User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 84
  2. Negative: 29 out of 84

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    A failed chance at a cult classic multiplayer. This game could have been tons of fun. Instead something as simple as player movement creates gambreaking issues. You'll notice when you play your first match the movement glitching. Sprinting is awkward and you'll find yourself side stepping and ice skating across the ground. It's so obvious that this game runs on the call of duty engine,but the call of duty smoothness isn't there. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    2
    I asked for this for Christmas and was so excited to play it thinking it was like the old N64 game. Much to my surprise it resembles nothing like the old version except for a handful of non effective features. I also haven't even played the multiplayer yet because there is no one online to play. I suggest people to buy the N64 game rather than waste their money on this awful "remake".
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    1
    I really was excited for this game, however, it failed to meet any of the expectations I had for it. First of all if you are expecting the campaign to resemble anything close to the original n64 campaign, you are going to be incredibly disappointed; it feels as if Activision slapped together another **** COD campaign rehash and put James Bond themed skins over it, except it does not play as well as COD and feels like you are playing a FPS from 2005. Overall, the campaign completely fails to capture the original intensity and feeling of the original. The Multiplayer is also a complete failure of a remake. It is essentially COD multiplayer with no balance whatsoever (you can have juggernaught and stopping power AT THE SAME TIME). The guns are all very easy to use, most having absolutely no noticeable recoil at all. The maps are also nothing like the original maps.

    It feels almost like the people who made this game never played the original, as it holds absolutely no nostalgic moments. Activision made all they know how to make, a **** COD rehash.
    Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    Being a large fan of the original N64 Goldeneye, I stupidly bought this as a Christmas gift for my younger brother who owns a 360. Activision are evidently cashing in on the good name of Rare's N64 game. However unlike the 1997 fps classic, this game is mediocre in every aspect. Since this game uses the same engine as the COD series you would have thought that the gameplay would be smooth and fluid. Unfortunately, the movement within the game is clunky and awkward. The sound is appalling as well. It feels and sounds as though you are firing toy guns. I can not emphasise how bad it is. Now lets get onto the multiplayer. How can they have messed this up so badly? It is a half baked copy of the COD multiplayer, but the matchmaking service is slow and confusing. Why didn't they just look at what works and copy that? I am in the UK on a fibre optic 44mb broadband connection and I have yet to find a server that does not lag. The game is currently unplayable online that is how bad it is. You can't run 4 paces without stopping. I myself play FPS on a pc and not on a games console. I would avoid this one at all costs. BF3 and MW3 are both better games. Battlefield 3 offers the best fps multiplayer experience. For anyone that wants to relive the nostalgia of Goldeneye - rent the movie or dust off your N64, because this one is a disappointment. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    0
    This is a fantastic game. However, it pales in comparison to the original Goldeneye on Nintendo 64. This game features Daniel Craig, who is a far worse James Bond than Pierce Brosnan. The shooting mechanics are great, but they obviously are far behind most modern day shooters like Call of Duty and Battlefield. I would highly recommend this game to people who want a quick taste of nostalgia, but that is about it. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    2
    This game has no right to use the name Goldeneye, it lacks both the enjoyment and quality of N64 original. It uses an even clunkier version of the COD engine which means it looks like Call of Duty 2 with its drab textures and uninspiring character models. All weapons feel really unsatisfying to use since they all pretty much handle the same with little recoil and all sound as though you are shooting a BB gun. Levels are basic go from point A to point B not being helped by the fact the highly trained secret agent you control can't even jump, enemies spawn out of nowhere and can should through objects and surfaces you can't. Enemies also have the amazing ability to not notice you standing a few feet away, but when you have been detected all of them will instantly know where you are even if they haven't seen you. Secondary Objectives feel shoved in as filler and the MI6 ops and multiplayer feel shoved in and suffer the same control and gameplay problems as the underwhelming and laborious campaign. Overall this is a very mediocre cash-cow game and should be avoided by everyone except the most easily immused and simple minded. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Some stages vaguely resemble the original while others are nothing like it at all. It seems like you're supposed to stealth your way through many parts of the levels, but you'll have to play through each one several times to figure out just how to do that. Instead, you end up in countless situations where you stand alone with little cover against a horde of enemies who all seem to be excellent marksmen. Think you can crouch behind a crate or boulder, regroup, and take them out one-by-one? Think again. You'll get pelted from seemingly all sides by foes you can barely see thru a scope. They all seem to know exactly where you are and have a bead on your head at every single moment. This game isn't challenging; it's downright frustrating even on the "easy" setting. Not worth full price by a long shot. Rent it, borrow it, or buy it used and return it. Another Activision money grab. Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2012
