User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2794 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    Wow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life andWow. I really loved this game. It in every way blew me away. A captivating, epic, and deep storyline keeps you into it the entire way through. Me trying to find at least one thing to complain about. Nothing. This game really deserves GOTY. And I really have to say Niko Bellic is the only character in the GTA series that you can truly connect with. Understanding his difficult life and mis-adventures you can really feel his emotions. And for a free-roaming game they really knocked me out. The free roaming really is amazing. Its awesome how they can have such a nice, luminous city and still have amazing and almost flawless graphics. As for the multi-player, I didn't really play it that much but i love the fact that you can roam around Liberty City causing as much mayhem as you want. The ranked matches are good too, with death-match (etc...) it was pretty cool to see that in a GTA game. Surely I can truly say that you have not experienced free-roam/sandbox games until you have played GTA IV. Expand
  2. free187s
    May 5, 2008
    10
    To simplify the reason for a 10/10: DETAIL No game in history has as much detail to graphics, storyline, dialog, and gameplay as gta4 has. By all means this game deserves a perfect score.
  3. RudyS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Believe the hype. This is as good as everyone says it is.
  4. Dean
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Just brilliant. They really took it to another level with the experience created in Liberty City. The detail is astounding, and you'd swear it was a real place. More realistic driving physics, interesting characters, and an engrossing story line keep you wanting more.
  5. DillonH.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    This is the best and funniest game I have EVER played.. I do still like COD4 and Halo3 but where else can you get the freemdom to do whatever you want... The game is not perfect but who cares we all play for fun not for perfect.. I am already almost half waythough and all I can find wrong with it is that things such as trees, signs, and etc pop up when you are driving fast.. And the only This is the best and funniest game I have EVER played.. I do still like COD4 and Halo3 but where else can you get the freemdom to do whatever you want... The game is not perfect but who cares we all play for fun not for perfect.. I am already almost half waythough and all I can find wrong with it is that things such as trees, signs, and etc pop up when you are driving fast.. And the only other thing is the COPS.. The cops are a lillte to hard and not so realistic. They pop up everywhere.. The cops I know never respond that quickly.. But it is very easy to lose them... But that is the only two flaws... So why are people giving them low scores... Beats me.. It's GREAT. Expand
  6. CorbinB.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Surely a master piece of a game. While this game is not considered a perfect game to some,the world Rockstar has created engulfs you from the moment you step off the boat of Niko's unnamed Eastern European country. The world feels as if it can't run without you being there, and if it would if you died. With a fix on controls and car handling this title can be a pick up and play Surely a master piece of a game. While this game is not considered a perfect game to some,the world Rockstar has created engulfs you from the moment you step off the boat of Niko's unnamed Eastern European country. The world feels as if it can't run without you being there, and if it would if you died. With a fix on controls and car handling this title can be a pick up and play to a new comer and a complete 40 hours worth so those who would play through. GTA IV is sure to please any gamer, as it is one of the best games to come. Expand
  7. ColbyK.
    Jul 1, 2008
    8
    What makes this game great is not that it is the greatest, because it isn't, but that it is great at so many different things. On gameplay alone this game deserves a 9.5, what really brings it down is the poor direction, and voice acting. Well they do a great job at creating a persona, the don't deliver any punch at moments should be highly charged, and it mostly revolves around What makes this game great is not that it is the greatest, because it isn't, but that it is great at so many different things. On gameplay alone this game deserves a 9.5, what really brings it down is the poor direction, and voice acting. Well they do a great job at creating a persona, the don't deliver any punch at moments should be highly charged, and it mostly revolves around people yelling and swearing with various accents. the game all together lacks a cohesive emotional story ark. Your consitinly introduced to new people only to have them killed of or leave an hour later, he doesn't forge a significant believable relationship with anyone he meets, because they are all simply to short lived. Expand
  8. RafaelC.
    Dec 23, 2008
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a must play game, best than any others of the GTA series. This game is way better than San Andreas, because of the graphics, the cellphone, history, voice acting, vehicles, and the whole athmosfere that the game put you in. The carachters in GTA IV are great, and you will be involved with then, you care about then, that's a great point because other games Grand Theft Auto IV is a must play game, best than any others of the GTA series. This game is way better than San Andreas, because of the graphics, the cellphone, history, voice acting, vehicles, and the whole athmosfere that the game put you in. The carachters in GTA IV are great, and you will be involved with then, you care about then, that's a great point because other games don't give you this immersion. Well, in the game city you can do wherever you want, go for a drink, eat junk food, pick up your friend and go to a strip club, take a helicopter tour, that's all part of the amazing world of GTA IV Expand
  9. AnonymousMC
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    George F, you have no credibility whatsoever. "Subpar graphics"? When were you born? 2112, maybe, when graphics are more realistic than real life itself? Don't mind that an ENTIRE CITY is crammed into a game with very minimal load time. Don't mind that people react realistically depending on what part of the body you shoot. Don't mind the realistic crash physics. TheGeorge F, you have no credibility whatsoever. "Subpar graphics"? When were you born? 2112, maybe, when graphics are more realistic than real life itself? Don't mind that an ENTIRE CITY is crammed into a game with very minimal load time. Don't mind that people react realistically depending on what part of the body you shoot. Don't mind the realistic crash physics. The storyline is quite good, but you may think otherwise because you were born in a rich neighborhood that were ignorant of the social depravities and injustices occurring only a few blocks down. The gameplay is incredible, due to the exact OPPOSITE reason you provide. The missions are NOT repetitive, and the driving system is spectacular. Watch as the environment blurs as you put your foot to the pedal and watch it realistically crumple as you crash into another car. And since the game is shooting up "the same 10 fake people every three hours" and is for "passive-aggressive thugs," you gave it to your brother. Good job, troll, and trust me, there are other games that actually deserve zeroes.
    The only problem with this game is it's mission setup. When you fail, it takes you back from the beginning with less money and lost weapons depending on how you failed the quest. Another small flaw that I didn't really mind was the radio. It got smaller compared to the previous GTA. The GPS system was a very nice addition to the game. This game was definitely better than GTA3: Vice City and San Andreas where you were literally hearing the world "n*gger" twice every sentence. This game is one of the deepest games out there in terms of storyline and gameplay and it blows the current "competition" out of the park (Halo, Gears, Fable, I'm looking at you!).
    Expand
  10. Jun 10, 2014
    10
    The best game ever made on the xbox 360. Great story. Amazing open world with endless exploring. This game was well designed and a lot of thought was put into it's creation.
