Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3080 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Los Santos is a sprawling sun-soaked metropolis full of self-help gurus, starlets and once-important stars. The city was once the envy of the Western world, but is now struggling to stay relevant in an era of economic uncertainty and reality TV. Amidst the chaos, three very different criminals chart their own chances of survival and success: Franklin, a former street gangster, now looking for real opportunities and fat stacks of cash; Michael, a professional ex-con whose retirement is significantly less rosy than he hoped it would be; and Trevor, a violent maniac driven by the chance of a cheap high and the next big score. Rapidly running out of options, the crew risks everything in a series of bolt and dangerous heists that could set them up for the long haul. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    The primary accomplishment in Grand Theft Auto V isn’t gameplay. It’s character. Grand Theft Auto V believes so strongly in its characters that everything else — even gameplay — is secondary.
  2. 100
    Memorable missions, barnstorming heists, amusing side objectives and an almost impossibly immersive world to explore, make for the best Grand Theft Auto since Vice City and San Andreas.
  3. 100
    From skydiving and submarine exploration to bounty-hunting and watching animated shorts, GTA V is absolutely crammed full of things to do, and it looks amazing while you do them.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    GTA V is funny, genuinely laugh out loud funny – and not in a ’shoving a ten-inch purple dildo up your arse’ funny – the humour is told through situation, through incredibly clever writing and wonderful sense of place. Really, that says everything you need to know about GTA V. Rockstar has spent five years, and an insane amount of money, building a game that is not only bold enough to step away from expectation, but brave enough to revel in its combined history as well.
  5. 99
    The world of Grand Theft Auto V is undeniably a masterpiece and has set a very high bar for sandbox gaming not only for this generation but for the next gen which is so closely upon us. Beyond the game’s story line you’ll be able to put in hundreds of hours just wandering the city streets and never be bored doing so.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    95
    Tons of gameplay hours, plenty of missions and activities with an awesome collection of vehicles of various modes of transportation and a large array of firearms put the grandeur once again into Grand Theft Auto.
  7. Sep 16, 2013
    70
    It is the difference between The Godfather Part 1 and Part 2, between Inglorious Basterds and Triumph of the Will, and between Just Cause 2 and JFK Reloaded. In the former examples, the audience can get behind the anti-heroes depicted for whatever reason and condone their admittedly awful actions, but in the latter group, the subject matter or the protagonist's morals are skewed too far from the norm to be comfortably witnessed. That's what it's like to play Grand Theft Auto V. The three men you take control of throughout the game aren't even anti-heroes. They're just scumbags.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This game deserves a better user score. I hope nobody takes it serious, because there are a lot of butthurt fakevotes.
    Well to the game. This
    is the GTA you've always been waiting for! Yes it's true. You loved San Andreas because of gameplay? You loved Vice City because of music and atmosphere? GTA 3's innovation? GTA IV's story? Well I'll explain.

    This GTA brings it all together. The playing of three characters at once goes really smooth, it feels just how it should be, shooting and driving is really fun, it's kinda a mix between the realistic driving in GTA IV, arcade driving in Midnight Club, and shooting from Max Payne 3, and this is perfect!
    The missions are fun again, many people thought GTA IV had too similar missions, and I thought so too, but now you'll never get bored I assure you! The story is really well written, won't write more about that cause there is a lot to spoiler.
    The world is really massive, the countryside isn't boring at all, and seriously, who wasn't missing that after GTA IV? I don't know how R* did this, but even the graphics improved, while the game is bigger over all.
    You can do so much stuff in Los Santos and it's countryside, it's unbelievable that it is just one game! I played for at least 20 hours now, and I have so much more to see and explore, just crazy!

    Well what else can I say? Buy it Play it yourself and agree! It's a really good game
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I'm not understanding the poor reviews of some of these people on here. Either they are PC gamers, or people just giving the stupidest reasons to give this game a lesser score. One review I read somebody was complaining about the lack of roller coasters in the game and not being able to go shark fishing and docked it 2 points and gave it an 8. Are you f***ing kidding me?

