User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 174
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    I've played this game from 2008 onwards, and have never looked back. The game is addictive to people like me who haven't played a real guitar and the song list for me is the best of the whole series.
    10/10.
  2. MikeG.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    It is a great game and fun shall be had by all. Some minor flaws make this game not perfect, but heck, what isn't perfect? Some of the lower reviews are obviously coming from rock band fans, and whatever. This and rock band are two completely different games.
  3. PhilD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Amazing game but i might be somewhat biased since i loved the first two and being a more serious player enjoy the larger number of difficult songs. The only reason this gets a 9 and not a 10 from me is that the achievements are just terrible. But that's only for the 360.
  4. Marc.D.
    Nov 9, 2007
    8
    If you've played the earlier installments...you'll feel right at home with the 3rd entry. Boasting a strong presentation and tracklist...Guitar Hero 3 has alot going for it. Unfortunately, the inclusion of boss battles feels hastily put together and serves as a distraction more than an integral part of gameplay. Besides that, a ramped up level of difficulty does hinder progress If you've played the earlier installments...you'll feel right at home with the 3rd entry. Boasting a strong presentation and tracklist...Guitar Hero 3 has alot going for it. Unfortunately, the inclusion of boss battles feels hastily put together and serves as a distraction more than an integral part of gameplay. Besides that, a ramped up level of difficulty does hinder progress for the less shreddin' inclined. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    One of the best rhythm games ever created. Extremely fun with an amazing setlist and some really cool cameos from Tom Morello and Slash. Also the first Guitar Hero game to have a setlist of fully licensed music, as opposed to the covers they used for Guitar Hero I and II.
  6. Nov 14, 2016
    8
    I've been playing this game since it came out and it's still my favourite Guitar Hero game, this game has the best playlist of any Guitar Hero game I've played.
  7. Barry
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    This game is amazingly addictive. This is the first in the series that i have played myself, and i was stuck to the tv for 15 songs in a row at the expense of a dead left arm/shoulder from so much jamming! Even people who have never picked up a real guitar can play this game and enjoy it because it makes u look so good! I would go as far as saying it has been the most fun game i have ever This game is amazingly addictive. This is the first in the series that i have played myself, and i was stuck to the tv for 15 songs in a row at the expense of a dead left arm/shoulder from so much jamming! Even people who have never picked up a real guitar can play this game and enjoy it because it makes u look so good! I would go as far as saying it has been the most fun game i have ever enjoyed playing in my 15 years of gaming as it competes with the best games. Final Fantasy VII was my favourite game ever, and this may have surpassed it. Highly recommend it! Expand
  8. Pidgeman
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Anyone with a single rock bone in their body HAS to buy this game. The concept is simple but the game be as challenging as you want to make it. Try playing Dragonforce on Expert and you'll see what I mean. The single player career is well conceived and never boring and ONLINE this game is probably the BEST game on 360!!! You will of course come across lots of players better than you Anyone with a single rock bone in their body HAS to buy this game. The concept is simple but the game be as challenging as you want to make it. Try playing Dragonforce on Expert and you'll see what I mean. The single player career is well conceived and never boring and ONLINE this game is probably the BEST game on 360!!! You will of course come across lots of players better than you and lose frequently but it's still so much fun. The only letdown is the downloadable song packs are WAY overpriced. £4.25 each in UK is a rip off and the makers should be ashamed of themselves. That said there are plenty of great songs in the game and it will be ages before you learn them all, I still find medium a challenge on most songs and hard and expert can be mind boggling. You MUST BUY THIS GAME. Ps get the guitar controller cos it's much better than playing with a joypad. Expand
  9. Mike
    Jan 31, 2008
    8
    An overall good game, some very very good songs, and some songs that just don't deserve the spot (slipknot, AFI, disturbed), a storyline, playing online and the fun of playing good songs... boss battles, despite they are fun in their own way it gets stupid when you easily beat down hard mode and lou kicks your ass over and over because you can't get the right power-up! then it An overall good game, some very very good songs, and some songs that just don't deserve the spot (slipknot, AFI, disturbed), a storyline, playing online and the fun of playing good songs... boss battles, despite they are fun in their own way it gets stupid when you easily beat down hard mode and lou kicks your ass over and over because you can't get the right power-up! then it becomes boring you move to expert and the same thing happens...then I seem to have problems with strumming up (which I didn't with GH2), inserting a note in the middle of HO/POs that's just dumb. I'll stick with GH2, but don't get me wrong GH3 is a very good game, if you want to hear good songs and spend 100 bucks, but is far from being excellent. Expand
  10. UnforgivNS.
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    After owning this now for 4 months, I have to say I am still hooked. I still suck, and unable to finish the game on expert, but I can't recall teh last game that has given me so much play time, fun and frustration!! I only own GH2 not GH1, but this tops Gh2 easily!