  11. Oct 10, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all theGTA IV is a game that I love to call "a masterpiece". My journey with Niko Bellic is one of the most memorable experiences I've ever been at in my life. Exploring Liberty City (one of the most impressive, realistic, visually stunning worlds I've ever explored) for almost 6 months has been so awesome, that I want to play it again, experience it again, and LIVE it again. Despite on all the controversy that surrounds it, its elements (stunning action pieces, well-structured storyline, relationships with friends, shocking plot twists/turns, cast of characters, and many activities to do) are flawless and it couldn't stop getting any better. This is, unexpectedly, one of my favorite games ever, and in every bit of respect I love to give it, it would be enormous for everyone to see. After I finished over 100 hours of campaign mode, I come to feel for Niko, who is flawed and desperate to "climb out the hole he trip in" (a underworld full of psychopaths, thieves, loan sharks, crooked people, and gang-bangers). Rockstar has told one of the greatest stories ever told in gaming. It deserves to be the greatest game of the current generation of gaming, but also hold a shadow, along with GTA V, over the next generation, making it look bad. I love to recommend this game to ALL of you to experience. The multiplayer does help with its success, but most of it comes from its single-player mode, which is one of the most memorable experiences I've also ever played, as well. So, I'm gonna make this short: If any of you want to "understand" on what I am saying, now is the chance to PLAY this game, NOW. Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    It wasn't till the release of GTAV that I stopped playing GTAIV, literally the day before I was driving down the sidewalk of times square and throwing bodies everywhere with the hood of my car or punching a bum then hiding behind a business man so the bum hits him by mistake and then watch the following fight. This is a game I kept finding myself returning to because it is darkly fun whichIt wasn't till the release of GTAV that I stopped playing GTAIV, literally the day before I was driving down the sidewalk of times square and throwing bodies everywhere with the hood of my car or punching a bum then hiding behind a business man so the bum hits him by mistake and then watch the following fight. This is a game I kept finding myself returning to because it is darkly fun which is the tone of the whole series compared to San Andreas, the fun is darker, the art style is darker and so is the story. Niko Bellic is a top notch character and all the people you meet in Liberty City are also colourful and there is plenty of content to keep you busy for years and this is one of the few games where the DLC is actually meaty and worthwhile. This is not a perfect game, I nearly stopped playing it until I discovered the swing that throws you across the map, a lot of people complain that the driving is hard but I found it fun once you got used to it, my problem on the driving front was that New York does not have the best roads for fun cars. What makes GTAIV miss out on game of the year is the companion missions where you have to take one of the characters for a game of darts or something gay like that. Overall this game is jam packed with quality, I recommend thrashing this game till you have seen everything, especially the funny cartoons that can be found on the TV, the map isn't the best that Rockstar has produced but it is so full of content that a 10 is the only score I can give it. Expand
  13. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    An epic gangster fable on a grandiose scale, Grand Theft Auto IV is undoubtedly one of the greatest games ever played, mixing tough-as-nails characters, a fully-realised story (in the vein of The Godfather) and a fantastic free-roaming ability. This here, is an odyssey and a gratifying adventure. This is an experience!,
  14. MatthewBarnard
    May 6, 2008
    9
    This absolutely is a great game, though I'm not sure it's as great as it's been made out to be. It looks SPECTACULAR. They have the feel of New York down to a T. Everything functions well, too.

    If it's missing anything, it's the little things from the other GTA games, which I miss: fun side games, parachuettes, the ability to purchase buildings, etc. I think
    This absolutely is a great game, though I'm not sure it's as great as it's been made out to be. It looks SPECTACULAR. They have the feel of New York down to a T. Everything functions well, too.

    If it's missing anything, it's the little things from the other GTA games, which I miss: fun side games, parachuettes, the ability to purchase buildings, etc. I think it's missing a few of the little things that made the old GTA games so enjoyable. That being said, this definitely is the most finally polished of the games and the plot is definitely the best developed.
    Expand
  15. PucklesW.
    Apr 30, 2008
    8
    Pros: next gen graphics, improved physics, slightly better combat systems, unparalled scope, better storyline and character development, and new gameplay functions like online. Getting to easily replay missions when you fail is a nice upgrade too. Cons: this game really doesn't feel much different than the prior 3 GTAs which all eventually got frustrating to play as you've Pros: next gen graphics, improved physics, slightly better combat systems, unparalled scope, better storyline and character development, and new gameplay functions like online. Getting to easily replay missions when you fail is a nice upgrade too. Cons: this game really doesn't feel much different than the prior 3 GTAs which all eventually got frustrating to play as you've combined a mediocre driver, poor shooter, etc. Movement and control are just not great and while the GTA universe is amazing it makes you notice how often controlling Nikko is downright frustrating. Like prior games this one also has glitches, framerate issues, etc. Finally, the character development and storyline is improved but Mass Effect really raised the bar by introducing choice as a key to the storyline. I feel myself wanting the same control over Nikko's decisions and it's just not there. GTA V will probably do the job. All and all it is a great sandbox with some nice enhancements over prior GTAs but it is still plagued by some of the problems that annoyed me about prior iterations. If you loved the others you'll love this more. Me, I still feel it's not quite there. Expand
  16. RobC
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Quite simply. This is as good as however you make it. If you are creative within your gameplay you can love the way you make this game look, let alone the gamplay itself. For the people who critisize things like the car camera angles and the way you cant climb up one ladder simply havent been creative enough. This game is genuis and for people who are creative with games will apreciateQuite simply. This is as good as however you make it. If you are creative within your gameplay you can love the way you make this game look, let alone the gamplay itself. For the people who critisize things like the car camera angles and the way you cant climb up one ladder simply havent been creative enough. This game is genuis and for people who are creative with games will apreciate this to death. But hey, an opinion is an opinion. And compared to the previous GTA titles, this really brings out the lethal gangster feel, and i'm with you Benjamin, such a great movie like storyline. A winner for me Expand
  17. KevinC
    May 16, 2008
    10
    This game is incredible. Every aspect. For the people who gave it below 8.... what are you thinking. All your complaints are silly. You can control the camera angle and the several different angles should provide something for everyone....Long drives for missions??? Wave a taxi down or call up Roman....skip the scene and voila, your there!! (or stop sucking ;) and beat it first time)This game is incredible. Every aspect. For the people who gave it below 8.... what are you thinking. All your complaints are silly. You can control the camera angle and the several different angles should provide something for everyone....Long drives for missions??? Wave a taxi down or call up Roman....skip the scene and voila, your there!! (or stop sucking ;) and beat it first time) Repetition.... Assassins Creed yes... GTA4 well maybe but name me a game that isn't after putting 40 hours into it....getting bored.. punch in some cheats or go online...the options are ridiculous Expand
  18. ChristopherGassman
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This version of Liberty City is more lifelike than any of the cities in any of the previous titles. I miss going to the gyms of San Andreas. I miss blazing through the deserts and climbing that gigantic mountain east of Los Santos. I'm only just a few hours into GTA4, so I'm sure that there will be plenty of equivalent wonders as I continue to unlock various areas.
  19. Apr 7, 2011
    8
    Instant classic, tons of missions, fun gun play and great car chases. The story is great and this game is brutal in a classic rock star way. A few let downs about this game, no garages to store more than two cars, no gym to change appearance, and a few other things that were left out that I liked in the other gta series. But its still a great game overall.
  20. Andrew
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Since I've bought it I cannot put it down. Whereas other GTA games grow tiresome after a couple hours of play, this one keeps you interested and entertained for multiple hours on end. And that's just doing the missions. Theres also free roaming around, side missions, relationships to tend, and the awesome multiplayer.
    The story and graphics are also excellent.

