User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 83
  2. Negative: 29 out of 83

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This game is addictive! Controls are smooth, storyline is compelling, and the replay value is high (I find myself replaying missions right after completion just to see if I can complete all objectives). I found the difficulties to be just right, with a player experienced in shooters able to play on the 007 difficulty pretty easily. Overall, the game is just fun, and easy to jump into right away. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    8
    The multiplayer is great. I does have its problems with the glitchy player movement, which almost ruins it sometimes. I thought I had a bad internet connection at first. It is the COD engine so I don't understand why they could not fix this. The enemy players don't run they kind of glitch/skip along at times. Somehow it does not ruin the multiplayer experience. Not only does it take me back to N64 days but it also feels at time like the first Modern Warfare Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    How can you rate the game 0? I suspect you are a spoiler. This game plays really well and gives a great FPS campaign as Bond. Multiplayer is really fun and the 4 player split screen is awesome. Fact - Campaign is more fun than BF3 Fact - Multiplayer is more fun than BF3 unless you like hard sim FSP multiplayer of course This is a really fun game that will make people want to keep coming back. The multiplayer modes are really fun. Glitchy.... not really... and certainly no more so than the above mentioned game Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2011
    0
    A failed chance at a cult classic multiplayer. This game could have been tons of fun. Instead something as simple as player movement creates gambreaking issues. You'll notice when you play your first match the movement glitching. Sprinting is awkward and you'll find yourself side stepping and ice skating across the ground. It's so obvious that this game runs on the call of duty engine,but the call of duty smoothness isn't there. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    This game is really fun i like the single player a lot and the multiplayer is alright, king of laggy thought but the singleplayer is pretty great and the controls are smooth and responsive the graphics are alright andthe story is great
  6. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    I owned the wii version of this game and found one aspect of the wii version better and thats the hit collision on the enemies, the bullets just had more of a satisfying impact and thud on the enemies than the xbox 360 version. How could they stuff that up? lets face it, a big part of the enjoyment on fps is the bullet connection on foes and goldeneye reloaded isnt up to scratch in that area. Apart from that the graphical update is okay but nothing special and its virtually identical to the wii version. Expand
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    Compared to most mainstream games: Bullsh*t
    Compared to the original: Meh.

    What they have done here is practically made it a Call of Duty clone, but I guess it was easier this way since it was made with the IW engine, but not used to it's full potential. The graphics are weak, gameplay we have seen a million times, but stealth that most games seem to be lacking these days. This is what
    mainly boosts most of my score, the feel of the magical nostalgic stealth. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2011
    2
    I asked for this for Christmas and was so excited to play it thinking it was like the old N64 game. Much to my surprise it resembles nothing like the old version except for a handful of non effective features. I also haven't even played the multiplayer yet because there is no one online to play. I suggest people to buy the N64 game rather than waste their money on this awful "remake".
  9. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    What?! Goldeneye?! ON XBOX AND PS3?! Goldeneye is only good on a NINTENDO CONSOLE!!!

    Anyways just its the same Wii remake repackaged and a bit graphically remade for different consoles... and the remake itself never really stayed true to the original Goldeneye for N64, It just looks like Call of Duty sadly...
  10. Nov 26, 2011
    1
    I really was excited for this game, however, it failed to meet any of the expectations I had for it. First of all if you are expecting the campaign to resemble anything close to the original n64 campaign, you are going to be incredibly disappointed; it feels as if Activision slapped together another **** COD campaign rehash and put James Bond themed skins over it, except it does not play as well as COD and feels like you are playing a FPS from 2005. Overall, the campaign completely fails to capture the original intensity and feeling of the original. The Multiplayer is also a complete failure of a remake. It is essentially COD multiplayer with no balance whatsoever (you can have juggernaught and stopping power AT THE SAME TIME). The guns are all very easy to use, most having absolutely no noticeable recoil at all. The maps are also nothing like the original maps.

