Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Guardians of Middle-earth brings up to 10 players together in five versus five competitive multiplayer battle arenas in the epic setting of Middle-earth. The game offers more than 20 iconic guardians, including Gandalf, Sauron, Gollum, Thrain and many more, for players to control in playerGuardians of Middle-earth brings up to 10 players together in five versus five competitive multiplayer battle arenas in the epic setting of Middle-earth. The game offers more than 20 iconic guardians, including Gandalf, Sauron, Gollum, Thrain and many more, for players to control in player versus player (PVP) matches. Gamers will have the ability to connect with other players via an in-game voice communication system, as well as access to a comprehensive online stat and leader board system where they can track friends' victories and defeats, and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Monolith has done a great job making a MOBA game work very well with a controller. Will I say after putting the time I have into GoME have I become good at MOBA games? No. Will I say I had a fun time with the fast game play, deep customization and online play? Absolutely. MOBA players should look into this game, and interested in the genre should absolutely check Guardians of Middle-Earth out. It is well worth the $15 pricetag.
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    85
    With a slick interface and solid MOBA game mechanics, Guardians of Middle Earth gives a healthy dose of Lord of the Rings gameplay while being a very good title for everyone alike.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    An extremely successful attempt to reproduce Dota style action strategy on consoles, with a game that's considerably more accessible than its inspirations.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    71
    Controls are easy to pick up, the rank and reward system is motivating, the choice of playable characters is surprisingly large. But when it comes to maps and modes, the content falls short.
  5. Jan 1, 2013
    70
    Guardians of Middle-Earth has many flaws. It's not pretty, spells are too bright and chaotic (you can't see what's going on), and there are some technical issues - lags are permanent, as well as random disconnections (and you can't return to a game you just involuntarily left) and sometimes you have to wait up to 10 minutes for other players. Plus the AI is stupid. So why such a high grade? The game has no competition on the consoles and gives tons of joy. The gameplay is very pleasant regardless of the player being hardcore or casual.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    70
    Although hardcore professional players may scoff at the general lack of skill in public games, most of you will enjoy the experience, and the fact that the developers were able to actually create a solid MOBA experience on a console should be commended.
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    20
    Speaking of shameless, Guardians of Middle Earth is unabashedly grind-based. As you play, you earn ingame currency you spend on new characters, on slottable character improvements, and on potions that you can use once. Potions that drain your resources so you have to keep playing to stay competitive. Weak potions are cheap. Powerful potions aren't. Spend to win.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 6 out of 20
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    Finally a great MOBA game for the console. Characters are varied and a lot of customization is available using the loadout system. TheFinally a great MOBA game for the console. Characters are varied and a lot of customization is available using the loadout system. The character balance is good and the developers are active and will correct anything that's out of balance. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    The Tolkien lore is great, with cool characters from JRR Tolkiens Middle Earth, which is the grandfather of all Fantasy universes, off whichThe Tolkien lore is great, with cool characters from JRR Tolkiens Middle Earth, which is the grandfather of all Fantasy universes, off which other game worlds just rip off from.
    Lack of stage: solved with mirkwood, the shire etc.
    Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say I am not a fan of the MOBA genera... But Guardians of Middle-Earth has changed my mind! It is easy to get into and the gamesLet me first say I am not a fan of the MOBA genera... But Guardians of Middle-Earth has changed my mind! It is easy to get into and the games only last around 20 minutes so its not a time sink like DoD or League. But don't let the fact that its easy confuse you that its a shallow game , from what I have played the relic system is deep and gives the player many options to modify there guardian. Collapse
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    I checked it out because HOBBIT is coming out and I have to say, it's a lot of fun. For the price especially, the gameplay, graphics, music,I checked it out because HOBBIT is coming out and I have to say, it's a lot of fun. For the price especially, the gameplay, graphics, music, and tiny bit of plotline is very good. And the MP element is great. Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    5
    quick games, great gameplay. AND ITS LORD OF THE RINGS!. How can it get any better. I've played Mobas for years, and this one appeals to me inquick games, great gameplay. AND ITS LORD OF THE RINGS!. How can it get any better. I've played Mobas for years, and this one appeals to me in a soft spot that none of the others can. My need for time (short games) and my love for middle earth. Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    This game would be awesome, but it has tons of connection issues. For an online game, you would think that you could complete over half ofThis game would be awesome, but it has tons of connection issues. For an online game, you would think that you could complete over half of your games. But no, you just get disconnected, or (if you are lucky) only the rest of the players disconnect. This game is a lot of fun and would be at least 8/10 if the connection issues had a light at the end of the tunnel. But this game was released over a year ago and all I hear is that they are getting worse. If you buy this, good luck and do not expect to play many full matches. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    1
    It IS a great game on the outside of things, but a MOBA is not a MOBA (Multiplayer ONLINE) if you're playing with BOTS. The onlineIt IS a great game on the outside of things, but a MOBA is not a MOBA (Multiplayer ONLINE) if you're playing with BOTS. The online capabilities of this game are horrible, and Monolith have established themselves with a very bad track record with their failure to deliver a consistent online multiplayer experience with Gotham City Imposters and now GoME. It has great rpg and moba elements, but the inability to connect to other players and friends, the constant disconnections and game boots (because of no dedicated servers, p2p connection is a terrible idea for MOBAs because everytime host quits everyone's game ends). A great game, but it is not meant to be played singleplayer, and the inability of Monolith to create a multiplayer game really killed the game on release. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews