Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. It is a great deal of fun with only a few instances where you feel like you are in over your head.
  2. A fantastic game, and definitely what I was hoping for when I first saw those initial screenshots a while back. The capturing mechanic is fun and interesting, while at the same time being tied into familiar third person controls for shooter fans, so there's nothing here that takes a lot of time to get used to.
  3. Overall, Ghostbusters The Video Game excels in the gameplay department, and somehow manages to give us an updated experience of the same old ghost catching troupe we know and love.
  4. While the gameplay has some flaws, it is on the whole solid, and there is enough game there to enjoy for a good length of time.
  5. For fans of the Ghostbusters, this is a no brainer, pick it up. The story, characters and action are all Ghostbusters through and through and make an excellent addition to the series canon. For those unfamiliar with the Ghostbusters, I implore you to give this game a try; it really is an innovative, fun and funny as hell experience and really manages to differentiate itself from the pack of 3rd person shooter games.
  6. It can't be stressed enough how much fans of this franchise will adore this game.
  7. The dedication to translating the finest qualities of the Ghostbusters franchise into a great video game shows through in every facet of the game, making it easily one of the best licensed games to arrive in years.
  8. The gang’s all here—well, except for Louis. Terminal Reality might have created the only true Ghostbusters game, ever, but it’s about as good as we could have asked for (could have used more Murray, though). Who you gonna call? Atari for some DLC.
  9. The game was made with a definite sense of appreciation for the original films, and stands well against any other action game out there, even without its license. Sure, it's got some problems, but it's still everything a true fan could hope for.
  10. If you're a fan of the Ghostbusters franchise, you definitely need to play this game.
  11. Technically bland, but its love of the source material makes it a must for fans. [Dec 2009, p.87]
  12. I'd easily recommend that you go out and pick up this little gem of a licensed game and add it to your pile.
  13. There are some flaws, including the lack of a local co-op mode, however there is just so much that was done right that you can't help but have a blast. It may not be everything you ever wanted out of a Ghostbusters game, but it's as close as you're going to get to perfection at this point.
  14. 83
    As a Ghostbusters fan, this game came through by delivering an entertaining experience with plenty of laughs and just the right amount of action.
  15. Even if you're too young to remember the original Ghostbusters movie, there's enough action, comedy and drama in this spectacular 3D adventure to warrant a look.
  16. If you loved the films then this is the game that you have been waiting for. If you aren’t a fan of the films then you might not find anything special here.
  17. From the solid graphics and sound, enticing gameplay, to the great presentation, Ghostbusters fans should eat this up, and those not familiar with the movie should feel free to do so as well.
  18. Ghostbusters: The Video Game is a great game, a fact that actually came as quite a surprise taken into account its numerous problems and delays. Enjoyable and immersive, it does have some defects such as the not-so perfect AI, but once you have put down the pad and turned off the console, you are left with a nice flavour in your mouth. A flavour mixed with the memories from the original movie.
  19. With a great story (albeit short) and the actual cast voicing their original characters, even if you are somewhat of a Ghostbusters fan, this game deserves to be beside your Ghostbusters I and II dvds and is big enough service to the fans to please almost anyone.
  20. Choosing one of the original Ghosbusters while taking out ghosts in co-op - now that's the stuff. The sad part is that you cannot enjoy the main campaign in co-op.
  21. 82
    Ghostbusters is the perfect example of how to treat a cherished license right. The game plays great, looks great, and really captures the essence of what makes the series so beloved. With a solid campaign and an enjoyable online portion there is more than enough here to recommend for fans of the series.
  22. For whatever Ghostbusters: The Video Game is lacking purely as a game – and really, it’s not that much – it more than makes up for it in the production. We should hold it up as a model not just for movie into video game translations, but as an example of how you treat a beloved institution right when making a video game about it.
  23. There’s never a dull moment, and with new equipment to test out, the amusement level is always at a high.
  24. Ghostbusters combines a tried-and-true structure with a familiar but fresh license, filling that game with personality and panache - and that's what really raised our spirits. [July 2009, p.72]
  25. 80
    There are some moments that cause the game to stumble, but you're getting a new tale in the Ghostbusters canon, fun gameplay, a whole bunch of stuff to destroy, and some cool ghosts to scan. I felt that the game's ending was a bit flat and the romantic interest was forced, but Ghostbusters is a hell of a ride.
  26. The real meat of the game is getting to play through the Ghostbusters experience we've always dreamed about as kids - a story that could have easily been "Ghostbusters III." [July 2009, p.81]
  27. It suffers from a few issues (sloppy lip-syncing, repetitive music, unbalanced difficulty), but Ghostbusters: The Video Game is a must play for fans as well as gamers in search of a new shooter.
  28. 80
    Though I was ultimately somewhat disappointed by the flawed and fundamentally repetitive nature of my time as a green recruit, Ghostbusters' tight online component renewed my long-term enthusiasm for slam-dunking slimers.
  29. 80
    Ghostbusters is a fun, accessible game, whether you're a fan of the films or not. It's also the best game based on a film franchise since The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay.
  30. Despite some of the flaws the game has I had a really great time going through it.
  31. Ghostbusters was almost the game we’ve spent twenty years waiting for, but it isn’t. The gameplay is just about there, the presentation is spot on, and the script has plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, but the lack of cooperative play seems downright wrong.
  32. Simultaneously a new Ghostbusters movie and an enjoyable videogame. Rough around the edges, but the superb scripting and unique humour make this a breath of fresh air.
  33. Fans are going to love it, but for everyone else this is just a good shooter with a different setting. But come on - who isn't a fan of the Ghostbusters?
  34. An excellent slice of '80s nostalgia. [Sept 2009, p.88]
  35. This game manages to maintain all the charm and ironic atmosphere of the original movies, delivering us a very enjoyable game that even who never saw the movies could appreciate. If you're long time fans of the Ghostbusters, you won't be disappointed.
  36. One of the better uses of movie license. [Dec 2009]
  37. The game is full of fun elements, sports an in-depth multiplayer component, and is loaded with fan-service. While I think this is a solid title for anyone interested action gaming and solid storytelling, it is certainly not a must-buy. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed the ride.
  38. The game exudes authenticity. From the fully-modeled firehouse headquarters to the way that tombstones shatter and bushes ignite when you spray them with proton, Ghostbusters transcends its modest tech with a careful attention to detail. One warning, though: you'll never want to hear the Ghostbusters theme ever again after sitting through a few loading screens.
  39. Despite some drawbacks, this satisfying adventure is just what you'd want from a Ghostbusters game: it's funny and it's fun.
  40. In the end, Ghostbusters: The Video Game is a standout licensed product; one that every movie-game tie-in needs to learn from.
  41. Ghostbusters is a much better game than anticipated because I suppose I am hung up on the fact that licensed games, by and large, fail to meet the standards of the license it’s based on – but this adaption of the lore is a success.
  42. One of the finest games I've ever played based on a film property. It's a good title but not a staggeringly good one. The single-player campaign is entertaining for its eight- to ten-hour run but doesn't have a whole lot of replay value, making this a highly recommended.
  43. A good game and one of the best movie games that we have seen in years. Retains all the charm and humour of the original movies,but is far from being perfect. The lack of cooperative and competitive multiplayer modes harms the gaming experience, but if you're a fan of the the films you must know that this game is worthy of its license.
  44. 70
    As licensed games go, it's above average - but given that the film series it is based on was last seen at the cinemas over 20 years ago, it's a bit of disappointment that it still feels a bit rushed. It could have been (and based on pre-release media, seemed to be) so much better.
  45. If you're a fan of the movies this alone is largely enough to look past the game's failings, such as the repetitive gameplay and dated design.
  46. You'll need to enjoy all the free reading you can get out of Ghostbusters: The Video Game because you can kill the single-player campaign in one, perhaps two, dedicated sittings.
  47. A fan-pleasing extension of canon, but not the game it should have been. [Sept 2009, p.90]
  48. As a package it is an homage-ridden trip down memory lane that will put a smile on the face of every fan. [Issue#51, p.90]
  49. If you've been waiting for Ghostbusters 3 or simply a video game that does the classic series justice, Ghostbusters: The Video Game won't disappoint.
  50. Ghostbusters: The Videogame on Xbox 360 comes as the version to play and choose form. For those who only have the Microsoft console, the wait was worth it.
  51. It's nostalgia first and game second but you'd have to really hate Ghostbusters to not enjoy this tie-in.
  52. The game does a great job of capturing the movies’ camaraderie and us-vs.-them spirit. It’s the best Ghostbusters game of all time, though that really isn’t saying much.
  53. Perhaps most baffling to me about my experience with Ghostbusters: The Video Game is, as problematic as I found the single-player experience, how much I found myself enjoying the multiplayer.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. LozzyC
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Absolute blast! I was excited for this game and got it imported from the US (damn Sony and their Europe PS3 tripe!!!) and I must say I am not Absolute blast! I was excited for this game and got it imported from the US (damn Sony and their Europe PS3 tripe!!!) and I must say I am not disapointed one bit. Great game, good story (beats oblivion/fallout 3 which are shockingly poor) and the graphics are charming, especially the little details that have gone into it. I'd recommend this game to anyone who loved Ghostbusters as a kid. Full Review »
  2. theknife
    Jun 16, 2009
    10
    It's probably the best movie-adaptation game I've ever played. tons of funny side stuff, it is clear a lot of love and polish went It's probably the best movie-adaptation game I've ever played. tons of funny side stuff, it is clear a lot of love and polish went into this game. The engine looks fantastic and the particle effects are awesome. kind of a must-buy for ghostbusters fans. Full Review »
  3. musicmaniac1965
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    First let me tell you why i give the game a 10. not that it's technically perfect, but i have to admit, i am a huge ghostbusters fan. First let me tell you why i give the game a 10. not that it's technically perfect, but i have to admit, i am a huge ghostbusters fan. bought the 2 DVD's, and as soon as they are both avaiable on blu ray, i will get them again :-) and this game fit's the mood of the movie just perfect ! the best part is trapping the ghost's. this works just as in the movies, and even the beams that comes out of the proton packs looks and behave the same as in the movies ! add to this the famous ghostbusters headquarters where you can just strawl around before you enter a new mission, and you really feel like a new team member ! also smart how they just introduce you as "the rookie", so you don't have to live up to one of the main actors, but you are just new to the ghostbusting team. i am glad they have put in new ghosts too, instead of just the one's from the movies. not only is this game one trip down ghostbusting lane when it comes to being a game based on a movie, but the gameplay mechanics works just so well, that even if the movies would have never existed, the game would still be fun in its own right ! but, then i'd give the score a bit more down to earth, as that feeling of being familiar would not be there, as everything would be new to you. the icing on this delicious cake is that the real actors did the voices, and it shows. the dialog that passes (not only in between clips, but also while fighting ghosts) are really funny and strengthens the ghostbusters feeling. in short, if you are a ghostbuster fan, don't think longer, just go get the game, and get sucked into a world you know and love (the new sections are also brilliant, as are the extra powers for your proton pack). if you don't know the movies, the score would be more a solid 8,5 or so, so it's still a recommendable game. now quickly back to the game, more ghosts are awaiting my trap. Full Review »