    10/10
  21. mobius
    May 7, 2008
    10
    I agree with all the mags, but after seeing that the 360 version has sharper graphics a higher HD resoulution and far less pop up buildings when in the helicopers aswell as the easy to use multiplayer game access and I had to return my PS3 version and get the 360 version instead. and as i am lucky to have the two consols i have to say that the 360 is the better version. i understand thatI agree with all the mags, but after seeing that the 360 version has sharper graphics a higher HD resoulution and far less pop up buildings when in the helicopers aswell as the easy to use multiplayer game access and I had to return my PS3 version and get the 360 version instead. and as i am lucky to have the two consols i have to say that the 360 is the better version. i understand that the PS3 version is the port of the 360 version anyway. Expand
  22. NikoBellic
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    hey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggestedhey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggested that there be 200 cockroaches randomly placed in liberty city that could be killed with cockroach repelent. in san andreas there was spray paint to leave your gang sign, so i thought that cockroach repelent spray paint could be a great way to kill the rodent and leave your mark. that was accepted but then later replaced with pigeons and there was no cockroach repelent spray paint. but yes since i will get fired if i say something bad about this, this piece of crap game is the best game in the entire star wars galaxy. Expand
  23. StephenL.
    May 5, 2008
    8
    This is a good game for all types of gamers but it wasn't a big enough improvement on the last game to get an 9 or 10. Moving around on foot is clunky and most of the buildings are like cardboard cut outs, people dont die as satisfyingly as in the previous games, the feds are on your case in the airport and you cant blow up planes. The is plenty of good tho, the soundtrack, the This is a good game for all types of gamers but it wasn't a big enough improvement on the last game to get an 9 or 10. Moving around on foot is clunky and most of the buildings are like cardboard cut outs, people dont die as satisfyingly as in the previous games, the feds are on your case in the airport and you cant blow up planes. The is plenty of good tho, the soundtrack, the characters and the drinking missions. Gameplay wise its just as good as the previous games but I was hoping for more. Expand
  24. MrFairrate
    May 3, 2008
    10
    All the people I see giving the low scores are all whining about the same thing: GTA IV isn't much different than other GTAs.......ARE YOU RETARDED?!?!?!? 16 ONLINE MULTIPLAYER!!! 16!!!!! This GTA is very different than the other GTAs. Very good ragdoll effects on the civilians. The vehicles are fun to use. The new police escape feature is new. So if you say that GTA IV is noAll the people I see giving the low scores are all whining about the same thing: GTA IV isn't much different than other GTAs.......ARE YOU RETARDED?!?!?!? 16 ONLINE MULTIPLAYER!!! 16!!!!! This GTA is very different than the other GTAs. Very good ragdoll effects on the civilians. The vehicles are fun to use. The new police escape feature is new. So if you say that GTA IV is no different, please, do us all a favor and shoot yourself. Expand
  25. JerryMichaels
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Man, I beat this game today (got an early copy) and it was something else! This was the best game ever made, past-present-future. There will never be a game better than this. After I am sick of this game (shouldn't be for a few more months) I am going to sell all my videogames and never play anything ever again because everything else will be a waste of time.
  26. AnthonyMir
    May 13, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I was skeptical to purchase at first, but now I'm glad I did. There is no need to play the story. I have stayed up over 24 hours playing this game and during that time I was just picking up hookers and going to the strip club.
  27. GeorgePalmer
    Apr 8, 2008
    8
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a worthy addition to the GTA series. It improves on a lot of the original GTA concepts that never came to fruition in earlier games, such as the poor shooting mechanics and lack of ability to control the plot line. Most GTA fans wont be disappointed, but it is not a game that's going to attract people who have never played GTA before.
  28. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a best game since,i play the xbox 360 is a
    very very good game and doesn t have any error with the game. This is a expetacular and the best productions of rockstar games. i recommend.
  29. JamesO.
    May 9, 2008
    8
    Don't listen to a word these "professional" game reviewers are selling you. This game is far from heaven sent. It provides a fun, realistic world in which to run amok with your friends, but the last-gen controls and graphical glitches keep it humbled in the presence of games more worthy of your hard earned cash.
  30. NikoBellic
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    hey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggestedhey ANTHONY M. i am one of the Rockstar developers you talked about and yes i do smoke cockroach repelent on the job. giving the cops god powers was my idea. not to cover up the ai (it is fantastic), but because smoking all that cockroach repelent makes me feel like i have god powers. there was going to be an exterminator mission in the game but my idea got rejected. so then i suggested that there be 200 cockroaches randomly placed in liberty city that could be killed with cockroach repelent. in san andreas there was spray paint to leave your gang sign, so i thought that cockroach repelent spray paint could be a great way to kill the rodent and leave your mark. that was accepted but then later replaced with pigeons and there was no cockroach repelent spray paint. but yes since i will get fired if i say something bad about this, this piece of fun game is the best game in the entire star wars galaxy. Expand
  31. DesO'F
    Jul 15, 2008
    9
    It's kind of overrated but what isn't these days (I'm looking at you Halo and MGS!)? GTA4 has its flaws like most other games. Unlike most other games though it manages to not let these issues ruin it and delivers an incredible experience from start to finish. Jam packed with features that really do add up to more than the sum of their parts, this is a game you really haveIt's kind of overrated but what isn't these days (I'm looking at you Halo and MGS!)? GTA4 has its flaws like most other games. Unlike most other games though it manages to not let these issues ruin it and delivers an incredible experience from start to finish. Jam packed with features that really do add up to more than the sum of their parts, this is a game you really have to experience for yourself - not hear about from your friends - to fully appreciate. 30 hours of incredible story and endless fun in a varied multiplayer component: whats not to like? Expand
  32. JohnSmith
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Though of course the game has great audio and picture, the frame rate is all over the place going between 15-35 constantly getting you to adapt to stuttering and sputtering, on top of that there are pop ins, and game crashes. If you're a console gamer who doesn't know what any of these things mean then this will mean nothing to you.
  33. ConnerDarrell
    Jul 22, 2008
    10
    I don't know about you guys but i think this is probably one of the funnest games I have ever played in my life.it has amazing graphics, amazing game play and even amazing physics! can any of the people who said this is game was "OVERRATED" or doesn't like the score,I think you guys haven't played the game and are trying to give it a bad vote so people won't like itI don't know about you guys but i think this is probably one of the funnest games I have ever played in my life.it has amazing graphics, amazing game play and even amazing physics! can any of the people who said this is game was "OVERRATED" or doesn't like the score,I think you guys haven't played the game and are trying to give it a bad vote so people won't like it from reveiws like that but if any of you haters of gta would've actually played the game you would've put a ten.
    all I'm saying is that this game is rockin' and should be a higher score.
    Expand
  34. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    i think Grand Theft Auto is appropriate for ages 10+ the reason why is because you can censor all the bad language. This is also much like the game saints row it is very similar to Grand Theft Auto and Saints row is also not that bad i recommend it to. so this is my opinion im funzoid and a think Grand Theft Auto is a appropriate game THANKS!
  35. EricS
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    This game was a very well done game. The driving was realistic which is probably why everyone hated it but thats life. The glitches were aplenty but no one could forget the swingset glitch or the skydiving glitch. The contols were sketchy and that costed this rating a whole point and the repetitive missions plus the fail-and-do-it-ALL-over-again also costed this rating a point but the This game was a very well done game. The driving was realistic which is probably why everyone hated it but thats life. The glitches were aplenty but no one could forget the swingset glitch or the skydiving glitch. The contols were sketchy and that costed this rating a whole point and the repetitive missions plus the fail-and-do-it-ALL-over-again also costed this rating a point but the graphics, funny characters, GREAT story, and diverse world with its internet and advertisments galore made the grand theft auto series what it is today. Expand
  36. JamesM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    One of the best games ever, story is great and you get to make choices that can change the direction the story goes in. Multiplayer is good too, a great laugh with mates. The only reason to not give it a 10 is the pop ups, I knew the game would have random pop ups due to the speed you can tear around a gigantic city that is so very detailed. A must own for all gaming fans.
