User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 75
  2. Negative: 8 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    7
    I will take this time to review Guitar Hero as a franchise but just know this was my favourite in the series mainly because i'm more of a metal/grunge head than a old rocker or cock rocker and I do enjoy the heavy stuff. Guitar Hero was a fantastic idea but I feel that when you play real guitar the plastic controller is far from cool but being able to play along to Metallica in a simpleI will take this time to review Guitar Hero as a franchise but just know this was my favourite in the series mainly because i'm more of a metal/grunge head than a old rocker or cock rocker and I do enjoy the heavy stuff. Guitar Hero was a fantastic idea but I feel that when you play real guitar the plastic controller is far from cool but being able to play along to Metallica in a simple way is fun however I do have to raise a point that a friend noted, tracks can be ruined when you have heard them too many times with the click clacking of the plastic buttons. The franchise as a whole seemed to corner itself by saturating the market too quickly I can't help that think the technology would have been put to better use if teamed up with iTunes or Spotify so you could play along to your own rock music library. Activision seemed to make a lot of mistakes with this franchise and that's why it get's a relatively low score. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    This game is pretty much Guitar Hero: World Tour with Metal songs, for the most part that is. Though you'll get tracks like For Whom The Bell Tolls, Chemical Warfare, Ace of Spades and Master Of Puppets, you'll eventually be plagued by some crappy Foo Fighters song or any other generic rock song that sounds like it should be played on your local news station, not a Metallica game! But IThis game is pretty much Guitar Hero: World Tour with Metal songs, for the most part that is. Though you'll get tracks like For Whom The Bell Tolls, Chemical Warfare, Ace of Spades and Master Of Puppets, you'll eventually be plagued by some crappy Foo Fighters song or any other generic rock song that sounds like it should be played on your local news station, not a Metallica game! But I digress this game is still great since it's not like it forces you to play Foo Fighters' songs but tell me where is GH:Big 4? Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Great game not just for Metallica-fans but if you are you will love it just like me. The presentation and options you get in this game are awesome. The sound is very good, I thought some songs where better than the CD-versions. This is an epic ride through Trashmetal and NOTHING ELSE MATTERS! xD
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Obviously anyone who is not a fan of Metallica need not apply... conversely fans of the band should add this to their collection now!

    Starting out with the band walking on stage to The Ecstasy of Gold then into song, this is pure fan service from the off. The song selection will keep fans of any period of Metallica's work happy, and the selection of non-Metallica songs (picked from the
    Obviously anyone who is not a fan of Metallica need not apply... conversely fans of the band should add this to their collection now!

    Starting out with the band walking on stage to The Ecstasy of Gold then into song, this is pure fan service from the off. The song selection will keep fans of any period of Metallica's work happy, and the selection of non-Metallica songs (picked from the catalogues of their support acts through the years) gives a good cross-section of hard rock/metal through the last 20 years.

    Drumming is difficult, particularly on their early songs. If anything the drum patterns prove how watered down Metallica's music became as their matured. That's not meant to be a slight (from someone who rates the Black album as one of their best), but it does show. I never got to attempt the double bass pedal as I'm not a drummer beyond playing on medium in GH.

    The guitar parts work very well, with the player able to choose Hetfield or Hammett parts on many songs. It is basically as close as you'll get to playing along to Metallica without spending a few hours a day practicing the real thing.