    It feels almost like the people who made this game never played the original, as it holds absolutely no nostalgic moments. Activision made all they know how to make, a **** COD rehash.
    Expand
  11. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    Goldeneye: Reloaded is the type of game that people got the same reaction to as they would have for Batman Arkham Asylum. . .epic and exciting! Personally I lost interest in the whole Call of Duty franchise ever since Modern Warfare 2 but even though Goldeneye is through the same developers and same Call of Duty engine, the campaign is as exciting and explosive as the original was for the Nintendo 64! Although people say its not the same as the N64 version, I think i should point out THIS IS NOT BASED ON THE GAME, Its based on the MOVIE! With that taken into account, enjoy the game! 8/10 :) Expand
  12. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    Being a large fan of the original N64 Goldeneye, I stupidly bought this as a Christmas gift for my younger brother who owns a 360. Activision are evidently cashing in on the good name of Rare's N64 game. However unlike the 1997 fps classic, this game is mediocre in every aspect. Since this game uses the same engine as the COD series you would have thought that the gameplay would be smooth and fluid. Unfortunately, the movement within the game is clunky and awkward. The sound is appalling as well. It feels and sounds as though you are firing toy guns. I can not emphasise how bad it is. Now lets get onto the multiplayer. How can they have messed this up so badly? It is a half baked copy of the COD multiplayer, but the matchmaking service is slow and confusing. Why didn't they just look at what works and copy that? I am in the UK on a fibre optic 44mb broadband connection and I have yet to find a server that does not lag. The game is currently unplayable online that is how bad it is. You can't run 4 paces without stopping. I myself play FPS on a pc and not on a games console. I would avoid this one at all costs. BF3 and MW3 are both better games. Battlefield 3 offers the best fps multiplayer experience. For anyone that wants to relive the nostalgia of Goldeneye - rent the movie or dust off your N64, because this one is a disappointment. Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2011
    0
    This is a fantastic game. However, it pales in comparison to the original Goldeneye on Nintendo 64. This game features Daniel Craig, who is a far worse James Bond than Pierce Brosnan. The shooting mechanics are great, but they obviously are far behind most modern day shooters like Call of Duty and Battlefield. I would highly recommend this game to people who want a quick taste of nostalgia, but that is about it. Expand
  14. Jan 3, 2012
    2
    This game has no right to use the name Goldeneye, it lacks both the enjoyment and quality of N64 original. It uses an even clunkier version of the COD engine which means it looks like Call of Duty 2 with its drab textures and uninspiring character models. All weapons feel really unsatisfying to use since they all pretty much handle the same with little recoil and all sound as though you are shooting a BB gun. Levels are basic go from point A to point B not being helped by the fact the highly trained secret agent you control can't even jump, enemies spawn out of nowhere and can should through objects and surfaces you can't. Enemies also have the amazing ability to not notice you standing a few feet away, but when you have been detected all of them will instantly know where you are even if they haven't seen you. Secondary Objectives feel shoved in as filler and the MI6 ops and multiplayer feel shoved in and suffer the same control and gameplay problems as the underwhelming and laborious campaign. Overall this is a very mediocre cash-cow game and should be avoided by everyone except the most easily immused and simple minded. Collapse
  15. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    This is an easy COD style game. Its redone, and changed the layout of the maps. Worse graphics and lower framerate than COD. Its not total garbage, it still plays. I expected more out of a goldeneye remake, but to regain the orginals legendary status may be impossible. The real problem is the foundation the remake was built upon - the Wii.
  16. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    this is a good game overall, as long as you don't come in with the wrong expectations. I am a huge fan of the N64 classic, and before renting this one I was hoping for something very faithful to the original. In short, I wanted to relive the classic levels using the classic weapons with updated graphics and presentation. what i learned was that you won't be "reliving" as you will be experiencing something entirely new - a complete re imagination. that means that aside from the pistol, none of the guns or gun names are the same as before. the levels for the most part are different from their n64 counterparts save for a few similarities (the beginning of dam, the iconic statue in "statue"). this can be seen as a good or bad thing. It's good in its own right because it shows the developers used creativity and put effort into making the experience new. That's commendable. On the other hand, it looses some of the "classic" goldeneye feel, feeling like a goldeneye mod of Call of Duty. This game uses the same engine as call of duty, and has incredibly similar graphics and controls. The main difference is the implementation of stealth gameplay, which I really enjoyed. For certain segments of many of the levels, you'll be sneaking around. During these segments, you can see enemies as red dots on your radar, and you can go through and kill off the enemies one-by-one. if you get caught, more reinforcements are called and you will have a large firefight on your hands depending on how many enemies you were able to stealthily kill. i like this mechanic in the game. it's simple but it works.

    other highlights of the game include the ridiculous muzzle flash that was present in the 64 version, cool looking/feeling weapons, and a great bond presentation.

    things that will perhaps disappoint fans looking for the more a more faithful reboot include the fact that many of the levels in the n64 version aren't present at all, the levels are very much out of order compared to the movie/64 game, many major plot points were completely changed, and you the game isn't set up for the reticle-less point-and-shoot of the original (this would have been cool if they could have implemented as an option somehow).