  37. NickM.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    I don't know how people can't give this game a 10. It is almost perfect. It is probably my second favorite game ever, and the best game since Zelda: Orcarina of time(nothing gunna top that, sorry GTA). My favorite isnt even as good of a game (crysis), Its just a personal preference. Maybe better graphics, because if you compare it to other games of today, thats it weak spot, and I don't know how people can't give this game a 10. It is almost perfect. It is probably my second favorite game ever, and the best game since Zelda: Orcarina of time(nothing gunna top that, sorry GTA). My favorite isnt even as good of a game (crysis), Its just a personal preference. Maybe better graphics, because if you compare it to other games of today, thats it weak spot, and has been for every other GTA, But the addition of a physics system makes this game 4 dimensional. The next GTA may be perfect if it keeps up, like this. But Niko Bellic had better be the main character next time, he is a badass. Expand
  38. PhilipM.
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    Though the city looks amazing and the story feels like an episode of The Sopranos: Eastern Block, the missions feel exactly the same as all the old GTAs. I feel like I've played this game over and over again.
  39. TheoT
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Superb game. The story is magnificently put together and is a crime epic akin to a Scorsese classic. The story and setting are mature and sophisticated, with the undertone of R* humour and satire still very prevalent. These come together to make a wonderfully crafted game. So what if you can't do some of the inane things you could do in San Andreas or Saint's Row (1 & 2)? This Superb game. The story is magnificently put together and is a crime epic akin to a Scorsese classic. The story and setting are mature and sophisticated, with the undertone of R* humour and satire still very prevalent. These come together to make a wonderfully crafted game. So what if you can't do some of the inane things you could do in San Andreas or Saint's Row (1 & 2)? This game is for a gamer who wants to play an adult game with an adult mindset. Top notch. Contender for game of the decade. Expand
  40. alexa
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    this is the best game ive played for 2 years i would recon it for anyone because out of the entire series this one is the best by far the story the characters the vehicles and even the phone rockstar did very good on this game the diserve a round of applause
  41. MichaelK
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Once again the gaming community has disappointed me with there narrow minded bashing at an excellent game. Grand Theft Auto 4 took GTA to a next-gen level. Everything about this game is polished and fine tuned. Visually the whole city is a treat to the eyes. From outstanding animation to the life of the city, you will at, one point. end up cruising the city to see the life and visuals Once again the gaming community has disappointed me with there narrow minded bashing at an excellent game. Grand Theft Auto 4 took GTA to a next-gen level. Everything about this game is polished and fine tuned. Visually the whole city is a treat to the eyes. From outstanding animation to the life of the city, you will at, one point. end up cruising the city to see the life and visuals that it supplies (which are rather impressive for such a large map.) The best part is the steady framerate. Almost always 40-50 FPS. I only expeirenced about three dips in framerate and one was because I blew about 20 cars up all at once (don't ask how *cough gas station cough*)Now onto the gameplay. I found that the controls were tight and became natural at one point. I never once had to say, "How do I go to cover." It's all well mapped onto the 360/PS3 controller. The guns feel real and have fantastic SFX that go with them (I go to gun ranges and the AK sounds like an AK.) My personal favorite thing about this game is the physics. I'm not just talking about the environment (which quite a few things break in: fences. poles, benches, statues, etc...) I'm talking about the cars. Not one car feels the same as the other. All handle differently and realistically. You will learn to be a good driver, but those who bash it are just naturally bad drivers.The single player (which starts out a little slow and takes a little while to get into to) will last you a fantastic MINIMUM of 17 hours. That is my fastest time. But, if you spend your time in a fun manner, without the side stuff, you will get about 40-60 hours of gameplay. No joke. With side stuff (which I'm so close to completing) I've logged 137 hours. No life right :D. The story is PHENOMENAL while the characters grow on you (except your fat ass cousin Roman) and you will begin to actually feel for them. I personally think Dwayne, Little Jacob and Dwayne are some of the most real people you'll meet in this game. Preferably Dwayne, but most of all you will become attached to Niko, the main character. You feel for him, he came to this country to get away from the war and horror of his country and also too [***SPOILER***] sorry. And as he progresses through the city and builds up a reputation, you feel for him. His coldness just gets too you and makes you find him mysterious and odd. You will become attached to him and the characters he meets. Not onto the multiplayer, which is surprisingly robust! There are 14 modes total and all are outrageously fun. I prefer free mode because you and friends can explore the city and find stuff to do. Whilst there are the basic modes: TDM & DM, there fantastically orgional ones that actually revolve around characters from the story: Kenny Petrovic missions and so on, Hangman NOOSE (extract VIP from airport to extraction point) and Bomb Da Base II (hijack an armored car, take to heliport, fly helicopter to boat, plant bomb, run like hell [almost forgot! KILL EVERYBODY!] BIG BOOM!). Then there are other modes like ruling different points in the city, gang wars, etc... Overall I found this game so detailed and refreshing that I had to give it a 10. It's a game you must give your respect to due to its insane amount of detail and story plus others. Buy this game or not, just give it a try. Expand
  42. PeteW
    Jul 22, 2009
    9
    When I first played this game at a friends house, I hated it. The controls seemed different and nothing really stood out. Rather than buy it I borrowed it off said friend and I'm so glad I did. It's absolutely awesome. The graphics are much improved for the HD generation, especially the game's capacity to render large distances. The controls are much improved on When I first played this game at a friends house, I hated it. The controls seemed different and nothing really stood out. Rather than buy it I borrowed it off said friend and I'm so glad I did. It's absolutely awesome. The graphics are much improved for the HD generation, especially the game's capacity to render large distances. The controls are much improved on foot(finally, move and aim!) and after playing it for a few days the driving is by far superior, more responsive and more relative to the the type of car being driven. The only exception to this is the bike controls which not quite realistic and are too hard to control. The size of the map is perfect, as in my opinion San Andreas was just too big, and it could become very tedious just moving between missions in the latter stages. The replay feature and the taxi skip-to-destination feature are excellent additions for those of us who don't have 12 hours a day to play games. The story is the best since Vice City especially with the addition of "decisions" and I can't wait to download the add-on "The Lost and The Damned". Rockstar scores big And for those of you who are too blinded being "Gangsta" in the last instalment and giving this game a low score, you need to broaden your horizons. Expand
  43. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    It truly smashed the hype and shocked the critics. GTA IV is a game that MUST be experienced even if you haven't liked the game in the past... And what's better is that there is more to come. The DLC will be here around August and we can't wait!!!
  44. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Rockstar have a reputation of creating great open world games, with worlds that feel alive and interesting stories. Enter Grand Theft Auto IV, the first in the long running GTA franchise to be released for Xbox 360 & PS3. You play as Niko Bellic, a European immigrant searching for a new life with his cousin in the land of opportunity. Unfortunately for them both they live in Liberty City,Rockstar have a reputation of creating great open world games, with worlds that feel alive and interesting stories. Enter Grand Theft Auto IV, the first in the long running GTA franchise to be released for Xbox 360 & PS3. You play as Niko Bellic, a European immigrant searching for a new life with his cousin in the land of opportunity. Unfortunately for them both they live in Liberty City, Romans gambling addiction gets him and Niko in some deep **** and digs up the past Niko tried to leave behind. Yet another amazing game from Rockstar and another great GTA title Expand
  45. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    This game, the best in the GTA series to this point, is wonderful. It has great open environment play and awesome missions as well. Rockstar made a great one here.
  46. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Just play the story missions and when your done with then roam around Liberty City with the amazing music in this game. Last but not least play the multiplayer then you'll exactly why this game is amazing can't wait till Grand Theft Auto V!