  11. AlexDaily
    Oct 20, 2007
    8
    Played the demo...the game has an amazing songlist that will please almost everyone. The "new look" of the user interface might feel slightly annoying to long-time fans of the series, but may not be noticed by new players. Hammer-on and pull-off notes are somewhat more difficult to distinguish than those in GH2 and GH1, but most people should get used to the changes. I'll give it aPlayed the demo...the game has an amazing songlist that will please almost everyone. The "new look" of the user interface might feel slightly annoying to long-time fans of the series, but may not be noticed by new players. Hammer-on and pull-off notes are somewhat more difficult to distinguish than those in GH2 and GH1, but most people should get used to the changes. I'll give it a preliminary eight out of ten. Expand
  12. JasonW.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Online multiplayer, master tracks, boss battles and the new, superb Les Paul controller easily mark this iteration of Guitar Hero as entirely worthy of the franchise's glory and a welcome evolution of the series. New players, be warned, however. Guitar Hero III inherently addresses the hardcore virtual shredders, so the difficulty of some of the upper tier songs may upset and Online multiplayer, master tracks, boss battles and the new, superb Les Paul controller easily mark this iteration of Guitar Hero as entirely worthy of the franchise's glory and a welcome evolution of the series. New players, be warned, however. Guitar Hero III inherently addresses the hardcore virtual shredders, so the difficulty of some of the upper tier songs may upset and frustrate newer players. All the better reason to practice and pursue skill, I say, but others disagree. Expand
  13. FarronK.
    Oct 28, 2007
    9
    Guitar Hero 3 itself is an awesome game, despite some slowdown issues when using Star Power (I expect it will be fixed soon) and the Whammy Bar's looseness on the new Les Paul guitar controller. The career "storyline" is actually a storyline now, and the Guitar Battles are a lot of fun. The Achievements are more rewarding this time around (unlike GH2's, which were something of Guitar Hero 3 itself is an awesome game, despite some slowdown issues when using Star Power (I expect it will be fixed soon) and the Whammy Bar's looseness on the new Les Paul guitar controller. The career "storyline" is actually a storyline now, and the Guitar Battles are a lot of fun. The Achievements are more rewarding this time around (unlike GH2's, which were something of an easy point-grab). The song selection is a bit iffy, but is still thoroughly enjoyable. If the GH2 and GH1 songs were available for play on GH3, then that would increase its library immensely, of course (if you can play them on GH3, then I am not aware of it). As for whether or not GH3 is better or equal to the upcoming Rock Band, I would have to say that if you like arcadey stuff in the vein of Burnout and Serious Sam, then GH is the right stuff for you. If you like more serious, realistic takes like Forza, Gran Turismo, or anything similar to them in terms of presentation, then Rock Band is a better choice. Each game is good in different ways, and with the overall user rating of 6.4/10, it makes me wonder as to whether or not these voters are either morons or are Rock Band fanboys. Expand
  14. DaveR.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Good rockin' fun with online play that offers more replay than previous outings.
  15. CH.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    One of the most involving 360 games yet released, perfecting even on the originals
  16. JohnB.
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    A good solid 9 for the simple reason that it's more of the same, done right. The track list is fantastic and challenging, yet the increased tolerance for mistakes makes it nice and friendly to newer players. The new guitar is far more responsive and feels better to hold due to the extended neck and 360 owners can finally enjoy the benefits of wireless. The guitar boss battles are A good solid 9 for the simple reason that it's more of the same, done right. The track list is fantastic and challenging, yet the increased tolerance for mistakes makes it nice and friendly to newer players. The new guitar is far more responsive and feels better to hold due to the extended neck and 360 owners can finally enjoy the benefits of wireless. The guitar boss battles are good and the fact that almost all the tracks are originals and not covers adds a huge amount to the immersion value of the game. Online play and achievements are just the icing on the cake. If you liked the original and the second game, you'll love this. If you haven't tried them, you could do far worse than starting here. Expand
  17. CorruptedLink
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    This, is my favorite Guitar Hero game. Excellent song selection (except for Miss Murder >.>) and the HO/PO system was given a much needed improvement. Overall, this is going to be in my Nintendo Wii for a LONG time
  18. KevinR.
    Nov 1, 2007
    8
    Despite the best peripheral guitar yet, as well as many truly great tracks, like Sunshine of Your Love and Black Magic Woman, the game is hurt by a dated presentation, overabundance of in-game advertising, and several tracks that just warrant the question, "What in the world they were thinking?!?" I'm looking at you, Slipknot, White Zombie, and Disturbed.