    overall, its good at what it does, and if you know what you're getting into you'll have a great time.
    Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    It's hard to give this a review that will really justify the game, only because it was probably hard to make a game that wouldn't be compared to its classic original (and no, not that crappy Wii version). While this version of the game is certainly well above the game that the Wii put out, it still misses that special feeling to it. It feels like a modern shooting game, which by any standard really doesn't help it at all. I don't feel any nostalgia when I play the game, even though obviously things have changed in the shooter genre since Goldeneye first came out. The graphics aren't much better than the Wii version and it looks even worse online for some reason. Not that I hate the game, I just unfairly maybe be expecting more of what made the N64 game so great and less of what crowds the modern shooter genre. Expand
  18. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    If nostalgia is the reason for getting this game, don't bother. They changed the story line for who knows what reason. Yes, I understand that half the little kiddies who play games now don't even know what the USSR is but that doesn't change that Goldeneye was a good story and hearing "Climate Change" in a James Bond game made me puke in the sink. This game is like a watered down version of Call of Duty. While I do enjoy the Call of Duty series, it has its limitations and this game included all of them. What the f*ck is up with these extra objectives? Thanks for not putting them on the map for me guys. There will be a small "i" for information symbol that appears next to the map when you are near an objective. You will pull out your phone, read the objective twice, go around in circles and if you are lucky find the objective. More than likely you will walk to far away and get to the next checkpoint, locking yourself out and having a "Mission Incomplete" to deal with at the end. While you will be able to go on you will find yourself swearing.

    The A.I. is covered in every other review but let me just say that it bares repeating how utterly inconsistent it really is. Sometimes enemies run blindly three at a time right into your gun. Sometimes a guy with an RPG waits until you are just in range and one-shots you. It is more annoying than anything when you come from a BF2 or COD game to this and realize they came out at the same time. Which brings me to my third and final point. I was hoping, albeit a little naively, that this game would be something different than the aforementioned juggernauts. I was excited at the prospect of Goldeneye being reinvented. I did read about it for the Wii and simply ignored it as Wii =/= FPS =/= Online play. The real let down was how they changed the story and the wonky objectives needlessly being placed in the game and then not showing up on the map.
    Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    Some stages vaguely resemble the original while others are nothing like it at all. It seems like you're supposed to stealth your way through many parts of the levels, but you'll have to play through each one several times to figure out just how to do that. Instead, you end up in countless situations where you stand alone with little cover against a horde of enemies who all seem to be excellent marksmen. Think you can crouch behind a crate or boulder, regroup, and take them out one-by-one? Think again. You'll get pelted from seemingly all sides by foes you can barely see thru a scope. They all seem to know exactly where you are and have a bead on your head at every single moment. This game isn't challenging; it's downright frustrating even on the "easy" setting. Not worth full price by a long shot. Rent it, borrow it, or buy it used and return it. Another Activision money grab. Expand
  20. Feb 18, 2012
    2
    This game could possibly be the best game you have........................................................ but only if it's the only game you have. This game is the biggest piece of junk I have ever wasted my money on. The story is ridiculous and nothing compared to the actual film Goldeneye. Daniel Craig just doesn't work as Bond in this film and 006 looks nothing threatening at all. You can tell enemies have just been thrown into places just to try and make the game last slightly longer and the stupid side missions (e.g. take pictures of this, that), since when the hell were James Bond games things where you use your phone to take pictures more than your gun. There is no emotion involved at all even though there could be. The online feels unlike any other Bond games you've played before and is way too much like a failure of Call of Duty: Bond. A real stepdown to games such as Quantum of Solace and Bloodstone, hope the next Bond game will be better. Expand
  21. Apr 4, 2012
    2
    What a disappointment. The characters' appearances (aside from Daniel Craig) have been changed to generic models, completely unrecognizable aside from their names; presumably due to licensing issues. The single-player missions themselves have some infuriating level design choices and bear little resemblance to the original game or the movie itself. The last level gives you a couple minutes to run across catwalks that collapse for no reason other than to slow you down, while spawning an infinite amount of enemies at you in a level with no cover. The chase across Cradle is now an annoying fight against an invincible character that's bookended by weak QTE scenes. Multiplayer is absolutely awful, nothing like the original. If you're looking for a nostalgic multiplayer experience, save your money and buy the XLA version of Perfect Dark instead. Expand
  22. DME
    Oct 17, 2012
    5
    Reloaded is a good game... It's just a horrible GoldenEye game. For a "re-imagining", this game carry's absolutely no resemblance to the original. No nostalgia at all. They've replaced the original "pick up a gun and add it to your arsenal" style of play and thought it would be a good idea to take away all of the player's health. Yeah, there's loadouts, too instead of searching the map for weapons. The maps themselves are very generic and unappealing. They also have way too many vantage points and feel confined. Multiplayer can still be fun, as long as you've never played Call of Duty before. Cuz if you've been a part of the CoD series, it will be impossible for you to play multiplayer without comparing... And trust me, CoD wins by a long shot. The only redeeming quality of Reloaded (I refuse to call it "GoldenEye") is the Single Player. The Single Player offers entertaining stealth and spy gameplay as well as a fun Special Ops type mode. But even so, it fails to impress. Expand
  23. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    Surprise of the year. I found the demo for this game randomly browsing Xbox Live Game Marketplace and instantly got hooked. Keep in mind this game is inspired by the original, it's not a precise remake. The gameplay is simple and satisfying and it feels like it runs at 60 FPS. Cons... the multiplayer kind of sucks, the AI sometimes (once or twice) spotted me when they shouldn't have, and the last mission was waaay too god damn hard. Seriously, tone that **** down. I must have died 20 times trying to cross that walkway. Still, very solid shooter. 9/10. Grab it on sale. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    An older game given the call of duty treatment. The good is its Goldeneye. The bad news is it has been put into the modern game level of intelligence, there is none. The graphics are better but this does not change the fact the AI system is very touchy and dumb. Several times I took note of how many steps it took guards to notice my gunshots as I found one step can be the difference between you taking out a target and the rest of the nearby soldiers (presumably telepathically) finding out where you are, the same goes for someone seeing you, one look and without opening his mouth or hitting an alarm a guard says "oh criminey here's a bad guy" and all of his are invited. On top of this issue there is also the call of duty style don't worry hide in a corner and your flesh will magically push the bullets out and mend itself leaving not so much as a scar mentality. Thank god they left in the option of having the original Goldeneye "bullet proof vests might help" frame of mind which actually makes the game a challenge.