  47. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    GTA4 is the definition of perfect. This game does everything right from story telling to gameplay to interesting characters to driving mechanics and graphics. Nico Bellic is such an awesome character and his cousin Roman is so funny. You start the game having just arrived in liberty city helping Roman with his taxi business doing odd jobs, but before long you meet a ton of differentGTA4 is the definition of perfect. This game does everything right from story telling to gameplay to interesting characters to driving mechanics and graphics. Nico Bellic is such an awesome character and his cousin Roman is so funny. You start the game having just arrived in liberty city helping Roman with his taxi business doing odd jobs, but before long you meet a ton of different characters and end up doing a variety of missions including collecting outstanding debts, driving people from place to place and killing people on demand. The missions are mixed and varied so you will never get board. If you don't have this game in your collection you should go out now and buy it today. Expand
  48. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    I don't know why people hate on this game so much, I still play it constantly , just to drive around and cause mayhem, never finished the story, just played it enough to open the city's. Just messing around in an open world, with all the freedom to do what you want earns this a perfect 10 in my book.
  49. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Very cool game with style, you feel like your into this criminal things, the radio is like real, there are a lot things do in this game.
  50. Feb 6, 2013
    8
    I don't see this game as the "Pinnacle of Gaming" that many reviewers claim it to be. Nor do I hate it for not being exactly that as many disillusioned fanboys have ranted. I see this game to be exactly what it is: Just another GTA game. Great visuals, great characters, great writing, and exactly what you expect a GTA game to be. Overall: Another great entry into the GTA series, thatI don't see this game as the "Pinnacle of Gaming" that many reviewers claim it to be. Nor do I hate it for not being exactly that as many disillusioned fanboys have ranted. I see this game to be exactly what it is: Just another GTA game. Great visuals, great characters, great writing, and exactly what you expect a GTA game to be. Overall: Another great entry into the GTA series, that entertains, but just doesn't add too much new to the formula. A shame in that regard as you can see the potential is there. Hopefully GTA 5 will learn from this and try to be a bit more daring. Expand
  51. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    In my opinion this is the greatest Gta yet. With its vast detail, great story and amazing presentation Gta IV is an extremely entertaining game. In fact it's not just a game but a experience and a great one at that. Not to mention the infinite amount of time that can be invested in the game in the form of Vigilante and other side missions. Well worth every cent used to buy it. 10/10.
  52. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Laugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko isLaugh at me if you want, I just bought this game from Best Buy because one of my friends convinced me to buy the game saying that the game was good and I had to try it out. I really didn't know what to expect going into GTA 4. When I put the game in, I was blown away how pretty the game looked and this is the first game I've played where I love most of the characters in the story. Niko is a the main protagonist who went to America from Russia to seek a new life. While in Liberty City, a fictional city in Los Angeles, he meets up with his cousin Roman. Roman is a funny character that's in major debt to Loan Sharks. Niko must help his cousin out. While trying to help out his cousin, he meets a girl named Michelle and wants go out with her, but is side-lined from all the work he is doing to help Roman. The characters that you meet early in the game have their own personality instead of being carbon copies of other characters in the game. I have not gotten far into the campaign, but I really enjoy the game and hope I have more fun with it later on. I encourage you to buy this game. Expand
  53. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty ofGrand Theft Auto IV is just as impressive as it looks. Although it doesn't offer exciting visuals, or great graphics, it is wildly entertaining, and sets high standards for open world games. Controls take some getting used to, but they make sense for the game's combat style. The story is phenomenal, with strong characters, and an incredible (albeit somewhat cliché) plot. It has plenty of content, fun missions, and great features. Although the game doesn't have much play value after completion of the main story missions, it's easily overlooked. Grand Theft Auto IV is the best of its genre. Expand
  54. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    The number 1 rated game on metacritic,I can see why.This game has awesome combat,fun mini-games and really cool veichles.I can't wait to see what they do in GTA 5.
  55. RahulD
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Being one of the lucky few to watch this game in action (at a blog's previewer version), I have to say that this game looks amazing. It seems like a clever gangster flick, but in the core is a sandbox game like the previous titles.
    I have a strong feeling that this is going to be the game of 2008 on the Xbox 360, the same way Halo 3, Bioshock, and Call of Duty 4 took 2007.
  56. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.
  57. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Although it may not contain the amount of variety that was provided by San Andreas (which is still the best in the series) it excels in creating a living, breathing open world environment which has not been matched until the release of Skyrim. A must own for GTA fans, open world fans or fans of great games in general
  58. GrandTheftAutoIV
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Anyone who gives this game lower than a 7 hasn't even played the game. You are just idiots. No I'm not getting paid, but this game IS justone of the best games ever made. Graphics rock, physics rock, multiplayer rocks, it all rocks. The missions might get a bit repetetive, but it doesn't weigh off against everything else.
  59. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    Great video game, but to me, it's almost like GTA III but with next-gen graphics and a different map; this game has less missions, less vehicles, and a smaller map than GTA San Andreas, but this may be a good thing, though SA did set up pretty high standards; I don't know why critics have gave this game the highest score of a GTA game; I prefer GTA III, GTA Vice City and GTA San AndreasGreat video game, but to me, it's almost like GTA III but with next-gen graphics and a different map; this game has less missions, less vehicles, and a smaller map than GTA San Andreas, but this may be a good thing, though SA did set up pretty high standards; I don't know why critics have gave this game the highest score of a GTA game; I prefer GTA III, GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas more, but Grand Theft Auto IV is still a pretty great game; but once you finish the story missions, it just gets boring; there are side missions, but they just become redundant and a waste of time, and will probably make players resort to strategy guides and walkthroughs if they bother to try and complete this game 100%; San Andreas had lots of variety in side missions after finishing its story missions; GTA IV game is worth playing at least twice because of having two choices in some parts throughout the game; the story is great and original, and have exciting gameplay in them during its run; if GTA IV had more variety in fun side missions, and have properties that could be bought, I would've gave this a 10/10; I guess the developers were trying to stay focused with this game, especially with the story. Expand
  60. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV is amazing, not only is this the best GTA game I've ever played but also one of the greatest games I've ever played. GTA IV gives an experience that is unforgettable. You control a serbian immigrant by the name of Niko Bellic who has come to Liberty City (much reminiscent to New York City) to have a better life, however his life is not easy. Niko Bellic is anGrand Theft Auto IV is amazing, not only is this the best GTA game I've ever played but also one of the greatest games I've ever played. GTA IV gives an experience that is unforgettable. You control a serbian immigrant by the name of Niko Bellic who has come to Liberty City (much reminiscent to New York City) to have a better life, however his life is not easy. Niko Bellic is an interesting character, he underlines the struggle to get out to the top, Bellic captures the mood of GTA IV and he shows that there aren't just gangs or the rich but also people trying to start over again. Niko is unlike the other GTA protagonists because he is not a part of a gang, he is a man of his own that is just trying to survive and he does not keep any connections to the gangs. The story of GTA IV is amazing, one of the best storylines I have ever seen, the story will keep you captivated till the end with options that affect how the story plays out. Liberty City is an amazing place, the city is vast and huge with many interactable aspects, Liberty City is full of life with all the different types of people and all the different things you can do in the game. The last big GTA game was San Andreas, San Andreas may have allowed you to do a few more things but the story, the graphics, and the way you approach things is what makes GTA IV outshine San Andreas. The playability of GTA IV is like any other GTA game, the controller and the player become one, outside of story missions you can do whatever you want with contributes to game completion. Overall GTA IV is an amazing game, all the good aspects of the game come together to deliver this monster of a game, there are like virtually ZERO flaws in the game, that is amazing. GTA IV deserves to be one of the greatest games of all time, it smashes it's competition and it deserves the "Game of The Year 2008" Award. GTA IV is a memorable experience that is unforgetable that not only leaves it's mark in the GTA series but in the history of gaming. Breakdown for "Grand Theft Auto IV": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Gameplay: 10, Lasting Apeeal: 10, Verdict: 10 out of 10 "Masterpiece" Easily the best game I have ever played. Expand
  61. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    best GTA ever with enxt GTA 5, its all what i can said about this game. ..............................................................................................................................