    2
    This game could possibly be the best game you have........................................................ but only if it's the only game you have. This game is the biggest piece of junk I have ever wasted my money on. The story is ridiculous and nothing compared to the actual film Goldeneye. Daniel Craig just doesn't work as Bond in this film and 006 looks nothing threatening at all. You can tell enemies have just been thrown into places just to try and make the game last slightly longer and the stupid side missions (e.g. take pictures of this, that), since when the hell were James Bond games things where you use your phone to take pictures more than your gun. There is no emotion involved at all even though there could be. The online feels unlike any other Bond games you've played before and is way too much like a failure of Call of Duty: Bond. A real stepdown to games such as Quantum of Solace and Bloodstone, hope the next Bond game will be better. Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    What a disappointment. The characters' appearances (aside from Daniel Craig) have been changed to generic models, completely unrecognizable aside from their names; presumably due to licensing issues. The single-player missions themselves have some infuriating level design choices and bear little resemblance to the original game or the movie itself. The last level gives you a couple minutes to run across catwalks that collapse for no reason other than to slow you down, while spawning an infinite amount of enemies at you in a level with no cover. The chase across Cradle is now an annoying fight against an invincible character that's bookended by weak QTE scenes. Multiplayer is absolutely awful, nothing like the original. If you're looking for a nostalgic multiplayer experience, save your money and buy the XLA version of Perfect Dark instead. Expand
  10. Feb 20, 2013
    3
    As someone who is a huge fan of the original Goldeneye 007 for the Nintendo 64, I was extremely disappointed at this adaption made by Activision. To be perfectly honest, I would of thought it to be appropriate to have a shot-for-shot high definition remake of the original, which it isn't. The campaign gets bland after the second mission, once you realized the same gameplay is rebooted into different scenarios each mission. The gameplay, though, is playable, which is a positive, though you'd really check this game out to get the nostalgia factor, and not for a Call of Duty competitor that will outdo it, even though Activision is also a developer for the Call of Duty series, coincidentally. Then comes the multiplayer, which is one of the few bright spots of the game, although I feel like it isn't enough to keep you wanting to play it. Give the multiplayer a try, and i'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised at how fun it is. Then there is the Mi6 Ops, which is basically an objective based game mode where you can use powers from the original game (Painball, DK Mode, etc.). Although this sounds good, it just comes off as bland and repetitive. I wouldn't suggest buying this game under any circumstance like I did, but simply renting it and seeing if you get any nostalgia, although you most likely will not. Expand
  11. Feb 11, 2013
    3
    The game just doesn't feel like the original Goldeneye game. I feel that they tried to hard to revive a classic and they have failed in doing so. I give this game a 3 based off the fact the graphic were good and the story was ok.
  12. Nov 29, 2013
    2
    I can not begin to express my disappointment with this game, what I was expecting was a reloaded version of the original 64 classic, what I got was a terrible exploitation of a name which a company simply knew would sell copies and whilst the game play in itself is not bad nothing can alleviate the acrid knowledge that this game will never compare to it's original namesake.
  13. Nov 28, 2013
    4
    Yet another "Bond" adventure from Eurocom, the same idiots that brought you Beijing 2008 and other terrible "games", It's an absolute CoD clone, which claims to be the next big game, just because you have "Goldeneye 007" slapped on the cover, doesn't mean it's going to sell out every time it's placed on the shelves of every store imaginable. It's also has a broken stealth feature, which doesn't act realistically, and Bond was all about the stealth Expand
  14. Jan 26, 2014
    2
    This game is actually just an interactive movie in disguise. I don't necessary mind the fact that they took the original, gutted its soul, and failed to produce any shred of nostalgia - that sorta thing we can expect in the present world. However truth be told you'll play for about 2 minutes (at most) before coming across an irrelevant cutscene.. and another.. and another. The pace is completely abolished and you'll find yourself bored out of your mind. As for the rest of the game, the visuals are pretty average, the guns sound like toys, there's a stealth aspect to this game but after walking past a certain point, you'll get spotted regardless, and multiplayer is incredibly bland. In short the game is broken, dull, and just not fun. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 60
    Average shooter by no means belongs to the top of this genre that you can choose for this year. Even the most nostalgic gamers can not hide poor visuals and troublesome game design. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    72
    Having loved the game back in the 90s, I was disappointed with the remake. The graphics could have been a lot better, the multiplayer was great back then but with small, monotonous maps an a dearth of game modes is pretty weak by today's standards Surprisingly, the solo campaign is pretty solid, though the story is shallow. Luckily Daniel Craig lent his original voice and visual appearance to the game, so you can play a cool Bond character.
  3. Bond's Ops are crude, overlong slogs - padding, pure and simple. [Feb 2012, p.104]