  19. TonyJ.
    Nov 4, 2007
    8
    First the good: the overall gameplay is essentially the same as it has always been, the note layouts are arguably more player friendly (although that doesn't mean Hard doesn't eventually get challenging) and the overall song selection is great. You can jump to practice as you wish, online modes are fun, the game links into the GH website to share stats. Then the bad: Character First the good: the overall gameplay is essentially the same as it has always been, the note layouts are arguably more player friendly (although that doesn't mean Hard doesn't eventually get challenging) and the overall song selection is great. You can jump to practice as you wish, online modes are fun, the game links into the GH website to share stats. Then the bad: Character design is just plain awful. Even though Neversoft has largely relied on Harmonix's original designs, the "updates" are uninspiring. The lead singer, in particular, is probably one of the worst character designs I've ever seen. There is an annoying amount of in-game advertising. Axe bodyspray guitars? It's hilarious that the band is scared about "selling out" AFTER the making a music video segment of the game considering they're playing on a truck emblazoned with Pontiac Garage on the side. The guitar battles are just plain stupid. They're not fun and pushing past them has been more tedium than anything. You can hit notes perfectly, a lot of it is just going to come down to luck in terms of getting the right power-ups at the right points. Who thought of this? This isn't freaking Mario Kart. I half expected to get a blue shell item. A lot of other aspects of the game just feel phoned in. The atmosphere is lessened, odd choices are made (the slutty dancers in more than one level, why?), even the jokes on the loading screens aren't as clever (or numerous). I do not think this game is BAD, but I definitely am scared of the direction it appears to be heading in. Expand
  20. elzilcho
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Guitar Hero III is simply another great addition to the series. Sure there are complaints over some of the choices of songs, but overall a great soundtrack. Not to mention how Fire and Flames will be keeping people playing for months. Just get hooked up with another guitar and you're set for a great multiplayer.
  21. PhilP.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    A work of sheer genius! Neversoft took the franchise and ran with it, making it the est of the series so far by a looooooong way. The graphics are a thousand per cent better and the song list is truly divine. Thanks for a great game, Neversoft.
  22. JL.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Sure, it has a few flaws..(boss battles suck).. but it's hard because there are many people who got bored with gh2 because they beat everything.. and you have to admit: ONLINE PLAY FOR GH3 IS AWESOME! i go to a good college with sucky interent, and gh3 is the one game i can lean on when my internet starts to suck.
  23. BrettP.
    Feb 24, 2008
    8
    I'm afraid that this game may have been a victim of its own hype. GH3 is by far the best of the Guitar Hero series, with graphics that would put most games to shame. But, if you're like me, and you spent three sleepless months waiting for this game to come out, you can't help but be a little disapointed. Then again, if you were me, you'd be expecting Stairway to I'm afraid that this game may have been a victim of its own hype. GH3 is by far the best of the Guitar Hero series, with graphics that would put most games to shame. But, if you're like me, and you spent three sleepless months waiting for this game to come out, you can't help but be a little disapointed. Then again, if you were me, you'd be expecting Stairway to Heaven, Hotel California, and a few more classic rock songs, along with free money lovingly placed inside the case, but, hey, we can't win 'wm all. :) Anyway, back to reality. If you've never played the Guitar Hero series before (where have you been?) then this game will blow you out of the water. The duel mode is really fun, and you'll spend lots of time on that, rather than Pro Face-Off. But if you're an avid GH fan, than you'll be more than a little disapointed. But, that's the folly of die-hard franchise fans. We can't just see a game for what it is. Expand
  24. JohnH.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I really liked the game and yes i agree some parts of the game get aggravating because of one complicated riff here or there but Randy S you said "but all you doing while playing this game is...pushing buttons on time" isnt that what every video game ever created have you do u dumbass
  25. AuggieA.
    Feb 27, 2008
    8
    This game was overlooked because of Rock Band. I thought this was a better game overall than Guitar Hero II, it had a larger soundtrack that had more recent songs for younger adults and teenagers. I think the best thing about this game is how infamous Through the Fire and Flames is. It has to be the hardest song to play out of all the Guitar Hero's. I think this game desreves more This game was overlooked because of Rock Band. I thought this was a better game overall than Guitar Hero II, it had a larger soundtrack that had more recent songs for younger adults and teenagers. I think the best thing about this game is how infamous Through the Fire and Flames is. It has to be the hardest song to play out of all the Guitar Hero's. I think this game desreves more and was very overlooked. Expand
  26. UNReal101
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    'Through the Fire & the Flames' is the most evil song in the history of guitar hero. Even on medium that thing destroys! Fun to play though.. if you can master that track, then everything else is easy.