  62. LukaszJ.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Clearly the best game of GTA series to date.
  63. DavidA.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    I cannot believe everyone is not giving this masterpiece a 10 the graphics are perfect the story line is amazing I love the fact that Niko sounds just like Shrek with a Serbian accent.
  64. CLIFFL.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    I love it. Been playing for 3 strait days. I play missions until I get bored then I play the side quest ...awesome interweaving of the multiple objectives.
  65. BrendenSousa
    Jul 24, 2008
    9
    First I must say, I don't see why so many game critics hail this as a near perfect (if not 100% perfect) game. This is not to say I dislike the game. On the contrary, I am madly in love with this game at the moment. However I feel that Rockstar really cheated us on this. Sure it has a great story line, better physics, better combat system, and a multiplayer mode (which may or mayFirst I must say, I don't see why so many game critics hail this as a near perfect (if not 100% perfect) game. This is not to say I dislike the game. On the contrary, I am madly in love with this game at the moment. However I feel that Rockstar really cheated us on this. Sure it has a great story line, better physics, better combat system, and a multiplayer mode (which may or may not be a plus to you), but for anyone who truly enjoyed San Andreas, you might feel (like me) that this one is missing something... well actually like it is missing a lot.

    I don't know about anyone else, but I loved the "RPG-esque" stat building of SA. That's no where to be seen here. I also sorely miss the massive amount of clothes that were available in SA and the amount of cusotmization that this allowed. The ability to ride bicycles and airplanes was stripped from this one, which isn't a huge deal because they were rather niche aspects of the game, but still, I loved them. And an even bigger slap to the face for me was that the whole world map, was downsized by a sickening amount. All the country side to explore, all the desert to wonder around, all the little places in between cities, all has been erased in this sequel.

    Still, you would have to have some serious mental disorder to hate this game. The awesome "rags to riches to rags to riches once more" story line keeps you wanting to play on, and the newly redone relationship system, will constantly keep you doing something for hundreds of hours after you have completed the primary missions. This is one that you will play for hours and hours. And if that wasn't enough to keep you playing for the next several months, they even included a multiplayer system. And while I do have a number of negative things about the multiplayer, I will just say that it gets old fast due to a number of faults that it has.
    In conclusion, I will say this. If the rumors are true, and the downloadable content coming this fall will actually allow us to play in san andreas again, then I will cave in and admit that this game is, in fact, perfect.
    Expand
  66. WeirdN.
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    This is a great game but like all the GTA's it has it's flaws. There seems to be more quality control this time round though. There's none of the grind that you find in GTA:SA and the sub missions and tasks seem better thought out and pitched to be fun not a chore. The plot and character acting is simply stunning, I can't think of a game that has immersed me more. You This is a great game but like all the GTA's it has it's flaws. There seems to be more quality control this time round though. There's none of the grind that you find in GTA:SA and the sub missions and tasks seem better thought out and pitched to be fun not a chore. The plot and character acting is simply stunning, I can't think of a game that has immersed me more. You really feel for Niko, and find yourself empathizing with him and his problems even though he's not a very sympathetic character. Things like the internet and mobile phone are well thought out and have the usual GTA depth to them. My main criticism are that the missions are a bit "seen it all before", the aiming and cover mechanics could be more refined and it feels too easy. I haven't needed more that two attempts at any mission yet and I'm 90% of the way through the story. But these don't spoil the fact that this is one of the most polished and ambitions titles I've ever played and I have to say I prefer it to GTA:SA as it is more gritty and adult. I've been playing GTA since the first game on PC, and I hope the series continues to show these levels of ambition and detail. Not perfect, but a triumph anyway. Expand
  67. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Sure the shooting controls aren't perfect but overall the story and the missions make the game awesome. It's a well-crafted game. I completely agree with score it got.
  68. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first personI had never played a GTA game before this one, so I have no reference to compare it to, but I was hesitant to buy this game at first - due to the negative connotations about it in various media outlets. After getting 100% completion in the game I have to say that it is without a doubt one of the best games I have ever played - on ANY platform. As a person who prefers first person shooters & sports games, but has never enjoyed any form of RPG, I was impressed by both the RPG elements and the FPS elements. The story-line was captivating, the various missions were interesting, the achievements were top-notch. It was one of the few games I've ever played that was both open enough to explore - and interesting enough to actually want to take the time to explore. It's not many games that will get me to pause in the middle of a mission, just to listen to the insanely funny bit on the radio in my stolen cab. I'm already anticipating paying full price for GTA V (and I RARELY pay full price for a game). If you haven't played this yet, got out and buy it now!! Expand
  69. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    You know, as a lifelong fan of this game, I can't help but getting a rock hard boner for this game. I mean, holy **** Some games follow, this game leads. If video games could lead, this would be like Abraham Lincoln or some ****
  70. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Bought this on release date back in 2008, still play it online on a nearly weekly basis with friends! If you're a fan of any GTA, you CANNOT miss out on this one.
  71. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    Just in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite aJust in case you haven't played it yet and you were wondering if the game is still worth playing even though it's five years years old now. Yes. This game is so detailed and more expansive than anything else on the market as of today. Even though the animated characters aren't on par with today's models, the voice acting is top notch and the storyline pulls you along for quite a raunchous adventure of betrayal and revenge. You'll be looking at a total of 90 missions, give or take, so expect a game that will take you a month to play. I found myself liking all of the characters that my protagonist associated with and the main character himself. Outstanding game that only has a drawback on the "save game" issue where if you have to start a mission all over again, you can expect to spend a lot of time just retracing your path to start the mission again. If you haven't played it, now is a perfect time because you can get the two expansions with the main story for only a quarter of the cost of a new game. Expand
  72. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    The Graphics Of This Game Is Just Unbelievable. The Gameplay is Amazing, The Sound, Lighting, And Effects Make Sound Like Your In The Game. Buy This Game Now. You Wont Regret it. I Can garuantee. I Just Keep Playin And Playin This Everyday.