    Speaking of the difficulty apart from a few moments of having to retry the same part over again a few times, while challenging the game play with a semi thought out plan was all but too easy. While health will not regenerate on classic 007 mode you can still take enough hits to charge a shotgun mp5 blazing and come out with barely a scratch.

    Overall fun to play, but if I wanted a game with a 90's AI system id play the damn original.
    Expand
  25. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is truely an amazing game. For all those who slate it saying its not the same game should prehaps actually take note of the game box. This game isn't trying to be the exact game people remember, how suckish would that be? Paying money for something you probably already own just to play it on a different console. Its like buying Star Wars for my dvd player then buying another copy for my laptop!

    What this game does is take the idea of Goldeneye and update it towards the new era, hinting and teasing the past game whilst giving you a whole new gaming dream. Those who are true fans of Bond games will appriciate this game. It returns the element of fun to the fps genre. Most fps games have gotten far too serious, just take a look at call of duty. They call themselves hardcore gamers when in reality they just spend all their time and effort in gaining a small star next to their name or something like that. G:R brings back the whole lets play games for fun thing. With its paintball features and that funny setting where you explode if you touch someone else it is truely an addictive game. All in all 25 out of 10 !!! (oh an a little tip for people who want to play the original theres no point in you buying this game, either play your N64 version or buy yourself an N64 bundle with goldeneye for £5 on ebay or something)
    Expand
  26. May 21, 2012
    10
    This game is like Call of Duty: Black Ops with a twist of spy. This game is a must have. Hi. That is why i give it a 10. The graphics are great. It is awesome for its price.
  27. Feb 20, 2013
    3
    As someone who is a huge fan of the original Goldeneye 007 for the Nintendo 64, I was extremely disappointed at this adaption made by Activision. To be perfectly honest, I would of thought it to be appropriate to have a shot-for-shot high definition remake of the original, which it isn't. The campaign gets bland after the second mission, once you realized the same gameplay is rebooted into different scenarios each mission. The gameplay, though, is playable, which is a positive, though you'd really check this game out to get the nostalgia factor, and not for a Call of Duty competitor that will outdo it, even though Activision is also a developer for the Call of Duty series, coincidentally. Then comes the multiplayer, which is one of the few bright spots of the game, although I feel like it isn't enough to keep you wanting to play it. Give the multiplayer a try, and i'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised at how fun it is. Then there is the Mi6 Ops, which is basically an objective based game mode where you can use powers from the original game (Painball, DK Mode, etc.). Although this sounds good, it just comes off as bland and repetitive. I wouldn't suggest buying this game under any circumstance like I did, but simply renting it and seeing if you get any nostalgia, although you most likely will not. Expand
  28. Feb 11, 2013
    3
    The game just doesn't feel like the original Goldeneye game. I feel that they tried to hard to revive a classic and they have failed in doing so. I give this game a 3 based off the fact the graphic were good and the story was ok.
  29. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    The definite version of the definite 007 game with split-screen and xbox live multiplayer with loads of weapons,modes and tons of content. Also play as classic Bond characters as well and MI6 OPS missions and exclusive weapons and great HD graphics