  27. RobertT.
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    i have to say that GH3 has the best soundtrack(with a few crap songs) but can be brutally difficult on expert ie thru the fire and flames is almost impossible its the same GH u kno and love and easily becomes an addiction co-op is cool since u have to play co-op for certain songs but online can just be crap at times minor complaints aside just buy it even if u alrdy have rock band u need i have to say that GH3 has the best soundtrack(with a few crap songs) but can be brutally difficult on expert ie thru the fire and flames is almost impossible its the same GH u kno and love and easily becomes an addiction co-op is cool since u have to play co-op for certain songs but online can just be crap at times minor complaints aside just buy it even if u alrdy have rock band u need the extra guitar anyway. Expand
  28. Raffi
    Jul 28, 2008
    8
    Pros: good setlist; decent bonus tracks; improved graphics all around; midori "glitch"; clearer notes (better graphics on the fret board) more guitars, outfits, characters; better sets/backdrops. cons: setlist could/should have been better; totally moronic acheivement list; note charts for expert are too difficult and unrealistic for my taste; battle mode is crap; controller is too cheap, Pros: good setlist; decent bonus tracks; improved graphics all around; midori "glitch"; clearer notes (better graphics on the fret board) more guitars, outfits, characters; better sets/backdrops. cons: setlist could/should have been better; totally moronic acheivement list; note charts for expert are too difficult and unrealistic for my taste; battle mode is crap; controller is too cheap, light, and flimsy--i'd fork another 10 bucks for something with weight and better quality plastic notes: they should consider 5 levels instead of 4. throw out battle mode. still no LED ZEP! wtf ?!?! consider a band manager option and a jukebox option all in all, it's pretty good. it's been about 10 months now since release, and i still enjoy it. overall a little bit better than GH2. compared to rock band, it's a better buy, since the hardware, although it has a cheap feel, is rather sturdy, unlike rock band which look and generally feel great, but have terrible quality control and costs too much. i'm not a huge fan of rock band's setlist either, for the money that is. Expand
  29. JohnW.
    Dec 26, 2008
    9
    Tons of fun, and some free downloads! I was absolutely addicted for a full year. The Les Paul was a great guitar peripheral, as I prefer to use over any other (besides the sometimes unresponsive buttons, which a little hot glue fixed with no problem.) Some songs seemed too impossible, requiring skill only in keeping your guitar still long enough to hold onto star power, because the game Tons of fun, and some free downloads! I was absolutely addicted for a full year. The Les Paul was a great guitar peripheral, as I prefer to use over any other (besides the sometimes unresponsive buttons, which a little hot glue fixed with no problem.) Some songs seemed too impossible, requiring skill only in keeping your guitar still long enough to hold onto star power, because the game seemed overly sensitive to star power use. Expand
  30. TomG
    Feb 27, 2009
    9
    This is without a doubt the (second) best Guitar Hero release. The first being World Tour. Anyway the soundtrack is flat out perfection with hits from Foghat, Tenacious D, the Chili Peppers, Slipknot, Metallica, the Rolling Stones, the list is a perfect blend of the old and the new. The visuals are pretty nice, and the inclusion of Slash blew my mind. Because, well, Slash is awesome. This is without a doubt the (second) best Guitar Hero release. The first being World Tour. Anyway the soundtrack is flat out perfection with hits from Foghat, Tenacious D, the Chili Peppers, Slipknot, Metallica, the Rolling Stones, the list is a perfect blend of the old and the new. The visuals are pretty nice, and the inclusion of Slash blew my mind. Because, well, Slash is awesome. There are flaws in the game, like the 500MS song packs, and the brick wall difficulty. Playing on Expert is fun and simple yet challenging, if that makes any sense, but then when you hit the ridiculous solo sections of Cult of Personality, good luck unlocking the next tier of songs. And some songs on Medium feel like Hard, without the orange button, like One, and the Fire and Flames. The Les Paul controller just screams badass; the legendary shape, combined with the detachable neck, but the pins that connect the neck to the guitar body are faulty and sometimes don't register hits. Overall, it is an amazing game and is definitely worth the money. And let's hear it for DragonForce selling out! Expand
  31. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Best Guitar Hero game ever period. This game has an unbelievable setlist that can satisfy anyone regardless of the type of music they listen to. When this game came out, I played for hours on end and not wanting to put the guitar controller down once. I beat the entire game on Easy and Medium in under a week. Amazing game.