  73. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with Uncharted 2,3) is the best game this gen!! I dont care what people say... This game is a masterpiece! It deserves all the praise it gets
  74. neo
    Nov 8, 2011
    8
    The very hyped game Grand Theft Auto IV has been in the stores for some years now, if you look at it now you see that it is really not a bad game. The story is very interesting and the graphics are still nice to look at. The sound quality is great and the voices and radio channels are hilarious. The only real problems with the game are the mood game brings you in. The storyline is sad andThe very hyped game Grand Theft Auto IV has been in the stores for some years now, if you look at it now you see that it is really not a bad game. The story is very interesting and the graphics are still nice to look at. The sound quality is great and the voices and radio channels are hilarious. The only real problems with the game are the mood game brings you in. The storyline is sad and you keep having that sad mood when free-roaming. Furthermore Niko is not as customisable as CJ was in GTA SA. Most of the missions are the same but some of them have some little things added to keep the missions original. Overall this game is not bad but really has some flaws. However, this game is pretty cheap today so it is really worth the money you spend on it. Expand
  75. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the series and the story is about a russian name Niko Bellic follow his trip to Liberty City and make his life turned into an american dream, the city is perfect, the music was perfect and i think there could be more than 100 music i supposed on the radio, visual arts and graphic are perfect and the name of this engine is "Euphoria" makes it realistic not onlyThis is the best game in the series and the story is about a russian name Niko Bellic follow his trip to Liberty City and make his life turned into an american dream, the city is perfect, the music was perfect and i think there could be more than 100 music i supposed on the radio, visual arts and graphic are perfect and the name of this engine is "Euphoria" makes it realistic not only that, the ability to used phone is perfect but you could play multiplayer if you're bored playing alone and want to play with friend and the decision that effect the story is awesome so the game is perfect as 10. Expand
  76. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Why are people such haters? I agree, San Andreas was better because there was alot more to do. But in this game, the story is much longer, the main character is more interesting, and the physics are much better too. It is a different style of driving that takes a little bit to get used to. You can play all the way through the campaign and get a good 30 hours of gameplay(there is even anWhy are people such haters? I agree, San Andreas was better because there was alot more to do. But in this game, the story is much longer, the main character is more interesting, and the physics are much better too. It is a different style of driving that takes a little bit to get used to. You can play all the way through the campaign and get a good 30 hours of gameplay(there is even an achievement for beating this in under 30 hours). Once the quest is done, there is not much incentive to keep playing except to hang out with friends, but there really is not much of a point to that. However, after the game is done, there is an exhilerating multiplayer to be played. This is the first time that Rockstar has introduced a multiplayer GTA on console, and they did not just experiment with it, There are ten ranks which basically feels like getting through one prestige on Modern Warfare 2 and every time you get to a new level, you unlock clothes and character models. The multiplayer is one to be played for a long time because it introduces Car fights, mid-air helicopter battles, and even mix-and-match the two on the entirety of the city. Liberty City feels more like a living breathing world more than any other GTA world out there. Expand
  77. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    wow just wow this game is an instant classic, just amazing if you haven't played this game yet (don't know why) just go out and get it, it gives you a good story with unlimited replay value
  78. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    BY FAR!!!!!!!!!! one of the best games i have ever played in a long time!!!!! seriously can't wait for the release of gta v !!! but by the mean time i would just try to wait till it comes out but for now i'd just keep playin dis one!!!
  79. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played! The story is my favorite in the series, Niko is my favorite character in the series, and this game looks great.
  80. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Well.......................................................................................................Short and simple: Great game but no jets :(
  81. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Finally Rockstar have nailed the GTA series with GTA IV. It is just brilliant in every way. Like the car pysics now feal realistic with tyres bursting once you have been doing dounuts for a long time and the sounds of guns are brilliant. I have bought every GTA except gta 1, 2 and London, but I only got GTA IV a year ago and after half a year of playing it I straight away thought itFinally Rockstar have nailed the GTA series with GTA IV. It is just brilliant in every way. Like the car pysics now feal realistic with tyres bursting once you have been doing dounuts for a long time and the sounds of guns are brilliant. I have bought every GTA except gta 1, 2 and London, but I only got GTA IV a year ago and after half a year of playing it I straight away thought it might be better on PC and it was. Anyone who hasn''t played GTA IV go out now and get it and you will enjoy it. Expand
  82. May 7, 2013
    10
    Maybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other thingsMaybe my all time best game. sure the game has flaws, but it barely affect me enjoying every minute in this game. I got the key to city achievement, took me like forever, but at the end I just like to do this meaningless collective things in this game, mainly because i like to drive around the city. The combat/gunplay is not topnotch, but I dont care, the game just has massive other things to do than shooting. I gave the time a 10, maybe a little overrated. I don't think in any way this game is a perfect 10, but I just cannot think of any game is better than this, therefore, after comparison, IMO, this is how a 10 score game should like... Expand
  83. May 2, 2013
    10
    I just played and completed this game again for the second time. It is completely awesome and still the best game I've ever played, great open world way ahead of its time, great voice acting, story and attention to detail.

    I decided to play this again in preparation for GTA V and show my son how good it was, he is only 9 and loves the iPad GTA games and loved it too. I'm hoping GTA V
    I just played and completed this game again for the second time. It is completely awesome and still the best game I've ever played, great open world way ahead of its time, great voice acting, story and attention to detail.

    I decided to play this again in preparation for GTA V and show my son how good it was, he is only 9 and loves the iPad GTA games and loved it too. I'm hoping GTA V will have some filter for kids and open it to a wider audience but even without this the game is worthy of the amazing reviews and score that is here.

    If you have ever been to New York you will recognize a lot of the places, structures an that just adds a touch of something extra. The driving and feel in this game is different to other GTA games, the driving is a lot harder and you will have to work to control your cars, with that said its much more realistic, you can't just hurl around corners at almost full speed.

    The graphics are probably a bit dated now, but the engine is what really started it all for open world games. New engines such as those in Farcry 3 or Just Cause 2 are better, but they owe respect to GTA IV for doing it first and years ahead.
    Expand
  84. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    I don't understand how anyone who is a fan of this particular style of genre, or anyone who enjoys gaming occasionally, cannot like Grand Theft Auto IV. It gives you the freedom to do absolutely anything you want, and gives you the tools to do it. The missions are fun and interesting, the array of guns and cars to choose from is amazing, and the sheer size of the map is something I haveI don't understand how anyone who is a fan of this particular style of genre, or anyone who enjoys gaming occasionally, cannot like Grand Theft Auto IV. It gives you the freedom to do absolutely anything you want, and gives you the tools to do it. The missions are fun and interesting, the array of guns and cars to choose from is amazing, and the sheer size of the map is something I have never seen before. I cannot wait for the next Grand Theft Auto to come out. Expand
  85. jreb
    Apr 29, 2009
    9
    From start to finish GTA IV is an absolutely beautiful and engaging game. Rockstar has once again done the seemingly impossible by creating a GTA game that lives up to all the hype. The one problem I have with the game is the lack of mission variety. Its a shame that most missions just come down to the same limited structure; which involves going somewhere and shooting a bunch of people down.