    IMO, GTA V is arguably the best GTA and is one of the best games I've ever played. The world is gorgeous. Looking at the texture of the water while driving a boat or jet ski is just mesmerizing and fun. Or riding a dirt bike up the massive mountain in the game is great to just look at the beautiful scenery of the mountain and the wilderness. Then at the top you look down at the cities and can see buildings 6 miles away. Not to mention the explosions are fascinating to see. The lighting is insane. Walking under a tree you can see the shadow of a leaf on your shoulder almost perfectly like if it was real life. Besides a couple textures that looked a little weak, the game is a graphical beauty!

    The switching between 3 protagonist is revolutionary. All 3 have their own contacts, clothes they can buy, hairstyles to buy at barber shops, types of missions, skills, lifestyles, etc. I have nothing in common with Trevor who is a hillbilly trash. But he is too damn funny and interesting and I enjoy playing as him just like Franklin and Michael.

    The driving is way more intense and more of a racing feel than the boat like driving in GTA IV. It reminds me of Midnight Club LA in a way. The gunplay is way better than GTA IV too because it brings Red Dead and Max Payne elements together and creates intense firefights. The cover system is VASTLY improved as well and is your best friend in firefights.

    There is tons of stuff to do between the three characters like customize cars, buy real estate, racing, pick up nice ladies at strip clubs and streets, meet random strangers, etc, and a big huge San Andreas to explore.

    The only drawbacks I can think of are the car collisions, which don't deform the car as much as in GTA IV. And the popping up of the environment at certain points of the game. Some people complain about frame rate but I haven't noticed anything.

    To most gamers, this game is like heroin. Very addictive and fun. Well worth the budget and years making it. Hopefully I helped.
    Expand
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    To give this game an 8 or below is just stupid. This game is one of the funnest GTA's I have ever played. It has the best gameplay, best story, and the best graphics by a long shot. It looks like GTA IV on mega steroids. Now the online is fixed. To give this game a zero over online is mentally retarded. The story is much better than the online too. Overall this is a 10. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. I will definitely be buying all the DLC and playing this amazing game for months to come. I'm not sure why there are so many low reviews but I guess haters gotta hate Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    Really amazing evolution of the series, the radio station music is a bit of a letdown but the gameplay is excellent. I'm only 25% in so far but really liking the heists.

    really didnt like Trevor at first but I gave him a big beard and some shades from ammunation and I swear he looks like Jack Nicholson now! Mucxh better
    Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    GTA V is a great game but like most titles it had its flaws, first off this is the first GTA game i have enjoyed the story mode through to the end, yes its not perfect but its still a lot of fun. A lot of the gameplay mechanics have also been improved with the aiming and cover pulled straight from Max Payne 3 expect responsive and well controlled gun fights through out. The 3 player mechanic is a good feature but didn't find my self swapping in missions unless forced to and each characters (except trevors) ability were fun to use in the open world, the open world itself is really well designed especially los Santos but yet around 20-25% of the map felt useless and under used especially in the missions. Most of the missions were enjoyable and the heists were outstanding but for a game that focuses on them,there were not many in the game. Online is still a mess with everything focusing on money (which is tough to earn) and the terrible economy system implemented with it makes it become a mess not to mention the terrible online mission design that just makes every session more and more boring.
    overall it is a fantastic game that is worth buying despite its issues, ignore some of the 10 scores as they are over selling how good this game is, the Metacritic user score (8.1 at time of review) is where it belongs.
    Expand
  7. May 24, 2014
    0
    This games is just cheap and immature its not fun and crude.
    This is for people with a single digit IQ Im lucky I borrowed it from my brother
    because this game is so bad. Expand

See all 812 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best Xbox 360 Games Image
    Published: June 30, 2014
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the Xbox 360.
  2. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.