  32. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 4
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 4
    Multiplayer: 8
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 8
    Re-Playability Value: 9
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 7.5/10 = B
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    This game is just pure genius and brilliant at the same time. you can only really play the game once throught as nothing different happens besides then you can pick which songs you want to play. The game is awesome and really enjoyable but does get boring after a period of time. Dont play for hours constantly as it makes your eyes go strange and everything seems like its moving. Which toThis game is just pure genius and brilliant at the same time. you can only really play the game once throught as nothing different happens besides then you can pick which songs you want to play. The game is awesome and really enjoyable but does get boring after a period of time. Dont play for hours constantly as it makes your eyes go strange and everything seems like its moving. Which to be honest i dont think is a good thing. Expand
  34. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    My favorite game! Actually i've played so many times that now im really good at it, Fced 17 songs, The new engine is awesome and much easier then Guitar Hero 2 or bugged Guitar hero 1. The hyperspeed mode it's just awesome also, the songs in the game are very cool, Im doing videos on youtube about this game also, I love the game.
  35. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    The best rhythm game I have ever played. It has an awesome soundtrack, great Xbox360 graphics and awesome gameplay too. The challenge factor is fairly small for a rythm game, even on Expert, and, unless you're a beginner to the genre, you shouldn't have too much trouble, only with the very hardest songs. Really great game. I REALLY LOVE YOU, Activision, ANOTHER AWESOME TITLE!
  36. Jan 25, 2016
    10
    Yes. this game is yes. much yes. very yes. i couldn't say yes more. yes yes yes. GUITAR HERO III is a bludgeon to the face with awesomeness. Grease up that fret board and sliding your fat fingers up and down that **** until they internally combust into flames. But in all seriousness, this game was a massive pinnacle to the guitar hero franchise with a major improved timing system andYes. this game is yes. much yes. very yes. i couldn't say yes more. yes yes yes. GUITAR HERO III is a bludgeon to the face with awesomeness. Grease up that fret board and sliding your fat fingers up and down that **** until they internally combust into flames. But in all seriousness, this game was a massive pinnacle to the guitar hero franchise with a major improved timing system and increased difficulty. if you're reading this review, you have probably hard of Raining Blood, One, Through the Fire and Flames... etc. After this game, the franchise plataeus with many other great games, but none compare to the one that defined the decade for rhythm gaming. I salute you Guitar Hero Expand
  37. Mar 5, 2017
    10
    Ótimas horas de diversão, com uma playlist viciante. Suas mecânicas são ótimas e sua jogabilidade é excelente, o jogo conta com uma pitada de rock com uma história de fundo que simplesmente está lá para tapar o buraco, mas afinal, ninguém olha ela haha.
  38. Apr 29, 2018
    9
    This game wasn't even something now that seems so special but for me as a kid, it was more than that. It made me feel like someone that was an actual rockstar. I felt like I was actually the one playing those songs on a stage, I love that feeling of dreaming. Nothing can replace those memories of playing this game with my friends. Back when I was a kid, everyone was talking about this gameThis game wasn't even something now that seems so special but for me as a kid, it was more than that. It made me feel like someone that was an actual rockstar. I felt like I was actually the one playing those songs on a stage, I love that feeling of dreaming. Nothing can replace those memories of playing this game with my friends. Back when I was a kid, everyone was talking about this game and their scores on it. It was something that really brought people together and while I was never really good at it, I could at least have those memories with people Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. 89
    The soundtrack is fantastic and the new online additions are going to take the Guitar Hero community to the next level. It really is hard to argue with any facet of the gameplay. Everything outside of the game itself, though, is in need of an overhaul as the presentation is growing a bit stale.
  2. The wireless controller and online gameplay are nicely engineered. Beyond that, it’s mostly in the same vein as the previous Guitar Hero games.
  3. While we appreciate the new star power, the new too-difficult two-player Battle mode fails to impress and the new guitar, while sturdy and reliable, feels small in comparison to Rock Band's more realistic axe. Regardless, Guitar Hero still has that addictive quality. Combine that with an excellent soundtrack and online play, this mock rock simulator will have you jamming for months.