  86. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 8
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 10
    Fun Factor: 10

    Score: 8.7/10 = A
  87. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    I will be totally honest GTA 4 was the game that made me buy the Xbox 360 and after beating the game twice I have come to the conclusion that it was totally worth it. First of they have made some changes to the gameplay some fans of GTA may like it some may not. I think it was a great idea to make these changes and make the game more realistic rather than using the same formula RockstarI will be totally honest GTA 4 was the game that made me buy the Xbox 360 and after beating the game twice I have come to the conclusion that it was totally worth it. First of they have made some changes to the gameplay some fans of GTA may like it some may not. I think it was a great idea to make these changes and make the game more realistic rather than using the same formula Rockstar has been using for the previous GTAs. They have added a new physics engine which will be in effect while driving and walking, if you get hit by a car whe nyou are walking you fall down and get hurt, if you are driving roughly and crash into a wall or tree you may fall out of your car hurt, if you are driving a bike roughly and you crash than you may land on your head which may result in instant death. Some people may find this annoying but I for one thought these changes were executed pretty well and adds more realism and a real life feel to the game. The wanted level system has also been worked where you have to escape a region in which the cops are looking for you to escape them, going to pay and spray when you are visible to the cops will not work and if you start violence for no reason on the streets with no cops around the cops will still be alerted about your actions. Other additions are the use of the cell phone that you can use to call friends, girl friends and 911, the Internet which has fake websites which the player can use to browse some information, do some side missions or find a date. You can also hang out with you friends there a good number of places to go however they have their tastes and preferences if you improve your relationship with them you will be allowed to call them to help you or provide some services in different situations, all this is alot similar to the dates in San Andreas it is just that conversations are more deep and engaging this time around. The game's shooting has also been improved with improved camera angles, targeting system and controls along with the cover system and the enemies also react differently upon where you shoot them. This improvement definitely made the shootouts in the game more fun and realistic than the previous GTA games. The player can also hire cabs or call for a cab in order to get around faster around the city. Sadly all the vehicle missions have almost been completely removed and replaced with the Cop side missions however cop side missions this time around are more in depth, longer and more challenging. Along with all this the game also has some racing missions. The side stuff in this game despite being fun and very realistic is far less than it was in San Andreas. A multiplayer mode is in the game and it is far better than the one in San Andreas and has a good number of fun modes to keep the player's interest in the game. The game's story is also very well written and engaging and all the game's characters have a different and interesting personality, the main protogonist of the game Niko Bellic specially is a very deep and interesting character with a badass personality and an awesome accent. The voice acting once again has been done really well like most of the rockstar games the actors are into their characters. The sound effects are also more realistic this time around. The music despite being good is a let down compared to previous games but there is still enough variety in the radio stations and good number of songs to keep the player's interest. The graphics are alot more detailed and realistic, the characters models look alot more detailed and realistic, their animations are also much better and environments look extremely real and the shadow, night and daylight effects have also been very well done. This game is the only GTA game to have graphics that are this realistic and detailed. Definitely the best looking GTA game ever hands down. The game's main story will take the player around 20-25 hours in the first playthrough but after that there are enough side missions and side stuff to hold the player's interest and the game's main story also has alot of replay value specially considering the fact that you get to make some decisions during the missions which is an amazing additions and exactly something which the previous GTA games needed add to that the well done multiplayer mode which the player can spend a long time on without getting bored. Therefore the game's replay value and lasting appeal is very high. Overall GTA 4 is an amazing game and definitely one the best GTA and Sandbox games ever made. 9.5/10 Collapse Expand
  88. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    The best game that I've ever played. You won't spend less than 30 hours in the amazing campaign, and there's plenty to do in Liberty City and in the well-added multiplayer. Graphics are not Crysis, but are perfectly okay. Car driving is easy and awesome as in other GTA games. I have more pleasure to play this game than any other, and while I was playing this, time flew. MUST BUY.
  89. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV & Red Dead Redemption are probably my two favorite games. I really don't understand how anyone could rate this poorly... Rockstar makes the best games.
  90. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best, beautiful, immerse, deep, and most importantly fun games i have ever played. Almost every aspect of this game is fantastic. You star as Niko Bellic, a immigrant from eastern europe who has come to the Liberty City to live the "American Dream" along with his cousin Roman. The story is one of the areas where GTA4 shines most. You will grow to love the cousins andThis is one of the best, beautiful, immerse, deep, and most importantly fun games i have ever played. Almost every aspect of this game is fantastic. You star as Niko Bellic, a immigrant from eastern europe who has come to the Liberty City to live the "American Dream" along with his cousin Roman. The story is one of the areas where GTA4 shines most. You will grow to love the cousins and their story of triumph and tragedy as they try to make in in America. Speaking of characters, GTA4 has some of the best characters you will ever find in a video game. From the crazy roid using Brucie to the Jamaican drug dealer little Jacob you will care for each character in your own way. One of the games best characters is not a person. It is the city itself. Liberty City is just like the city it was modeled after NYC. It is a living, breathing character itself with so much activity constantly happening even when you are doing something else. The gameplay has gotten enormously better with a cover system available which comes really handy in firefights with enemies. The driving mechanics have gotten a complete overhaul as well. Now it is more difficult to drive a car. You will have to use the break like a real car and watch the damage the car receives as well. Add on a complete fun multiplayer experience and you get not only the game of the year but one of the best games to grace the new generations of consoles you will find anywhere Expand
  91. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Don't even get me started. I'll just leave it as . . . MY FAVORITE VIDEO GAME OF ALL-TIME!!
  92. jonathank
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very This game really has brought GTA to its finest. Although I would prefer San Andreas over this, GTA 4 is a ery good game as it is. THe graphics are very nice, as good as they can get. The driving has improved alot compared to the previous GTA gaes, and even though there might not be a lot to do in the game( ex. go to the gym, pimp your car), they made up for it by making the game feel very HQ. And to conclude my review, something for the people that are saying thre isnt anything to do in this game: quality over quantity. Overall, GTA 4 is really enjoyable, with all the cars and the multiplayer, although i think they could have removed some of the most unused things( the ATMs, other little things) to add one thing that everyone liked in san andreas: car pimping, baby! Expand
  93. Johnandrew
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    For those who liked san andreas better than this....well...they definitely need a brain upgrade or sumfin. it definitely is the best gta to date and graphics are great for the first time. thanks to the realism saints row 2 looked like a sucker in deciding to compete with gta.
  94. JasonK
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This is the first GTA where I actually feel like I am in the game. Magnificent graphics that go unmatched with a sweet storyline. Yea 10/10...the first 10.10 game for me since Halo 2 came out (and that was just for the xbox live!).
  95. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  96. VictorM.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Best game ever
  97. TomasS.
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Brilliant game!
  98. FlavioM
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    The game is disappointing on the narrative level; Niko's nemesis is not really that, being always in the background; he's not an overshadowing presence, or something lurking in the closet, is a sleeping character without spine. On the gameplay level it's enjoyable and an upgrade on every level on the previous installments. Liberty City is impressive, but less memorable (and The game is disappointing on the narrative level; Niko's nemesis is not really that, being always in the background; he's not an overshadowing presence, or something lurking in the closet, is a sleeping character without spine. On the gameplay level it's enjoyable and an upgrade on every level on the previous installments. Liberty City is impressive, but less memorable (and so navigable) than the previouses cities. It is annoying to always rely on the GPS. Expand
  99. BillA
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    Its a shame to see hype play the deciding factor in a games overall score. Many of these review websites are owned and operated based on profit. If a game is advertised well, it receives near perfect scores. Not very truthful. GTA does deliver as promised, however, the gameplay and complexity is almost a step-down from GTA:SA. No game can match the size and quality shown in GTA therefore Its a shame to see hype play the deciding factor in a games overall score. Many of these review websites are owned and operated based on profit. If a game is advertised well, it receives near perfect scores. Not very truthful. GTA does deliver as promised, however, the gameplay and complexity is almost a step-down from GTA:SA. No game can match the size and quality shown in GTA therefore it does deserve a good score. But foes it deserve a perfect score? in my opinion, not yet. Expand
  100. RowanS
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I keep seeing people say that San Andreas is better then this game. All I have to say is "All you had to do was follow the damn train CJ!"
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. It's got a world you believe in, a cast you care about and a script stuffed with brilliant moments... Utterly stunning in every resepct. [May 2008, p.79]
  2. Rockstar have surpassed themselves, delivering unquestionably the definitive GTA and perhaps the greatest videogame of all time. [June 2008]
  3. 100
    I could go on and on about why Grand Theft Auto IV is one of the best games we've ever seen and why even folks who are easily offended should play it, but that would be pointless. The only thing you need to know is that you have to play this game. Period.