  30. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    GoldenEye 007: Reloaded is a game that doesn't give the original justice. The game had potential to follow in the footsteps of it's predecessor although it felt bland and quite lacklustre. The idea of the game was nice, but it just didn't feel like a unique game. I'm afraid that it seems GoldenEye Reloaded has fell into the endless category of linear modern shooter. The game doesn't deserve to be called bad as it can provide some exciting moments, but it lacks of anything to earn it the title of a good solid game. Expand
  31. Nov 29, 2013
    2
    I can not begin to express my disappointment with this game, what I was expecting was a reloaded version of the original 64 classic, what I got was a terrible exploitation of a name which a company simply knew would sell copies and whilst the game play in itself is not bad nothing can alleviate the acrid knowledge that this game will never compare to it's original namesake.
  32. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    a wonderfull game definantaly u should buy this game and play it lots multiplayer is fun but the story is really easy the guns are simple and u cant knife witch sucks
  33. Nov 28, 2013
    4
    Yet another "Bond" adventure from Eurocom, the same idiots that brought you Beijing 2008 and other terrible "games", It's an absolute CoD clone, which claims to be the next big game, just because you have "Goldeneye 007" slapped on the cover, doesn't mean it's going to sell out every time it's placed on the shelves of every store imaginable. It's also has a broken stealth feature, which doesn't act realistically, and Bond was all about the stealth Expand
  34. Jan 26, 2014
    2
    This game is actually just an interactive movie in disguise. I don't necessary mind the fact that they took the original, gutted its soul, and failed to produce any shred of nostalgia - that sorta thing we can expect in the present world. However truth be told you'll play for about 2 minutes (at most) before coming across an irrelevant cutscene.. and another.. and another. The pace is completely abolished and you'll find yourself bored out of your mind. As for the rest of the game, the visuals are pretty average, the guns sound like toys, there's a stealth aspect to this game but after walking past a certain point, you'll get spotted regardless, and multiplayer is incredibly bland. In short the game is broken, dull, and just not fun. Expand
  35. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    This game has no right to use the name Goldeneye, it lacks both the enjoyment and quality of N64 original. It uses an even clunkier version of the COD engine which means it looks like Call of Duty 2 with its drab textures and uninspiring character models. All weapons feel really unsatisfying to use since they all pretty much handle the same with little recoil and all sound as though you are shooting a BB gun. Levels are basic go from point A to point B not being helped by the fact the highly trained secret agent you control can't even jump, enemies spawn out of nowhere and can should through objects and surfaces you can't. Enemies also have the amazing ability to not notice you standing a few feet away, but when you have been detected all of them will instantly know where you are even if they haven't seen you. Secondary Objectives feel shoved in as filler and the MI6 ops and multiplayer feel shoved in and suffer the same control and gameplay problems as the underwhelming and laborious campaign. Overall this is a very mediocre cash-cow game and should be avoided by everyone except the most easily immused and simple minded. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. 60
    Average shooter by no means belongs to the top of this genre that you can choose for this year. Even the most nostalgic gamers can not hide poor visuals and troublesome game design. [Christmas 2011]
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    72
    Having loved the game back in the 90s, I was disappointed with the remake. The graphics could have been a lot better, the multiplayer was great back then but with small, monotonous maps an a dearth of game modes is pretty weak by today's standards Surprisingly, the solo campaign is pretty solid, though the story is shallow. Luckily Daniel Craig lent his original voice and visual appearance to the game, so you can play a cool Bond character.
  3. Bond's Ops are crude, overlong slogs - padding, pure and simple. [Feb 2012, p.104]