War is the very definition of mediocrity. Avoid at all costs. It's not even worth it if it's free. Expand
  13. BobJ.
    Nov 8, 2006
    3
    This game has been so overhyped that reviewers feel compelled to give it a good score. Excellent texturing, solid presentation. Poor, repetitive desgin with little innovation. If you are expecting a classic you will be disappointed. It is as formulaic as they come.
  14. Exosus
    Dec 2, 2007
    4
    IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to IT works. It lacks any major glitches. Beyond that, there is nothing to recommend this game. It is boring, repetitive, formulaic, and above all else mundane. It is the quintessential second-rate shooter, embodying all that is and can be wrong with the FPS genre. The online is boring to the point of unplayability, the offline held together simply by polish. They did what they set out to do, they made what they set out to make. They just forgot to make sure that goal was . . . you know . . . good. Expand
  15. NickC.
    Feb 24, 2007
    3
    Kinda interesting, for the first few acts 1,2. Later it get boring and boring. And then you get to fight the final boss which is so easy. Then you play multiplayer and then it gets boring because there are 3 game modes. I gave it a 3 because the graphics and the characters and co-op. But in theory GoW sucks as a team-based shooter.
  16. SteveF.
    Mar 19, 2007
    4
    Sure, it looks and sounds great, but that's only skin deep. The core cover mechanic is repetitive, cumbersome and unoriginal (you're basically playing Killswitch 2), the plot is terrible and the AI seems lobotomised. Mulitplayer is fairly fun for a while but dragged down by glitches, limited modes and the same repetition of that cover mechanic.
  17. ColinG.
    Jul 8, 2007
    3
    I could not agree more with Storage Box and Jacob B. I'm glad the truth is finally starting to come out about this sad excuse for a game. This is definitely the most over-rated game I have ever played. Graphics=10/10. Gameplay=2/10. The level design is unbelievably repetitive, the A.I. is probably the worst I have ever seen and the dialogue could have been written by a five-year-old. I could not agree more with Storage Box and Jacob B. I'm glad the truth is finally starting to come out about this sad excuse for a game. This is definitely the most over-rated game I have ever played. Graphics=10/10. Gameplay=2/10. The level design is unbelievably repetitive, the A.I. is probably the worst I have ever seen and the dialogue could have been written by a five-year-old. If ever you needed definitive proof that graphics don't make a game then this is it. At least there's half decent multiplayer on XBOX live but this doesn't make up for the abysmal single player campaign. Half the budget for this 'blockbuster' must have gone into bribing reviewers to give good scores. Well, Microsoft - you can't get to me! I was fooled into buying the first game but don't expect me to buy any more Gears games - I suspect that there'll be at least one or two others following my example. P.S. I don't own a PS3, I love my 360 - I was just hugely disappointed by the poor quality of this game. Expand
  18. CamJ.
    Sep 14, 2007
    3
    I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are I hate this game, on single player they force you to listen to stupid dialogs that you cant skip and they put it after a checkpoint so you have to hear it over again every time you die as punishment, like this game has a story anyway online its worse, the maps are stupid simple designed an its nothing but lag and noobs that either chainsaw you or just knock you in the head, the guns are useless dont bother shooting anyone, just run up to them either knock them in the head or stick a frag on them, this game is so over hyped. Expand
  19. NevilleS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team This is one of those "am I playing the same game?" moments. Controls are clunky and cumbersome and unintuitive. The "training" session to get you into the game is appalling. The "multifunction" cover button never does what you want or expect - endless rolling around on the floor when you want to mantle or hide. Graphics are so greyed out and poorly defined that you can't tell team members from foes. Plot, bad-guys, voices and weapons so cliched they may as well not exist - oh look it's THE HORDE ffs! Oh look - the baddies all look like they are from Alien. Oh look - there's a cute chick giving you instructions in your ear! Maybe the PC version is better - but having to come out of cover, twiddle endlessly with the stick to get an aim while getting shot up is DULL DULL DULL Did absolutely nothing to suck me in or make me want to play further than level one. What the hell am I missing? Expand
  20. JeffB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    1
    Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, Two big reasons I was turned off to this game: 1)The grayed out screen had me shooting my own guys as often as the enemy because I couldn't tell them apart. 2)The most important part of the game is HIDING. What fun is a game where HIDING is the most important skill to learn? I am trying to have FUN, not learning how to duck and cover. I know that some of this needs to be involved, but this much? Very frustrating to play a game where most of it involves taking cover, and then accidentally shooting your own guys(when the cumbersome aiming allows you to actually hit anything at all). Amazed at how highly rated this game is when I see how good the other games receiving similar ratings are. And I have heard it is short too, although I will never find out myself. Glad I got it used - if I return it fast I can get decent store credit. Expand
  21. HuevosBuey
    Dec 20, 2006
    4
    "whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal" WTF does that mean??? The story mode is pretty decent, but you will finish it the day you buy it. The online play is utter crap, with the exception of the online co-op (which is the only reason I am giving this game a 4). The graphics "whats more bad ass run up chainsaw a guy in half back up in cover frag them shot gun there face off if there close and still think its hard very orriganal" WTF does that mean??? The story mode is pretty decent, but you will finish it the day you buy it. The online play is utter crap, with the exception of the online co-op (which is the only reason I am giving this game a 4). The graphics are indeed great, but so what? It takes more than graphics to make a great game. RENT this game before you buy it and form your own opinion. RENT! Expand
  22. DarrenMoss
    Jan 5, 2007
    1
    total rubbish for those of us that have a brain.......endless shooting at targets that are ill defined ,everything in greyscale ugh,fiddly controls that must turn on geeks like no tomorrow.who are these peaple that rate this game?...children or just those with a childs iq....halo sussed it out, a game for all generations with simple controls ,riveting story line ,clear enemies and lots oftotal rubbish for those of us that have a brain.......endless shooting at targets that are ill defined ,everything in greyscale ugh,fiddly controls that must turn on geeks like no tomorrow.who are these peaple that rate this game?...children or just those with a childs iq....halo sussed it out, a game for all generations with simple controls ,riveting story line ,clear enemies and lots of thinking required .halo 2 sadly also sufferered from over complicating the controls ,actions etc when all that was needed was a larger battlefield scenario enviroment where steath can win as well as brute force........they(microsoft ) will learn that it is the older generation that actually buy these games and just once in a while we like to play them as well ,maybe even show our children that it is not allways the best option to go in all guns blazing .fat chance in this game .apart from a few formuliaic exceptions (beserker) its just a basic shoot,em up.hyped up to the rafters...........shame Expand
  23. TimmyThompson
    Dec 12, 2006
    3
    Silky graphics... bland characters... generic game. Oh wait, CliffyB did it, 10, 10, 10, 10!