    There's not a lot I can think of to add to this game to make it any better. Perhaps including previous band members, although I can't see Mustaine being associated with the project, or at least adjusting the guys' look throughout the ages. I'd pay for that DLC ;)
    Collapse
  5. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    Listen carefully,,,This is the best music game ever created,by a long shot.If your not into metallica like I am then you STILL should agree,that's how great the presentation,alone,is.The Beatles rock band is not.It's not a bad game at all but doesn't have the flair,the depth, the" give you goose bumps all over "type of feel this game gives you.And if your into Metallica from the 80's orListen carefully,,,This is the best music game ever created,by a long shot.If your not into metallica like I am then you STILL should agree,that's how great the presentation,alone,is.The Beatles rock band is not.It's not a bad game at all but doesn't have the flair,the depth, the" give you goose bumps all over "type of feel this game gives you.And if your into Metallica from the 80's or 90's you'll probably never play rock band ever again! Expand
  6. JamyzG
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    this game is the best guitar hero so far maybe of all time
  7. josephR
    Oct 21, 2009
    6
    This game has got a killer playlist but the gameplay is way too hard, even on easy.... I can play songs in Rockband on expert but then struggle with some songs on easy in GHM....Could have been better
  8. PhilFree
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    People don't like Metallica go buy skill and another guitar hero title please. this is simply the best guitar hero ever. I give 9 and not 10 cause sadly che bonus tracks of other artists are not the best for metallica background .. but that it: this is pure power in music and game. gg Activision!
  9. Nick
    May 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely positively perfect. Mettalica offers a great challenge and a lot of fun to hard core gamers. Metallica is not for everybody especially if you are not a fan of heavy rock or metal. It has songs from practically every album from metallica even some of their old school metal like "Hit the Lights" which has an incredibly fun solo. Expert players prepare yourself for some of Absolutely positively perfect. Mettalica offers a great challenge and a lot of fun to hard core gamers. Metallica is not for everybody especially if you are not a fan of heavy rock or metal. It has songs from practically every album from metallica even some of their old school metal like "Hit the Lights" which has an incredibly fun solo. Expert players prepare yourself for some of Mettalicas arm throbbing songs. Expand
  10. DylanB
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    The level of detail in this game is AMAZING. Every song has the lyric sheets available after they are unlocked to be read as the song plays in the background. That is something I have felt music games have been lacking for some time. The Metallifacts videos are reminiscent of Pop-up video that give more insight about each song, even the non-Metallica tracks. The note charts are FUN to The level of detail in this game is AMAZING. Every song has the lyric sheets available after they are unlocked to be read as the song plays in the background. That is something I have felt music games have been lacking for some time. The Metallifacts videos are reminiscent of Pop-up video that give more insight about each song, even the non-Metallica tracks. The note charts are FUN to play, albeit brutal at times (its Metallica afterall). This is not another GH:Aerosmith by any means, it is so much more. Unlike previous "expansions" this one stands on its own. Save for some songs I wish HAD been there, the set list is an even sampling of their entire career. There is definitely enough here to warrant the price tag. For GH fans, and especially Metallica fans this is a MUST BUY. Expand
  11. HagenM
    Apr 8, 2009
    5
    A good reworking of the GH:WT system. However, what these game comes down to is the track is the soundtrack. That is where this game fials. Metallica is one of the most over-rated bands of the 20th and 21st centuries. Spanning generic garbage that millions hail as if it was the second coming. The Queen and Hendrix tracks are awesome though.
  12. SamM
    Apr 5, 2009
    6
    The only thing that I can really say I like about this game above and beyond World Tour is that when you open new venues you're given quite a bit of different songs to play and aren't forced to necessarily play all Metallica songs to progress further. They have all the old good songs by the band and not being a fan of the newer stuff it is nice to not have to play through those The only thing that I can really say I like about this game above and beyond World Tour is that when you open new venues you're given quite a bit of different songs to play and aren't forced to necessarily play all Metallica songs to progress further. They have all the old good songs by the band and not being a fan of the newer stuff it is nice to not have to play through those songs you dislike to get to the good stuff. I don't like the shaking camera when certain parts of songs are played though. It can be very distracting, when the whole screen shakes violently, except, thankfully, for the guitar/bass/drum/vocal tracks where the notes are. It's not a bad game, and if your are a huge fan of Metallica you will love this game. If you aren't then this game is probably going to be just a little above average. Expand
  13. JohnA.
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    This game is a total blast. Being a big fan of fast, heavy, and agressive music, it's great not having to wade through a bunch of horrible "new alternative" music, or having to spend tons of xbl points to buy better songs. The only way a fan of music games wouldn't like this game is if they weren't a fan of Metallica!
  14. TomG
    Apr 3, 2009
    8
    This is what a music game should be. Almost. What I don't like about the game is that some of the earlier Metallica hits, like No Remorse, The Call of Ktulu, Harvester of Sorrow, To Live is to Die, Holier Than Thou, and so on, are not in here. I was also put off by the fact only 49 songs are in the game (59 if you include the Death Magnetic DLC) and the animations on the band are not This is what a music game should be. Almost. What I don't like about the game is that some of the earlier Metallica hits, like No Remorse, The Call of Ktulu, Harvester of Sorrow, To Live is to Die, Holier Than Thou, and so on, are not in here. I was also put off by the fact only 49 songs are in the game (59 if you include the Death Magnetic DLC) and the animations on the band are not synced up to the music. Watching Lars walk about the stage while the drums to Battery have started is really annoying. Apart from those compaints, the song list is amazing, spanning all 25 years of Metallica's career. The graphics are a nice step up from World Tour and Aerosmith's cartoony look, and what really amazes me is how accurate the 80's version of the band looks like, give or take Rob's goofy hat. A nice chunk of the problems from World Tour and 3 are fixed, such as the over-charted songs, the difficulty curve, the interface (somewhat), and all the nooks and crannies of what World Tour should have been. I myself am a hardcore Metallica fan so I decided to pay $60 for 49 songs. Consider the price before you buy the game. Expand
  15. JayG
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    A huge improvement from Guitar Hero Aerosmith and World Tour. Its a mix between GH 2 and world tour and ends up very satisfying. GH Metallica's songs are a blast to play on all instruments, thats how much replay value there is to the game. If you are a Metallica fan and play GH then this is a must buy.
  16. BlakeH
    Mar 30, 2009
    8
    I have to admit, I had extremely low expectations for this game after playing GH:WT and being thoroughly disappointed. However, GH:Metallica erases almost every complaint I had about GH:WT. They fixed the career, fixed the overcharted songs, had an awesome setlist that is super fun to play. Drums are absolutely insane to play on the songs that have Expert+ mode, but very fun as long as I have to admit, I had extremely low expectations for this game after playing GH:WT and being thoroughly disappointed. However, GH:Metallica erases almost every complaint I had about GH:WT. They fixed the career, fixed the overcharted songs, had an awesome setlist that is super fun to play. Drums are absolutely insane to play on the songs that have Expert+ mode, but very fun as long as you have two bass pedals. I do still prefer Rock Band 2 over this game, but if you like Metallica and music games, this is a MUST BUY. Expand
  17. EthanG.
    Mar 29, 2009
    9
    This game is fricken awesome. its what world tour should of been. they fixed the majority of the problems with all the wt stuff, except the user interface. As well almost every single song is very fun, this is a buy for any guitar hero fan unless you absolutely despise metallica.
  18. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Obviously anyone who is not a fan of Metallica need not apply... conversely fans of the band should add this to their collection now!