    Seriously, are people so starved for a decent XBox 360 game that as soon as shiny, legless shooter comes out every god-damn publication gives it a ridiculously high score? A lot of journalists I've talked to and heard from are actually rethinking their scores... too late, idiots.
    Silky graphics... bland characters... generic game. Oh wait, CliffyB did it, 10, 10, 10, 10!

    Seriously, are people so starved for a decent XBox 360 game that as soon as shiny, legless shooter comes out every god-damn publication gives it a ridiculously high score?

    A lot of journalists I've talked to and heard from are actually rethinking their scores... too late, idiots. You've already given this game top honours when it deserves an "honourable mention" at best. Sad.
    Expand
  24. RickyM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    4
    This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you This game is full of stupid gimmicks that don't work. Graphics aren't that pretty, making everything dark and shiny doesn't equal good. Weapons are ridiculous and unbalanced, a machine gun with a chainsaw on it that has an attack that can't be stopped is just stupid. The whole being knocked out or whatever concept is okay, except the part where actions done to you while on the ground can't be stopped. Online play is laggy and full of 12 year olds that scream about everything. Map design is either extremely simple and lazy or huge and unfocused, causing new players to get lost a lot. The one thing that makes this game not worth your time is the maneuvering system, which is an absolute joke. Whoever decided that the A button would be used for dashing and leaning against walls was a serious moron. It's not uncommon to end up stuck against multiple walls in a sticky situation because of the terrible control scheme. It's also during this that the camera reveals how bad it is and flies around like a rabid child. Online pros will stroke their e-penises and call you a noob if you complain about it, yet have a fit if it happens to them. The reloading system is a hassle and mostly makes you roll around like an idiot hoping you won't jam your weapon. Overall, the game's controls are what make this game unworthy of not only the price of an XBox 360, but of an Xbox Live subscription as well. Incredibly overhyped by critics and players alike, this game is a mistake. Expand
  25. GeraldS.
    Sep 13, 2007
    4
    I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I don't understand the appeal of this game. I read a dozen reviews and talked to friends, all insisting this was the second coming. I don't like multiplayer, so that could be why I wasn't impressed. Graphics are awesome, but I don't like "half games" where the actual gameplay takes second seat to cinematics. If I want a movie I'll pay 1/3 the price for one. I'm forcing myself to play just to finish the single player. Snore. Expand
  26. TomEdwards
    Dec 8, 2008
    1
    The feeling i get from this is that, they could have done this by DLC. It feels like gears 1.5 instead of a full fledged, which is no bad thing because it's gears, but i feel as though i'm being ripped off by something that should have been a bit cheaper.
  27. andrewjohnson
    Nov 17, 2006
    0
    frist off im not a big first shooter fan anyway but wanted to try this game becuase it was hyped and theres not many good games for the 360 yet. the game has great graffics but it still dosent challenge the player in new and fun ways. just mindless shooting and nothing else.
  28. Dec 5, 2010
    0
    This game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it'sThis game is so overhyped! I can't believe how it it said to beat the ps3 exclusives or the x360 games lik Halo and Uncharted 2. But then when I look at the kind of people who find this game appealing I realise hey are the type of people who like anything. Even critics say the game has good graphics - but it doesn't! Play any ps3 exclusive like gt5, ps home, uncharted, FFXIII (I know it's not exclusive but it has great graphics), ratchet and clank etc. and you will realise how this game looks like a ps2 game. The gameplay is clunky and the controls are awkward. It sucks. Expand
  29. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    One of the most overrated game I've ever played. There is fun to be had here but it's tough to enjoy with the truly awful A.I and tedious gameplay. At release, it had great multiplayer which was unfortunately full of bugs and connection issues. The only appeal this game has is the pretty (but dated) graphics and decent core gameplay and "decent" is generous.
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    Standard blockbuster, big explosion, big muscles, no brains gaming come to life. Barely got through it, because it was so damn boring. The end boss was the most unimaginative bosses i have ever seen! 4 /10 Because it is payable and not broken!
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 88 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 88
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 88
  3. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. The hallmark of Gears' weapon design is the balance of powerful tools with critical, exploitable weaknesses, and it's executed with real finesse.
  2. 100
    Each stage is memorable...They all combine for an unforgettable adventure through 36 hectic, desperate hours of a group of soldiers' lives...A visual and visceral masterpiece.
  3. If you're a graphics whore, you absolutely, positively need to pick this game up. To say that Gears of War features "next-gen graphics" is a gross understatement. It's got the most impressive graphics ever seen in a video game, and the stellar art direction only makes it more beautiful.