    Starting out with the band walking on stage to The Ecstasy of Gold then into song, this is pure fan service from the off. The song selection will keep fans of any period of Metallica's work happy, and the selection of non-Metallica songs (picked from the
    Obviously anyone who is not a fan of Metallica need not apply... conversely fans of the band should add this to their collection now!

    Starting out with the band walking on stage to The Ecstasy of Gold then into song, this is pure fan service from the off. The song selection will keep fans of any period of Metallica's work happy, and the selection of non-Metallica songs (picked from the catalogues of their support acts through the years) gives a good cross-section of hard rock/metal through the last 20 years.

    Drumming is difficult, particularly on their early songs. If anything the drum patterns prove how watered down Metallica's music became as their matured. That's not meant to be a slight (from someone who rates the Black album as one of their best), but it does show. I never got to attempt the double bass pedal as I'm not a drummer beyond playing on medium in GH.

    The guitar parts work very well, with the player able to choose Hetfield or Hammett parts on many songs. It is basically as close as you'll get to playing along to Metallica without spending a few hours a day practicing the real thing.

    There's not a lot I can think of to add to this game to make it any better. Perhaps including previous band members, although I can't see Mustaine being associated with the project, or at least adjusting the guys' look throughout the ages. I'd pay for that DLC ;)
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. 89
    It certainly doesn't reinvent the wheel, but it's been a while since I've had this much fun with a music game. The only thing keeping me from scoring it higher is the fact that it doesn't support most of the Guitar Hero DLC. Other than that, it's a great experience that Metallica fans should run out and get.
  2. With Guitar Hero: Metallica, it looks like Neversoft was able to balance the interests of fans of the band and fans of the franchise.
  3. What can you say? It’s Metallica. If you like Metallica, pick this up. If you don’t, you may want to skip it.